DETAILED ACTION
This office action is set to be a second non-final action, thus replacing the non-final action mailed on 9/4/2025. A new ground(s) of rejections have been made, therefore, the office action mailed on 9/4/2025 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10-12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), Han (US 2019/0001807 A1).
Claim 1 & Claim 3: Cha discloses a composite heat exchanger (FIG.1) comprising:
a plurality of tubes (annotated FIG.1) disposed in front and rear tube rows (annotated FIG.1);
first and second header tanks (23) connected to two opposite ends of the front and rear tube rows and each having a partition wall (paragraph [24]: tanks divided by partition walls) that divides a fluid flow space into a front space (23b) and a rear space (23a);
a front core (annotated FIG.1) defined by the front tube row (annotated FIG.1) and configured to communicate with the front spaces (23b) of the first and second header tanks (23); and
a rear core (annotated FIG.1) defined by the rear tube row (annotated FIG.1) and configured to communicate with the rear spaces (23a) of the first and second header tanks (23),
wherein a part of the front core (annotated FIG.1) defines a first heat exchange part in which a coolant flows (paragraph [4]: cooling coolant of air conditioner),
and wherein the rear core (annotated FIG.1) defines a third heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1),
wherein the refrigerant flows in the third heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1) of the composite heat exchanger, and the third heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1) defines a refrigerant condensation area in which the refrigerant is condensed (intended use; refrigerant flows within condenser),
wherein the composite heat exchanger comprises a receiver dryer (24) including a receiver inlet path (inlet path is inherent; tank 23a communicate with receiver dryer 24 so refrigerant flowing into the tank) configured to communicate with the rear space (23a) of the first header tank (23), and a receiver outlet path (inherent; to deliver fluid) configured to communicate with the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23),
and the refrigerant condensation area defined by the third heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1) are defined as a condenser (120),
wherein the first heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1) defines a coolant area in which the coolant is cooled (intended use), and the coolant area is defined as a radiator (radiator 12), and wherein the condenser (120), the radiator (radiator 12), and the receiver dryer (24) are integrated.
[AltContent: textbox (front core-first part)][AltContent: textbox (rear core-third part)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (tubes)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (tubes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Cha discloses the claimed limitations in Claim 1 & Claim 3, but fails to disclose tubes disposed in two front and rear tube rows; wherein the remaining part of the front core defines a second heat exchange part in which a refrigerant flows, wherein the rear core in which a separate heat exchange medium flows, wherein the second heat exchange part of the composite heat exchanger defines a refrigerant supercooling area in which the refrigerant is supercooled, wherein the refrigerant supercooling area defined by the second heat exchange part.
wherein the first heat exchange part of the composite heat exchanger is defined by a part of an upper side of the front core, and the second heat exchange part is defined by a part of a lower side of the front core.
However, Han teaches tubes disposed in two front and rear rows (annotated FIG.1; two rows of tubes front and row of tubes rear); wherein the remaining part of the front core (annotated FIG.1) defines a second heat exchange part (second radiator ‘L’) in which a refrigerant flows (paragraph [14]: second heat exchange medium), wherein the rear core (annotated FIG.1) in which a separate heat exchange medium flows (paragraph [14]: first heat exchange medium flows ), wherein the second heat exchange part (second radiator ‘L’) of the composite heat exchanger defines a refrigerant supercooling area in which the refrigerant is supercooled (intended use), wherein the refrigerant supercooling area defined by the second heat exchange part (second radiator ‘L’),
wherein the first heat exchange part (annotated FIG.1) of the composite heat exchanger (FIG.1) is defined by a part (inherent) of an upper side (Han, see FIG.1) of the front core (Han, annotated FIG.1), and the second heat exchange part (Han, second radiator ‘L’) is defined by a part (inherent) of a lower side of the front core (Han, annotated FIG.1) for the purpose of increasing efficiency and improving combustion efficiency (paragraph [9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Cha to include tubes disposed in two front and rear tube rows; wherein the remaining part of the front core defines a second heat exchange part in which a refrigerant flows, wherein the rear core in which a separate heat exchange medium flows, wherein the second heat exchange part of the composite heat exchanger defines a refrigerant supercooling area in which the refrigerant is supercooled, wherein the refrigerant supercooling area defined by the second heat exchange part, wherein the first heat exchange part of the composite heat exchanger is defined by a part of an upper side of the front core, and the second heat exchange part is defined by a part of a lower side of the front core as taught by Han in order to increase efficiency and to improve combustion efficiency.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (rear core)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (front core)][AltContent: textbox (tubes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 10: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 1, wherein the composite heat exchanger (FIG.1) is formed such that the refrigerant is introduced into a refrigerant inlet path (inherent as part of structure of heat exchanger) communicating with the rear space (23a) of the second header tank (23) and delivered from the rear space (23a) of the second header tank (23) to the rear space (23a) of the first header tank (23) while passing through the refrigerant condensation area in the rear core (C22), the refrigerant is delivered from the rear space (23a) of the first header tank (23) to the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23) via the receiver inlet path (inlet path is inherent; tank 23a communicate with receiver dryer 24 so refrigerant flowing into the tank) and the receiver outlet path (inherent) while passing through the receiver dryer (24), the refrigerant is delivered from the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23) to the front space (23b) of the second header tank (23) while passing through the refrigerant supercooling area (condensed refrigerant further is supercooled in condenser 120) in the front core (21), and the refrigerant is discharged to a refrigerant outlet path communicating with the rear space (23a) of the second header tank (23).
Claim 11: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 1, wherein the composite heat exchanger (20) is formed such that the coolant is introduced into a coolant inlet path (inherent as part of structure of heat exchanger) communicating with the front space (23b) of the second header tank (23), the coolant is delivered from the front space (23b) of the second header tank (23) to the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23) while passing through a part (inherent) of the coolant area in the front core (21), the coolant is delivered from the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23) to the front space (23b) of the second header tank (23) while passing through the remaining part of the coolant area in the front core (23b), and the coolant is discharged to a coolant outlet path (inherent in order to exit coolant) communicating with the front space (23b) of the second header tank (23).
Claim 12: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 1, wherein one side of the receiver outlet path (inherent) is connected to a front side (inherent) of the receiver dryer (24), extends forward, and then is bent vertically (discloses the receiver dryer and its paths, except for the shape of the path to be bent vertically. The configuration/shape of the claimed receiver outlet path is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration/shape of the claimed receiver outlet path is significant in order to enhance the refrigerant flow out of the receiver dryer - Change of Shape: MPEP 2144.04), and the other side of the receiver outlet path (inherent) is connected to the front space (23b) of the first header tank (23).
Claim 20: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 1, wherein the composite heat exchanger (20) comprises an integrated fin (paragraph [42]: tube unit provided in form of cores 21/22 with fins) interposed between the tubes and extends to the front core (21) and the rear core (22).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), in view of Han (US 2019/0001807 A1), and in view of Ortolano (US 2023/0296334 A1).
Claim 4: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 1, wherein the first and second header tanks (23) of the composite heat exchanger (20),
Cha discloses the claimed limitations in claim 4, but fails to disclose baffles are provided in the first and second header tanks so that fluid flow spaces for the coolant and the refrigerant are isolated on a boundary position between the first and second heat exchange parts.
However, Ortolano teaches baffles (paragraph [107]: baffles 25) are provided in the first and second header tanks (paragraph [107]: baffles 25 disposed in different positions inside more manifolds 20) so that fluid flow spaces for the coolant and the refrigerant are isolated on a boundary position between the first and second heat exchange parts (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, first and second heat exchange parts are the sections above and below baffle 25) for the purpose of directing two fluidically separated portions in manifold into different heat exchange parts of the heat exchanger (paragraph [93]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Cha to include baffles are provided in the first and second header tanks so that fluid flow spaces for the coolant and the refrigerant are isolated on a boundary position between the first and second heat exchange parts as taught by Ortolano in order to direct two fluidically separated portions in manifold into different heat exchange parts of the heat exchanger.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), in view of Han (US 2019/0001807 A1), in view of Ortolano (US 2023/0296334 A1), and in view of Makita (JP 2008175508 A).
Claim 5: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 4, wherein the baffle is provided as a plurality of baffles (Cha modified by Ortolano in claim 4, baffles 25) provided on the boundary position between the first (Cha modified by Han in claim 1, front top condenser: ‘C’) and second heat exchange parts (120) of the composite heat exchanger (20), and wherein the plurality of baffles (Ortolano, 25) is spaced apart from one another in extension directions of the first and second header tanks (23), and
Cha discloses the claimed limitations in claim 5, but fails to disclose a dummy tube having a closed interior is provided between the plurality of baffles spaced apart from one another.
However, Makita teaches a dummy tube (6) having a closed interior is provided between the plurality of baffles spaced apart from one another (partition plates 71 used as baffles) for the purpose of inspecting and confirming poor bonding of partition plate while suppressing decrease in rigidity of the header tank (paragraph [13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Cha to include a dummy tube having a closed interior is provided between the plurality of baffles spaced apart from one another as taught by Makita in order to inspect and confirm poor bonding of partition plate while suppressing decrease in rigidity of the header tank.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), in view of Han (US 2019/0001807 A1), in view of Ortolano (US 2023/0296334 A1), and in view of Adachi (US 2022/0128279 A1).
Claim 6: Cha as modified fails to disclose wherein the first and second header tanks each have a high-height portion having a relatively high height and a low-height portion having a relatively low height in accordance with a range, and wherein the high-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the first heat exchange part, and the low-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the second heat exchange part.
However, Adachi teaches the first and second header tanks (header 12/13 used as tanks) each have a high-height portion having a relatively high height (as shown in FIG.3 header 13 having high height portion) and a low-height portion having a relatively low height (header 12 having low height portion) in accordance with a range (inherent; range in accordance with height of headers 12/13), and wherein the high-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the first heat exchange part (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, first heat exchange part is the section header 13 fluidly connected), and the low-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the second heat exchange part (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, second heat exchange part is the section header 12 fluidly connected) for the purpose of distributing the fluid to different sections of the heat exchanger to enhance heat transfer process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Cha to include the first and second header tanks each have a high-height portion having a relatively high height and a low-height portion having a relatively low height in accordance with a range, and wherein the high-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the first heat exchange part, and the low-height portion is included in a range corresponding to the second heat exchange part as taught by Adachi in order to distribute the fluid to different sections of the heat exchanger to enhance heat transfer process.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), in view of Han (US 2019/0001807 A1), in view of Ortolano (US 2023/0296334 A1), in view of Adachi (US 2022/0128279 A1), and in view of Hirokawa (US 2021/0018190 A1).
Claim 7: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 6, wherein the first and second header tanks (23) the high-height portion (Cha modified by Adachi in claim 6, as shown in FIG.3 header 13 having high height portion) and the low-height portion (Cha modified by Adachi in claim 6, header 12 having low height portion), and the high-height portion (Cha modified by Adachi in claim 6, as shown in FIG.3 header 13 having high height portion) included in a range (20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Cha to include a range of the high-height portion in order to distribute the fluid to different sections of the heat exchanger to enhance heat transfer process, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A) corresponding to the first heat exchange part (Han, front top condenser: ‘C’).
Cha discloses the claimed limitations in claim 7, but fails to disclose the first and second header tanks each have an inclined portion and having a height that changes continuously and inclinedly, the inclined portion included in a range.
However, Hirokawa teaches the first and second header tanks each have an inclined portion and having a height that changes continuously and inclinedly, the inclined portion included in a range (20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Hirokawa to include the inclined portion having a height that changes continuously and inclinedly, and included a range of the inclined portion in order to enhance the refrigerant flow out of the tanks, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claims 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (KR 20180035346 A), in view of Han (US 2019/0001807 A1), and in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0272130 A1).
Claim 18: Cha as modified fails to disclose wherein the receiver dryer (24) has a filter module having a filter and a drying agent, and the filter module is detachably provided.
However, Yamazaki teaches the receiver dryer (receiver 9) has a filter module (15) having a filter and a drying agent (81), and the filter module (15) is detachably provided (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, filter 15 can be detached in order to exchange or clean the filter) for the purpose of improving capacity to remove contaminations in cooling medium (paragraph [257]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Cha to include the receiver dryer has a filter module having a filter and a drying agent, and the filter module is detachably provided as taught by Yamazaki in order to improve capacity to remove contaminations in cooling medium.
Claim 19: Cha as modified discloses the apparatus as clamed in claim 18, wherein in the receiver dryer (24), refrigerant inlet and outlet routes (inherent in order for the refrigerant enter and exit the receiver) on the receiver dryer are provided in an area range (inherent; receiver dryer 24 is disposed in an area range with respect to location of the tank) in which the filter module (Cha modified by Yamazaki in claim 18, filter module 15) is provided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, and they are moot. Choi is no longer used in this second non-final rejections. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to heat exchanger:
Qi (US 11,913,735 B2).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763