DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102(a)2
Claim(s) 1,3,5,7,9,17,35,37,40-43,45-48, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Fan et al (US 20230345570 A1) hereinafter as Fan.
Regarding claim(s) 1,35 and 37, Fan discloses a method for beam recovery of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), performed by a terminal device (See Fig(s). 2, with beam failures to terminal, See ¶ 302, the beam failure recovery response information or after receiving the beam failure recovery response information in Y time units, the terminal device uses the first beam as a common beam of the TRP corresponding to the first CORESET group) comprising:
detecting, by the terminal device, that a first transmission and reception point (TRP) is in a beam failure state (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 400, the terminal device detects that a beam failure occurs on the first TRP and beam failure recovery is performed); and
wherein determining the recovery beam for the PUCCH further comprises: See ¶ 10, the terminal device sends first indication information to the network device, where the first indication information indicates a first beam corresponding to a first candidate beam resource,..also See ¶ 100 a resource index uniquely identifies a beam);
and determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH associated with the first TRP or second TRP is a first beam corresponding to the first beam identity (See ¶ 302).
Further with respect to claims 35 and 37, Fan discloses a processor and memory for performing the method of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 5, block 40 with processor 401 and memory 402).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Fan discloses further comprising: determining that a TRP corresponding to a PRACH resource used by the terminal device is the first TRP according to a mapping relationship between PRACH resources and TRPs (See ¶ 100, 104).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Fan discloses wherein transmitting the first indication information comprises: transmitting the first indication information based on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (See ¶ 278, 303).
Regarding claim(s) 7,41,46 Fan discloses wherein, in a case that a second TRP is in the beam failure state, using the PUCCH associated with the first TRP to transmit a beam failure recovery scheduling request, wherein the second TRP is different from the first TRP (See ¶ 282, When a beam failure occurs on the first TRP, the terminal device sends the SR to the network device over a first transmit beam in the N transmit beams of the first PUCCH, where the first transmit beam is a transmit beam associated with a second TRP, and the second TRP is a TRP other than the first TRP in the cell.).
Regarding claim(s) 9,42,47, Fan discloses wherein it is determined that the recovery beam for the PUCCH associated with the second TRP is the first beam corresponding to the first beam identity, in a case that the second TRP is in the beam failure state, using the PUCCH associated with the second TRP to transmit a beam failure recovery scheduling request wherein the second TRP is different from first TRP (See Fig(s). 2 with TRP1 and TRP2, See ¶ 278, terminal device may first send a scheduling request (scheduling request, SR) to the network device over a first PUCCH. ..also See ¶ 334).
Regarding claim(s) 17,43,48, Fan discloses wherein the PUCCH comprises at least one of: a PUCCH configured to transmit a scheduling request (See ¶ 278, the terminal device may first send a scheduling request (scheduling request, SR) to the network device over a first PUCCH.);
Regarding claim(s) 40,45, Fan discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit the first indication information based on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (See ¶ 17,29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39,44, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (US 20230345570 A1) hereinafter as Fan in view of Alfarhan et al (US 12425890 B2) hereinafter as Alfarhan.
Regarding claim(s) 39,44, Alfarhan discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that a TRP corresponding to a PRACH resource used by the terminal device is the first TRP according to a mapping relationship between PRACH resources and TRPs (See ¶ 119, the WTRU may consider an association between SSBs and PRACH resources as applicable to a subset of TRPs. The WTRU may be configured with an SSB to PRACH resource mapping that is specific to a subset of TRPs.).
Mapping of TRPs with PRACH resource ensures adequate resources are available between WTRU so as to prevent communications disruption.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Alfarhan within Fan, so as to enhance overall user experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10,14-17,35,37-38 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411