Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said assembled inner pipe member" at lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 11, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Perherin (US 2021/0010619), which discloses:
A method of manufacturing a double-walled elbow pipe segment, comprising the steps of:
providing an inner pipe member (4);
providing at least one first support member (3), and positioning said at least one first support member coaxially over said inner pipe member (FIGS 7-8 and the accompanying written description);
providing an outer pipe member (2) and slidably positioning said assembled inner pipe member and said at least one first support member within said outer pipe member (FIGS 8-9) such that said at least one first support member is supportingly engaged with an outer surface of said inner pipe member and an inner surface of said outer pipe member (e.g., in order to transmit bending forces from the outer tube to the inner tube; e.g., para. 0027), and
bending a pipe assembly of said inner pipe member, said at least one first support member and said outer pipe member (e.g., para. 0048) into at least one first elbow section of a predetermined first angle and in a predetermined first direction between an upstream end portion and a downstream end portion of said pipe assembly (as shown in FIG 3, where either end could be the upstream or downstream end, depending on which way fluid will flow through the pipe).
2. A method according to claim 1, wherein step (d) comprises bending said pipe assembly into at least one second elbow section of a predetermined second angle and in a predetermined second direction between said upstream end portion and said downstream end portion (see FIG 4 and the end of para. 0049, describing multiple bends).
7. A method according to any one of claims 2, wherein said at least one first support member is adapted to operably cover said at least one first elbow section and said at least one second elbow section (because the bends occur at the support members 3, 3’, 3’’; para. 0049).
8.A method according to claim 2, wherein step (b) further comprises providing at least one second support member and positioning said at least one second support member coaxially over said inner pipe member at said second elbow section (see FIG 4 and the end of para. 0049, describing multiple bends at multiple support members 3, 3’, 3’’).
Regarding claim 11, see the analysis of claim 1 above, where the structure of claim 11 clearly corresponds to the analogous steps of “providing” that are explained above.
Regarding claim 14, see the corresponding analysis of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 15, the intended operating medium does not further define over the prior art since the prior art pipe is capable of handling fuel. See MPEP 2115.
Claim(s) 3-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perherin alone.
Regarding claims 3-6, Perherin discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the specific directions of the bends and sizes of the angles. However it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date (official notice) to create pipe bends in the same plane, or in different planes, and to create pipe bends having the same angle, or different angles as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create the claimed features in Perherin’s pipe in order to accommodate an operating environment which requires or is conducive to the such geometric features.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the use of pipe bending tools and ball- diameter testing equipment was also well-known in the art before the effective filing date and it would have been obvious to use the same with Perherin’s pipe in order to mechanically perform the required bending operation and ensure that the pipe has a minimum flow capability.
Claim(s) 1 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by JP S49114567 (document and translation provided by Applicant), which discloses:
11. A pipe assembly, comprising:
an inner pipe member (2);
an outer pipe member (3), adapted to operably receive said inner pipe member, so as to define an interstitial space between an outer wall of said inner pipe member and an inner wall of said outer pipe member, as well as, between an upstream end portion and a downstream end portion (see FIGS 1 and 2); and
at least one first support member (5), adapted to be provided coaxially within said interstitial space so as to supportingly engage said inner wall of said outer pipe member and said outer wall of said inner pipe member (translation, para. 0002), when forming at least one first elbow section, and to provide a fluid path between said upstream end portion and said downstream end portion (see the elbow-shape of FIG 2).
Regarding claim 1, see the analysis of claim 11 above, which clearly corresponds to the elements of claim 1.
12. A pipe assembly according to claim 11, wherein said at least one first support member (5) is arranged around said inner pipe member in the form of a helix (it’s a coil spring, translation para. 0002).
13.A pipe assembly according to any one of claim 11, wherein said at least one first support member is a coil spring having a predetermined length (translation para. 0002).
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by WO 2015/186147 A1 (document provided by Applicant), which discloses:
11.A pipe assembly, comprising:
an inner pipe member (11);
an outer pipe member (13), adapted to operably receive said inner pipe member, so as to define an interstitial space (15) between an outer wall of said inner pipe member and an inner wall of said outer pipe member, as well as, between an upstream end portion and a downstream end portion (see FIG 1a); and
at least one first support member (20), adapted to be provided coaxially within said interstitial space so as to supportingly engage said inner wall of said outer pipe member and said outer wall of said inner pipe member (e.g., see Abstract), when forming at least one first elbow section, and to provide a fluid path between said upstream end portion and said downstream end portion (through the inner pipe member, after bending).
Regarding claim 1, see the analysis of claim 11 above, which clearly corresponds to the elements of claim 1.
16.A pipe assembly according to claim 11, wherein said outer pipe member comprises carbon steel (p. 5, para. 01).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/186147 A1 alone.
WO 2015/186147 A1 does not disclose the pipe to have protective zinc coating. However it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date to use a zinc coating on a pipe as claimed (official notice), and it would have been obvious to use a zinc coating on a steel pipe with the pipe assembly disclosed by WO 2015/186147 A1 in order to create an affordable and durable rendition thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE 10 2010 040 249 (document provided by Applciant) discloses similar pipe supports in a double-walled pipe with multiple bends in the same plane. CN 103038010 discloses the use of a tightly-fitting ball to verify the inside diameter of a pipe bend (para. 0042).
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
2/24/26