DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 “droplets” needs to be “the droplets” for proper antecedent basis. This issue does not rise to the level of indefiniteness, but appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumta et al (US 2023/0073429; herein Kumta). Regarding claim 8:
Kumta teaches spraying droplets to create a layer, leveling the layer, and sintering the layer (Figure 1). Kumta teaches that polymers may be used as the material being deposited (paragraphs 0045 and 0049)
Regarding claim 12:
Kumta teaches polymer combined with other materials can be used (paragraphs 0045 and 0049)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumta, in view of Mark (US PGPub 2017/0087632; already of record). Regarding claim 13, Kumta is silent to:
Wherein the locally defined removal of material and/or the flow in the region around the depressions is carried out in a controlled manner, a surface topography being detected with at least one optical sensor and influenced with spatially resolved height values, a deflection movement of the focal spot of the laser beam and/or a power density in the focal spot of the laser beam
In the same field of smoothing droplets to create layers, Mark teaches using a sensor feedback loop to determine if peaks need removed (paragraph 0064).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the feedback processing of Mark in the Kumta smoothing, since it helps to ensure a smooth, consistent part without accumulated errors (Mark: paragraph 0064)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark, in view Kumta and Mark, and in further view of Goldfine et al (U.S. PGPub 2018/0264590; herein Goldfine, already of record). Regarding claim 14:
Kumta and Mark are silent to the control required. However, in the same field of endeavor Goldfine teaches controlling the laser power and focus based on a sensed temperature (paragraph 0069).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use such control, since it helps limit errors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/17/2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743