DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 are amended. Claims 5 and 7-9 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 and 6 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’744 (US 2010/0158744) in view of WO’126 (WO2018/221126, US 11,404,189 is used as translation), and further in view of KR’897 (KR101661897).
Regarding claims 1-2, US’744 discloses (Abstract; [0025] to [0056]) a non-oriented electrical steel sheet with a composition that overlaps with the instant claimed composition and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected amounts of each element from the ranges disclosed in US’744 to produce a steel composition that meets the recited composition in claim 2. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
US’744 is silent on the amount of O. WO’126 teaches a non-oriented electrical steel that is analogous to the steel of US’744 (See Abstract). WO’126 discloses that O is a harmful element which increases iron loss and should be kept at 0.005 wt.% or less (Col 6, Ln 40-50). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to keep O content to 0.005 wt.% or less as taught by WO’126 in the steel of US’744 in order to make a steel having low iron loss as disclosed by WO’126.
Element
Claims 1 and 2
(mass %)
US’744
(mass %)
Overlap
(mass %)
C
0.0-0.005 (cl. 2)
0-0.06
0-0.005
Si
2-5 (cl. 2)
0.2-6.5
2-5
Mn
0-3 (cl. 2)
0.05-3
0.05-3
P
0.01-0.2 (cl. 1)
0-0.3
0.01-0.2
S
0-0.005 (cl. 2)
0-0.04
0-0.005
Al
0-3 (cl. 2)
0-2.5
0-2.5
N
0-0.005 (cl. 2)
0-0.02
0-0.005
Cr
0-3 (cl. 2)
0-2.9
0-2.9
O
0-0.005 (cl. 2)
---
---
Fe + Impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
US’744 in view of WO’126 does not explicitly disclose the ferrite grain size limitation and the residual stress limitation as recited in claim 1. However, these structure and property limitations depend on the steel composition and a method of making the non-oriented electrical steel.
US’744 discloses a method for preparing non-oriented electrical steel (abstract, tables 3-4, [0056] to [0068]), comprising: casting molten steel to obtain a slab; sequentially heating, hot rolling and coiling to obtain a hot-rolled coil; sequentially performing annealing treatment, cold rolling on the hot-rolled sheet; continuously annealing the cold-rolled steel, and in the continuously annealing, an annealing temperature is 800°C or more, a soaking time is 5 second or more, a cooling rate from the annealing temperature to 300 ºC or less is 40°C/s or more with examples annealed at 950-1100 ºC for 30 second followed by cooling to 300 ºC at a cooling rate of 40-240 ºC/s (Table 4). The annealing temperature, time and cooling rate disclosed in the examples meet the processing parameters disclosed in instant Specification (see Paragraphs [0014] to [0018] of instant Specification). The difference between the process of US’744 and instant Specification is that US’744 does not disclose that the annealing is performed under a tension of 1-10 MPa.
KR’897 teaches a method of making non-oriented electrical steel that is analogous to the method of US’744 (Page 4). KR’897 discloses that applying a tension of 0.2-0.6 kgf/mm2 (i.e. 1.96-5.88 MPa) during annealing the cold rolled steel sheet improves it’s magnetic properties (Page 4). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a tension of 1.96-5.88 MPa as taught by KR’897 in the annealing process of US’744 in order to improve the magnetic properties of the non-oriented electrical steel as disclosed by KR’897.
In view of the fact that US’744 in view of WO’126 and KR’897 teaches a steel composition that overlaps the recited composition in claims 1 and 2 and a method of making the steel that meet the recited processing parameters disclosed in instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the steel disclosed US’744 in view of WO’126 and KR’897 meets the ferrite grain size limitation and the residual stress limitation as recited in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 6, US’744 discloses that the steel contains 0.001-30 wt. % Cu, 0-1 wt. % Ti, 0-1 wt. % V ([0038] to [0045]), which overlaps the recited composition in claims 3-4 and 6. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claims 3-4 and 6 are obvious over US’744 in view of WO’126 and KR’897.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/571824 (US 20240295015 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/571824 teach every limitation recited in instant claims 1-4 and 6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants argued that the double patenting rejection should be withdraw.
In response, claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/571824 teach the composition limitation, the grain size limitation and the compressive residual stress limitations recited in the instant Claims. Thus, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOWEI SU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733