DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 with regards to claims 16-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the cited prior art, Tseng et al (US 2022/0,232,514), do not disclose identifying whether first information on a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping is configured in the system information. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Tseng et al teach the system information comprises a paging early indication (PEI) configuration with a corresponding paging frame (PF), the UE monitors a PEI on a PEI carrying radio frame based on the PEI configuration. The PEI configuration indicates whether there is a paging opportunity in the corresponding PF for paging subgroups. The UE determines whether the PEI indicates positive paging for the paging subgroup that the UE belongs to. UE 501 receives system information containing UE group PEI configuration from gNB 502 and gNB 503, for UEs without core network (CN) assigned paging subgroup ID, then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID, the gNB 502 and gNB 503 provide PEI for UE paging subgroups in a PEI carrying radio frame. UE 501 determines the radio frame that carries PEI, and determines the starting point and duration of PEI monitoring based on PEI configuration (paragraphs [0007], [0028]-[0030], [0032], [0034]). Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation according to MPEP 2111, the cited prior art still read on the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al (US 2022/0,232,514; hereinafter Tseng).
Regarding claim 16 and 25, Tseng disclose a user equipment (UE 110, 211, 601) (Figs. 1, 2) and method (Figs. 4, 6-7) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (216: Fig. 2) configured to transmit and receive signals (¶ [0025]); and a controller (processor 213; Fig. 2, ¶ [0025]) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive system information (the UE receives system information comprising a paging early indication (PEI) configuration associated with a corresponding paging frame (PF); paras. [0007], [0034], step 621, 702; Fig. 6-7);
identifying whether first information on a number of subgroups for a UE ID based subgrouping is configured in the system information (UE 501 receives system information containing UE-group PEI configuration, the system information comprises a paging early indication (PEI) configuration with a corresponding paging frame (PF), the UE monitors a PEI on a PEI carrying radio frame based on the PEI configuration. The PEI configuration indicates whether there is a paging opportunity in the corresponding PF for paging subgroups. The UE determines whether the PEI indicates positive paging for the paging subgroup that the UE belongs to, the system information includes UE-ID (hashing) based subgroup selection is applied; paras. [0007], [0028]-[0030], [0032], [0034]),
identify whether the UE is configured with a subgroup ID assigned by a core network (CN) (identify if UE is assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401; paras. [0023], [0030], [0033]); identify whether a cell supports at least one of a CN assigned subgrouping or the UE ID based subgrouping (cell supports UE paging subgrouping can be assigned by the core network (CN) directly, or selected based on UE-ID based subgrouping where both methods can co-exist or supported in a cell; ¶ [0030]; and
monitoring a paging early indication on the cell, wherein in case that the first information is configured in the system information, the UE is configured with the subgroup ID assigned by the CN and the cell supports only the UE ID subgrouping, the paging early indication is monitored based on a subgroup ID determined by a UE ID (the UE monitors a paging early indication (PEI) on a PEI-carrying radio frame based on the PEI configuration in the case where the UE is configured with the subgroup ID assigned by the CN supported in the cell, for UEs without CN-assigned paging subgroup ID (e.g., non-power-critical UEs), then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID; paras. [0007], [0030]-[0034], step 904, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17 and 26, Tseng disclose the method and UE of claim 16 and 25 respectively, further comprising wherein in case that (i) the UE is not configured with the subgroup ID assigned by the CN or the cell does not support the CN assigned subgrouping, and ii) the first information is configured in the system information, the paging early indication is monitored based on the subgroup ID determined by the UE ID
(if UE not configured with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401, the UE calculate its paging subgroup ID based on its UE-ID assigned by its serving base station/gNB 402, for UEs without CN-assigned paging subgroup ID (e.g., non-power-critical UEs), then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID; paras. [0030], [0032]).
Regarding claim 18 and 27, Tseng disclose the method and UE of claim 16 and 25 respectively, wherein the system information includes configuration information on the paging early indication, and wherein whether the cell supports at least one of the CN assigned subgrouping or the UE ID based subgrouping is identified based on the system information (UE receives system information containing UE group PEI configuration associated with a corresponding paging frame, where a UE be assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401; and 2) calculate its paging subgroup ID based on its UE-ID assigned by its serving base station gNB 402; paras. [0030], [0032], [0034]).
Regarding claim 19 and 27, Tseng disclose the method and UE of claim 16 and 25 respectively, wherein the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (RRC idle state; paras. [0032], [0027]).
Regarding claim 20 and 28, Tseng disclose the method and UE of claim 16 and 25 respectively, wherein the paging early indication includes a plurality of bits, each bit corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion (the PEI contains a bitmap, each bit indicates if a subgroup of UEs monitoring the same PO needs to read paging, e.g., a bit “0” indicates a corresponding UE subgroup has no paging, those UEs can enter deep sleep in 132; and a bit “1” indicates a corresponding UE subgroup needs to read paging in the upcoming PO; paras. [0006], [0023]).
Regarding claim 21 and 29, Tseng disclose a base station (201) and method in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver (206; Fig. 2) configured to transmit and receive signals (¶ [0024]); and a controller (203; Fig. 2; ¶ [0024]) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
identifying whether a subgroup identify (ID) assigned by a core network (CN) is configured to a user equipment (UE) (base station 502/503 calculate the PEI group or paging subgroup to be paged and provide PEI for UE paging subgroups in a PEI-carrying radio frame and the UE is configured/assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401; paras. [0030], [0032]),
identifying whether a cell of the base station supports at least one of a CN assigned subgrouping or a UE based subgrouping (a UE may 1) be assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401, for UEs without CN-assigned paging subgroup ID (e.g., non-power-critical UEs), then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID; paras. [0030]-[0033]);
identifying whether to configure first information on a number of subgroups for the UE ID based subgrouping in system information (the system information comprises a paging early indication (PEI) configuration with a corresponding paging frame (PF), the UE monitors a PEI on a PEI carrying radio frame based on the PEI configuration. The PEI configuration indicates whether there is a paging opportunity in the corresponding PF for paging subgroups. The UE determines whether the PEI indicates positive paging for the paging subgroup that the UE belongs to, the system information includes UE-ID (hashing) based subgroup selection is applied; paras. [0007], [0028]-[0030], [0032], [0034]),
transmit, (via the transceiver 206), the system information (Figs. 5-6; gNB 603 transmit the system information at step 521, 621 and UE 501 receives system information containing UE group PEI configuration; paras. [0033]-[0034]), and
in case that the first information is configured in the system information, the subgroup ID assigned by the CN is configured to the UE and the cell supports only the UE ID based subgrouping, transmitting in the cell, a paging early indication associated with a subgroup ID determined by a UE ID (UE paging subgrouping can be selected based on UE-ID based subgrouping, for UEs without CN-assigned paging subgroup ID, then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID; paras. [0030]-[0033]; Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 22 and 30, Tseng disclose the method and base station of claim 21 and 29 respectively, wherein in case that i) the subgroup ID assigned by the CN is not configured to the UE or the cell does not support the CN assigned subgrouping, and ii) the first information is configured in the system information, the paging early indication associated with the subgroup ID determined by the UE ID is transmitted (based on the configured system information, the PEI associated with the subgroup ID is transmitted to the UE, if UE not assigned with a paging subgroup ID directly from CN 401, the UE calculate its paging subgroup ID based on its UE-ID assigned by its serving base station gNB 402, for UEs without CN assigned paging subgroup ID, then each UE selects its paging subgroup from PEI groups #4-#7 based on UE-ID; paras. [0030], [0032]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 23, Tseng disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the system information includes configuration information on the paging early indication (a UE receives system information containing UE-group PEI configuration associated with a corresponding paging frame (PF); paras. [0032], [0034]), and wherein the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (RRC idle state; paras. [0032], [0027]).
Regarding claim 24, Tseng disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the paging early indication includes a plurality of bits, each bit corresponding to a subgroup of a paging occasion (the PEI contains a bitmap, each bit indicates if a subgroup of UEs monitoring the same PO needs to read paging, e.g., a bit “0” indicates a corresponding UE subgroup has no paging, those UEs can enter deep sleep in 132; and a bit “1” indicates a corresponding UE subgroup needs to read paging in the upcoming PO; paras. [0006], [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 31, Tseng disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the method further comprising: skipping monitoring the paging early indication in case that (i) the UE is not configured with the subgroup ID assigned by the CN or the cell does not support the CN assigned subgrouping and (ii) the first information is not configured in the system information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648