DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the cited prior art fails to teach i) categorizing merge candidates into separate groups and applying a partial reordering, ii) applying different cost functions depending on the characteristics of each merge candidate. Regarding Applicant's first argument see response to amendment and new grounds of rejections for the amended portion. As to the Applicant's second argument Park discloses different equations for uni-prediction and bi-prediction cost calculations. [¶ 0103-0106; ¶ 0120-0153] The cited prior suggests and teaches the claim limitations presented in the rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/05/25 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group. The Applicant's disclosure does not suggest or teach any categorization and grouping of merge candidates for reordering. The Examiner request the Applicant to indicate where in the disclosure the support for the amendment can be found.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US 2021/0037238 in view of Chen et al. US 2020/0068218.
As to claim 1, Park teaches a method of decoding a video, the method comprising: generating a merge list for a current block; [abstract; fig. 2; figs. 25-26; ¶ 0082; ¶ 0085; ¶ 0091] obtaining a modified merge list for the current block selecting one of a plurality of merge candidates included in the modified merge list; [figs. 5-7; fig. 12; ¶ 0092-0102; ¶ 0122-0127; ¶ 0159; ¶ 0178; ¶ 0259] and obtaining a prediction block of the current block based on motion information derived from the selected merge candidate, [figs. 3-7; figs. 25-26; ¶ 0093-0102; ¶ 0122-0127]
Park distinguishes (categories) between BI-direction and uni-directional merge candidates. Park does not explicitly teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group.
Chen teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group. [fig. 16; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0091-0099]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Chen with the teachings of Park allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 2, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Park teaches wherein the merge candidates in the first group are rearranged based on a cost of each merge candidate. [¶ 0100; ¶ 0123]
As to claim 4, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 1, Chen teaches wherein indexes of the merge candidates in the second group in the modified merge list remain the same as in the merge list. [¶ 0099]
As to claim 5, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 2. Park teaches wherein in response to the merge candidate having bidirectional motion information, the cost of the merge candidate is derived by using both an LO reference template, specified by LO motion information of the merge candidate, and an L1 reference template, specified by L1 motion information of the merge candidate. [fig. 7; ¶ 0121-0128]
As to claim 7, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 2. Park teaches wherein a function to derive the cost is different between a first merge candidate and a second merge candidate in the merge list. [¶ 0103-0106; ¶ 0120-0153]
As to claim 9, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Park teaches wherein an inserting order of merge candidates to construct the merge list is determined based on a shape of the current block. [¶ 0122-0153]
As to claim 10, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 9. Park teaches wherein, in response to the current block has a non-square shape where a width is inserted to the merge list earlier than merge candidate derived from a top neighboring block, and wherein in response to the current block has a non-square shape where a width is smaller than a height, a merge candidate derived from a top neighboring block is inserted to the merge list earlier than a merge candidate derived from a left neighboring block. [figs. 8; ¶ 0011; ¶ 0100; ¶ 0122-0153]
As to claim 11, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Park teaches wherein the method further comprises: deriving a new merge candidate by combining a plurality of merge candidates in the modified merge list, and inserting the new merge candidate to the modified merge list. [¶ 0106-0107]
As to claim 14, Park teaches a method of encoding a video, the method comprising: generating a merge list for a current block; [abstract; fig. 2; figs. 25-26; ¶ 0082; ¶ 0085; ¶ 0091] obtaining a modified merge list for the current block; [figs. 5-7; fig. 12; ¶ 0092-0102; ¶ 0122-0127; ¶ 0159; ¶ 0178; ¶ 0259] selecting one of merge candidates included in the modified merge list; [figs. 5-7; fig. 12; ¶ 0092-0102; ¶ 0122-0127; ¶ 0159; ¶ 0178; ¶ 0259] and encoding information on a selected merge candidate. [¶ 0082; ¶ 0090-0095]
Park distinguishes (categorized) between BI-direction and uni-directional merge candidates. Park does not explicitly teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group.
Chen teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group. [fig. 16; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0091-0099]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Chen with the teachings of Park allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 15, Park teaches a device for transmitting compressed video data, comprising: a processor configured to obtain the compressed video data; and a transmitter configured to transmit the compressed video data, wherein obtaining the compressed video data comprises: generating a merge list for a current block; [abstract; fig. 2; figs. 25-26; ¶ 0082; ¶ 0085; ¶ 0091] obtaining a modified merge list for the current block; [figs. 5-7; fig. 12; ¶ 0092-0102; ¶ 0122-0127; ¶ 0159; ¶ 0178; ¶ 0259] selecting one of merge candidates included in the modified merge list; [figs. 5-7; fig. 12; ¶ 0092-0102; ¶ 0122-0127; ¶ 0159; ¶ 0178; ¶ 0259] and encoding information on a selected merge candidate. [¶ 0082; ¶ 0090-0095]
Park distinguishes (categories) between BI-direction and uni-directional merge candidates. Park does not explicitly teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group.
Chen teaches wherein merge candidates included in the merge list are categorized into a first group and a second group, and wherein the modified merge list is derived by reordering merge candidates in the first group but not merge candidates in the second group. [fig. 16; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0091-0099]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Chen with the teachings of Park allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US 2021/0037238 in view of Chen et al. US 2020/0068218 further in view of Zhang et al. US 2022/0239899.
As to claim 6, Park (modified by Chen) teaches the limitations of claim 5. Park (modified by Chen) does not explicitly teach wherein the template matching cost of the merge candidate is derived based on a reference template obtained by a weighted sum of the LO reference template and the L1 reference template.
Zhang teaches wherein the template matching cost of the merge candidate is derived based on a reference template obtained by a weighted sum of the LO reference template and the L1 reference template. [¶ 0589]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Zhang with the teachings of Park (modified by Chen) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483