DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 06/13/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority for U.S. National Stage under 35 U.S.C. 371 filed on 06/15/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55(f)(2).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
1. multiple microcavities must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1.
2. subsidiary channel must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 7-8.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-16 are replete with grammatical errors such as missing punctuation, subject-verb disagreement, omitted articles and inconsistent terminology for the claimed structures. Furthermore, there appears to be unclear and insufficient antecedent basis throughout claims 1-16; for example, it is unclear which structure is being referred to from claim 1 in the following limitation in Claim 6: “…wherein the linear element realizes…”; similarly, claim 1 recites various layers without proper antecedent basis, etc. The Examiner respectfully requests that the claims also be thoroughly corrected for proper antecedent basis such that it is clear which structures are being referred to in each limitation within the dependent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1. Claim 1 recites the limitation: “input layer consisting of optical elements ensuring linear pre-processing and distribution of input optical signals, middle layer, consisting of nonlinear optical elements, realizing nonlinear transformation of the pre-processed input signals, output layer consisting of linear optical elements, realizing linear transformation of the signals that had been transformed nonlinearly and generating output signals, passive optical systems optically coupling the input layer, the middle layer, the output layer wherein the nonlinear transformation in the middle layer occurs as a result of interaction of pre-processed input signals with a nonlinear element or elements in the form of an optical microcavity or multiple optical microcavities hosting exciton-polaritons”. It is unclear how a singular layer consists of multiple optical elements therein, and the as-filed specification along with the Drawings disclose singular optical elements corresponding to singular layers, thereby rendering the claim scope unclear and indefinite. See also related Drawings objection directed to multiple microcavities, rendering claim scope unclear. There is unclear antecedent basis for “nonlinear optical element(s)” because the claim earlier recites nonlinear optical elements as consisted within the middle layer, and then the claim later recites “an optical element…or elements” in the form of an optical microcavity, thereby rendering unclear whether these are two distinct structures or referring to the same structures. It is unclear what is meant by the term “pre-processing” and the instant specification (filed 12/14/2023) fails to elucidate such a limitation. Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by “linear optical elements” and “nonlinear optical element”, as these structures are not terms of the art; rather, it is commonly known that there exist linear and/or nonlinear optical effects. The instant specification appears to be completely silent with respect to what the “linear optical elements” refer to. Also, it is unclear whether the microcavity as recited corresponds to any element or the nonlinear element. A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is". Further, without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(g), citing In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971) and Ariad Pharmaceuticals., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be rendered indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). In the present case, Claim 1 limitation: “passive optical systems” is unclear as it recites functional language without providing a discernable boundary on what element of the system performs the function. Specifically, it is unclear if a specific material/structure/element must be present in the system to perform the function of being passive. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be discerned. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as best understood in light of the specification: “an input layer consisting of an optical element ensuring distribution of input optical signals, a middle layer consisting of a nonlinear optical element, realizing nonlinear transformation of the input optical signals, an output layer consisting of an optical element, realizing generation of output optical signals, a passive optical system optically coupling the input layer, the middle layer and the output layer; wherein the nonlinear transformation in the middle layer occurs as a result of an optical microcavity hosting exciton-polaritons”.
2. Claim 2 recites “wherein the input and/or output signals of the nonlinear element are binary-coded.” It is unclear which nonlinear element is being referred to since claim 1 refers to multiple nonlinear elements. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as: “wherein the input and/or output signals of the nonlinear element are binary-coded”.
3. Claim 3 recites “wherein the signals are coded by the light intensity.” It is unclear which signals being referred to since claim 1 refers to multiple signals. It is also unclear what is meant by the signals being “coded” by light intensity, i.e., coded in what manner? Furthermore, claim 1 is completely silent with respect to any “light intensity”, thereby rendering unclear which light intensity the limitation refers to and resulting in insufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as: “wherein the input or output signal correspond to an intensity”.
4. Claim 4 recites “wherein one or more layers consists solely of passive optical elements enabling modulation and distribution of the optical signal, such as optical filters, lenses, mirrors, absorbents, beam splitters, optical microcavities, diffractive optical elements, spatial light modulators.” However, Claim 1, from which Claim 4 depends, recites the transitional phrase "consisting of" for each and every layer, thereby excluding any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). A claim which depends from a claim which "consists of" the recited elements or steps cannot add an element or step. Additionally, description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. The term “such as” stated in the claim leads to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. See Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1949). Furthermore, claim 1 recites “passive optical systems” that couple to the layers, making it unclear whether the present claim language refers to new/distinct structures or to the aforementioned limitation. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as: “wherein the device comprises optical filters, lenses, mirrors, absorbents, beam splitters, optical microcavities, diffractive optical elements, or spatial light modulators”.
5. Claim 5 recites “wherein the middle layer contains nodes, which conduct binary operations of exclusive or (XOR) on each signal”. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 5 depends, recites the transitional phrase "consisting of" for the middle layer, thereby excluding any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). A claim which depends from a claim which "consists of" the recited elements or steps cannot add an element or step. Furthermore, it is unclear what is meant by “nodes”, i.e., does it correspond to a physical structure? a location? a mathematical state? Such a term renders the claim scope unascertainable. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as “wherein the device comprises nodes that conduct binary operations of exclusive or (XOR) on a signal”.
6. Claim 6 recites: “wherein the linear element realizes the optical operation of vector multiplication by a matrix”. It is unclear what is meant by a linear element ‘realizing’ an operation of a vector multiplied by a matrix, i.e., what does the vector correspond to? What does the matrix correspond to? How does a mathematical operation realize a linear optical element? what does the linear element refer to? The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. Furthermore, claim 1 recites a linear optical element, thereby rendering the present limitation as having unclear antecedent basis. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as inherent.
7. Claim 7 recites “wherein the middle layer contains a subsidiary channel, through which input pulses are transmitted bypassing the optical microcavity”. However, Claim 1, from which Claim 7 depends, recites that the middle layer consists of nonlinear optical elements. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). A claim which depends from a claim which "consists of" the recited elements or steps cannot add an element or step. Furthermore, claim 7 recites “input pulses”, whereas claim 1 recites “input optical signals”, thereby rendering unclear the claim scope and antecedent basis. Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by the term “subsidiary channel”, as such a structure does not appear to be a term of the art nor is it depicted anywhere in the instant Drawings. The instant specification fails to explain what this term refers to beyond an ipsis verbis appearance of the generic claim language. Applicants are required to make clear and precise the terms that are used to define the invention whereby the metes and bounds of the claimed invention can be ascertained. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as: “wherein the device comprises a channel”.
8. Claim 8 recites: “wherein it comprises an element summing up input signals from the microcavity and the subsidiary channel”. It is unclear what the term “it” refers to in this limitation. The instant specification appears to be silent with respect to any structure performing the claimed limitation, thereby rendering the claim scope indefinite. Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the subsidiary channel”, since this is a newly recited structure (claim 1 does not appear to recite this structure). See discussion above for claim 7. It is unclear how the input signals are ‘from’ the microcavity, especially when claim 1 (from which claim 8 depends upon) recites that the input signals are from the input layer, thereby creating confusion regarding the claim scope. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as inherent.
9. Claim 9 recites: “wherein the optical microcavity is an optical resonator, one of whose own modes comprises electric field distribution inside the cavity with maximums of the electric field strength placed on the spots where the optically active material is located.” It is unclear what is meant by “spots” since an electric field distribution is a vector field that cannot be restricted to ‘spots’. Claim 1 appears to be silent with regards to any optically active material, thereby rendering the structure and the claimed locations unclear. Additionally, the claim recites functional language without providing a discernable boundary on what element of the system performs the function. Specifically, it is unclear if a specific material/structure/element must be present in the material to perform the function of being optically active. Furthermore, there exists an innumerable multiplicity of materials that can be considered optically active, ranging from sugars such as glucose to a myriad of biological molecules such as proteins to a vast number of crystalline materials such as calcite, etc. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be discerned. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as inherent.
10. Claim 10 recites: “wherein optical signals have frequency tuned-up to optical microcavity resonance line frequency corresponding to polariton excitation in the optical microcavity.”. It is unclear which optical signals are being referred to, since claim 1 (from which claim 10 depends upon) recites both input and output optical signals, rendering the present claim scope unclear. It is also unclear what is meant by the phrase “signals have frequency tuned-up to”, i.e., in what manner are the signals tuned up? For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as “wherein the input optical signals are tuned to the optical microcavity resonance line frequency corresponding to polariton excitation”.
11. Claim 11 recites: “wherein optical signals have frequency that is not in resonance with any optical microcavity spectral line, but corresponding to a high transmission rate through optical microcavity mirrors.” It is unclear what is meant by “a high transmission rate”, in that the specification appears to be completely silent with respect to what is meant by this rate. Thus, the present limitation renders the claim indefinite by virtue of subjective terminology, wherein the instant disclosure lacks any objective standard for measuring the scope of the term. It is unclear which optical signals are being referred to, since claim 1 (from which claim 10 depends upon) recites both input and output optical signals, rendering the present claim scope unclear. Furthermore, it is unclear in what manner the optical signals correspond to a high transmission rate, because a high transmission rate is a material dependent property, not a property of an optical signal. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as “wherein the input optical signals are detuned from the optical microcavity resonance line frequency corresponding to polariton excitation”.
12. Similar to claim 11, Claims 12-13 recite: “wherein a nonlinear optical element combined with linear elements has a negative differential response within a certain range of the light intensity” (claim 12); “wherein the optical microcavity together with a passive optical element in the form of spectral filter realizes a negative differential response” (claim 11). It is unclear what is meant by “a certain range”, in that the specification appears to be completely silent with respect to what is meant by this range. It is unclear what type of signal or output is measured such that there exists a negative differential response, is it light intensity? photoresistance? etc. Furthermore, it is unclear what is meant by “a spectral filter” since such a term may refer to an innumerable multiplicity of structures and materials ranging from dyes, etalons, dielectric materials, dichroic filters, interferometers, Lyot filters, gratings, etc. The instant specification fails to elucidate either of the claimed limitations at hand, thereby rendering the claim scope undefined and indefinite. For the purposes of examination, these limitations will be treated as inherent.
13. Claim 14 recites: “wherein the optically active material in the microcavity is of the group of perovskites and/or two-dimensional materials and/or organic materials, in which exciton-polaritons are found at room temperature”. Claim 1, from which claim 14 depends upon is completely silent with respect to any optically active material in the microcavity. Additionally, the claim scope is rendered unclear and indefinite because the claimed group of materials do not inclusively exhibit exciton-polaritons at room temperature. In fact, a large number of perovskite materials, 2D materials and organic materials do not give rise to exciton-polaritons when driven out of equilibrium into excited states, let alone the viability of these quasiparticles in room temperature. The instant specification merely recites in ipsis verbis the generic claim language with no further explanation of any specific material systems where exciton polaritons are present in room temperature. See MPEP 2173.02 Section I, stating that when a genus claim could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered, would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as “wherein exciton-polaritons in room temperature are present in an optically active material in the microcavity”.
14. Claims 15-16 recite: “wherein it constitutes one of the layers out of a multilayer neural network” (claim 15); “polariton optical neural network wherein it includes at least one layer realized by the device described in claim 1”. Both limitations refer to “it”, which renders unclear what structures are being referred to in these claims, thereby resulting in the claim scope being unascertainable and indefinite.
Claims 2-16 inherit the deficiencies of Claim 1 and are thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liew et al. (NPL titled “Exciton-Polariton integrated circuits” (2010)).
Regarding Claim 1, Liew discloses: A device implementing polariton optical neural network (FIG. 1A; p. 1 c. 2), comprising:
A. input layer consisting of optical elements ensuring linear pre-processing and distribution of input optical signals (p. 1 c. 1: Selective optical excitation is achieved by tuning the photon energy of a continuous-wave cw laser [input layer] to lie between the lowest TPEPM and the lowest cavity polariton mode outside the channel; p.2 c.1: the response of the polariton density to the intensity of a circularly polarized cw optical pump),
B. middle layer, consisting of nonlinear optical elements, realizing nonlinear transformation of the pre-processed input signals (FIG. 1 caption: strip of metal on the surface [middle layer] connected to an electrical supply allowing the polariton potential to be changed in each segment; p. 2 c. 1: the electric field produced by the metal stripes affects the exciton energy and oscillator strength due to the quantum confined Stark effect [nonlinear transformation] ; p. 4 c. 1 & p. 1 c. 1: the high strength of exciton exciton interactions makes it possible to achieve the nonlinear regime where there are nonlinear optical effects),
C. output layer consisting of linear optical elements, realizing linear transformation of the signals that had been transformed nonlinearly and generating output signals (p. 1 c. 2: a Bragg mirror; p. 2 c. 1: Figure 1b shows the response of the polariton density to the intensity of a circularly polarized cw optical pump; see FIG. 1A-B, 2 showing output layer of linear optical element of output DBR mirror to provide output signals as shown in FIG. 1B, 2),
D. passive optical systems optically coupling the input layer, the middle layer, the output layer (p. 1. c. 2: a planar microcavity in which Bragg mirrors confine light so that it interacts strongly with excitons in a quantum well [passive optical systems]) wherein the nonlinear transformation in the middle layer occurs as a result of interaction of pre-processed input signals with a nonlinear element or elements in the form of an optical microcavity or multiple optical microcavities hosting exciton-polaritons (p. 1 c. 1 & p. 3 c. 2: the nonlinear optical effects linked with exciton-polaritons are demonstrated optical in a microcavity, demonstrating the feasibility of optical integrated circuits based on “polariton neurons” fits comfortably into a compact microcavity).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the input and/or output signals of the nonlinear element are binary-coded (abstract: logical signals encoded in bistable states in semiconductor microcavities can be generated and controlled electronically; p. 3 c. 2 & p. 4 c. 2: binary logic).
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the signals are coded by the light intensity (p. 2 c. 1: Figure 1b shows the response of the polariton density to the intensity of a circularly polarized cw optical pump; FIG. 2 caption: Initially the intensity in the first segment increases. Polaritons then propagate into the second region where there is a switching to the higher intensity state allowed by bistability).
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein one or more layers consists solely of passive optical elements enabling modulation and distribution of the optical signal, such as optical filters, lenses, mirrors, absorbents, beam splitters, optical microcavities, diffractive optical elements, spatial light modulators (p. 1 c. 2: Bragg mirrors in a microcavity; p. 4 c. 2: patterned metallic structure acting as a spatial light modulator).
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the linear element realizes the optical operation of vector multiplication by a matrix (p. 3 c. 1: The wave functions describe the electron and hole wave function behaviors normal to the quantum well plane; see Hamilton in p. 3 c. 1; p. 3 c. 1: the particle momenta are denoted by operators…using the trial wave function of Eq. 2 and Hamiltonian Eq. 3, we solved the static Schrödinger equation iteratively [optical operation], obtaining the electron and hole wave functions from which the exciton energy Eex and relative oscillator strength are calculated).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the middle layer contains a subsidiary channel, through which input pulses are transmitted bypassing the optical microcavity (p. 1 c. 1-2: channeling of polaritons using hybrid Tamm-plasmon–exciton-polariton modes which are formed under thin metallic stripes and confined to the channels).
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein it comprises an element summing up input signals from the microcavity and the subsidiary channel (p. 3 c. 2: Signals can be duplicated by splitting channels or combining channels).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the optical microcavity is an optical resonator (p. 1 c. 1 & p. 1 c. 2: exciton-polaritons in semiconductor microcavity structures arise when a confined optical mode is brought into resonance [optical resonator] with an excitonic transition…Tamm plasmon mode is put in resonance with the cavity polaritons), one of whose own modes comprises electric field distribution inside the cavity (p. 2 .c. 1-2: electric field affects the exciton energy and oscillator strength due to the quantum confined Stark effect, which leads to the shift of the TPEPMs as well… Electric fields can be produced by applying a potential difference to microcavity electrodes) with maximums of the electric field strength placed on the spots where the optically active material is located (FIG.1 caption: Dependence of the polariton density on the optical pump intensity FIG. 2 caption: The intensity in the first segment increases. Polaritons then propagate into the second region where there is a switching to the higher intensity state allowed by bistability).
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein optical signals have frequency tuned-up to optical microcavity resonance line frequency corresponding to polariton excitation in the optical microcavity (p. 1 c. 1 & p. 2 c. 1: a confined optical mode is brought into resonance with an excitonic transition…the Tamm plasmon is put in resonance with the cavity polaritons and the mode absorbs laser light only if its energy is tuned to the laser energy. This tuning can be achieved and controlled by the application of an electric field across the cavity in the direction normal to the cavity plane).
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein optical signals have frequency that is not in resonance with any optical microcavity spectral line, but corresponding to a high transmission rate through optical microcavity mirrors (p. 1 c. 2: Tamm plasmon is strongly detuned from the cavity polariton modes, the effect of the metal is to blueshift the cavity modes by 0.4 eV; FIG. 1 caption: The detuning can be changed by varying the applied electric potential; p. 2 c. 1: Figure 1b shows the response of the polariton density to the intensity of a circularly polarized cw optical pump. The different curves represent the cases of different detunings).
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein a nonlinear optical element combined with linear elements has a negative differential response within a certain range of the light intensity (p. 1 c. 2: Selective optical excitation is achieved by tuning the photon energy of a continuous-wave cw laser to lie between the lowest TPEPM and the lowest cavity polariton mode outside the channel. In this case, there is no absorption of light in the regions of the sample not covered by metal; FIG. 2 caption: Response of the polariton intensity in the microcavity plane when the potential in the first segment is altered such that the pump-polariton detuning is changed).
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the optical microcavity together with a passive optical element in the form of spectral filter realizes a negative differential response (p. 1 c. 2: Selective optical excitation is achieved by tuning the photon energy of a continuous-wave cw laser to lie between the lowest TPEPM and the lowest cavity polariton mode outside the channel. In this case, there is no absorption of light in the regions of the sample not covered by metal; FIG. 2 caption: Response of the polariton intensity in the microcavity plane when the potential in the first segment is altered such that the pump-polariton detuning is changed).
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein the optically active material in the microcavity is of the group of perovskites and/or two-dimensional materials and/or organic materials, in which exciton-polaritons are found at room temperature (p. 1 c. 2: For room temperature operation, the larger lateral confinement potential necessary is achieved in GaN-based planar microcavity).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: wherein it constitutes one of the layers out of a multilayer neural network (see FIG. 1 showing multilayer neural network; p. 3 c. 2: a polariton neuron-based optical circuit fits comfortably into a single compact microcavity; p. 1 c. 2: The thicknesses of the metallic layer and of the semiconductor layer next to it determine channeling of exciton polaritons).
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew further discloses: Polariton optical neural network (p. 2 c. 2: just as biological neurons do not rely on charged ions traveling down the whole length of the neuron, the same is the case with polaritons in polariton neurons, where the signal can propagate substantially further than the distance a single polariton can be expected to travel), wherein it includes at least one layer realized by the device described in claim 1 (p. 1 c. 1 & FIG. 1 caption: optical integrated circuits based on “polariton neurons” using a planar semiconductor microcavity with metallic electrodes used to electrically control the polariton neuron).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liew et al. (NPL titled “Exciton-Polariton…” (2010)) in view of Solnyshkov et al. (NPL titled “All optical Controlled-NOT quantum gate based on an exciton-polariton circuit” (2014)).
Regarding Claim 5, Liew discloses the device according to Claim 1, as above. Liew does not appear to explicitly disclose the limitations recited in claim 5.
Solnyshkov is related to Liew with respect to a device comprising an input layer, middle layer and an output layer, wherein the nonlinear transformation in the middle layer occurs as a result of interaction of pre-processed input signals with a nonlinear element or elements in the form of an optical microcavity hosting exciton-polaritons (p. 4 c. 1: polaritons are not only subject to de coherence, they are also disappearing because of the finite escape rate through the cavity mirrors; p. 5 c. 2: we have demonstrated the operation of an all-optical CNOT quantum gate based on a cavity polariton circuit) and Solnyshkov teaches: wherein the middle layer contains nodes, which conduct binary operations of exclusive or (XOR) on each signal (p. 2 c. 2: We shall therefore combine localized and propagating polaritons in a patterned microcavity structure [middle layer]; p. 2 c. 1: CNOT gate operates with 2 qubits: the target qubit and the control qubit. FIG. 1 demonstrates the operation of the CNOT gate in the two cases: a) with the control qubit being |1 (the target qubit should become inverted; The Examiner notes that it is commonly known in the art of quantum computing that all CNOT gates perform binary XOR operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liew in view of Solnyshkov to satisfy the claimed condition, because such operations are known and would be selected because the operation is powerful and considered the essential quantum gate: any quantum algorithm can be implemented using only the CNOT double-qubit gate comprising the binary operations of XOR, as taught in p. 1 c. 2 & p. 2 c. 1 of Solnyshkov.
Other Relevant Documents Considered
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Keeling et al. (see NPL titled “Bose–Einstein Condensation of Exciton-Polaritons in Organic Microcavities” (2020)) discloses a literature review of fundamental concepts directed to exciton-polaritons in microcavities, as recited in the claims; Harris et al. (US 10268232 B2) discloses optical neural network utilizing an optical cavity with an input, middle and output layer as claimed.
Conclusion
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872