DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/570,171 by AYDIN for “METHOD FOR COMMUNICATION OF AT LEAST ONE MOBILE DEVICE WITH A MOBILE NETWORK BASE STATION, AND VEHICLE”, filed on 12/14/2023.
Claims 11-18 are now pending. The independent claims are 11 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI et al. (US2023011299A1), hereinafter LEI, in view of OBARA et al. (US20200160394A1), hereinafter OBARA.
Regarding claim 11, LEI teaches A method for communication of a mobile device with a mobile network base station, the method comprising: activating, by the mobile device if there is a demand situation, a coverage enhancement mode in which the mobile device exchanges information with the mobile network base station using coverage enhancement; (LEI, Fig. 7, step 702, paragraph 114, teach activating a coverage enhancement mode for a wireless communication network.)
exchanging, in the coverage enhancement mode, at least one subset of information between the mobile device and the mobile network base station; (LEI, Fig. 7, step 702, paragraph 114, maintaining a plurality of parameters.)
and switching, by the mobile device, into a normal operating mode and ending the coverage enhancement mode in the normal operating mode, wherein the mobile device detects there is a demand situation based on receipt of a demand indicator via mobile communications, independently detects that there is a demand situation when the strength of a mobile signal between mobile device and mobile network base station falls below a specified minimum value over a specified time-span, (LEI, Fig. 7, step 704, paragraph 114, the first coverage enhancement mode may be selected to accommodate use of one or more carrier frequencies, time or frequency duplexing mode, cell size, capabilities of the first UE or a channel measurements report of the first UE.)
LEI does not describe independently detects that there is a demand situation when a navigation system determines a travel route for the mobile device, digital map material which contains location-specific information on mobile signal strength is stored in a database, and a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode.
OBARA in the same field of endeavor teaches independently detects that there is a demand situation when a navigation system determines a travel route for the mobile device, digital map material which contains location-specific information on mobile signal strength is stored in a database, (OBARA, Fig. 5, steps 202-203, paragraphs 58-60, teach determining vehicle traveling route.)
and a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode. (OBARA, paragraph 25, teaches providing information such as current position, destination, and route from a navigation device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 12, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the method of claim 11, wherein output of the demand indicator is initiated by a manufacturer of the mobile device, a manufacturer of a device comprising the mobile device, or by a mobile network operator. (LEI, paragraph 114 teaches the first coverage enhancement mode may be selected from two or more coverage enhancement modes that have been predefined, designed and/or configured by a network designer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure output of the demand indicator is initiated by a manufacturer of the mobile device, a manufacturer of a device comprising the mobile device, or by a mobile network operator. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 13, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the method of claim 11, wherein artificial intelligence is executed on a computing unit that monitors the communication of the mobile device with the mobile network base station, the artificial intelligence analyzes information exchanged between the mobile device and mobile network base station, and the artificial intelligence recognizes a situation requiring output of the demand indicator when the artificial intelligence recognizes characteristic patterns in the exchanged information. (LEI, paragraph 114 teaches the first coverage enhancement mode may be selected from two or more coverage enhancement modes that have been predefined, designed and/or configured by a network designer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure output of the demand indicator is initiated by a manufacturer of the mobile device, a manufacturer of a device comprising the mobile device, or by a mobile network operator. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 14, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the method of claim 11, wherein an identifier of the initiator is stored in the mobile device in order to classify the demand indicator initiator as authorized to activate the coverage enhancement mode. (LEI, paragraph 114 teaches the first coverage enhancement mode may be selected from two or more coverage enhancement modes that have been predefined, designed and/or configured by a network designer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure an identifier of the initiator is stored in the mobile device in order to classify the demand indicator initiator as authorized to activate the coverage enhancement mode. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 15, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the demand indicator is transmitted via satellite or drone-based telecommunications. (LEI, paragraph 36 teaches transmitting the information via satellite.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure the demand indicator is transmitted via satellite or drone-based telecommunications. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 16, LEI teaches A vehicle, comprising: a mobile device configured to activate, if there is a demand situation, a coverage enhancement mode in which the mobile device exchanges information with the mobile network base station using coverage enhancement; (LEI, Fig. 7, step 702, paragraph 114, teach activating a coverage enhancement mode for a wireless communication network.)
exchange, in the coverage enhancement mode, at least one subset of information with the mobile network base station; (LEI, Fig. 7, step 702, paragraph 114, maintaining a plurality of parameters.)
and switch into a normal operating mode and ending the coverage enhancement mode in the normal operating mode, wherein the mobile device is configured to detect there is a demand situation based on receipt of a demand indicator via mobile communications, independently detect that there is a demand situation when the strength of a mobile signal between mobile device and mobile network base station falls below a specified minimum value over a specified time-span, (LEI, Fig. 7, step 704, paragraph 114, the first coverage enhancement mode may be selected to accommodate use of one or more carrier frequencies, time or frequency duplexing mode, cell size, capabilities of the first UE or a channel measurements report of the first UE.)
LEI does not describe independently detects that there is a demand situation when a navigation system determines a travel route for the mobile device, digital map material which contains location-specific information on mobile signal strength is stored in a database, and a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode.
OBARA in the same field of endeavor teaches independently detects that there is a demand situation when a navigation system determines a travel route for the mobile device, digital map material which contains location-specific information on mobile signal strength is stored in a database, (OBARA, Fig. 5, steps 202-203, paragraphs 58-60, teach determining vehicle traveling route.)
and a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode. (OBARA, paragraph 25, teaches providing information such as current position, destination, and route from a navigation device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure a comparison of the travel route of the mobile device with the digital map material shows that there is no mobile signal or insufficient mobile signal available for normal operating mode at a future location of the mobile device on the travel route, or independently detects that there is a demand situation when it is not possible for the mobile device to make an emergency call in the normal operating mode, and wherein the mobile device only activates the coverage enhancement mode when notified of the demand situation, after receiving the demand indicator, if the initiator of the demand indicator is authorized to activate of the coverage enhancement mode. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 17, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the vehicle of claim 16, wherein the mobile device is a vehicle telecommunications unit. (LEI, paragraph 31 teaches the mobile device as a vehicle unit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to configure the mobile device as a vehicle telecommunications unit. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 18, LEI in view of OBARA teaches the vehicle of claim 16, wherein the mobile device is configured to activate or end the coverage enhancement mode: while driving; while at a standstill; in the case of locked vehicle doors; or from a stand-by mode. (LEI, paragraph 31 teaches the mobile device as a vehicle unit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of OBARA with the teachings of LEI to activate or end the coverage enhancement mode: while driving; while at a standstill; in the case of locked vehicle doors; or from a stand-by mode. The motivation would be to perform guidance for a route to a destination from a current position (OBARA, paragraph 23).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412