DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication(s) filed on 11/11/2025.
Specification
The new title filed on 11/11/2025 is acceptable.
Claims Status
Claims 1-13 are pending and are currently being examined.
Claims 1 and 13 are independent.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 13 are newly amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida; Chikara et al. (hereinafter Yoshida – US 20150067528 A1).
Independent Claim 1:
Yoshida teaches:
An information display device comprising a processor, wherein the processor performs processing including: (e.g., information terminal, fig. 2)
collecting information related to a device; (e.g., obtaining apparatus state information, fig. 8:S3 )
acquiring priority information to prioritize for display based on the collected information; (determining operation priorities of user interface icons based on the state apparatus state information, ¶ 81)
and displaying the acquired priority information at a specific region at an operation screen displayed at a user interface, (the operation priorities are used to resulting in a sorted display of the ¶ 81, e.g., higher priority icons are displayed on upper, left, or right side of an interface region, ¶¶ 33, 67, and 103, figs. 7A, 7B, 8 and 10)
wherein the priority information includes a message regarding an event caused by processing performed by a user or an event occurring in the device, and (The display of prioritized icons is based on operational states of the apparatuses, e.g., including whether the apparatuses are powered ON or OFF, ¶ 61 and fig. 4, and these apparatuses are controlled remotely by the user using the information terminal [an event caused by processing performed by a user], ¶ 78, e.g., based user initiated control signals from the terminal to the apparatuses, ¶ 83-84 and figs. 8 and 10.The display of prioritized icons is also includes displaying a list of sub-icons/buttons that include a message [the priority information includes a message], e.g., a message including a prompt for a user to perform an action and including readings of a humidity sensor, such as “Power ON the humidifier in the bedroom. A current humidity is 35 %. There is someone in the bedroom”, ¶¶ 74 and 103 and fig. 10. Displaying a device's sensor information is interpreted as displaying an event occurring in the device because a "sensor" is fundamentally a physical component designed to detect changes, which are, by definition, events occurring in the device's environment or state, and the sensors are included “in” the apparatuses themselves, such as in the humidifier, [occurring in the device], ¶ 52)
wherein the specific region is a region that accepts instructions to execute processing from a user. (the message [priority information] is displayed specifically in each of a plurality of “operation” regions [a region that accepts instructions to execute processing from a user], as reflected in fig. 10. Herein, “a region that accepts instructions to execute processing from a user” is broadly interpreted as any interactive [operable] visual component, such as a button, text box (input field), menu item, or icon, which acts as a visual trigger for the system to interpret the user's click or input as an event to execute a command or action.)
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor causes display of, as the priority information, information related to an event that occurs due to processing executed based on an operation instruction from a user. (operational states of the apparatuses include, e.g., powered ON or OFF [an event that occurs due to processing executed], ¶ 61 and fig. 4, and these apparatuses are controlled remotely by the user using the information terminal [based on an operation instruction from a user], ¶ 78, e.g., based user initiated control signals from the terminal to the apparatuses, ¶ 83-84 and figs. 8 and 10. As explained for claim 1, the icons are displayed according to priorities based on operation states [ causes display of, as the priority information, information related to an event], i.e., the display is related to events such as powering ON or OFF of apparatuses.)
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a change of setting for the processing. (turning the apparatus from ON to OFF setting, and vice versa [acquires the priority information in accordance with a change of setting for the processing], ¶¶ 61, 78, and 83-84 and figs. 8 and 10)
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor causes display of information related to an event occurring at the device as the priority information. (The display of prioritized icons includes displaying a prioritized list of sub-icons//buttons which display information related to sensor readings [information related to an event], e.g., readings of a humidity sensor, ¶¶ 74 and 103 and fig. 10. These sensors may be included in the apparatuses themselves [occurring at the device], ¶ 52.)
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a change in setting on the device. (prioritizing occurs based on device information changes, such as turning the apparatus from ON to OFF setting [change in setting on the device], and vice versa, ¶¶ 61, 78, and 83-84 and figs. 8 and 10)
Claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a change of content being displayed at the operation screen (e.g., after selecting Humidifier icon on a prioritized list of sub-options for the Humidifier are displayed, see ¶¶ 103 and 135 and figs. 10 and 16A-B).
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a screen transition operation from a user on the user interface (a selection of an option, e.g., Humidifier, transitions from one screen of to another [from 101b to 101d], see ¶¶ 103 and 135 and figs. 10 and 16A-B).
Claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the specific region is a region for receiving execution of processing from a user. (the icons can receive input from user for executing operations, e.g., on screens 101b and 101d, ¶¶ 103 and 135 and figs. 10 and 16A-B)
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the specific region is a region displayed overlaid on the operation screen. (the icons are overlaid on the GUI, e.g., as reflected in figs. 3 and 7A-B)
Claim 11:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information by cross-checking content of the collected information against a pre-established table. (based on apparatus state information a preexisting operation priority management table is updated, and/or referenced [cross-checking content of the collected information against] in order to establish display priority, ¶ 65 and fig. 6)
Claim 12:
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated. Yoshida further teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information by taking into account a result of cross-checking information related to content being displayed at the operation screen. (a preexisting operation priority management table is updated, and/or referenced in order to establish display priority, ¶ 65 and fig. 6)
Independent Claim 13:
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to a storage medium for accomplishing the functions of the device in claim 1, and is rejected using similar rationale(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida ( US 20150067528 A1), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Mak; Walter et al. (hereinafter Mak – US 20200110528 A1).
Claim 8:
The rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Yoshida does not appear to expressly teach, but Mak teaches:
wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a scroll operation from the user on the user interface. (determining a rendering priority [acquires the priority information] for widgets in response to receiving a scrolling input [a scroll operation from the user on the user interface], ¶ 21 and Mak Claim 4 ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Yoshida to include wherein the processor acquires the priority information in accordance with a scroll operation from the user on the user interface., as taught by Mak.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the versatility and rendering efficiency of the device to be adapted to handle a large amount of widgets/icons in a memory and time efficient manner, Mak ¶ 18.
Response to Arguments
Previous 112(b) rejections of claims 2 and 4-5 have been overcome by amendment.
Applicant's 102 arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the applicant alleges that “Yoshida uses priority to reorder icons and does not select or display a message” and that “Yoshida rearranges icons across the overall UI and does not present a message in such an execution region”. Remarks Page 8.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because:
As explained in more details in the 103 rejection section above, Yoshida does select and display a message icon, e.g., such as “Power ON the humidifier in the bedroom. A current humidity is 35 %. There is someone in the bedroom”, ¶ 103 and fig. 10.
As explained in more details in the 103 rejection section above, Yoshida does present the message icons in an execution region, because the prioritized message icons are “operable”, see ¶ 103 and fig. 10.
Second, the applicant relies on the arguments above to allege patentability of the remaining claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reason(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Below is a list of these references, including why they are pertinent:
IDO; KAZUHIKO US 20200244826 A1 is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing displaying information, e.g., notifications, in order of priority, ¶¶ 109 and 165 and fig. 12.
HIGUCHI; Takeshi US 20120192113 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing a device configured to determine a display priority of icons, ¶¶ 94-95.
Fukada; Shinichi et al. US 20080320406 A1, is pertinent to claim 1 for disclosing a method for determining priority for display objects, Abstract.
/Gabriel Mercado/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171