DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doskolovich et al. et al. (“Multifocal diffractive lens generating several fixed foci at different design wavelengths”, Optics Express, February 19, 2018, 26(4):4698-709).
Re claim 1, Doskolovich et al. discloses et al. discloses a device comprising a meta lens (3) configured to generate a plurality of diffractive orders of an image at respective focal lengths (see page 2, “Introduction”); an image sensor (5); and an actuator (6) operate to move at least one of the metalens or the image sensor to each of a plurality of positions so that a distance between the metalens and the image sensor is adjusted (Fig. 5, page, 2, second paragraph), wherein the distance between the metalens and the image sensor for each respective one of the positions corresponds to a particular one of the focal lengths (Figs. 5 and 6, page 9, second and last paragraph); adjusting the distance between the metalens and the image sensor provides a zoom in or zoom out operation (Figs. 5 and 6, page 9, last paragraph). Doskolovich et al. does not disclose the device wherein the image sensor is a component of an endoscopic imaging system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the image sensor is a component of an endoscopic imaging system. Doskolovich et al. disclose the device wherein the device may be in ophthalmic and microscopy applications (page 2, “Introduction). Ophthalmic and microscopy applications are well known in the art to employ endoscopes.
Re claim 2, Doskolovich et al. discloses the device wherein the actuator (6) is operable to move the image sensor (5) to each of the plurality of positions (Fig. 5).
Re claim 3, Doskolovich et al. does not disclose the device wherein the actuator is operable to move the metalens to each of the plurality of positions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the actuator is operable to move the metalens to each of the plurality of positions. Employing the device wherein the actuator is operable to move the metalens as opposed to the sensor would equally change the distance between the two, and therefore would be a functionally equivalent modification.
Re claims 4 and 13, Doskolovich et al. discloses the device wherein the plurality of positions includes at least three different positions (page 2, “Introduction”; page 9).
Re claims 5 and 14, Doskolovich et al. discloses the device wherein the image sensor (CCD) is a component of a camera.
Re claim 6, Doskolovich et al. does not disclose the device wherein the image sensor is a component of an endoscopic imaging system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the image sensor is a component of an endoscopic imaging system. Doskolovich et al. disclose the device wherein the device may be in ophthalmic and microscopy applications (page 2, “Introduction). Ophthalmic and microscopy applications are well known in the art to employ endoscopes.
Re claim 7, Doskolovich et al. discloses a method comprising: acquiring, by an image sensor (5), a first image while a first distance separates the image sensor from a metalens (3); moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens such that a second distance separates the image sensor from the metalens (Fig. 5); and acquiring, by the image sensor, a second image while the second distance separates the image sensor from the metalens (page 2, “Introduction”; page 9); wherein each of the first and second images corresponds, respectively, to a different one of a plurality of diffractive orders of an image generated by the metalens (Figs. 5 and 6, page 9), and wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens provides a zoom in or zoom out operation (Figs. 5 and 6, page 9; abstract).
Re claim 8, Doskolovich et al. discloses the method wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens includes moving the image sensor (5) (Fig. 5).
Re claim 9, Doskolovich et al. does not disclose the method wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens includes moving the metalens.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the method wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens includes moving the metalens. Employing the wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens includes moving the metalens as opposed to the sensor would equally change the distance between the two, and therefore would be a functionally equivalent modification.
Re claims 10 and 11, Doskolovich et al. discloses the method wherein moving at least one of the image sensor or the metalens provides a zoom in or zoom out operation (page 9; abstract).
Re claims 12, 17, 19 and 20, Doskolovich et al. discloses the method further including: moving again at least one of the image sensor or the metalens such that a third distance separates the image sensor from the metalens; and acquiring by the image sensor, a third image while the third distance separates the image sensor from the metalens, and wherein moving again at least one of the image sensor to the metalens provides another zoom in or zoom out operation (page 2, “Introduction”, page 9).
Re claim 15, Doskolovich et al. discloses the device wherein the plurality of positions includes at least three different positions (page 2, “introduction”; page 9).
Re claim 16, Doskolovich et al. discloses the device wherein the image sensor (5) (“CCD”) is a component of a camera.
Re claim 18, Doskolovich et al. discloses the method further including: moving again at least one of the image sensor or the metalens such that a third distance separates the image sensor from the metalens; and acquiring by the image sensor, a third image while the third distance separates the image sensor from the metalens, and wherein moving again at least one of the image sensor to the metalens provides another zoom in or zoom out operation (page 2, “Introduction”, page 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Endoscopes are instruments featuring long, flexible or rigid tubes equipped with a light source and miniature camera; whereas ophthalmology is the medical and surgical specialty designated to the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of diseases for the eye, visual system, and surrounding structure. Examiner submits that ophthalmic systems are well known in the art to comprise an endoscope imaging system. For example, Terry et al. (US 2025/0082412 A) and Matsuda (US 2021/0298575 A1) disclose ophthalmic system that employ an endoscope imaging system. Kahook et al. (US 2017/0181892) also discloses an ophthalmic endoscope system. Furthermore, “ophthalmic applications” does not exclude endoscope imaging systems since ophthalmic application may include endoscope imaging systems as disclosed by Terry et al., Matsuda and Kahook et al.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the mere existence of isolated ophthalmic systems does not establish that ophthalmic applications generally employ endoscopes, nor does it establish that one of ordinary skill in the art recognized Doskolovich’s multifocal lens as suitable for such devices, Examiner submits that ophthalmic systems are well known in the art to employ endoscopes. Since Doskolovich discloses an ophthalmic system, and ophthalmic endoscopic system are well known in the art, one having ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the ophthalmic system of Doskolovich to an ophthalmic endoscope imaging system. Doing so would generate fixed foci at different wavelengths to reduce chromatic effects in an ophthalmic endoscope imaging system.
In response to applicant's argument that the purported combination does not take into account the complexity and significant redesign required by such a combination, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). One would have known to modify the invention of Doskolovich to be applied to an endoscopic imaging system since ophthalmic systems are well known in the art to comprise an endoscopic imaging system, and doing so would allow for a specific application of an ophthalmic system such as in endoscopy to also reduce chromatic effects.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871