DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the amendment filed for application 18/570297. Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 27-28 are cancelled. Claims 1, 16-22 and 26 are amended.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 20-22, 26 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-14 and 20-27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 herein) in view of Handy et al (US 2019/0381044; cited in IDS mailed 12/13/23) is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments and new IDS filed 6/8/26.
The rejection of claims 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 herein) in view of Handy et al (US 2019/0381044; cited in IDS mailed 12/13/23) as applied to claims 1-14 and 20-27 above, and in further view of Scherber (Blood, July 14 2011, Volume 118, Number 2; cited in PTO-892 herein) is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments and new IDS filed 6/8/26.
The rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 herein) in view of Handy et al (US 2019/0381044; cited in IDS mailed 12/13/23) as applied to claims 1-14 and 20-27 above, and in further view of Hondous et al (WO 2012/170976; cited in PTO-892 herein) is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments and new IDS filed 6/8/26.
New Rejections Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 dated 3/9/26) in view of Lange et al (WO 2019243223; cited in IDS filed 6/8/26).
Regarding claim 1, Rothbaum discloses therapeutic methods and pharmaceutical compositions for treating a myeloproliferative neoplasm (MPN) comprising the step of administering to a human in need thereof, therapeutically effective amounts of a MDM2 inhibitor, and a therapeutic agent selected from the group consisting of a JAK inhibitor, an IDH inhibitor, a PD-1 inhibitor, a PD-L1 inhibitor, a PD-L2 inhibitor, an interferon, a P13K inhibitor, an AKT inhibitor, an mTOR inhibitor a nucleoside analog and combinations thereof (abstract, paragraph 0006, whole document). Rothbaum further discloses administering its therapeutic agents with a BTK inhibitor (paragraph 0249). Although Rothbaum suggests the use of BTK inhibitors, for MPN treatment, Rothbaum does not immediately envisage the administration of the BTK inhibitor, 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Lange et al teach solid forms of 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and its use as a BTK inhibitor (abstract; whole document). Lange et al further teach such compounds treat BTK-mediated disorders or conditions including multiple myeloma as well as acute myelogenous leukemia (paragraphs 0267, 0299). Lange et al teach its compounds are administered at dosage levels of about 0.01 mg/kg to about 100 mg/kg (paragraph 0307), which are similar amounts of BTK inhibitors disclosed in the instant specification (see paragraphs 0085-0087).
Thus, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to administer 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one to treat human subjects with MPN. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so since Rothbaum suggests BTK inhibitors as additional therapeutic agents for MPN treatment and Lange et al provide further motivation for using 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one as a specific BTK inhibitors to treat human subjects with MPN. In KSR v. Telefex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court has held that when there is market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. The court has reasoned a reasonable expectation of success in the art by stating that reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle. Sinclair & Carroll Co., 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.
With respect to the limitation directed to reducing or alleviating symptoms selected from the group consisting of night sweats, fatigue, pruritus, abdominal pain, pain under ribs, fullness, bone pain in human subjects with MPN, it should be noted that the reduction or alleviation of such symptoms would naturally result from administering the BTK inhibitors to a human subject with MPN within the combined teachings of Rothbaum and Lange et al. See MPEP 2112.02. The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 161, 163 (CCPA 1957). However, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978).
Regarding claim 2, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from primary myelofibrosis (paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 3, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from post-polycythemia vera myelofibrosis (paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 4, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from post-essential thrombocythemia myelofibrosis (paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 5, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from chronic myelogenous leukemia (paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 6, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from chronic neutrophilic leukemia (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 7, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from chronic eosinophilic leukemia (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 8, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from chronic myelogenous leukemia (paragraph 0026) with blast phase MPN (paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 9, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claims 11-12, Rothbaum teaches its BTK inhibitors can be administered in combination with a JAK2 inhibitor (paragraph 0084) and Rothbaum teaches the JAK2 inhibitors can be selected from ruxolitinib and pacritinib (paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 13, Rothbaum teaches the BTK inhibitor is administered in combination with a MDM2 inhibitor (paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 14, Rothbaum teaches the MPN can be selected from a MPN is a JAK2-V617F myeloproliferative neoplasm (paragraph 0112).
Regarding claims 20-26 and the specific symptoms reduced or alleviated; it should be noted that the reduction or alleviation of such symptoms would naturally result from administering the BTK inhibitors to a human subject with MPN within the combined teachings of Rothbaum and Handy et al. See MPEP 2112.02. The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 161, 163 (CCPA 1957). However, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 dated 3/9/26) in view of Lange et al (WO 2019243223; cited in IDS filed 6/8/26) as applied to claims 1-9, 11-14 and 20-26 above and in further view of Handy et al (US 2019/0381044; cited in IDS mailed 12/13/23).
Regarding claim 10, the disclosures of Rothbaum and Lange et al are discussed above and incorporated herein.
The combined teachings of Rothbaum and Lange et al are silent with respect to its human subjects suffering from splenomegaly, hepatomegaly or hepatosplenomegaly.
Handy et al teach methods of using a BTK inhibitor to treat solid tumor cancers by modulation of the tumor microenvironment (abstract; whole document). More specifically, Handy et al teach these BTK inhibitors can be used to treat MPN (paragraph 0595). Handy et al exemplify the administration of the specific BTK inhibitor, ibrutinib (paragraph 0688) in dosages from 5 mg-2000 mg (paragraph 0648), which are similar amounts of BTK inhibitors disclosed in the instant specification (see paragraph 0085; Table 1). Handy et al discuss BTK inhibitors that show substantial antitumor activity and induce durable regressions of splenomegaly in most subjects (paragraph 0689).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the BTK inhibitors discussed in Rothbaum modified by Lange et al to human subjects suffering from splenomegaly. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success since Handy et al indicate BTK inhibitors show substantial progress in treating splenomegaly.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothbaum (W0 2019/224803; cited in PTO-892 dated 3/9/26) in view of Lange et al (WO 2019243223; cited in IDS filed 6/8/26) as applied to claims 1-9, 11-14 and 20-26 above, and in further view of Scherber (Blood, July 14 2011, Volume 118, Number 2; cited in PTO-892 dated 3/9/26).
The disclosures of Rothbaum and Lange et al are discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of Rothbaum and Lange et al do not explicitly teach symptoms of its human subjects persist for at least one day prior to administration of the BTK inhibitor.
Scherber et al address the symptomatic burden in patients with myeloproliferative neoplasms and sought to validate assessments and surveys to assess symptoms of myelofibrosis (abstract). The surveys assess fatigue, early satiety, abdominal pain, abdominal discomfort, inactivity, cough, night sweats, pruritus, bone pain, fever, weight loss and quality of life (pg. 402, Methods). Scherber et al note that patients self-completed the assessments (pg. 402, first column, MPN-SAF validation) and noted how symptoms affected them over the last week.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that symptoms including night sweats, fatigue, bone pain, etc. would persist in patients with MPN for at least one 1 day prior to administration of therapeutic agents, like BTK inhibitors discussed in the combined teachings of Rothbaum and Lange et al. According to Scherber et al, such symptoms often exist for at least one week via assessments taken by patients with MPN and thus, a skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that treatment would not be initiated until symptoms are assessed and analyzed.
Regarding claims 16-17, Scherber et al teach symptoms are assessed for severity within its surveys (pg. 402, column 2, Symptomatic burden). Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assess the severity of symptoms of patients with MPN prior to and after treatment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to effectively treat and optimize dosages of BTK inhibitors administered.
Regarding claims 18-19, Scherber et al teach its patients with MPN self-complete its assessments and surveys (pg. 402, first column, MPN-SAF validation). It would have been obvious to conduct such self-assessments and surveys since patients’ analysis of symptoms is crucial in determining an effective treatment plan according to Scherber et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the presently claimed invention is not directed to treating MPN itself, but rather a method of reducing or alleviating a symptom selected from the group consisting of night sweats, fatigue, pruritus, abdominal pain, pain under ribs, fullness, bone pain, and combinations thereof in a human subject with MPN. Applicant argues that it is well understood in the art that conventional cancer therapies are frequently associated with substantial adverse side effects, often exacerbating patient symptoms rather than alleviating them. Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill would not reasonably expect that administering the claimed BTK inhibitor would reduce or alleviate the symptoms of a human subject with MPN. Applicant submits that none of the cited prior art in the Non-Final Office action (Rothbaum, Hamdy, and Hodous) do not disclose reducing or alleviating a symptom selected from the group consisting of night sweats, fatigue, pruritus, abdominal pain, pain under ribs, fullness, bone pain, and combinations thereof in a human subject with MPN.
However, such arguments are found to be unpersuasive. As discussed above, the reduction or alleviation of such symptoms would naturally result from administering the BTK inhibitors to a human subject with MPN within the combined teachings of Rothbaum and Lange et al. See MPEP 2112.02. The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 161, 163 (CCPA 1957). Nevertheless, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978). In this case, the body of newly amended claim 1 only requires the administration of the BTK inhibitor, 1-(4-(((6-amino-5-(4-phenoxyphenyl)pyrimidin-4-yl)amino)methyl)-4-fluoropiperidin-1-yl)prop-2-en-1-one or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to a human subject with a MPN. Amended claim 1 does not require the human subject with a MPN to be suffering from any symptoms selected from night sweats, fatigue, pruritus, abdominal pain, pain under ribs, fullness, bone pain, or combinations thereof. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Thus, the rejections are maintained for the reasons above.
Conclusion
Claims 1-26 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 6/8/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786