DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-13,15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by [ Hobro et al. US 2016/0279313, hereafter Hobro, provided in the IDS.
Regarding Claim 9 Hobro discloses a blood purification apparatus including a blood purifier (dialyzer per abstract, para. 0012,0031, 0037), the blood purification apparatus comprising: a disinfector (fluid flow pump 220) that causes a disinfection liquid to flow along a flow route of the blood purifier to disinfect the flow route (para. 0021 where disinfecting fluid may be flown through the device and para. 0047, where thermal disinfection may be conducted using the same system where pump 220 is activated by the controller to move hot fluid for disinfection through the flow path. Pump 226 also helps move said fluid), a heating unit that heats the disinfection liquid (heater 205, see also para. 0047), and a controller that controls a blood purification treatment of the blood purifier (para. 0041 where control of the system is done via the controller) and also controls a disinfection process of the disinfector and a heating process of the heating unit (para. 0047, where the controller controls the heater to heat the fluid), wherein the heating unit is configured to be supplied with electric power from a storage type battery as an auxiliary power source (para. 0022 where an external power supply and/or a battery is used to power the heater) and generate heat in addition to being supplied with electric power from a commercial power source and generating heat to heat the disinfection liquid (para. 0022, see also para 0053, 0057, where external power is used to provide energy); wherein the controller executes a charging process for charging the auxiliary power source (para. 0067, where a mode of operation includes a state in which the batteries are charged) while maintaining the disinfection liquid at a predetermined temperature for a desired period by supplying power from only the commercial power source to the heating unit after a temperature of the disinfection liquid is raised to a predetermined temperature by supplying power from the commercial power source and the auxiliary power source to the heating unit (para. 0052, 0067, where the controller used power from the battery and/or external source to heat fluid up to a desired temperature). The examiner notes that as the heating power may come from the external source and the battery may be in a charging state, one operational state of the device occurs when the heat is provided by the external source and the battery is charging, thus reading to the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 10 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, wherein: the auxiliary power source is shared by the blood purifier and the heating unit (abstract, where the battery unit previously disclosed may provide power for at least a portion of functional units within the system, including a dialysis monitor performing treatment via a dialyzer (para 0012)). As the dialyzer is the blood purifier, and the battery may power the dialysis monitor controlling treatment via the dialyzer, it is interpreted that the battery may control both the heating unit and the purifier.
Regarding Claim 11 Hobro discloses, the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, wherein: the heating unit comprises a first heater unit (206) that is supplied with electric power from a commercial power source and generates heat, and a second heater unit (207) that is supplied with electric power from the auxiliary power source and generates heat. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 9 and as detailed under para. 0056 the battery and external power may both be used to provide power to the heater to quickly increase to a desired temperature. As the heater units (206 and 207) are both part of the heater to which power is supplied to, it is interpreted that power from both the external and battery source are applied to both units and therefore the first unit receives power from at least the commercial source and the second unit receives power from at least the auxiliary source.
Regarding Claim 12 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, wherein: the heating unit comprises a shared heater unit (heater 205) that is supplied with electric power from a commercial power source and electric power from the auxiliary power source and generates heat. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 9 and as detailed under para. 0056 the battery and external power may both be used to provide power to the heater to quickly increase to a desired temperature
Regarding Claim 13 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, wherein: the heating unit is arranged at a plurality of places within the flow route (205, 305). The examiner notes that per para. 0073, the heater (205) may be combined with a second heater (305) at a different location (see figure 3). As such Hobro discloses a heating unit provided at various places within the flow route.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobro.
Regarding Claim 14 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, comprising: a temperature sensor (219) for detecting a temperature of a disinfection liquid within the flow route on a downstream side of the heating unit within the flow route (para. 0061), wherein the controller controls a heating process of the heating unit so as to maintain a temperature of a disinfection liquid within the flow route at a desired temperature or higher for a desired time period or longer which are set in advance, based on detection information of the temperature sensor (para. 0065). The examiner notes that sensor 219, per paragraph 0061 is for detecting temperature of the fluid in the system. Per para. 0065, the temperature sensor signals to the controller the temperature parameter sensed, such that it is a proper temperature for operation (37 degrees Celsius for disinfection per the same citation. However per the citation the sensor of 0061 and 0065 are not necessarily the same sensor. The examiner notes that as Hobro discloses (para. 0061) that a temperature sensor located downstream may detect temperature of a heated fluid and the controller operates the system based on said detected temperature, and Hobro further discloses that a temperature sensor may be used to determine proper disinfection temperature, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the temperature sensor (219) to also determine the temperature of disinfecting fluid when a disinfecting mode is being run through the system, such as to ensure proper temperature of the disinfecting fluid.
Regarding Claim 15 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 14, wherein: the controller supplies electric power to the heating unit according to a temperature of a disinfection liquid within the flow route based on the detection information of the temperature sensor. As detailed under the rejection of claim 14, the controller controls the system (heater in this scenario) such that the fluid is heated to a desired level. Per para. 0065, a desired heating temperature (based on sensed data) is about 37 degrees Celsius for disinfection.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobro in view of Jang US 2016/0243303 and Harvey et al. US 2005/0177275, hereafter Jang and Harvey, respectively.
Regarding Claim 16 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, comprising a battery as the auxiliary power source, wherein the controller performs control processing for at least one of stopping heating according to at least one of a remaining amount of stored electricity in the battery and a deterioration status of the battery. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejections of claim 9 above, para. 0067 discloses a mode of operation induced by the controller includes a state in which the batteries are being charged. Therefore Hobro at least discloses the stopping of heating via the battery such that the battery can be charged. (per para. 0067 charger unit will only be connected to battery unit and charge only when the unit is not providing power to the heating element)
However, Hobro fails to disclose a detector for detecting a remaining amount of stored electricity in the battery and a status notification according to at least one of a remaining amount of stored electricity in the battery and a deterioration status of the battery.
Jang teaches a fluid system using a pump system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Jang teaches where said device is operated via a battery (para. 0012 0020) and where said device comprises a displayer for displaying remaining battery power (para. 0049). Further per para. 0049, when said battery power is low, an alarm is activated. Therefore, as Jang teaches that battery powered systems may provide visual representations of battery life and provide alerts when battery power is low, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide battery status and alerts on the display (para. 0031 of Hobro) for the battery of Hobro to allow a user to monitor the system. The examiner notes that while Jang has some means of monitoring the battery life such that it can be displayed, no specific detector is disclosed.
Harvey teaches a battery operated device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Harvey teaches that the system may include various sensors for the control unit, including a battery power level sensor which measures battery power level (para. 0043). Therefore, as Harvey teaches that a sensor is known in the art to be used for measuring battery power level, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery level sensor to provide said information to the controller of Hobro and Jang in order to display said data, as taught by Jang.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hobro in view of Jang and Harvey, and further in view of Meyer et al. US 20160166753, hereafter Meyer.
Regarding Claim 17 Hobro discloses the blood purification apparatus according to claim 9, but fails to specifically disclose a cleaning unit that cleans the disinfection liquid by causing water at normal temperature to flow along a flow route of the disinfection liquid, wherein the controller is configured to control a cleaning process of the cleaning unit so that the cleaning unit performs the cleaning process before or after the disinfection process of the disinfector or performs the cleaning process before and after the disinfection process of the disinfector.
Meyer teaches a dialysis system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Meyer teaches that after dialysis, it is common to have a disinfectant run through the system (para. 0082). Before the next treatment, it is import to flush the potential leftover disinfectant out of the device (para. 0082). Meyer teaches per the same para. 0082 citation that this is accomplished by filling and priming the system with water from a reservoir where said water may be tap water (thus interpreted to be water at a normal temperature). Further, per para. 0013 the water system (as used for flushing detailed above) may be operated by the controller of the system. Therefore, as Hobro teaches that disinfecting agents may be included in the disinfecting of the system (Hobro para. 0031) and Meyer teaches that it is known in the art to use water to flush out a system after disinfection of the system involving a disinfectant being flown through the system, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the water system of Meyer with the dialysis and disinfecting system of Hobro. Doing so would merely involve the use of known technique (water flushing after disinfection) to improve similar devices (dialysis systems) in the same way (remove any leftover chemicals) and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW WRUBLESKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781