Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE3805345 to Arslan (The art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E).
In Reference to Claim 1
Arslan discloses an attachment (Fig. 1, 1) for a haircare appliance, the attachment comprising an air inlet (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner), an air outlet (Fig. 4, 6), a curved surface (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) adjacent to and downstream of the air outlet, and a rib (Fig. 2, 16) positioned such that the rib interacts with airflow exiting the air outlet to align the airflow exiting the air outlet and direct the airflow exiting the air outlet across the curved surface. (As showed in Fig. 2, the air discharged from the outlet 6 would be guided by the rig 16 following the curved surface)
In Reference to Claim 3
Arslan discloses the rib is movable relative to the air outlet. (Fig. 2, 16, the rib is rotatable with respect to the air outlet)
In Reference to Claim 4
Arslan discloses the rib (Fig. 2, 16) is positioned to bisect airflow exiting the air outlet to align airflow. (Since the rib 16 is positioned in the middle position with respect to the curved surface, therefore, the rib bisect the airflow).
In Reference to Claim 5
Arslan discloses connecting members (Fig. 2, 10) for holding the rib in position in airflow exiting the air outlet.
In Reference to Claim 6
Arslan discloses the connecting members (Fig. 2, 10) are rigidly connected to the rib.
In Reference to Claim 7
Arslan discloses the connecting members (Fig. 2, 10) are equally spaced (As showed in Fig. 1, the connecting member 10 is positioned at the both ends of the rib) along a length of the rib.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication 2015/0265022 to Maclaine in view of Arslan.
In Reference to Claims 18 and 19
Maclaine discloses a haircare appliance comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1b, 40), an air outlet (Fig, Fig. 1a, 100), an airflow generator (Fig. 1b, 70).
a handle unit (Fig. 1b, 20) within which the airflow generator (Fig. 1b, 70) is housed, and an attachment (Fig. 1b, 30) releasably attachable to the handle unit, the attachment comprising the air outlet
Maclaine does not teach a curved surface.
Arslan teaches an attachment comprising an air outlet (Fig. 4, 6), an airflow generator for generating an airflow from the air inlet to the air outlet, a curved surface (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) adjacent to and downstream of the air outlet, and a rib (Fig. 2, 16) positioned such that the rib interacts with airflow exiting the air outlet to align the airflow exiting the air outlet and direct the airflow exiting the air outlet across the curved surface. (As showed in Fig. 2, the air discharged from the outlet 6 would be guided by the rig 16 following the curved surface)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Arslan into the design of Maclaine. Doing so, would result in the design of Arslan being used as the attachment of Maclaine. Both inventions of Maclaine and Arslan are in the same field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a design with excellent hairdressing result with a predictable result of success.
In Reference to Claim 20
Maclaine discloses an attachment (Fig. 1a, 30) for a haircare appliance, the attachment comprising a main body comprising an air inlet (Fig. 1a, the connection portion between attachment 30 and the main body 20) and air outlet (Fig. 1a, 100).
Maclaine does not teach the guide rotatable guide the airflow.
Arslan teaches a guide (Fig. 2, 16) rotatable with respect to the main body between first and second positions, a curved surface (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) adjacent to and downstream of the air outlet (Fig. 4, 6), wherein the guide comprises a rib (Fig. 2, 16) positioned such that the rib interacts with airflow exiting the air outlet to align the airflow exiting the air outlet when in the first position, and wherein the rib is movable relative to the air outlet. (As showed in Fig. 2, the air discharged from the outlet 6 would be guided by the rig 16 following the curved surface)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Arslan into the design of Maclaine. Doing so, would result in the design of Arslan being used as the attachment of Maclaine. Both inventions of Maclaine and Arslan are in the same field of endeavor, Arslan teaches a design with excellent hairdressing result with a predictable result of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 8/5/26