DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a space separating system into the flow pot for a transition of the at least one flow channel into the input or the output”, as recited in claim 5, and the corresponding structure described in the specification is a wall 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wunning (US 4877396 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wunning discloses a recuperator burner comprising a recuperator, which has two separate flow systems provided for guiding counter-flowing fluids (abstract),
each system comprising at least one flow channel being open on both sides (Figs. 2-4), and the at least two fluids entering/leaving via intake inputs and offtake outputs at opposite ends of the burner inlet and burner outlet (col. 7, lines 44- col. 8, line 2), and one of the fluids is set up by a combustion air to be preheated and the other by an exhaust gas of the burner (abstract),
wherein the recuperator accommodates said two flow systems in a heat transfer body (4) which is made of one piece and whose jacket-shaped outer wall section at the burner inlet defines a flow pot (15+17) comprising said input (26) and output (20) integrally attached.
Regarding claim 3, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that an interior space of the flow pot surrounds at least one guide wall (7 and/or one or more of the flow channel walls inside the body 4) for the fluidically separate guidance of the counter-flowing fluids to the input and output.
Regarding claim 4, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 3, characterized in that the at least one guide wall is shaped as a lateral surface of a body of revolution (the guide wall is cylindrical).
Regarding claim 5, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 3, characterized in that the at least one guide wall inserts a space separating system (13) into the flow pot for a transition of the at least one flow channel into the input or the output (19).
Regarding claim 6, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 3, characterized in that the at least one guide wall (7) is formed integrally with the heat transfer body (4).
Regarding claim 7, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one flow channel (9, 10) of each of the two flow systems is divided into a plurality of partial flow channels for guiding counter-flowing fluids.
Regarding claim 8, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 7, characterized in that the partial flow channels of one and/or the other flow channel can be fluidically connected by channel wall openings (upstream openings into channel 10 for receiving air flow).
Regarding claim 9, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the at least one flow channel (9, 10) in each case has a number of lined-up tube sections (Fig. 4: a section along the radial direction) as at least one flow-through channel, and the tube sections being formed from minimal surface elements (square-like wall elements) and the tube sections being connected in a continuous manner.
Regarding claim 12, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one third and/or fourth flow system (there are a plurality of flow systems 9, 10; each channel 9, 10 can be a flow system), each with at least one flow channel open on both sides for at least one third and/or fourth fluid (the third and fourth fluids are the same as the first and second fluids), is integrated into the heat transfer body.
Regarding claim 13, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 12, characterized in that an inlet and/or outlet connection piece (13) for the at least third and/or fourth flow system is integrally attached to the flow pot.
Regarding claim 14, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the heat transfer body has a flow-through inner body section (13) which can be positioned extending into the flow pot, as a result of which the latter can be directly flowed against laterally with combustion air to be preheated.
Regarding claim 15, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 14, characterized in that an acute or obtuse angle of flow can be formed in the region of the input (Fig. 1: air entering input 26 turns at a plurality of acute angles until it reaches a 90 degree bend before entering the channel 10).
Regarding claim 16, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the input (26) and the output (19) are positioned opposite each other on the recuperator in an aligned manner (the input and output face each other with structure separating them).
Regarding claim 17, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that a combustion tube (34) is introduced at the burner inlet, which opens into the combustion chamber (42) and which extends through the heat transfer body.
Regarding claim 18, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the heat transfer body is formed from a ceramic and/or metallic material (col. 7, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, characterized in that the recuperator is designed as a ceramic recuperator (4; col. 7, lines 1-6) which is monolithic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunning (US 4877396 A) in view of Chen (CN 111238034 A).
Regarding claim 2, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 1, except wherein the flow pot is defined by an outer wall section having a wall tapering, which forms a bulbous extension of the heat transfer body having shoulder sections for the integrally connection of necks for the input for combustion air to be preheated and the output for exhaust gas from the burner.
However, Chen teaches a stove comprising a flow pot defined by an outer wall section having a wall tapering (Fig. 1 shows a top bulbous flow pot), which forms a bulbous extension of the heat transfer body (portion beneath the flow pot) having shoulder sections (rounded sections below element 1) for the integrally connection of necks (2-2, 2-3, 1) for the input for combustion air to be preheated.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Wunning wherein the flow pot is defined by an outer wall section having a wall tapering, which forms a bulbous extension of the heat transfer body having shoulder sections for the integrally connection of necks for the input for combustion air to be preheated and the output for exhaust gas from the burner. The motivation to combine is so that the flow pot can be attached to the metallic outer wall (Wunning, 16) in any rotational orientation, so that the necks (Wunning; 20, 26, 37) can be oriented for ease of connection with the exhaust, air, and fuel lines
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wunning (US 4877396 A) in view of Murray (US 20120196237 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Wunning discloses the recuperator burner according to claim 18, except wherein the ceramic is made of a non-oxide and/or oxide ceramic material, in particular (note: the limitations following “in particular” are examined to be optional) silicon-infiltrated, reaction-bonded silicon carbide (RBSiC), silicon-infiltrated, reaction- bonded silicon carbide/boron carbide (RBSiC/B4C), silicon-infiltrated silicon carbide (RBSiC), silicon nitride-bonded silicon carbide (NSiC), pressureless sintered silicon carbide (SSiC), recrystallized silicon carbide (RSiC), aluminium oxide, silicate-bonded silicon carbide, zirconium oxide.
However, Murray teaches a ceramic burner made of a non-oxide and/or oxide ceramic material (para. 51). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Wunning wherein the ceramic is made of a non-oxide and/or oxide ceramic material, since these are suitable temperature-resistant ceramic materials for the ceramic recuperator of Wunning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762