DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102(a)2
Claim(s) 1-10,14-17,35,37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Fan et al (US 20230345570 A1) hereinafter as Fan.
Regarding claim(s) 1,35 and 37, Fan discloses a method for beam recovery of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), performed by a terminal device (See Fig(s). 2, with beam failures to terminal, See ¶ 302, the beam failure recovery response information or after receiving the beam failure recovery response information in Y time units, the terminal device uses the first beam as a common beam of the TRP corresponding to the first CORESET group) comprising:
detecting, by the terminal device, that a first transmission and reception point (TRP) is in a beam failure state (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 400, the terminal device detects that a beam failure occurs on the first TRP and beam failure recovery is performed); and
determining a recovery beam for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH (See ¶ 448, a beam reported in the beam failure recovery process corresponding to the beam failure response is used as a transmit beam of a PDCCH or a PUCCH).
Further with respect to claims 35 and 37, Fan discloses a processor and memory for performing the method of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 5, block 40 with processor 401 and memory 402).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Fan discloses wherein determining the recovery beam for the PUCCH comprises: determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is a beam corresponding to a physical random access channel (PRACH) (See ¶ 104).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Fan discloses further comprising: determining that a TRP corresponding to a PRACH resource used by the terminal device is the first TRP according to a mapping relationship between PRACH resources and TRPs (See ¶ 100, 104).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Fan discloses wherein determining the recovery beam for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH comprises: transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information comprises a first beam identity (See ¶ 10, the terminal device sends first indication information to the network device, where the first indication information indicates a first beam corresponding to a first candidate beam resource,..also See ¶ 100 a resource index uniquely identifies a beam); and determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is a first beam corresponding to the first beam identity (See ¶ 302).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Fan discloses wherein transmitting the first indication information comprises: transmitting the first indication information based on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (See ¶ 278, 303).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Fan discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises the first TRP, and determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is the first beam corresponding to the first beam identity comprises: determining that a recovery beam for a PUCCH associated with the first TRP is the first beam corresponding to the first beam identity (See ¶ 10, the terminal device sends first indication information to the network device, where the first indication information indicates a first beam corresponding to a first candidate beam resource,..also See ¶ 100 a resource index uniquely identifies a beam…also See ¶ 302).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Fan discloses wherein, in a case that a second TRP is in the beam failure state, using the PUCCH associated with the first TRP to transmit a beam failure recovery scheduling request, wherein the second TRP is different from the first TRP (See ¶ 282, When a beam failure occurs on the first TRP, the terminal device sends the SR to the network device over a first transmit beam in the N transmit beams of the first PUCCH, where the first transmit beam is a transmit beam associated with a second TRP, and the second TRP is a TRP other than the first TRP in the cell.).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Fan discloses wherein the first indication information further comprises the first TRP, and determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is the first beam corresponding to the first beam identity comprises: determining that a recovery beam for a PUCCH associated with a second TRP is the first beam corresponding to the first beam identity, wherein the second TRP is different from the first TRP (See ¶ 29, The terminal device uses the first beam as a common beam of a TRP corresponding to a first CORESET group, or uses the first beam as a transmit beam of one or more of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) corresponding to the first CORESET group, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to the first CORESET group, a PUCCH corresponding to the first CORESET group).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Fan discloses wherein, in a case that the second TRP is in the beam failure state, using the PUCCH associated with the second TRP to transmit a beam failure recovery scheduling request (See ¶ 278, terminal device may first send a scheduling request (scheduling request, SR) to the network device over a first PUCCH. ..also See ¶ 334).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Fan discloses wherein determining the recovery beam for the PUCCH comprises: determining that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is a beam corresponding to a designated control resource set (See ¶ 29).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Fan discloses transmitting second indication information, wherein the second indication information comprises a second beam identity (See ¶ 100 During beam measurement, each beam of the network device corresponds to one resource. Therefore, a resource index may be used to uniquely identify a beam corresponding to the resource…thus this is interpreted as second resource being a second beam accordingly); and determining that the beam corresponding to the designated control resource set is a second beam corresponding the second beam identity (See ¶ 49).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Fan discloses wherein the second indication information comprises at least one of: See ¶ 100);
Regarding claim(s) 16, Fan discloses wherein the TRP identity comprises at least one of: See ¶ 295-296, the association relationship between the N transmit beams of the first PUCCH and the N TRPs may be reflected as an association relationship between the N transmit beams of the first PUCCH and the N CORESET groups or N CORESETPoolIndex.) ,
Regarding claim(s) 17, Fan discloses wherein the PUCCH comprises at least one of: a PUCCH configured to transmit a scheduling request (See ¶ 278, the terminal device may first send a scheduling request (scheduling request, SR) to the network device over a first PUCCH.);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (US 20230345570 A1) hereinafter as Fan in view of Cirik et al (US 20220225135 A1) hereinafter as Cirik.
Regarding claim(s) 11, Cirik discloses determining that the designated control resource set is a control resource set with a smallest corresponding control resource set number in a latest time unit that needs to monitor a search space set (See ¶ 103, A search space may comprise a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the wireless device may monitor/find/detect/identify control information. The search space may be a wireless device-specific search space (e.g., a UE-specific search space) or a common search space)…;
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cirik within Fan, as Coresets significantly decrease the amount of data that needs to be sent across networks, making distributed learning and edge computing more feasible and cost-effective.
Regarding claim(s) 12, Cirik discloses determining the first control resource set pool index associated with the PUCCH according to configuration information of an association relationship between PUCCHs and control resource set pool indexes (See ¶ 181, The plurality of PUCCH resource sets (e.g., up to four sets in NR, or up to any other quantity of sets in other systems) may be configured on an uplink BWP of a cell. A PUCCH resource set may be configured with a PUCCH resource set index, a plurality of PUCCH resources with a PUCCH resource being identified by a PUCCH resource identifier );
Regarding claim(s) 13, Cirik discloses determining that the beam corresponding to the designated control resource set is a beam corresponding to a physical random access channel PRACH used by the terminal device (See ¶ 410-411, The uplink signal may, for example, be a transport block. The uplink signal may, for example, be a random-access preamble (or a PRACH transmission).. Reasons for combining same as claim 11.
Regarding claim(s) 38, Cirik discloses determine that the recovery beam for the PUCCH is a beam corresponding to a physical random access channel (PRACH) (See ¶ 280,493). Reasons for combining same as claim 11.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411