DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is considered vague and indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following “in particular” is part of the subject matter which applicant seeks to protect. For examination purposes, the subject matter is considered part of the claimed invention. Applicant should delete “in particular” and replace it with “comprising” in order to avoid ambiguity in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the machine body casing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claims will be considered to recite "a body casing of the machine."
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the radial outer side" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claims will be considered to recite "[[the]]a radial outer side."
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 26 is considered vague and indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following “in particular” is part of the subject matter which applicant seeks to protect. For examination purposes, the subject matter after “in particular” is considered part of the claimed invention. Applicant should delete “in particular to” and replace it with “comprising.” Applicant should amend the claim
Regarding claim 26, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, the limitation after “such as” is considered part of the claimed invention. Applicant should remove “such as” to avoid ambiguity in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12, 20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fournier (US 3,750,885).
Per claim 1, Fournier teach a filtering device configured to be operated in a
filtering mode in which particles are filtered from a liquid flowing through the filtering device (col. 4, ln 55-60, In a normal operation of the present filtering unit, the laden particle stream enters chamber 1 tangentially by means of inlet port 14 so as to pass spirally downwardly around screen member 5 while at the same time passing radially inwardly through the latter to be discharged as a cleaned stream by way of outlet port means 4.), the filtering device comprising:
an inlet chamber receiving unfiltered liquid in the filtering mode (Fig. 1, adjacent inlet 14),
an outlet chamber (Fig. 1, within filter screen unit 5) receiving filtered liquid from the inlet chamber in the filtering mode (Fig. 1; in communication with outlet 4; col. 4, ln 55-60, In a normal operation of the present filtering unit, the laden particle stream enters chamber 1 tangentially by means of inlet port 14 so as to pass spirally downwardly around screen member 5 while at the same time passing radially inwardly through the latter to be discharged as a cleaned stream by way of outlet port means 4.), and
a filter screen unit (5) separating the inlet chamber from the outlet chamber and
being configured to filter particles from liquid flowing from the inlet chamber into the outlet chamber (col. 2, ln 59-67, Actually, in the operation of the unit, the space around the cylindrical-form unit is similar to that provided in a cyclone type separator where the laden inlet stream will enter the chamber tangentially and pass in a centrifugally spiraling flow through an annular zone between a cylindrical-form screen and the inner wall of the chamber, and the fluid outlet from the unit extends axially from the inner portion of the inner cylindrical screen, whereby particulates are removed by the outer face of the screen member),
wherein the filter screen unit is rotatable about an axis of rotation (col. 4, ln 23-26, Positioned axially or centrally within the chamber 1 is a cylinder-form screen 5 mounted in a manner to be rotatably movable within the chamber.),
wherein at least a part of the inlet chamber is located radially outward of the rotatable filter screen unit with respect to the axis of rotation (Fig. 1), and
wherein the filtering device is configured to be operated in a self-cleaning
mode in which the filter screen unit is rotated to detach filtered particle-sludge from the filter screen unit (col. 3, lines 2-15; However, in accordance with the present invention, there can be an assist to the removal of the deposited particulates from the outer face of the screen member by rotation of the latter and a shearing action initiated to dislodge particles from the screen face. Dislodged particles are permitted to settle into the lower end of the chamber and be removed in a periodical or continuous bleed stream by way of port means at the lower end of the filtering chamber. It is contemplated that the present unit will have an inner rotatable screen member retained stationary except at such times, that may be determined by the operating conditions, when it will have periodical rotations and cleanings.).
Per claim 2, wherein the filtering device is configured to hold the filter screen unit (14) stationary in the filtering mode (col. 3, ln 11-15, It is contemplated that the present unit will have an inner rotatable screen member retained stationary except at such times, that may be determined by the operating conditions, when it will have periodical rotations and cleanings.).
Per claim 3, further comprising a first impeller (20) configured to move liquid from the outlet chamber through the filter screen unit to the inlet chamber, in the self-cleaning mode (col. 5, ln 43-50, FIG. 3 also illustrates by arrow means that the screen will be rotated in a counter-clockwise direction so that the rod means 20 will in turn serve as paddles or vane means to cause localized outward flow of the fluid stream through the slots or openings of screen member 5 and serve to dislodge particulates which may be adhering to the outer face of the screen.).
Per claim 4, wherein a rotation of the first impeller-means is coupled to a rotation of the filter screen unit (col. 3, ln 15-23, However, with certain processing conditions, it may be advisable to maintain a continuous slowly moving operation for the rotatable cylinder-form screen whereby there is continuous radial inward flow of the laden stream through the screen section while simultaneously providing for a continuous dislodgement of particles by the rotating shear action as well as from some measure of local back-wash flow through the cylinder screen by virtue of the vanes provided inside of the screen section.).
Per claim 5, wherein the first impeller means is located within the filter screen unit (col. 3, ln 15-23, However, with certain processing conditions, it may be advisable to maintain a continuous slowly moving operation for the rotatable cylinder-form screen whereby there is continuous radial inward flow of the laden stream through the screen section while simultaneously providing for a continuous dislodgement of particles by the rotating shear action as well as from some measure of local back-wash flow through the cylinder screen by virtue of the vanes provided inside of the screen section.).
Per claim 12, wherein:
the filter screen unit comprises a hollow cage-like structure (Figs. 1, 3),
the outlet chamber is located within the filter screen unit (Fig. 1), and
the filter screen unit is surrounded by the inlet chamber (Figs. 1, 3).
Per claim 20, Fournier teaches a filtering device according to claim 1 (as described above). Fournier teaches a filtering system, comprising:
a detecting and control unit (26) for detecting directly or indirectly a level of clogging of the filter screen unit (col. 6, ln 31-40, At the same time, differential pressure controller 26 connects with the motor means 12 by way of line 32 such that rotation of cylindrical screen 5 is initiated when valving means 27 and 29 are regulated. In other words, in the automatic operation of the unit for rotative cleaning and back-wash, there will be a sensing of an undue pressure drop through the unit from pressure readings at 22 and 23 whereby controller will initiate the back-washing operation.), and
a motor unit (12; Fig. 1) drivingly coupled with the filter screen unit for rotating the filter
screen unit (col. 6, ln 31-34 , At the same time, differential pressure controller 26 connects with the motor means 12 by way of line 32 such that rotation of cylindrical screen 5 is initiated when valving means 27 and 29 are regulated.) and connected to the detecting and control unit, wherein the detecting and control unit is configured to execute the self-cleaning mode dependent on a detected level of clogging (col. 6, ln 35-40, In other words, in the automatic operation of the unit for rotative cleaning and back-wash, there will be a sensing of an undue pressure drop through the unit from pressure readings at 22 and 23 whereby controller will initiate the back-washing operation.).
Per claim 23, Fournier teaches a method of operating a filtering device
filtering particles from a flow of liquid (col. 4, ln 55-60, In a normal operation of the present filtering unit, the laden particle stream enters chamber 1 tangentially by means of inlet port 14 so as to pass spirally downwardly around screen member 5 while at the same time passing radially inwardly through the latter to be discharged as a cleaned stream by way of outlet port means 4.), the method comprising:
directing, in a filtering mode, a flow of liquid from the exterior of a rotatable filter screen unit through the rotatable filter screen unit to the interior of the filter screen unit (col. 4, ln 55-60, In a normal operation of the present filtering unit, the laden particle stream enters chamber 1 tangentially by means of inlet port 14 so as to pass spirally downwardly around screen member 5 while at the same time passing radially inwardly through the latter to be discharged as a cleaned stream by way of outlet port means 4.),
and thereby accumulating filtered particle-sludge on [[the]]a radial outer side of the filter screen unit (col. 2, ln 59-67, Actually, in the operation of the unit, the space around the cylindrical-form unit is similar to that provided in a cyclone type separator where the laden inlet stream will enter the chamber tangentially and pass in a centrifugally spiraling flow through an annular zone between a cylindrical-form screen and the inner wall of the chamber, and the fluid outlet from the unit extends axially from the inner portion of the inner cylindrical screen, whereby particulates are removed by the outer face of the screen member), and
rotating the filter screen unit to detach filtered particle-sludge from the filter
screen unit in a self-cleaning mode (col. 3, lines 2-15; However, in accordance with the present invention, there can be an assist to the removal of the deposited particulates from the outer face of the screen member by rotation of the latter and a shearing action initiated to dislodge particles from the screen face. Dislodged particles are permitted to settle into the lower end of the chamber and be removed in a periodical or continuous bleed stream by way of port means at the lower end of the filtering chamber. It is contemplated that the present unit will have an inner rotatable screen member retained stationary except at such times, that may be determined by the operating conditions, when it will have periodical rotations and cleanings.).
Per claim 24, comprising executing the self-cleaning mode dependent on a level of clogging of the filter screen unit (col. 6, ln 35-40, In other words, in the automatic operation of the unit for rotative cleaning and back-wash, there will be a sensing of an undue pressure drop through the unit from pressure readings at 22 and 23 whereby controller will initiate the back-washing operation.).
Per claim 25, comprising actively transporting liquid from the interior of the filter screen unit though the filter screen unit to the exterior of the filter screen unit, in the self-cleaning mode (col. 5, ln 43-50, FIG. 3 also illustrates by arrow means that the screen will be rotated in a counter-clockwise direction so that the rod means 20 will in turn serve as paddles or vane means to cause localized outward flow of the fluid stream through the slots or openings of screen member 5 and serve to dislodge particulates which may be adhering to the outer face of the screen.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11, 13-19 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While claim 1 is not patentable for the reasons provided above, in the examiner’s opinion, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the device further comprising elements having the recited configuration and positioning as recited in claims 6-11, 13-19 and 22.
Per claim 21, while Fournier teach a filtering device according to claim 1, in the examiner’s opinion, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious a machine comprising textile a washing machine producing a flow of particle-contaminated liquida body casing of the machine
Per claim 26, while claim 23 is not patentable for the reasons provided above, in the examiner’s opinion, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious the method further comprising the steps recited in claim 26.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779