Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transmitting circuitry” in claims 1 and 12.
The limitations of : “transmitting circuitry” in claims 1 and 12 is being treated in accordance with 112(f), because the associated functions are modified by a word that serves as a generic placeholder (i.e. the claims use the terms “circuitry” that is a substitute for “means”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kundu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0261391 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kundu discloses a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 14; Device 1400 [may be included in a UE]), comprising: transmitting circuitry (See Fig. 14; RF Circuitry 1406) configured to report a high-priority positive scheduling request (SR) and uplink control information (UCI) multiplexed on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) based on an overlapping condition (See Par. [88]-[90], [113]-[116] and Fig. 12 of Kundu for a reference to UE may multiplex multiple UCI types and carry them into one of multiple uplink channels in accordance with the rule used for simultaneous transmission of multiple UCI types with full overlapping. In the case when PUCCH [Currying SR] and PUSCH fully overlaps, UE would piggyback [Multiplex] the UCI on PUSCH and drop PUCCH).
Regarding claim 2, Kundu discloses wherein a channel dropping procedure with potential simultaneous SR physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and UCI reporting on the PUSCH is a feature of the UE (See Par. [95]-[100], [114] of Kundu for a reference to PUCCH carrying SR partially collides with PUSCH, UE drops PUCCH carrying SR and transmits the PUSCH. A collision-handling (dropping) procedure governing whether SR on PUCCH and UCI on PUSCH can be simultaneously reported).
Regarding claim 3, Kundu discloses wherein the feature is supported based on UE capability and is configured by a base station via higher-layer signaling (See Par. [90]-[91] of Kundu for a reference to overlap-handling parameters/rules may be configured via higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC), consistent with network configuration and UE support).
Regarding claim 4, Kundu discloses the UE of claim 1, further comprising a processor (See Fig. 14; CPU 1404E) configured to evaluate the overlapping condition between the UCI multiplexed on the PUSCH and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for a position of the high-priority SR, and to determine whether or not to report UCI together with the high-priority SR (See Par. [95], [114]-[116] of Kundu for a reference to evaluating where overlap occurs (colliding symbols) and deciding whether to transmit both (by puncturing) or to drop one, matching the decision of reporting UCI with higher-priority SR based on overlap).
Regarding claim 5, Kundu discloses wherein the evaluation is performed in several steps for all UCIs to reduce or minimize dropping of UCI multiplexed on a low-priority PUSCH (See Par. [88]-[90], [114]-[116] of Kundu for a reference to considering multiple UCI types and applying multiplexing/dropping/priority rules over colliding symbols. This implies iterative evaluation across UCI types to reduce unnecessary dropping).
Regarding claim 6, Kundu discloses wherein the evaluation is performed only for hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACKs) (See Par. [38]-[40], [95]-[100] of Kundu for a reference to SR collision handling driven by HARQ-ACK priority and SR multiplexing with HARQ-ACK, supporting an implementation that evaluates overlap for HARQ-ACK-related UCI).
Regarding claim 7, Kundu discloses wherein the HARQ-ACKs comprise at least one of high-priority HARQ-ACK and low-priority HARQ-ACK multiplexed on a low-priority PUSCH (See Par. [88]-[90] of Kundu for a reference to using priority rules for overlapping uplink signals and handling multiple UCI types. This supports distinguishing priority classes of HARQ-ACK/UCI when multiplexed on a channel such as PUSCH).
Regarding claim 8, Kundu discloses wherein the evaluation is performed only for high- priority hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) multiplexed on a low-priority PUSCH (See Par. [95]-[96], [99] of Kundu for a reference to prioritization among UCI types (including HARQ-ACK) in collisions, which supports evaluating overlap when a higher-priority HARQ-ACK is at stake).
Regarding claim 10, Kundu discloses wherein if there is overlapping, simultaneous reporting is not performed for the UCI and channel dropping rules based on multiplexed UCI priority are applied (See Par. [89], [95]-[100], [114] of Kundu for a reference to that when overlap/collision occurs, one transmission is dropped based on priority rules, matching the claimed non-simultaneous reporting and priority-based dropping).
Regarding claim 11, Kundu discloses wherein if there is no overlapping, the UCI is reported together with the SR (See Par. [88], [114]-[116] of Kundu for a reference to that in non-colliding portions/symbols transmissions can proceed, and partial-overlap solutions include puncturing to allow both. This supports reporting UCI together with SR when no overlap prevents it).
Regarding claim 12, Kundu discloses a base station (gNB), (See Fig. 14; Device 1400 [may be included in a BS]), comprising: transmitting circuitry (See Fig. 14; RF Circuitry 1406) configured to transmit higher-layer signaling to a user equipment (UE) (See Par. [95]-[100], [114] and Fig. 12 of Kundu for a reference to transmitting, to the UE a higher priority PUCCH [Currying SR]), wherein the higher-layer signaling indicates a configuration of a channel dropping procedure with potential simultaneous SR physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and UCI reporting on the PUSCH (See Par. [88]-[90], [113]-[116] and Fig. 12 of Kundu for a reference to UE may multiplex multiple UCI types and carry them into one of multiple uplink channels in accordance with the rule used for simultaneous transmission of multiple UCI types with full overlapping. In the case when PUCCH [Currying SR] and PUSCH fully overlaps, UE would piggyback [Multiplex] the UCI on PUSCH and drop PUCCH).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0230683 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kundu does not explicitly disclose wherein if there is UCI multiplexed on a low- priority PUSCH, whether a UCI multiplexed on the PUSCH can be reported simultaneously with a high-priority SR physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is determined based whether a high-priority SR PUCCH resource overlaps with any of UCI carrying symbols or a corresponding demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the UCI carrying symbols.
However, Akkarakaran discloses wherein if there is UCI multiplexed on a low- priority PUSCH, whether a UCI multiplexed on the PUSCH can be reported simultaneously with a high-priority SR physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is determined based whether a high-priority SR PUCCH resource overlaps with any of UCI carrying symbols or a corresponding demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the UCI carrying symbols (See Par. [97]-[99] of Akkarakaran for a reference to overlapping evaluation involving UCI transmission and DMRS/OFDM symbol positions, supporting determining simultaneity based on whether SR resources overlap UCI-carrying symbols or their DMRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Akkarakaran to Kundu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by shifting the overlapping slot to the beginning or to the end of the other multi-slot assignment to obtain a contiguous set of slot repetitions with the same structure to improve the UE processing timeline. (Akkarakaran; Par. [92])
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2023/0337240 Al) teaches handling or enabling communication, e.g. handling uplink control information (UCI) from the UE to the radio network node, in a wireless communication network.
Lee et al. (U.S. 2022/0248410 Al) teaches a method for transmitting an uplink signal by a user equipment in a wireless communication system comprises: receiving information on a plurality of PUCCH resource sets.
Islam et al. (US 2020/0228248 A1) discloses methods, systems, and storage media are described for the prioritization of services for control and data transmission for new radio (NR) systems.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413