DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murkens (EP-0370683-A1), in view of Magdassi et al. (WO-2005019360-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7-16
Murkens discloses glass flux composition comprising 45-65% Bi₂O₃, 25-36% SiO₂, 4-6% B₂O₃, 3-6% TiO₂, 1-3% Na₂O, 0.5-2% K₂O, 2-6% Li₂O, 0-3% Al₂O₃, 0-1% ZrO₂, 0-1% BaO, 0-1% CaO, 0-1% MgO, 0-1% ZnO, 0-3% PbO and 0-0.5% CdO (claim 1).
As the amounts of B₂O₃, Al₂O₃, Bi₂O₃, K₂O, SiO₂, and TiO₂ of the reference overlap the claimed amount, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Murkens discloses that the composition is a frit (claim 3).
Although Murkens does not disclose the particle size, Murkens does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, Magdassi discloses similar glass frit compositions that are suitable for inkjet printing have a particle size of less than 0.7 microns (page 11, lines 13-18). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Murkens by making a frit with a particle size of less than 0.7 microns, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming an ink useful for inkjet printing, as suggested by Magdassi.
Regarding claim 2
The composition of Murkens is free of zinc.
Regarding claim 3
The composition of Murkens can contain 0 wt % BaO.
Regarding claims 4-6, 17-18
Murkens discloses that it is known to make such glass frit compositions with as little as 3 wt % B2O3 (page 2, lines 11-16).
Although 3 wt % does not overlap with less than 3 wt % (or 2.5 wt % or 2 wt % or 1.9 wt %) there is not such a difference in concentration that the skilled artisan would expect a difference in properties, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 19
Murkens discloses the addition of a pigment (claim 4).
Magdassi discloses that an ink composition includes the glass frit and a vehicle that is glass at room temperature (i.e., liquid medium) (claim 1). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Murkens by adding a liquid vehicle to the glass frit composition to produce an ink, as suggested by Magdassi.
Regarding claim 20
Magdassi discloses that substrate is a glass substrate (claim 10).
Magdassi discloses that converting to digital printing provides advantages including lowered cost (page 3, lines 17-24). As such it would have been obvious to apply the ink to the substrate by digital printing.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the 112 rejections.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome the 112 rejections and they have been withdrawn.
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that claim 1 requires a specific Dv97, which is different than a median particle size. While this is true it is not persuasive as Magdassi discloses particles with a size of less than 0.7 microns, and even if this was a median or average size, it is not expected that more than 3 volume % of the particles would be greater than 1.5 microns, which is more than double the maximum size. Further, Magdassi discloses that the particles may be smaller than 0.7 microns, and even if particles listed as 0.7 microns would not meet the limitation, smaller sizes would overlap the claimed range. Further still, applicants have provided no evidence of new or unexpected results.
Applicants argue that there is no motivation to combine the references, as there are different amounts of Bi2O3 used between the references. This is not persuasive as Murkens does not teach a particle size, so the skilled artisan would have been motivated to look at Magdassi who does disclose a particle size for the frit, and the difference in chemistry from using different amounts of the same components would not have taught away from the combination.
The remaining arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734