DETAILED ACTION
This application is a 371 PCT/EP2022/066384.
The response filed on December 1, 2025 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I with a species election of (1) SEQ ID NO:1 as the parent DNase and (2) T1l+S13Y+T22P+S27L+L33K+S39P+S42G+D56HS57W+S59V+T65V+V76L+Q109R+S116D+T127V+S144P+A147H+S167L+G175D as the amino acid modifications made in the parent DNase the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-25 and 36-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 1, 2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 20-39 are pending.
Claims 24-25 and 36-39 are withdrawn.
Claims 20-23 and 26-35 are under examination.
Claim for Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 14, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 and claims 21-23 and 26-35 depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “build-up” of slime in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “build-up”” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to how much slime is considered as “build-up”.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26-27 recites the limitation “enzyme protein/L”. The metes and bounds of the limitations in the context of the claim are not clear. It is unclear if the “enzyme protein” is the DNase recited in the claims are is the “enzyme protein” refers to another enzyme. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22, 28, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsrud (Biotechnology for Solving Slim Problems in the Pulp and Pater Industry (Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology, Vol. 57, pages 311-328, 1997 – form PTO-892), Budny (US 2002/0037260 – form PTO-892), and Beier (US 2019/0211284 – form PTO- 892).
Regarding claim 20, Johnsrud discloses that a well-known and long-standing problem in paper manufacture is the proliferation of biological slimes on machinery, wherein slime seeds into process water (page 312, section 2). Johnsrud discloses that adequate control of microbial-induced slime deposits in an essential part of modern pulp and paper manufacture (page 316, section 3). Johnsrud discloses a method of preventing and the disruption of biofilm build-up (which reads on preventing a build-up of slime or removing slime) caused by slime-forming species of microorganism and preventing a build-slime or removing slime by adding various enzymes to the process water (page 320, section 4.2.1). Johnsrud disclose that the striping of the extracellular polysaccharide layer prevents the microorganism from attaching to other surfaces and makes them more accessible to conventional biocide treatment (page 321, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding claim 28, the water of Johnsrud is process water (page 312, section 2).
Regarding claims 31-33, the surface of Johnsrud is from the paper/pulp making machinery (which reads on a manufacturing equipment) (page 312, section 2).
Johnsrud does not disclose a method of preventing a build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface by contacting water with a DNase.
Regarding claim 20, Budny discloses that biofilm is associated with paper pulping operations and discloses a composition for degrading biofilm comprising DNase (claims 32-34).
Regarding claim 20, Beier disclose that biofilm, slime of microorganism, is surround by a matrix of extracellular polymeric substances composed of extracellular DNA, proteins, and polysaccharides ([0003]). Beier discloses using DNase to degrade the biofilm ([0004]-[0005]). Beier discloses a method of treating a surface by contacting an aqueous wash liquor (which includes water) with DNase and treating the surface with the wash liquor ([0010]).
Regarding claim 21, Beier discloses a DNase having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which has 100% sequence identity to the DNase of SEQ ID NO:1 of the instant application ([0008] and see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 22, Beier discloses a DNase variant having at least 80% sequence identity to the DNase of SEQ ID NO:1 of the instant application, wherein the DNase variant has one or more amino acid substitutions selected from T1I, T1L, S13Y, T22P, S25P, S27l, S39P, S42G, S57W, S57Y, S59V, S59I, S59L, V76L, Q109R, S116D, S116E, T127V, S144P, A147H, S167L, G175D, and G175E ([0107]).
Therefore, combining the teachings of Johnsrud, Budny, and Beier, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to enhance the method of Johnsrud by contacting the process water with the DNase of Beier to prevent or remove slim from the surface of the machinery, such as metals or plastics. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated the use the DNase of Beier because said DNase of Beier breaks down biofilm/slime. One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Johnsrud discloses a method of preventing build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface of the machinery during pulp or paper making process by degrading said slime, Budny discloses that biofilm is associated with paper pulping operations and discloses a composition for degrading biofilm comprising DNase, and Beier discloses a method of degrading biofilm/slime using a DNase.
Further, the rationale supporting that the claims would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (preventing build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface using DNase) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a “base” device (method of preventing build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface of machinery during pulp or paper making process) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art because (1) the prior art contained a “base” device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement;” (2) the prior art contained a “comparable” device that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention; and (3) one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known “improvement” technique in the same way to the “base” device and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, the above references render claims 20-22, 28, and 31-33 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 26-27 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsrud (Biotechnology for Solving Slim Problems in the Pulp and Pater Industry (Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology, Vol. 57, pages 311-328, 1997 – form PTO-892), Budny (US 2002/0037260 – form PTO-892), and Beier (US 2019/0211284 – form PTO- 892) as applied to claims 20-22, 28, and 31-33 above, and further in view of Hatcher (US 3,773,623 – form PTO-892).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”, see MPEP 2144.
Regarding claims 26-27, Beier discloses that the amount of the DNase is 0.001-10 mg enzyme protein/L (ppm), which falls within the claimed range of 0.1 to 10 mg/L ([0257]-[0258]).
Regarding claims 26-27, Hatcher discloses a method of controlling slime for formation, such as retarding or removing, with an enzyme (abstract). Hatcher discloses using 1 ppm to 10 ppm of the enzyme, which falls within the claimed range of 0.1 to 10 mg/L (Column 3, lines 20-44).
Regarding claims 29-30, Hatcher discloses that the pH of the method is 6.7, which falls within the claimed range of 6.1 to 7.6 (Column 4, line 37).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was made to modify the method of Johnsurd by varying the amount of DNase and the pH of the process water. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize the method of preventing the build-up of slime or removing slime on the surface of the machinery for pulp or paper making. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Johnsrud discloses a method of preventing build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface during pulp or paper making process by degrading said slime, Budny discloses that biofilm is associated with paper pulping operations and discloses a composition for degrading biofilm comprising DNase, Beier discloses a method of degrading biofilm/slime using a DNase in an amount of 0.001-10 mg enzyme protein/L (ppm), and Hatcher discloses a method of controlling slime for formation, such as retarding or removing, with an enzyme in an amount of 1 ppm to 10 ppm and at a pH of 6.7.
Therefore, the above references render claims 20-22 and 26-33 prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsrud (Biotechnology for Solving Slim Problems in the Pulp and Pater Industry (Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology, Vol. 57, pages 311-328, 1997 – form PTO-892), Budny (US 2002/0037260 – form PTO-892), and Beier (US 2019/0211284 – form PTO- 892) as applied to claims 20-22, 28, and 31-33 above, and further in view of Xu (A novel carbohydrate:acceptor oxidoreductase from Microdochium nivale. Eur J Biochem. 2001 Feb;268(4):1136-4 – form PTO-892) and MNCO_MICNN (UniPortKB/Swiss-Prot Database. February 26, 2020 – form PTO-892).
Regarding claim 34, Budny discloses use of two enzymes, a first enzyme to degrade the biofilm structure and a second enzyme to generate active oxygen to directly attack and kill bacteria that are exposed during the process of the degradation and removal of the biofilm ([0060]). Budny discloses that the second enzyme is a hexose oxidase of E.C. 1.1.3.5, which is synonymous with a carbohydrate oxidase, to degrade biofilm ([0061]).
Regarding claims 34-35, Xu discloses a carbohydrate oxidase having 100% sequence identity to the carbohydrate oxidase of SEQ ID NO:6 of the instant application (abstract and Fig. 2 at page 1138 and see the sequence alignment below). The carbohydrate oxidase of Xu belongs to E.C. 1.1.3.5 (see MNCO-MICNN).
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the claimed invention was made to use a second enzyme, a carbohydrate oxidase. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so in order to generate active oxygen to directly attack and kill bacteria that are exposed during the process of the degradation and removal of the biofilm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Johnsrud discloses a method of preventing build-up of slime or removing slime from a surface during pulp or paper making process by degrading said slime, Budny discloses that biofilm is associated with paper pulping operations and discloses a composition for degrading biofilm comprising DNase, Beier discloses a method of degrading biofilm/slime using a DNase, Budny discloses use of two enzymes, first enzyme to degrade the biofilm structure and a second enzyme to generate active oxygen to directly attack and kill bacteria that are exposed during the process of the degradation and removal of the biofilm, and Xu discloses a carbohydrate oxidase having 100% sequence identity to the carbohydrate oxidase of SEQ ID NO:6 of the instant application.
Therefore, the above references render claims 20-22, 28, and 31-35 prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 20-39 are pending.
Claims 24-25 and 36-39 are withdrawn.
Claims 20-23 and 26-35 are rejected.
/YONG D PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Sequence alignment between the DNase of SEQ ID NO:1 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the DNase of SEQ ID NO:1 of Beier (“Db”)
US-16-238-648A-1
Filing date in PALM: 2019-01-03
Sequence 1, US/16238648A
Publication No. US20190211284A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: The Procter & Gamble Company
TITLE OF INVENTION: POLYPEPTIDE VARIANTS
FILE REFERENCE: CM04824C
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/238,648A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2019-01-03
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 16/238,648
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2019-01-03
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 26
SEQ ID NO 1
LENGTH: 182
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Bacillus cibi
Query Match 100.0%; Score 986; Length 182;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 182; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 TPPGTPSKSAAQSQLNALTVKTEGSMSGYSRDLFPHWISQGSGCDTRQVVLKRDADSYSG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 TPPGTPSKSAAQSQLNALTVKTEGSMSGYSRDLFPHWISQGSGCDTRQVVLKRDADSYSG 60
Qy 61 NCPVTSGSWYSYYDGVTFTNPSDLDIDHIVPLAEAWRSGASSWTTSKRQDFANDLSGPQL 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 NCPVTSGSWYSYYDGVTFTNPSDLDIDHIVPLAEAWRSGASSWTTSKRQDFANDLSGPQL 120
Qy 121 IAVSASTNRSKGDQDPSTWQPPRSGAACGYSKWWISTKYKWGLSLQSSEKTALQGMLNSC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IAVSASTNRSKGDQDPSTWQPPRSGAACGYSKWWISTKYKWGLSLQSSEKTALQGMLNSC 180
Qy 181 SY 182
||
Db 181 SY 182
Sequence alignment between the carbohydrate oxidase of SEQ ID NO:6 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the carbohydrate oxidase of Xu/MNCO-MICNN (“Db”)
MNCO_MICNN
ID MNCO_MICNN Reviewed; 495 AA.
AC I1SB12;
DT 10-APR-2019, integrated into UniProtKB/Swiss-Prot.
DT 10-APR-2019, sequence version 2.
DT 09-APR-2025, entry version 69.
DE RecName: Full=Carbohydrate oxidase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:11179980};
DE EC=1.1.3.-;
DE EC=1.1.3.5 {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
DE AltName: Full=Lactose oxidase {ECO:0000303|PubMed:17154316};
DE Short=LaO;
DE Flags: Precursor;
GN Name=MnCO {ECO:0000303|PubMed:11179980};
OS Microdochium nivale (Pink snow mold) (Lanosa nivalis).
OC Eukaryota; Fungi; Dikarya; Ascomycota; Pezizomycotina; Sordariomycetes;
OC Xylariomycetidae; Xylariales; Microdochiaceae; Microdochium.
OX NCBI_TaxID=5520;
RN [1]
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [GENOMIC DNA], PROTEIN SEQUENCE OF 23-46; 217-292;
RP 325-344; 358-369; 404-435 AND 442-462, FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY,
RP BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND SUBCELLULAR LOCATION.
RC STRAIN=NN008551;
RX PubMed=11179980; DOI=10.1046/j.1432-1327.2001.01982.x;
RA Xu F., Golightly E.J., Fuglsang C.C., Schneider P., Duke K.R., Lam L.,
RA Christensen S., Brown K.M., Joergensen C.T., Brown S.H.;
RT "A novel carbohydrate:acceptor oxidoreductase from Microdochium nivale.";
RL Eur. J. Biochem. 268:1136-1142(2001).
RN [2]
RP FUNCTION, AND CATALYTIC ACTIVITY.
RX DOI=10.1016/S1381-1177(00)00233-2;
RA Kulys J., Tetianec L., Schneider P.;
RT "Specificity and kinetic parameters of recombinant Microdochium nivale
RT carbohydrate oxidase.";
RL J. Mol. Catal., B Enzym. 13:95-101(2001).
RN [3]
RP FUNCTION, CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, AND BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES.
RA Tetianec L., Kulys J.;
RT "The specificity of recombinant Microdochium nivale carbohydrate oxidase.";
RL Biologija 2:38-41(2003).
RN [4]
RP CATALYTIC ACTIVITY, BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES, AND COFACTOR.
RX PubMed=17154316; DOI=10.1002/bit.21273;
RA Nordkvist M., Nielsen P.M., Villadsen J.;
RT "Oxidation of lactose to lactobionic acid by a Microdochium nivale
RT carbohydrate oxidase: kinetics and operational stability.";
RL Biotechnol. Bioeng. 97:694-707(2007).
RN [5]
RP CRYSTALLIZATION.
RX PubMed=19478452; DOI=10.1107/s1744309109017643;
RA Duskova J., Dohnalek J., Skalova T., Oestergaard L.H., Fuglsang C.C.,
RA Kolenko P., Stepankova A., Hasek J.;
RT "Crystallization of carbohydrate oxidase from Microdochium nivale.";
RL Acta Crystallogr. F 65:638-640(2009).
RN [6] {ECO:0007744|PDB:3RJ8, ECO:0007744|PDB:3RJA}
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (2.10 ANGSTROMS) OF 23-495 IN COMPLEX WITH FAD, AND
RP GLYCOSYLATION AT ASN-244.
RA Duskova J., Skalova T., Kolenko P., Stepankova A., Hasek J., Koval T.,
RA Ostergaard L.H., Fuglsang C.C., Dohnalek J.;
RT "Crystal structure and kinetic studies of carbohydrate oxidase from
RT Microdochium nivale.";
RL Submitted (APR-2011) to the PDB data bank.
CC -!- FUNCTION: Catalyzes the selective oxidation of C1 hydroxyl moieties on
CC mono-, oligo- and polysaccharides with concomitant reduction of
CC molecular oxygen to hydrogen peroxide. This results in the formation of
CC the corresponding lactones, which typically undergo spontaneous
CC hydrolysis. Carbohydrate oxidase is able to oxidize a variety of
CC substrates including D-glucose, D-galactose, D-xylose, D-maltose, D-
CC cellobiose, and lactose. In addition, among various oligosaccharides,
CC the enzyme preferred tetrameric dextrins, indicating a favorable
CC interaction of four linked glucose units with the substrate binding
CC pocket. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980, ECO:0000269|Ref.2,
CC ECO:0000269|Ref.3}.
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=beta-D-glucose + O2 = D-glucono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:11428, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379, ChEBI:CHEBI:15903,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:16217, ChEBI:CHEBI:16240; EC=1.1.3.5;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=D-galactose + O2 = D-galactono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:59312, ChEBI:CHEBI:4139, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:15945, ChEBI:CHEBI:16240; EC=1.1.3.5;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=D-cellobiose + O2 = D-cellobiono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:59316, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379, ChEBI:CHEBI:16240,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:17057, ChEBI:CHEBI:17863; EC=1.1.3.5;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980, ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=beta-lactose + O2 = lactobiono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:59352, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379, ChEBI:CHEBI:16240,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:36218, ChEBI:CHEBI:143068; EC=1.1.3.5;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=D-maltose + O2 = D-maltobiono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:59344, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379, ChEBI:CHEBI:16240,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:17306, ChEBI:CHEBI:143029; EC=1.1.3.5;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980, ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC -!- CATALYTIC ACTIVITY:
CC Reaction=D-xylose + O2 = D-xylono-1,5-lactone + H2O2;
CC Xref=Rhea:RHEA:59324, ChEBI:CHEBI:15379, ChEBI:CHEBI:15867,
CC ChEBI:CHEBI:16240, ChEBI:CHEBI:53455;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC -!- COFACTOR:
CC Name=FAD; Xref=ChEBI:CHEBI:57692;
CC Evidence={ECO:0000269|PubMed:17154316};
CC Note=Binds 1 FAD per subunit in a bicovalent manner.
CC {ECO:0000269|Ref.6};
CC -!- BIOPHYSICOCHEMICAL PROPERTIES:
CC Kinetic parameters:
CC KM=0.97 mM for oxygen {ECO:0000269|PubMed:17154316};
CC KM=19 mM for cellobiose (at pH 6 and 30 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC KM=59 mM for cellobiose (at pH 6 and 40 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC KM=51 uM for cellobiose (at pH 7.2 and 25 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC KM=59 uM for cellotriose (at pH 7.2 and 25 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC KM=66 uM for cellotetraose (at pH 7.2 and 25 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC KM=42 mM for glucose (at pH 6 and 40 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC KM=11 mM for maltose (at pH 6 and 40 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC KM=12 mM for maltose (at pH 7.2 and 25 degrees Celsius)
CC {ECO:0000269|Ref.3};
CC pH dependence:
CC Optimum pH is 5-7. {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC Temperature dependence:
CC Optimum temperature is 50 degrees Celsius.
CC {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980};
CC -!- SUBCELLULAR LOCATION: Secreted {ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980}.
CC -!- PTM: The FAD cofactor is bound via a bicovalent 6-S-cysteinyl, 8alpha-
CC N1-histidyl FAD linkage. {ECO:0000269|Ref.6}.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the oxygen-dependent FAD-linked oxidoreductase
CC family. {ECO:0000305}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR PDB; 3RJ8; X-ray; 2.40 A; A=23-495.
DR PDB; 3RJA; X-ray; 2.10 A; A=23-495.
DR PDBsum; 3RJ8; -.
DR PDBsum; 3RJA; -.
DR AlphaFoldDB; I1SB12; -.
DR SMR; I1SB12; -.
DR GlyCosmos; I1SB12; 2 sites, No reported glycans.
DR EvolutionaryTrace; I1SB12; -.
DR GO; GO:0005576; C:extracellular region; IEA:UniProtKB-SubCell.
DR GO; GO:0046562; F:beta-D-glucose oxidase activity; IEA:RHEA.
DR GO; GO:0071949; F:FAD binding; IEA:InterPro.
DR GO; GO:0046872; F:metal ion binding; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR Gene3D; 3.30.465.10; -; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.462.20; -; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR012951; BBE.
DR InterPro; IPR016166; FAD-bd_PCMH.
DR InterPro; IPR036318; FAD-bd_PCMH-like_sf.
DR InterPro; IPR016169; FAD-bd_PCMH_sub2.
DR InterPro; IPR050416; FAD-linked_Oxidoreductase.
DR InterPro; IPR006094; Oxid_FAD_bind_N.
DR PANTHER; PTHR42973; BINDING OXIDOREDUCTASE, PUTATIVE (AFU_ORTHOLOGUE AFUA_1G17690)-RELATED; 1.
DR PANTHER; PTHR42973:SF39; FAD-BINDING PCMH-TYPE DOMAIN-CONTAINING PROTEIN; 1.
DR Pfam; PF08031; BBE; 1.
DR Pfam; PF01565; FAD_binding_4; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF56176; FAD-binding/transporter-associated domain-like; 1.
DR PROSITE; PS51387; FAD_PCMH; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW 3D-structure; Direct protein sequencing; FAD; Flavoprotein; Glycoprotein;
KW Metal-binding; Nucleotide-binding; Oxidoreductase; Secreted; Signal; Zinc.
FT SIGNAL 1..22
FT /evidence="ECO:0000269|PubMed:11179980"
FT CHAIN 23..495
FT /note="Carbohydrate oxidase"
FT /id="PRO_0000446664"
FT DOMAIN 55..229
FT /note="FAD-binding PCMH-type"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000255|PROSITE-ProRule:PRU00718"
FT CARBOHYD 244
FT /note="N-linked (GlcNAc...) asparagine"
FT /evidence="ECO:0007744|PDB:3RJ8, ECO:0007744|PDB:3RJA"
FT CARBOHYD 417
FT /note="N-linked (GlcNAc...) asparagine"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000255|PROSITE-ProRule:PRU00498"
FT CROSSLNK 92..154
FT /note="6-(S-cysteinyl)-8alpha-(pros-histidyl)-FAD (His-
FT Cys)"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000269|Ref.6"
FT HELIX 24..31
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT HELIX 42..47
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT STRAND 60..64
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT HELIX 68..80
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT STRAND 85..90
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT HELIX 97..99
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
FT STRAND 101..104
FT /evidence="ECO:0007829|PDB:3RJA"
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2630; Length 495;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 495; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MRSAFILALGLITASADALVTRGAIEACLSAAGVPIDIPGTADYERDVEPFNIRLPYIPT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MRSAFILALGLITASADALVTRGAIEACLSAAGVPIDIPGTADYERDVEPFNIRLPYIPT 60
Qy 61 AIA QTQTTAHIQSAVQCAKKLNLKVSAKSGGHSYASFGFGGENGHLMVQLDRMIDVISYN 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AIA QTQTTAHIQSAVQCAKKLNLKVSAKSGGHSYASFGFGGENGHLMVQLDRMIDVISYN 120
Qy 121 DKTGIAHVEPGARLGHLATVLNDKYGRAISHGTCPGVGISGHFAHGGFGFSSHMHGLAVD 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 DKTGIAHVEPGARLGHLATVLNDKYGRAISHGTCPGVGISGHFAHGGFGFSSHMHGLAVD 180
Qy 181 SVVGVTVVLADGRIVEASATENADLFWGIKGAGSNFGIVAVWKLATFPAPKVLTRFGVTL 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SVVGVTVVLADGRIVEASATENADLFWGIKGAGSNFGIVAVWKLATFPAPKVLTRFGVTL 240
Qy 241 NWKNKTSALKGIEAVEDYARWVAPREVNFRIGDYGAGNPGIEGLYYGTPEQWRAAFQPLL 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 NWKNKTSALKGIEAVEDYARWVAPREVNFRIGDYGAGNPGIEGLYYGTPEQWRAAFQPLL 300
Qy 301 DTLPAGYVVNPTTSLNWIESVLSYSNFDHVDFITPQPVENFYAKSLTLKSIKGDAVKNFV 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 DTLPAGYVVNPTTSLNWIESVLSYSNFDHVDFITPQPVENFYAKSLTLKSIKGDAVKNFV 360
Qy 361 DYYFDVSNKVKDRFWFYQLDVHGGKNSQVTKVTNAETAYPHRDKLWLIQFYDRYDNNQTY 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 DYYFDVSNKVKDRFWFYQLDVHGGKNSQVTKVTNAETAYPHRDKLWLIQFYDRYDNNQTY 420
Qy 421 PETSFKFLDGWVNSVTKALPKSDWGMYINYADPRMDRDYATKVYYGENLARLQKLKAKFD 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 PETSFKFLDGWVNSVTKALPKSDWGMYINYADPRMDRDYATKVYYGENLARLQKLKAKFD 480
Qy 481 PTDRFYYPQAVRPVK 495
|||||||||||||||
Db 481 PTDRFYYPQAVRPVK 495