DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 14 December, 2023, is a national stage application of PCT/GB2022/051846, filed 18 July, 2022, which claims foreign benefit of Application GB2110373.4, filed 19 July, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 December, 2023 and 17 October, 2024 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 14 December, 2023, in the matter of Application N° 18/570,244. Said documents have been entered on the record.
No additions, amendments, or cancellations have been made to the originally-filed claims. The issue of new matter is moot.
Thus, Claims 1-25 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-25 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Additionally, in U.S. practice, dependent claims (e.g., Claims 2-23) typically refer back to a previously recited claim using the definite article (e.g., “The compound of claim 1” versus “A compound”).
For purposes of examination, Claims 4-25 are interpreted as depending directly from Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein A1, A2, A3 or A4 are selected from” a series of alternatives, which renders it unclear whether the recited selections apply to each of A1-A4 or only to one of those positions. This ambiguity in the selection mechanism obscures the scope of the claimed compound. Additionally, Claim 10 defines multiple alternative structural configurations using subparagraphs (i), (ii), etc., each further limited by provisos specifying allowable heteroatom content. As written, the same ring substitution pattern may satisfy more than one of the recited alternatives, such that the boundaries between the alternatives are unclear and the scope of the claim cannot be readily determined. In view of the ambiguous selection language and the overlapping alternative configurations, Claim 10 fails to distinctly delineate the scope of the claimed compound.
For purposes of examination, Claim 10 is read to encompass any compound in which at least one of A1-A4 satisfies any of the recited alternatives, regardless of whether the same compound may also satisfy another alternative.
Claim 25 attempts to claim a compound as defined in any one of claims 1-23 or a pharmaceutical composition as defined in claim 24, while simultaneously reciting therapeutic uses including “for use in therapy”, “the treatment of cancer,” “the treatment of cancer wherein the compound or pharmaceutical composition is administered in combination with another anticancer agents,” and “the treatment of a triplet repeat disorder.”
As written, Claim 25 improperly mixes statutory categories, combining compound claims, composition claims, and method-of-treatment limitations within a single claim, thereby rendering the scope of the claim unclear.
Additionally, the recited “for use” and “treatment” language fails to positively recite method steps or a definite method of administration, further obscuring whether the claim is directed to a compound, a composition, or a method of treatments.
Furthermore, the parenthetical “(e.g.,…)” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For purposes of examination, Claim 25 is interpreted as directed to a compound as defined in Claim 1, wherein the recited therapeutic language is treated as an intended use that does not further limit the claimed compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura et al. (WO 2009/060835 A1), hereinafter Kimura, as evidenced by CASPLUS (CAS RN 1151668-01-7.)
Kimura teaches Methanone, (3,4-dihydro-2(1H)-isoquinolinyl)(2-hydroxy-4,6-dimethoxyphenyl)-(ACI) (CAS RN 1151668-01-7), shown top right, which overlaps the instant Formula I, shown bottom right, wherein A1 is CH, A2 is CH, A3 is CH, A4 is CH (as in instant Claim 10, Y1 is -CH2- (as in instant Claim 7), Y2 is -CH2-CH2- (as in instant Claims 8-9), R2 is H, R4 is H, and R6 is Methyl (as in instant Claims 1-5 and 25), differing only in the para hydroxyl off the phenyl group of the instant genus, which is exemplified as a methoxy in Kimura’s species.
Regarding Claim 24, Kimura teaches the compound of the general formula (I) or a salt thereof can be formulated into a solid preparation such as a tablet, a capsule, a granule, a powder and the like mixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (‘835, Pg. 36, Para 4 of Description Translation.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a methoxy group for a hydroxy group as such substitution on an aromatic ring is a well-known and routine modification in medicinal chemistry. One would have been motivated to make such a substitution as such is commonly employed to modulate polarity, hydrogen-bonding capability, and metabolic stability, while preserving the overall structure and activity of the compound, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting compound would retain similar properties.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US Patent 9,730,912, published 15 August, 2017, and linked to WO 2008/044054A2, cited in the IDS.)
Thompson teaches 1,3-Dihydroisoindol-2-yl)(2,4-dihydroxyphenyl)methanone (‘912, Col 149, Example 16), shown top right, which overlaps instant Formula I, shown middle right, wherein A1 is CH, A2 is CH, A3 is CH, A4 is CH (as in instant Claim 10), Y1 is -CH2- (as in instant Claim 7), Y2 is -CH2- (as in instant Claims 8-9), R2 is H, R4 is H (as in instant Claims 1-5), and differing only at the substituent linked to R6.
However, Thompson teaches Formula VIIa (‘912, Col 57), shown bottom right, that expressly limits the substituents at R4a to a closed genus, which consists of hydrogen, fluorine, chlorine, or methoxy.
Although methoxy is not exemplified at that specific position, though is at alternative positions off the phenyl group, it is expressly disclosed as one of only four permitted alternatives. Selection of methoxy from this small, finite set of identified substituents would have been an obvious choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as it represents a predictable substitution within the disclosed genus and would have been expected to yield a compound with similar properties. Moreover, methoxy substitution on aromatic rings is well known in medicinal chemistry and is structurally similar to other disclosed substituents, further supporting a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the claimed compound would have been prima facie obvious over the Thompson.
Similarly, Thompson teaches Examples 28, 33, and 34, shown below, which exemplify alternative configurations for instant substituents A1-A4, while maintaining the same core scaffold of Thompson’s Formula VIIa above.
‘912, Col 159, Example 28
‘912, Col 161, Example 33
‘912, Col 161, Example 34
Example 28 discloses A1 is CR11 wherein R11 is F (as in instant Claim 11) and A4 is CR14 wherein R14 is F (as in instant Claim 21).
Example 33 discloses A2 is CR12 wherein R12 is -(CHRv)d-Z12 wherein d is 0, Z12 is -OR20 wherein R20 is methyl (as in instant Claims 16-17) and A3 is CR13 wherein R13 is Cl (as in instant Claims 19-20)
Example 34 discloses A2 is CR12 and the “-O-CH2-CH2-O-CH3” substituent which can be captured by selections in two branches within the instant Markush:
(a) wherein R12 is an ethoxy substituted with a methoxy (as in instant Claims 16-18), or;
(b) wherein R12 is -(CHRv)d-Z12 wherein d is 0, Z12 is -OR20 wherein R20 is ethyl, and R20 is optionally substituted with Ra, wherein L1 is absent, X1 is -O- and Q1 is methyl (as in instant Claim 22.)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 16-20 and 24-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 4-9, 18-20, and 22-24 of U.S. Patent N° 12,552,758.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Patent ‘758 discloses and exemplifies at least one compound – (2-benzyloxy-4,6-dihydroxy-phenyl)-(5-bromoisoindolin-2-yl)methanone – (‘758, Claim 22, Example 23), that falls within the scope of the instant claimed Formula I. The instant claims therefore merely recite an overlapping genus encompassing the same subject matter and constitute an obvious variation of the claims of Patent ‘758.
Claim 1-25 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-27 of copending Application N° 18/712,285, Claims 1-25 of copending Application N° 19/148,966, and Claims 1-25 of copending Application N° 19/485,828
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the copending applications claims compounds defined by genus formulas that overlap with or are obvious variants of the instant claimed compounds, including shared core scaffolds and key fixed substituents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Communication
/D.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627