DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 and 15-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation after step (c) of “wherein the process optionally further comprises the steps of . . .” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the process optionally comprises each of steps (d)-(h) or if the process optionally comprises one or more of the steps (d)-(h). Note, claims 25, 29, 30 and 31 only require a portion of steps (a) through (h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12, 16, 22 and 25-31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tzeng et al. (“Production of Canola Protein Materials by Alkaline Extract, Precipitation and Membrane Processing”, Journal of Food Science, Volume 55, No. 4, (1990), pp. 1147-1152-cited on IDS filed December 4, 2023).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 16, 22 and 25-31, Tzeng et al. disclose a method of producing canola protein isolate (i.e., protein-containing composition) , the method comprising the steps of: (a) obtaining canola meal (i.e., biomaterial from Brassicaceae family, genus napus); (b) extracting the canola meal with an aqueous NaOH solution at a pH of 10.0-12.5 (i.e., preparing an aqueous slurry having a pH of at least 7.5); (c) subjecting the aqueous slurry to centrifugation and filtration (i.e., separation) to obtain a liquid and extracted meal (i.e., solid fraction – fiber-containing composition)(p. 1147-1149/Materials & Methods/Preparation of starting meal; Precipitation, ultrafiltration and diafiltration processes).
Tzeng et al. disclose the method further comprises: (d) subjecting the extracted meal (i.e., solid fraction) to two washings using water, having a pH of 11 or 12, to obtain washing liquid (i.e., digestible-carbohydrate-containing composition) and the washed extracted meal (i.e., fiber-containing composition); and adding the washing liquid back to the liquid obtained in step (c) to obtain a liquid fraction; (e) adjusting the pH of the liquid fraction to 3.5 or 4.0 by the addition of HCl to obtain an acid treated liquid; (f) separating the acid treated liquid to obtain a precipitate (i.e., liquid gel) and a protein solution; and (g1) washing the precipitate and freeze drying to produce an isoelectrically precipitated protein isolate; and/or (g2) concentrating the protein solution by ultrafiltration and subsequent diafiltration the ultrafiltration to obtain a diafiltered retentate; and freeze drying the diafiltered retentate to produce a soluble protein isolate (i.e., aqueous process liquid)( p. 1147-1149/Materials & Methods/Preparation of starting meal; Precipitation, ultrafiltration and diafiltration processes). Here, the step of diafiltration would remove salt ions from the protein solution and the resulting low-salt protein solution would inherently comprise digestible-carbohydrate.
Regarding clam 11, Tzeng et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tzeng et al. disclose the extracting step comprises mixing canola meal with distilled water and NaOH at a pH ranging from 10-12.5 using a stirrer (i.e., disruption step) and extracting for 30 min to 2 hours (i.e., contacting said canola meal with a basic substance under mixing) p. 1148/High-pH extraction of nitrogen and phytate in rapeseed meals, Precipitation, ultrafiltration and diafiltration process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzeng et al. (“Production of Canola Protein Materials by Alkaline Extract, Precipitation and Membrane Processing”, Journal of Food Science, Volume 55, No. 4, (1990), pp. 1147-1152-cited on IDS filed December 4, 2023) in view of Ghaly et al. (“Extraction of Protein from Common Plant Leaves for Use as Human Food”, American Journal of Applied Sciences, 7 (3), (2010), pp. 331-342).
Regarding claim 32, Tzeng et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Tzeng et al. disclose alkaline extraction of canola meal (Brassicaceae napus), the reference is silent with respect to extraction of other biomaterial from the Brassicaceae family, specifically Brassicaceae oleracea.
Ghaly et al. teach a process of extracting protein from cabbage leaves (Brassicaceae oleracea- p. 337-338/Cabbage). Ghaly et al. teach protein extraction is best conducted at a pH of 7.5 or greater (p. 338/Protein Extraction).
Tzeng et al. and Ghaly et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely extraction of protein from plants of the Brassicaceae family. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have used a plant of the species Brassica oleracea, as taught by Ghaly et al. in the protein extraction process of Tzeng et al. to obtain a protein isolate from an alternative plant source.
Claims 10, 12 and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilnakara et al. (“Production of antioxidant dietary fibre powder from cabbage outer leaves”, Food and Bioproducts Processing, 87, (2009), pp. 301-307 – citied on IDS filed December 4, 2023).
Regarding claims 10, 12 and 16-24, Nilnakara et al. disclose a method of producing a dietary fiber powder from outer leaves of cabbage (Brassicaceae oleracea Capitata – white cabbage) (Abstract), the method comprising the steps of: (a) obtaining outer leaves of cabbage (B. oleracea); (b) washing the leaves and chopping into sizes of 0.5 cm x 5 cm; (c) blanching the cabbage pieces in hot water at 93°C for 2 min (i.e., preparing an aqueous slurry from the cabbage pieces and water wherein water has a neutral pH; and (d) cooling the blanched cabbage pieces in cold water at 4°C (p. 302/2.1 Materials). Here, a step of separating the cabbage pieces from the blanching liquid must necessarily occur for the cabbage pieces be cooled in cold water at 4°C. Nilnakara et al. disclose the cabbage pieces are fiber-containing (p. 304/Table 2).
While Nilnakara et al. disclose a slurry of cabbage pieces and water, the reference is silent with respect to a pH of at least 7.5. However, given Nilnakara et al. disclose water, since pure water would considered to have a pH of 7.0 or neutral, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because while the claimed range of at least 7.5 does not overlap with a pH of 7, the values are close. Aqueous slurries having pH values of 7 and 7.5 are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to affect, in this case, cabbage extraction the same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Wu et al. (CN 106107012 A) teaches extracting protein from Brassica vegetable using a sodium carbonate solution (i.e., alkaline extraction).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759