DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanism for pushing” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Examiner will attempt to point out as many issues as possible but recommends working with an experienced U.S. practitioner to amend the claims appropriately.
Regarding claims 1-5, in claim 1, in preamble “wastes of polymeric, polymer compound and industrial-rubber materials” uses adjective “polymeric” without further nouns and therefore is confusing, applicant can consider reciting “polymer” instead to overcome this rejection.
Regarding claims 1-5, in claim 1, “the heat-transfer agent” has insufficient antecedent basis in the claims.
Regarding claims 1-5, in claim 1, “the melting temperature” is unclear as to what this is in reference to – the wastes? The heat transfer agent?
Regarding claims 1-5, in claim 1, the recitation “a weighed sample composed of waste” is unclear because in the preamble already is recited “waste” therefore this should use antecedent basis terminology such as “the waste”.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 7-9, the recitation in each claim “characterized in that” is unclear and should use “wherein” or “further comprising” for clarity.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “a separating layer” has unclear antecedence terminology to earlier recited recitation in claim 1 and should use “the”.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “a refining layer” has unclear antecedence terminology to earlier recited recitation in claim 1 and should use “the”.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation “waste” is unclear because in the preamble already of claim 1 is recited “waste” therefore this should use antecedent basis terminology such as “the waste”.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, “The device for treating waste of polymer” has unclear antecedent basis, and should recite “A”.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, “including”, “with the internal space” are both non-standard transitional words and should be replaced with “comprising” or “wherein”.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, there are two separate periods “.” Before the last period of the claim, a claim may only have a single period, therefore these middle ones must be removed.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, “the heat-transfer agent melt” has unclear metes and bounds, additional the composition of this is unclear and must be explicitly recited what is meant by this claim terminology.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, “these rails” is narrative with use of “these” and should use standard language “the rails”.
Regarding claims 6-9, in claim 6, “are designed in an upward direction” uses narrative language “are designed” which is subjective and the metes and bounds are therefore unclear.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “it” has unclear metes and bounds and the claim must recite what is meant by this term.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “the containers” has antecedent basis and must recite “the at least one container” for antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meuser et al (US 4,925,532).
Regarding claim 6, Meuser teaches a system for thermal conversion, i.e. pyrolysis, of organic matter in waste filled containers (title, abstract), Meuser teaches the system is continuously operated for conversion in conversion assembly C of waste material W such as tires, wood, plastics, etc, through a heated fluid medium, such as a molten lead bath 1, contained in tank 2, having top surface 7/57 below end wall distal edges 6,6, hood 9 having sloping walls 10,10 each with lower edges are provided with heat tubes and radial fins 14 to deliver heat generated by burners 15 fired with vertical duct 16 and discharge conduit 17 (Fig 1-2, C4:L12-65), the waste material W is transported through the bath in open frame type container receptacles 24 to ensure continuous process, with walls 25-30, that is moved via delivery assembly D having conveyors 34 of conveyor members 35, i.e. guides, to traverse the tank, flanges 36 and guide rails 37,37 work with tank side walls 38, flanges 39,39 and guide rails 40,40 to ensure alignment (Figs 1-2, C5:L4-C6:L21), inlet and outlet shutters 53/54 are swingable doors that open and close to allow entry of containers (Figs 1-2, C7:l18-40); entrance and exit conveyor mechanisms 34 and 60 allow entrance of members 35 into tank edges 6,6 (Fig 1-2, C6:L44-C7:L18), drive means 59 controls advancement of containers (Fig 1-2, C7:L58-C8:L13).
Regarding claim 7, Meuser has taught entrance and exit conveyor mechanisms 34 and 60 allow entrance of members 35 into tank edges 6,6 (Fig 1-2, C6:L44-C7:L18), drive means 59 controls advancement of containers (Fig 1-2, C7:L58-C8:L13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuser et al (US 4,925,532).
Regarding claim 9, Meuser teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Meuser does not explicitly teach the installation angle of the guides as claimed. However one having ordinary skill in the art upon consulting Fig 1 of Meuser appreciates that there is an inlet and outlet angle of the guides as see in Fig 1 to allow the containers to be immersed in the bath, and to determine an optimum angle from the general depiction set forth of Meuser would be routine skill without unexpected results.
Claim(s) 8 and 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuser et al (US 4,925,532) taken in combination with Riedewald (US 2016/0030987).
Regarding claim 8, Meuser teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Meuser does not explicitly teach the gravity slide and hopper as claimed.
However Riedewald teaches a process and use of system for recycling of waste composite polymers in a pyrolysis system (title, abstract), Riedewald teaches the system comprises feed charging vessel 30 with conveyor 31 into bath 7 comprised of pyrolysis liquid 7 (Fig 7 [0079-0081,0140-0144]), which at lower level comprises slide (see angled wall by “C”, Fig 7) to lower hopper D to solids exit drain 21 (see Fig 7, [0145-0146]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Meuser to include gravity slide and hopper to collect solid and remove them at the bottom of a liquid bath as taught by Riedewald to safely collect, accumulate and remove these heavy compounds.
Regarding claim 1, Meuser teaches a method of use of a system for thermal conversion, i.e. pyrolysis, of organic matter in waste filled containers (title, abstract), Meuser teaches the system is continuously operated for conversion in conversion assembly C of waste material W such as tires, wood, plastics, etc, through a heated fluid medium, such as a molten lead bath 1, contained in tank 2, having top surface 7/57 below end wall distal edges 6,6, hood 9 having sloping walls 10,10 each with lower edges are provided with heat tubes and radial fins 14 to deliver heat generated by burners 15 fired with vertical duct 16 and discharge conduit 17 (Fig 1-2, C4:L12-65), the waste material W is transported through the bath in open frame type container receptacles 24 to ensure continuous process, with walls 25-30, that is moved via delivery assembly D having conveyors 34 of conveyor members 35, i.e. guides, to traverse the tank, flanges 36 and guide rails 37,37 work with tank side walls 38, flanges 39,39 and guide rails 40,40 to ensure alignment (Figs 1-2, C5:L4-C6:L21), inlet and outlet shutters 53/54 are swingable doors that open and close to allow entry of containers (Figs 1-2, C7:l18-40); entrance and exit conveyor mechanisms 34 and 60 allow entrance of members 35 into tank edges 6,6 (Fig 1-2, C6:L44-C7:L18), drive means 59 controls advancement of containers (Fig 1-2, C7:L58-C8:L13).
However Meuser only teaches the liquid melt is lead, therefore is silent to the separating layer and refining layers as claimed.
However Riedewald teaches a process and use of system for recycling of waste composite polymers in a pyrolysis system (title, abstract), Riedewald teaches the system comprises feed charging vessel 30 with conveyor 31 into bath 7 comprised of pyrolysis liquid 7 (Fig 7 [0079-0081,0140-0144]), Riedewald teaches multiple different types of melt may be selected as the pyrolysis liquid [0079] separation/pyrolysis liquid (7) is a molten non-ferrous metal and selected from at least one of zinc, tin, aluminium, lead, copper or alloys thereof, [0080] separation/pyrolysis liquid (7) is a molten salt such as LiCl, KCl, KOH, NaOH, cyanides, nitrates, nitrites or combinations thereof, [0081] separation/pyrolysis liquid (7) is an organic liquid with a boiling point higher than 150° C, and the waste electronics and plastics are fed to the bath ([0138]), from Fig 3, 5 and 7, it can been seen as different layers in the bath, i.e. A/B/C/D that form by gravity [0145,0154-0165].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Meuser to include different layers in the liquid bath comprised of different materials including of zinc, tin, aluminium, lead, copper or alloys thereof, and separation/pyrolysis liquid a molten salt such as LiCl, KCl, KOH, NaOH, cyanides, nitrates, nitrites or combinations thereof as taught by Riedewald to achieve successful pyrolysis and gravity stratification as taught by Riedewald.
Regarding claims 2-3, Riedewald is silent to the ranges as claimed, however has taught the general conditions and therefore it would be obvious to find the optimum workable ranges.
Regarding claim 4, Riedewald as set forth above has taught use of potassium K and sodium Na in the melt.
Regarding claim 5, both Meuser and Riedewald have taught the wastes can include at least tires and plastics and waste electronics, i.e. polymer and composites.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stout (US 3,977,960) teaches molten bath pyrolysis. Harris (US 5,085,738) teaches molten bath pyrolysis. Dell’Orfano et al (US 6,051,110) teaches molten bath pyrolysis.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772