DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/23 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprises”, "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is recommended to add a "." . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 6, 7,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “managing one or more values of one or more parameters associated with a group that includes a plurality of players; and when the one or more values of the one or more parameters satisfies a predetermined conditions, granting predetermined in-game privileges only to one or more players that have performed actions that satisfy the predetermined conditions, in the group associated with the one or more parameters”, are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (managing personal behavior, rules). The mere nominal recitation of computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-5 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a game server comprising a group information management unit and a privilege granting unit, a game program, a computer”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Further, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Sato (2019/0035226) teaches the additional elements (Fig 2, 6, ¶¶0057-0058, 0113-0115, 0195-0196).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-7, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-7 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (2019/0035226).
Re Claim 1,
Sato discloses a game server (Fig 2, 6, ¶¶0057-0058, 0113-0115) comprising:
a group information management unit that manages one or more values of one or more parameters associated with a group that includes a plurality of players (Fig 8a-8b, ¶¶0049, 0124-0128; the server storage unit manages a plurality of players information including possessed ID, counter information, point, and event ID); and
a privilege granting unit that when the one or more values of the one or more parameters satisfies a predetermined conditions, grants predetermined in-game privileges only to one or more players that have performed actions that satisfy the predetermined conditions, in the group associated with the one or more parameters (Fig 1, 4a-5c, 10-12, ¶¶0047-0055; the server may add a predetermined number to a counter associated with the player of a group, in addition, the server may store the point value associated with the group, when the point value reaches a point setting value set in advance, the server may store the second game content associated with the player belonging to the group associated with the point value which has reached the point setting value).
Re Claim 2,
Sato discloses updates the one or more parameters in common in the group based on a behavior of one of the plurality of players in the group (¶¶0047-0055, 0124-0128).
Re Claim 3,
Sato discloses the predetermined condition includes that a sum of the one or more values of the one or more parameters of each of the plurality of players in the group reaches a predetermined value (¶¶0047-0055, 0124-0128).
Re Claims 6, 7,
Claims describe a game program and an information processing method embodied the limitations of claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (2019/0035226) in view of Nicely et al. (2010/0056247).
Re Claim 4,
Sato discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose granting the predetermined in-game privileges to a predetermined number of the plurality of players in order of their contribution to a sum of the one or more values of the one or more parameters. However, Nicely teaches rewarding one or more players based on each player’s contribution to the winning of a prize (Fig 4A-4G, ¶¶0144-0160). Nicely further teaches such a configuration enables players to make decisions which directly affect their ability to win awards in the game (¶0161). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Nicely into the game of Sato in order to make the game more interesting by enabling players to make decisions which directly affect their ability to win awards in the game.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (2019/0035226) in view of Elias et al. (2014/0057705).
Re Claim 5,
Sato discloses all limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the predetermined conditions, the predetermined in-game privileges, and the one or more players that are granted the predetermined in-game privileges are set individually for each of the one or more parameters. However, Elias teaches the predetermined conditions, the predetermined in-game privileges, and the one or more players that are granted the predetermined in-game privileges are set individually for each of the one or more parameters (Fig 7, ¶¶0061, 0087-0090, 0092-0097). Elias further teaches such a configuration creates exciting game which maintains players’ interest (¶0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Elias into the game of Sato in order to create exciting game which maintains players’ interest.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715