DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Hong et al. (US 2023/0247519, “Hong”).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a connection release method, performed by a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises relay user equipment (UE), and the connection release method (See Figs.11-13 and ¶.21-23, releasing a connection) comprising:
- in response to detecting that remote UE transmits first data (See ¶.157, if the newly selected relay UE is in an RRC_IDLE state, the remote UE may transmit an RRC connection request message to the network through the relay UE. Alternatively, for example, if the newly selected relay UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state, the remote UE may transmit data to the network through the relay UE; See ¶.158, the remote UE may directly transmit an RRC connection request message through Uu link in order to establish an RRC connect with the network; See ¶.170, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may transmit information regarding the release of the RRC connection to the relay UE. For example, the RRC connection may be an RRC connection between the remote UE and the base station), the relay UE determines a data inactivity timer corresponding to the remote UE, and to control the data inactivity timer to start timing (See ¶.150, if both the Uu-data inactivity timer and the SL-data inactivity timer expire, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires; See ¶.8, a method for performing wireless communication by a first device relaying communication between a second device and a base station. The method may comprise: establishing a first radio resource control (RRC) connection with the base station: establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’),
- wherein the data inactivity timer is configured to control radio resource control (RRC) connection of the remote UE (See S1130 Fig.11 and S1330 Fig.13, ‘information regarding release of RRC connection’
; See S1450 Fig.14, ‘release first RRC connection between first device and base station, based on expiration of Uu data inactivity timer and SL data inactivity timer’; See ¶.9, release the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer. The Uu data inactivity timer may be configured for the first device, and the SL data inactivity timer may be configured for the first device).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses “wherein a plurality of remote UEs are provided (See Fig.1, Fig.8, and Fig.16, a plurality of UEs); and the connection release method further comprising: the relay UE receives data inactivity timer duration transmitted by each of remote UE (See S1320 & S1330 Fig.13 and ¶.169-170, if the SL-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE of the expiration. For example, the remote UE may release the PC5 connection and/or the PC5-RRC connection. [0170] In step S1330, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE that the RRC connection is released. For example, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may transmit information regarding the release of the RRC connection to the relay UE).”
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses “wherein a plurality of remote UEs are provided (See Fig.1, Fig.8, and Fig.16, a plurality of UEs); and the connection release method further comprising: the relay UE receives data inactivity timer duration transmitted by a network device, wherein the data inactivity timer duration corresponds to at least one of remote UE (See Fig.15 and ¶.186, the base station may transmit, to a first device which is a relay UE, information related to a Uu data inactivity timer).”
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses “the relay UE determines the data inactivity timer duration of the remote UE (See S1110 Fig.11 and ¶.145, In step S1110, if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires); and in response to exceeding the data inactivity timer duration (See ¶.147-148, If the SL-data inactivity timer expires; If the Uu-data inactivity timer and the SL-data inactivity timer expire), the relay UE transmits a first instruction message to the remote UE corresponding to the data inactivity timer that timed out (See S1130 & S1140 Fig.11 and ¶.154-155, relay UE sends ‘information regarding release of RRC connection’ after data inactivity timer expired).”
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses “the first instruction message is configured to instruct at least one of: the remote UE enters an idle state; or, the remote UE reestablishes an RRC connected state (See Fig.10 and ¶.137-138, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state).”
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses “the remote UE determines a data inactivity timer (See Fig.13), wherein the data inactivity timer is controlled by a relay to start timing (See Fig.11); and the relay determines to control the data inactivity timer to start timing based on data transmitted by the remote UE (See ¶.8, establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’); and the remote UE transmits a data inactivity timer duration to relay UE (See Fig.13 and ¶.166-171, In step S1310, if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied, the remote UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires. For example, the expiration of the data inactivity timer may be defined as follows. [0167] If the SL-data inactivity timer for the SL expires, or [0168] If the Uu-data inactivity timer for the Uu link expires [0169] In step S1320, if the SL-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE of the expiration. For example, the remote UE may release the PC5 connection and/or the PC5-RRC connection. [0170] In step S1330, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may inform the relay UE that the RRC connection is released. For example, if the Uu-data inactivity timer of the remote UE expires, the remote UE may transmit information regarding the release of the RRC connection to the relay UE. For example, the RRC connection may be an RRC connection between the remote UE and the base station. [0171] Based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, even if the Uu data inactivity timer of the relay UE expires, if the SL data inactivity timer does not expire, the relay UE may not enter an RRC_IDLE state. Therefore, the relay UE can still relay data of the remote UE to the base station).”
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses “the remote UE receives a first instruction message transmitted by the relay UE, wherein the first instruction message is configured to instruct at least one of: the remote UE enters an idle state; or, the remote UE reestablishes an RRC connected state (See Fig.10 and ¶.137-138, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state; See further Fig.12 and ¶.152-156 for RRC_IDLE state in details).”
Regarding claim 26, it is a claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitation “a processor and a memory (See Fig.17, a memory and a processor)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Back et al. (US 2024/0073989, “Back”).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses “wherein the first data comprises at least one of: a media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) or a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) carrying a radio interface (Uu interface) bearer of the remote UE; an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying a sidelink PC5 bearer of the remote UE; or an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying data related to the remote UE (Hong, See ¶.204. implement functional layers such as PHY, MAC, RLC, PDCP, RRC, and SDAP and generate signals including PDUs. SDUs; See Fig.9, PC5 connection between remote UE and relay UE; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer’; See Fig.15, transmitting Uu data inactivity timer), but does not explicitly disclose the limitation “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU.”
However, Back discloses “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU” (Back, See ¶.156, UE receives a MAC SDU from the network in the connected mode and then the UE may start or restart a data inactivity timer configured by the network; See Figs.13-14 and ¶.220, a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU” as taught by Back into the system of Hong, so that it provides a way of receiving/transmitting data inactivity timer being comprised within a MAC PDU or a MAC SDU (Back, See ¶.156 and ¶.220).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses “wherein the communication system further comprises a network device (See Fig.9, gNB), and the connection release method comprising: the network device determines a data inactivity timer (See ¶.143-144, the Uu-data inactivity timer related to the Uu link and/or the SL-data inactivity timer related to the SL may be configured for the relay UE. For example, the relay UE may receive a configuration related to the Uu-data inactivity timer for the Uu link and/or a configuration related to the SL-data inactivity timer for the SL from the network (e.g., base station). [0144] For example, the relay UE may be configured with a common-data inactivity timer for the Uu link and the SL. For example, the common-data inactivity timer for both the Uu link and the SL may be configured for the relay UE. For example, the relay UE may receive a configuration related to the common-data inactivity timer from the network (e.g., base station)), the data inactivity timer is controlled by a relay to start timing (See Fig.11); and the relay determines to control the data inactivity timer to start timing based on data transmitted by the remote UE (See ¶.150, if both the Uu-data inactivity timer and the SL-data inactivity timer expire, the relay UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires; ¶.8, establishing a PC5 connection with the second device; starting a Uu data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the base station: starting a sidelink (SL) data inactivity timer, based on no data transmission or reception between the first device and the second device; and releasing the first RRC connection between the first device and the base station, based on an expiration of the Uu data inactivity timer and the SL data inactivity timer; See Fig.10, ‘Data Inactivity Timer starts’; See Fig.12, ‘Uu Data Inactivity Timer starts’),”
but does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device transmits a data inactivity timer duration to relay UE, wherein the data inactivity timer duration corresponds to at least one of remote UE (See ¶.220, when a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE, the time at which the base station starts the data inactivity timer).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses a connection release method, performed by a communication system, wherein the communication system comprises remote user equipment (UE), and the connection release method comprising:
- the remote UE determines a data inactivity timer (S1310 Fig.13 and ¶.166, the remote UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires. For example, the expiration of the data inactivity timer may be defined as follows).
Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses,
- in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer (Back, See ¶.214, when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE, the time at which the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer; See ¶.226, when starting a data inactivity timer for the remote UE, the base station may also start a data inactivity timer for a relay UE that has established a sidelink connection with the corresponding remote UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “in response to detecting that second data is transmitted, the remote UE determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer” as taught by Back into the system of Hong, so that it provides a way for the base station to start a data inactivity timer for a relay UE that has established a sidelink connection with the corresponding remote UE, when starting a data inactivity timer for the remote UE (Back, See ¶.226).
Regarding claim 11, Hong and Back disclose “wherein the second data comprises at least one of: a sidelink media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) or a sidelink media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) carrying a Uu bearer of the remote UE; or an MAC SDU or an MAC PDU carrying data transmitted to a base station (Hong, See Fig.9 and ¶.8, SL data inactivity timer, Uu data inactivity timer; Back, See ¶.156, UE receives a MAC SDU from the network in the connected mode and then the UE may start or restart a data inactivity timer configured by the network; See Figs.13-14 and ¶.220, a base station transmits a MAC PDU to a remote UE through a relay UE).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses “the remote UE receives a data inactivity timer duration transmitted by a network device; and the remote UE executes a first operation in response to timeout of the data inactivity timer (See Fig.9 and ¶.8-9, Uu data inactivity timer between gNB and remote UE; See S1300 & S1310 Fig.13 for operation of expiration of Uu data inactivity timer at the remote UE).”
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses “the executing a first operation comprises at least one of the following: entering an idle state; reestablishing an RRC connected state; or transmitting a second instruction message to relay UE (See ¶.137, a UE enters an RRC_IDLE state; See Fig.12, RRC_IDLE state start).”
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses “the second instruction message is configured to indicate at least one of: a connection state of the remote UE; or the relay UE to release a Uu bearer corresponding to the remote UE (See S1110 & S1130 Fig.11, the relay UE releases RRC connection with the remote UE).”
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses “the relay UE receives a second instruction message, wherein the second instruction message is transmitted by remote UE under a condition of timeout of a data inactivity timer, and the data inactivity timer starts timing when the remote UE detects that second data is transmitted (See S1330 Fig.13, remote UE sends information regarding release of RRC connection to relay UE; See ¶.142, the relay UE may be configured with timers for data inactivity of the Uu link and the SL. For example, the relay UE may be configured with timer(s) for data inactivity for at least one of the Uu link or the SL).”
Regarding claim 16, it is a claim corresponding to the claim 14 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, Hong discloses “after receiving the second instruction message, the relay UE executes at least one of the following: releasing a Uu bearer corresponding to the remote UE; or transmitting a third instruction message to a network device, wherein the third instruction message is configured to indicate timeout of the data inactivity timer of the remote UE (See ¶.135, if there is no Uu data transmitted to the relay UE for a certain duration, a data inactivity timer may expire, the relay UE may autonomously release an RRC connection, and the relay UE may inform an RRC layer of this. For example, if there is no Uu data received by the relay UE for the certain duration and the data inactivity timer expires, the relay UE may directly release the RRC connection, and the relay UE may transfer information related to the release to the RRC layer; See ¶.152-154, if both the SL data inactivity timer and the Uu data inactivity timer expire, the UE may determine that the data inactivity timer expires, and the UE may enter an RRC_IDLE state; [0153] Referring back to FIG. 11, in step S1120, if the data inactivity timer of the relay UE expires, the relay UE may autonomously release the RRC connection. [0154] In step S1130, the relay UE may inform all linked remote UEs of the release of the RRC connection through SL. For example, the relay UE may inform relay UE(s) of the fact of the release of the RRC connection. For example, the relay UE may inform the remote UE of the release of the RRC connection by transmitting notification information through SL. For example, the RRC connection may be an RRC connection between the base station and the relay UE).”
Regarding claim 18, Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device transmits data inactivity timer duration to remote UE; the data inactivity timer duration is used for configuring the data inactivity timer by the remote UE, and the remote UE detects that second data is transmitted and determines to start timing by the data inactivity timer (Back, See Fig.13, the network sends downlink MAC PDU to the remote UE and data inactivity timer starts in gNB).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Hong does not explicitly disclose what Back discloses “the network device receives a third instruction message; and the network device determines timeout of data inactivity timer of remote UE based on the third instruction message (Back, See ¶.214, when the remote UE transmits a MAC PDU to the base station through the relay UE, the time at which the remote UE starts the data inactivity timer and the time at which the gNB receiving the MAC PDU starts the data inactivity timer; See ¶.221, when the base station receives data from the remote UE within a time interval determined in consideration of an increased delay due to a relay operation after a predefined data inactivity timer expires, the base station assumes an RRC CONNECTED state and continues operation; See Fig.14, uplink MAC PDU transmission from the remote to gNB).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411