DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remark
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/29/26.
a. Independent claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2023/0247519, “Hong”) in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0345879, “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a connection release method, performed by a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a relay user equipment (UE), and the connection release method (See Figs.11-13 and ¶.21-23, releasing a connection) comprising:
- in response to detecting that a remote UE transmits first data (See ¶.157, if the newly selected relay UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, the remote UE may transmit data to the network through the relay UE), the relay UE determines a data inactivity timer corresponding to the remote UE, and to control the data inactivity timer to start timing (See ¶.145, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires; See ¶.162, In this way, the relay UE may determine whether or not to release the link, based on data inactivity timer(s) for the Uu link and/or the SL, the relay UE may inform the linked remote UE of information regarding the release; See ¶.8, the method may comprise: establishing a first radio resource control (RRC) connection with the base station: establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’),
- wherein the data inactivity timer is configured for the remote UE and configured to control radio resource control (RRC) connection of the remote UE (See S1130 Fig.11 and S1330 Fig.13, ‘information regarding release of RRC connection’
; See S1450 Fig.14, ‘release first RRC connection between first device and base station, based on expiration of Uu data inactivity timer and SL data inactivity timer’; See ¶.9, release the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer. The Uu data inactivity timer may be configured for the first device, and the SL data inactivity timer may be configured for the first device).
Hong does not explicitly disclose the newly added limitations “the data inactivity timer is not configured to control RRC connection of the relay UE.” However, Park discloses “the data inactivity timer is not configured to control RRC connection of the relay UE (Park, See ¶.640, The inactivity timer (eg, remote UE inactivity timer) used by the relay UE may operate for each remote UE, and one inactivity timer (eg, remote UE inactivity timer) may operate for a plurality of remote UEs connected to the relay UE. The time value used for the inactivity timer (eg, remote UE inactivity timer) may be a predetermined value (eg, 10 seconds, 15 seconds, etc.) or a value determined according to a network policy. Alternatively, the relay UE may use the time value received from the network as a time value used for the inactivity timer (eg, remote UE inactivity timer), and the Relay UE may determine and use a flexible value according to the usage situation of the PC5 resource of the UE (Relay UE); See further ¶.641-642).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “the data inactivity timer being not configured to control RRC connection of the relay UE” as taught by Park into the system of Hong, so that it provides a way for the Relay UE to start the timer in the terminal for data transmission between the remote UE and the network when data transmission between the Remote UE and the network is terminated (Park, See ¶.640).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses “wherein a plurality of remote UEs are provided (See Fig.1, Fig.8, and Fig.16, a plurality of UEs); and the connection release method further comprising: the relay UE receives a data inactivity timer duration transmitted by each remote UE (See S1320 & S1330 Fig.13 and ¶.169-170, if the SL-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE of the expiration. For example, the remote UE may release the PC5 connection and/or the PC5-RRC connection. [0170] In step S1330, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE that the RRC connection is released. For example, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may transmit information regarding the release of the RRC connection to the relay UE).”
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses “wherein a plurality of remote UEs are provided (See Fig.1, Fig.8, and Fig.16, a plurality of UEs); and the connection release method further comprising: the relay UE receives a data inactivity timer duration transmitted by a network device, wherein the data inactivity timer duration corresponds to at least one remote UE (See Fig.15 and ¶.186, the base station may transmit, to a first device which is a relay UE, information related to a Uu data inactivity timer).”
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses “the relay UE determines the data inactivity timer duration of the remote UE (See S1110 Fig.11 and ¶.145, In step S1110, if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires); and in response to exceeding the data inactivity timer duration (See ¶.147-148, If the SL-data inactivity timer expires; If the Uu-data inactivity timer and the SL-data inactivity timer expire), the relay UE transmits a first instruction message to the remote UE corresponding to the data inactivity timer that timed out (See S1130 & S1140 Fig.11 and ¶.154-155, relay UE sends ‘information regarding release of RRC connection’ after data inactivity timer expired).”
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses “the first instruction message is configured to instruct at least one of: the remote UE enters an idle state; or, the remote UE reestablishes an RRC connected state (See Fig.10 and ¶.137-138, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state).”
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses “the remote UE determines the data inactivity timer (See Fig.13), wherein the data inactivity timer is controlled by the relay UE to start timing (See Fig.11); and the relay UE determines to control the data inactivity timer to start timing based on data transmitted by the remote UE (See ¶.8, establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’); and the remote UE transmits a data inactivity timer duration to the relay UE (See Fig.13 and ¶.166-171, In step S1310, if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied, the remote UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires. For example, the expiration of the data inactivity timer may be defined as follows. [0167] If the SL-data inactivity timer for the SL expires, or [0168] If the Uu-data inactivity timer for the Uu link expires [0169] In step S1320, if the SL-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE of the expiration. For example, the remote UE may release the PC5 connection and/or the PC5-RRC connection. [0170] In step S1330, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE that the RRC connection is released. For example, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may transmit information regarding the release of the RRC connection to the relay UE. For example, the RRC connection may be an RRC connection between the remote UE and the base station. [0171] Based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, even if the Uu data inactivity timer of the relay UE expires, if the SL data inactivity timer does not expire, the relay UE may not enter an RRC_IDLE state. Therefore, the relay UE can still relay data of the remote UE to the base station).”
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses “the remote UE receives a first instruction message transmitted by the relay UE, wherein the first instruction message is configured to instruct at least one of: the remote UE enters an idle state; or, the remote UE reestablishes an RRC connected state (See Fig.10 and ¶.137-138, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state; See further Fig.12 and ¶.152-156 for RRC_IDLE state in details).”
Regarding claim 26, it is a claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitation “a processor and a memory (See Fig.17, a memory and a processor)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Park and further in view of Back et al. (US 2024/0073989, “Back”).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses “wherein the first data comprises at least one of: a media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) or a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) carrying a radio interface (Uu interface) bearer of the remote UE; an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying a sidelink PC5 bearer of the remote UE; or an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying data related to the remote UE (Hong, See ¶.204. implement functional layers such as PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, and SDAP and generate signals including PDUs. SDUs; See Fig.9, PC5 connection between remote UE and relay UE; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer’; See Fig.15, transmitting Uu data inactivity timer), but Hong and Park do not explicitly disclose the limitation “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU.”
However, Back discloses “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU” (Back, See ¶.156, UE receives a MAC SDU from the network in the connected mode and then the UE may start or restart a data inactivity timer configured by the network; See Figs.13-14 and ¶.220, a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU” as taught by Back into the system of Hong and Park, so that it provides a way of receiving/transmitting data inactivity timer being comprised within a MAC PDU or a MAC SDU (Back, See ¶.156 and ¶.220).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses “wherein the communication system further comprises a network device (See Fig.9, gNB), and the connection release method comprising: the network device determines the data inactivity timer (See ¶.143-144, the Uu-data inactivity timer related to the Uu link and/or the SL-data inactivity timer related to the SL may be configured for the relay UE. For example, the relay UE may receive a configuration related to the Uu-data inactivity timer for the Uu link and/or a configuration related to the SL-data inactivity timer for the SL from the network (e.g., base station). [0144] For example, the relay UE may be configured with a common-data inactivity timer for the Uu link and the SL. For example, the common-data inactivity timer for both the Uu link and the SL may be configured for the relay UE. For example, the relay UE may receive a configuration related to the common-data inactivity timer from the network (e.g., base station)), the data inactivity timer is controlled by the relay UE to start timing (See Fig.11); and the relay UE determines to control the data inactivity timer to start timing based on data transmitted by the remote UE (See ¶.150, if both the Uu-data inactivity timer and the SL-data inactivity timer expire, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires; ¶.8, establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’),”
but does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device transmits a data inactivity timer duration to the relay UE, wherein the data inactivity timer duration corresponds to at least one remote UE (See ¶.220, when a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE, the time at which the base station starts the data inactivity timer).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Back.
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses a connection release method, performed by a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a remote user equipment (UE), and the connection release method comprising:
- the remote UE determines a data inactivity timer (S1310 Fig.13 and ¶.166, the remote UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires. For example, the expiration of the data inactivity timer may be defined as follows).
Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses,
- in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer (Back, See ¶.214, when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE, the time at which the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer; See ¶.226, when starting a data inactivity timer for the remote UE, the base station may also start a data inactivity timer for a relay UE that has established a sidelink connection with the corresponding remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer” as taught by Back into the system of Hong, so that it provides a way for the base station to start a data inactivity timer for a relay UE that has established a sidelink connection with the corresponding remote UE, when starting a data inactivity timer for the remote UE (Back, See ¶.226).
Regarding claim 11, Hong and Back disclose “wherein the second data comprises at least one of: a sidelink media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) or a sidelink media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) carrying a Uu bearer of the remote UE; or an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying data transmitted to a base station (Hong, See Fig.9 and ¶.8, SL data inactivity timer, Uu data inactivity timer; Back, See ¶.156, UE receives a MAC SDU from the network in the connected mode and then the UE may start or restart a data inactivity timer configured by the network; See Figs.13-14 and ¶.220, a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU” as taught by Back into the system of Hong, so that it provides a way of receiving/transmitting data inactivity timer being comprised within a MAC PDU or a MAC SDU (Back, See ¶.156 and ¶.220).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses “the remote UE receives a data inactivity timer duration transmitted by a network device; and the remote UE executes a first operation in response to timeout of the data inactivity timer (See Fig.9 and ¶.8-9, Uu data inactivity timer between gNB and remote UE; See S1300 & S1310 Fig.13 for operation of expiration of Uu data inactivity timer at the remote UE).”
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses “the executing the first operation comprises at least one of the following: entering an idle state; reestablishing an RRC connected state; or transmitting a second instruction message to a relay UE (See ¶.137, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state; See Fig.12, RRC_IDLE state start).”
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses “the second instruction message is configured to indicate at least one of: a connection state of the remote UE; or the relay UE to release a Uu bearer corresponding to the remote UE (See S1110 & S1130 Fig.11, the relay UE releases RRC connection with the remote UE).”
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses “the relay UE receives a second instruction message, wherein the second instruction message is transmitted by the remote UE under a condition of timeout of the data inactivity timer, and the data inactivity timer starts timing when the remote UE detects that second data is transmitted (See S1330 Fig.13, remote UE sends information regarding release of RRC connection to relay UE; See ¶.142, the relay UE may be configured with timers for data inactivity of the Uu link and the SL. For example, the relay UE may be configured with timer(s) for data inactivity for at least one of the Uu link or the SL).”
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses “wherein the second instruction message is configured to indicate at least one of: a connection state of the remote UE; or the relay UE to release a Uu bearer corresponding to the remote UE (See Fig.11, Fig.13, Fig.15, and ¶.186, the base station may transmit, to a first device which is a relay UE, information related to a Uu data inactivity timer).”
Regarding claim 17, Hong discloses “after receiving the second instruction message, the relay UE executes at least one of the following: releasing a Uu bearer corresponding to the remote UE; or transmitting a third instruction message to a network device, wherein the third instruction message is configured to indicate timeout of the data inactivity timer of the remote UE (See ¶.135, if there is no Uu data transmitted to the relay UE for a certain duration, a data inactivity timer may expire, the relay UE may autonomously release an RRC connection, and the relay UE may inform an RRC layer of this. For example, if there is no Uu data received by the relay UE for the certain duration and the data inactivity timer expires, the relay UE may directly release the RRC connection, and the relay UE may transfer information related to the release to the RRC layer; See ¶.152-154, if both the SL data inactivity timer and the Uu data inactivity timer expire, the UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires, and the UE may enter an RRC_IDLE state; [0153] Referring back to FIG. 11, in step S1120, if the data inactivity timer of the relay UE expires, the relay UE may autonomously release the RRC connection. [0154] In step S1130, the relay UE may inform all linked remote UEs of the release of the RRC connection through SL. For example, the relay UE may inform relay UE(s) of the fact of the release of the RRC connection. For example, the relay UE may inform the remote UE of the release of the RRC connection by transmitting notification information through SL. For example, the RRC connection may be an RRC connection between the base station and the relay UE).”
Regarding claim 18, Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device transmits a data inactivity timer duration to the remote UE; the data inactivity timer duration is used for configuring the data inactivity timer by the remote UE, and the remote UE detects that second data is transmitted and determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer (Back, See Fig.13, the network sends downlink MAC PDU to the remote UE and data inactivity timer starts in gNB).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device receives a third instruction message; and the network device determines timeout of the data inactivity timer of the remote UE based on the third instruction message (Back, See ¶.214, when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE, the time at which the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer and the time at which the gNB receiving the MAC PDU starts the data inactivity timer; See ¶.221, when the base station receives data from the remote UE within a time interval determined in consideration of an increased delay due to a relay operation after a predefined data inactivity timer expires, the base station assumes an RRC CONNECTED state and continues operation; See Fig.14, uplink MAC PDU transmission from the remote to gNB).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been considered. But, in view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims and a new prior art by Park for the newly added claim limitations.
At pages 9-11, with respect to claim 1, applicant argues that “Applicant notes that, throughout its disclosure, Hong does not teach anything pertaining to the fact that a data inactivity timer configured for one UE is controlled by another UE. It follows that Hong does not teach at least "wherein the data inactivity timer is configured for the remote UE and configured to control radio resource control (RRC) connection of the remote UE, and the data inactivity timer is not configured to control RRC connection of the relay UE," as recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended. Because Hong does not teach each and every feature recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 3-8 and 26 should be withdrawn and such action is respectfully requested. Claims 3-8 and 26 are also independently patentable.”
In reply, the previous 102 rejection by Hong has been replaced with a new 103 rejection for the amended claim limitations and therefore, applicant’s arguments with respect to claim have been considered but are moot.
At pages 13-14, with respect to claim 10, applicant argues that “neither Hong nor Back, whether taken individually or in combination with each other, teaches or suggests at least "in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer," as recited by independent claim 10 as hereby amended. Because the purported combination of Hong and Back does not teach or suggest every feature recited by independent claim 10 as hereby amended, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claim 10 and its dependent claims 11-19 should be withdrawn and such action is respectfully requested. Claims 11-19 are also independently patentable.”
In response, the limitations “in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer” explicitly read on:
¶.[0166] of Hong discloses “In step S1310, if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied, the remote UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires. For example, the expiration of the data inactivity timer may be defined as follows.”
¶.[0214] of Back discloses “referring to FIG. 13, when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE, the time at which the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer and the time at which the gNB receiving the MAC PDU starts the data inactivity timer may be different from each other due to the delay time caused by the relay operation. Since the time when the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer and the time when the gNB starts the data inactivity timer are different, the time when the data inactivity timer started by the remote UE expires and the time when the data inactivity timer started by the gNB expires may be different. That is, in a period in which the remote UE itself determines that it is RRC_IDLE, the gNB may still determine that the remote UE is in an RRC CONNECTED state and transmit a MAC PDU.” [emphasis added].
¶.[0220] of Back discloses “since the time when the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer and the time when the gNB starts the data inactivity timer are different, the time when the data inactivity timer started by the remote UE expires and the time when the data inactivity timer started by the gNB expires can be different. This may cause an ambiguity problem when the remote UE and the gNB determine the RRC state by themselves. That is, the gNB may determine that the remote UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state and transmit a MAC PDU in a period in which the remote UE determines that the remote UE is RRC_IDLE.”
Therefore, ordinary skill in the art applies “in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer” as taught by Back into the system of Hong in order to start a data inactivity timer when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE (Back, See ¶.214). Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411