DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brauch et al. US 2017/0056790 in view of Zhang et al. CN 108585136.
Claim 1, Brauch teaches a water treatment system comprising: a basin (par 3), a clarifier (1) disposed in the basin, a pair of collection troughs (6) arranged at least partially above the clarifier, at least one cover assembly comprising: a frame coupled to the collection trough and a cover (2) coupled to the frame, the cover being made of a mesh material and the frame comprises a rectangular shaped body portion (fig. 2-9, par 12-16, 19). Brauch does not teach the mesh being nylon. Brauch further teaches the covers may be made of any number of materials including polymer and plastic (par 61). Nylon is a very well-known type of polymer/plastic used to make a fabric shade to shade a water surface to prevent algae growth as taught by Zhang (fig. 2, first embodiment of the system; “nylon article in this example the flexible shade 8 can shield sunshine, it can reduce the algae photosynthesis, prevent its rapid growth”) and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 3 and 6, Brauch further teaches the frame comprises a pair of flanges (fig. 3-6), each of the pair of flanges extending outwardly form an opposing side of the body portion and being configured to rest on and engage a corresponding one of the pair of collection troughs (fig. 3-6); and the at least one cover assembly comprises a plurality of cover assemblies (fig. 2-9).
Claim 4, Brauch teaches as obvious the system of claim 4 but does not teach the weight of the cover. Brauch teaches the cover being relatively light weight and being retractable by a single person (par. 16-17). The recitation of the cover being 14 lbs. is a recitation of an optimization of the weight of the cover to achieve a light weight cover that is easily manipulable. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Claim 5 recites the cover comprises a logo on a surface of the cover. The recitation of a logo is a recitation of non-functional printed matter included on the cover. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A logo does not provide any additional function to the system and therefore does not provide a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claim 14, Brauch further teaches a method for treating water comprising: providing the water treatment system according to claim 1, flowing water to the clarifier and collecting clarified water and/or waste material separated from the water by the clarified (par 3).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Zhang et al. CN 108585136, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwan et al. KR 10-0864602.
Brauch teaches as obvious the system of claim 1 and further teaches the frame being coupled to the pair of collection troughs where the frame is configured to go between an open and closed position (fig. 2-9) but does not teach the frame being pivotably coupled. Providing a pivoting coupling between a frame of a cover and a trough is a well-known technique as demonstrated by Hwan which allows the cover assembly to be opened and closed (pg. 6). The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brauch et al. US 2017/0056790 in view of Zhang et al. CN 108585136, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiley US 2019/0047884.
Brauch teaches as obvious the system of claim 1 with a plurality of planar inclined sheets (fig. 2-9) but does not teach the sheets being a flexible polymeric material or buoyant members supporting each trough.
Wiley teaches a water treatment system comprising: a basin (32), a clarifier (19) disposed in the basin, a pair of collection troughs (38a, b, c) arrange partially above the clarifier, the clarifier comprises a plurality of planar inclined sheets (12) comprising a flexible polymeric material of polyester, polyethylene, polypropylene, PTFE or PVC (par 112), a plurality of vertically oriented supports (14), where a sheet of the plurality of planar inclined sheets is tensioned between the plurality of vertically oriented supports (par 116), a vertically support of the plurality of vertically oriented supports comprises an inlet opening (16) configured to allow liquid to flow therethrough, wherein the plurality of planar inclined sheets are arranged parallel to one another and each sheet is tensioned between a plurality of vertically oriented supports (14) wherein vertically oriented supports tensioning a first sheet of the plurality of planar inclined sheets interlock with adjacent vertically oriented support tensioning a second sheet of the plurality of planar inclined sheets and a pair of buoyant members (68a, b) configured to support each collection trough of the pair of collection troughs (fig. 1-10). The recitation of the various structures of the clarifier is all known in the prior art to Wiley and is a recitation of the substitution of the clarifier of Wiley in place of that of Brauch. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the office has not provided evidence to support a nylon mesh material. The prior art to Zhang is presented as evidence for the use of nylon material for use as a sunshade.
Applicant argues that Brauch fails to disclose a frame comprising a rectangular shaped body portion. Figures 2 and 3 clearly show the cover assembly being a rectangular shaped body. Paragraph 16 of Brauch further states,
“By way of non-limiting example, plate settler covers according to the present invention may comprise one or more metal supports interspersed by a lightweight fabric material, such that the plate settler cover is relatively lightweight but permits a user to walk thereon; such embodiments may permit for the selective replacement of portions of the fabric material over time due to, for example, weather damage.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the metal support taught by Brauch corresponds to the recited frame and the interspersed fabric material corresponds to the recited cover. For these reasons the amendment to the claims does not overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779