DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 12-15, 17, 21, 24-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jovicic et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0126911 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jovicic et al teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor (302 shown on Fig. 3);
at least one memory coupled with the processor (304 shown on Fig. 3), with
instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor (para [0037]; “Memory 304 includes routines 311 and data/information 313.”), individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a base station, an indication that the base station supports visible light communications (para [0026]; “…light signals from a base station convey information, e.g., discovery information such as an ID, e.g., a Wi-Fi SSID, or an access point Pre-Shared Key (AP PSK), which when detected by a UE device triggers a change in the UE device from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation,…”; para [0030]; “In step 212 the UE device changes from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation in response to detecting receipt of an information signal from a light transmitter,…”);
deactivate a radio frequency receiver of the UE based at least in part on receiving the indication (para [0032]; “In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation…);
receive a visible light communication message at a photo detector of the UE (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to change a reverse bias voltage value of a photodiode of the UE device, e.g., from a first predetermined reverse bias voltage value to a second predetermined reverse bias voltage value where the second value is higher than the first value, facilitating the communications of data via light signals at a higher data rate and/or using a larger frequency band.”);
activate the radio frequency receiver of the UE based at least in part on a content of the visible light communication message (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”); and
communicate with the base station using the radio frequency receiver (para [0034]; …“the UE device operates said radio transmitter to transmit data during said second mode of device operation”).
Jovicic et al teaches various embodiments shown on Figs. 2, 4A, 4B and 10, which read on the cited paragraph above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Jovicic et al does not specifically teach the claimed invention disclosed in one embodiment. However, since Jovicic et al teaches the claimed invention in different embodiments, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments to read on the claimed invention as discussed above, in order to receive and transmit data signal utilizing all available medium, such as optical and/or radio, in order to conserve power and optimized data transmission.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the instructions to receive the visible light communication message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a broadcast visible light communication message indicating a system information value tag, wherein activating the radio frequency receiver of the UE is based at least in part on the system information value tag (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to establish wireless radio communications with the base station.”; PSK is considered as information value tag).
Regarding claim 9, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the base station, a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to receive broadcast visible light communications, wherein receiving the visible light communication message is based at least in part on transmitting the capability message (para [0029]; “In step 209 the UE device recovers device configuration information from said information signal. The device configuration information includes configuration information pertaining to the UE device and/or an AP. Exemplary device configuration information includes, e.g., communications protocol information, frequency tuning information, timing/frequency structure information, power level information, rate and/or modulation information.”).
Regarding claim 12, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions to communicate with the base station are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a downlink data message from the base station using the radio frequency receiver (para [0034]; …“the UE device operates said radio transmitter to transmit data during said second mode of device operation”).
Regarding claim 13, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions to receive the visible light communication message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the visible light communication message while the UE is in an idle state (para [0032]; “…the first mode of device operation includes operating in a reduced power visible light communication (VLC) mode of operation and operating in a radio frequency sleep mode of operation.”; sleep mode of operation is considered as idle state).
Regarding claim 14, Jovicic et al teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
at least one processor (para [0106]; “…the processor or processors, e.g., CPUs, of one or more devices, e.g., communications nodes such as wireless terminals, network nodes, and/or access nodes, are configured to perform the steps of the methods described as being performed by the communications nodes.”);
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (para [0107]; “…the computer program product may, and sometimes does, include code for each individual step of a method, e.g., a method of controlling a communications device or node. The code may be in the form of machine, e.g., computer, executable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium, e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable medium, such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), ROM (Read Only Memory) or other type of storage device.”), with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, (para [0107]; “…the computer program product may, and sometimes does, include code for each individual step of a method, e.g., a method of controlling a communications device or node. The code may be in the form of machine, e.g., computer, executable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium, e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable medium, such as a RAM (Random Access Memory), ROM (Read Only Memory) or other type of storage device.”) to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication that the base station supports visible light communications (para [0026]; “…light signals from a base station convey information, e.g., discovery information such as an ID, e.g., a Wi-Fi SSID, or an access point Pre-Shared Key (AP PSK), which when detected by a UE device triggers a change in the UE device from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation,…”; para [0030]; “In step 212 the UE device changes from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation in response to detecting receipt of an information signal from a light transmitter,…”);
transmit, in accordance with the indication and via one or more light emitting diodes, a visible light communication message comprising a content that triggers activation of a radio frequency receiver at the UE (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”); and
communicate via radio frequency communications with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the visible light communication message (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”).
Jovicic et al teaches various embodiments shown on Figs. 2, 4A, 4B and 10, which read on the cited paragraph above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Jovicic et al does not specifically teach the claimed invention disclosed in one embodiment. However, since Jovicic et al teaches the claimed invention in different embodiments, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments to read on the claimed invention as discussed above, in order to receive and transmit data signal utilizing all available medium, such as optical and/or radio, in order to conserve power and optimized data transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the visible light communication message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the one or more light emitting diodes, a broadcast visible light communication message indicating a physical cell identifier of the base station, wherein communicating via the radio frequency communications with the UE is based at least in part on the broadcast visible light communication message indicating the physical cell identifier of the base station (para [0026]; “…light signals from a base station convey information, e.g., discovery information such as an ID, e.g., a Wi-Fi SSID, or an access point Pre-Shared Key (AP PSK),… a UE device which detects the light signal and recovers the communicated information powers on and/or configures a wireless radio within the UE device or one or more particular wireless radio modules or one or more particular wireless radio circuits within the UE device in response to the recovered communicated information.”).
Regarding claim 17, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the visible light communication message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the one or more light emitting diodes, a broadcast visible light communication message indicating a system information value tag, wherein the system information value tag triggers activation of the radio frequency receiver at the UE (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to establish wireless radio communications with the base station.”; PSK is considered as information value tag).
Regarding claim 21, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the UE, a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to receive broadcast visible light communications, wherein transmitting the visible light communication message to the UE is based at least in part on receiving the capability message from the UE (para [0029]; “In step 209 the UE device recovers device configuration information from said information signal. The device configuration information includes configuration information pertaining to the UE device and/or an AP. Exemplary device configuration information includes, e.g., communications protocol information, frequency tuning information, timing/frequency structure information, power level information, rate and/or modulation information.”).
Regarding claim 24, Jovicic et al teaches wherein the instructions to communicate via the radio frequency communications with the UE are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a downlink data message to the UE based at least in part on transmitting the visible light communication message (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to change a reverse bias voltage value of a photodiode of the UE device, e.g., from a first predetermined reverse bias voltage value to a second predetermined reverse bias voltage value where the second value is higher than the first value, facilitating the communications of data via light signals at a higher data rate and/or using a larger frequency band.”).
Regarding claim 25, Jovicic et al teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, an indication that the base station supports visible light communications (para [0026]; “…light signals from a base station convey information, e.g., discovery information such as an ID, e.g., a Wi-Fi SSID, or an access point Pre-Shared Key (AP PSK), which when detected by a UE device triggers a change in the UE device from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation,…”; para [0030]; “In step 212 the UE device changes from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation in response to detecting receipt of an information signal from a light transmitter,…”);
deactivating a radio frequency receiver of the UE based at least in part on receiving the indication (para [0032]; “In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation…);
receiving a visible light communication message at a photo detector of the UE (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to change a reverse bias voltage value of a photodiode of the UE device, e.g., from a first predetermined reverse bias voltage value to a second predetermined reverse bias voltage value where the second value is higher than the first value, facilitating the communications of data via light signals at a higher data rate and/or using a larger frequency band.”);
activating the radio frequency receiver of the UE based at least in part on a content of the visible light communication message (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”); and
communicating with the base station using the radio frequency receiver (para [0034]; …“the UE device operates said radio transmitter to transmit data during said second mode of device operation”).
Jovicic et al teaches various embodiments shown on Figs. 2, 4A, 4B and 10, which read on the cited paragraph above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Jovicic et al does not specifically teach the claimed invention disclosed in one embodiment. However, since Jovicic et al teaches the claimed invention in different embodiments, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments to read on the claimed invention as discussed above, in order to receive and transmit data signal utilizing all available medium, such as optical and/or radio, in order to conserve power and optimized data transmission.
Regarding claim 26, Jovicic et al teaches wherein receiving the visible light communication message comprises: receiving a broadcast visible light communication message indicating a system information value tag, wherein activating the radio frequency receiver of the UE is based at least in part on the system information value tag (para [0026]; “…a light signal, e.g., a light beacon signal from a base station, communicates information, e.g., an ID or a PSK, which when detected triggers the UE device to establish wireless radio communications with the base station.”; PSK is considered as information value tag).
Regarding claim 30, Jovicic et al teaches a method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication that the base station supports visible light communications (para [0026]; “…light signals from a base station convey information, e.g., discovery information such as an ID, e.g., a Wi-Fi SSID, or an access point Pre-Shared Key (AP PSK), which when detected by a UE device triggers a change in the UE device from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation,…”; para [0030]; “In step 212 the UE device changes from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation in response to detecting receipt of an information signal from a light transmitter,…”);
transmitting, in accordance with the indication and via one or more light emitting diodes, a visible light communication message comprising a content that triggers activation of a radio frequency receiver at the UE (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”); and
communicating via radio frequency communications with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the visible light communication message (para [0032]; “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver… In step 224, the UE device powers a radio transmitter included in the UE device and which is unpowered during said first mode of device operation. For example, the UE device powers on a radio transmitter included in the UE device and radio receiver included in the UE device, e.g., a WiFi transmitter/receiver included in the UE device, which was unpowered during the first mode of device operation, based on information communicated in a detected light beacon signal.”).
Jovicic et al teaches various embodiments shown on Figs. 2, 4A, 4B and 10, which read on the cited paragraph above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Jovicic et al does not specifically teach the claimed invention disclosed in one embodiment. However, since Jovicic et al teaches the claimed invention in different embodiments, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments to read on the claimed invention as discussed above, in order to receive and transmit data signal utilizing all available medium, such as optical and/or radio, in order to conserve power and optimized data transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10, 11, 16, 18-20, 22, 23 and 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11-12 of the remark, applicant states:
“The cited features of Jovicic, however, have not been shown to be the same as "deactivat[ing] a radio frequency receiver of the UE based at least in part on receiving [an] indication" that "the base station supports visible light communications," as recited in independent claim 1. For example, cited portions of Jovicic describe "power[ing] a radio transmitter included in the UE device" based on information in a light signal. Id. (emphasis added). However, powering on a "radio transmitter," by detecting a light signal, as in Jovicic, is different from "deactivat[ing] a radio frequency receiver" based on receiving "an indication that the base station supports visible light communications" as recited in independent claim 1. At best, Jovicic teaches "activating" a radio transmitter due to the reception of a light signal. In other words, the Office Action has not shown powering a radio transmitter based on a light signal, as described by Jovicic, to be the same as "deactivating a radio frequency receiver," as claimed. Thus, Jovicic does not teach or suggest the aforementioned features of independent claim 1.”
As cited in the rejection above, Jovicic et al teaches the claimed invention in different embodiments, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments to read on the claimed invention as discussed above, in order to receive and transmit data signal utilizing all available medium, such as optical and/or radio, in order to conserve power and optimized data transmission. Figures 2, 4A, 4B, 9 and 10 shows various embodiments and mode of operations. On paragraph [0026] Jovicic teaches “…light signals from a base station convey information, … which when detected by a UE device triggers a change in the UE device from a first mode of device operation to a second mode of device operation, …. In some embodiments, … a UE device which detects the light signal and recovers the communicated information powers on and/or configures a wireless radio within the UE device or one or more particular wireless radio modules or one or more particular wireless radio circuits within the UE device in response to the recovered communicated information.” On paragraph [0032], Jovicic teaches “…the UE device changes the mode of operation of a receiver included in the UE device from a sleep mode of operation to an active mode of operation. In some such embodiments, said receiver is a radio receiver. In some embodiments, the first mode of device operation includes operating in a reduced power visible light communication (VLC) mode of operation and operating in a radio frequency sleep mode of operation.” These paragraphs discusses different mode of operations, in which, the radio transmitter may be activated or deactivated (sleep mode is considered as deactivated radio transmitter). Based on the teaching that radio transmitter may be configured to operate in different modes, accordingly Jovicic et al still read on the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635