DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending and under current examination.
Withdrawn Claim Objections and Rejections
All objections pertaining to claims 1-15 and 17-19 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites weight percentages of different components of the drug delivery solution but do not state to which weight the weight percentages are relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern the weight that each percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim 5 recites a weight percentage of component c, but does not state to which weight the weight percentage is relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern which value the percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claims 7 and 8 recite a weight percentage of component d, but does not state to which weight the weight percentage is relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern which value the percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim 13 recites weight percentages of different components of the drug delivery solution but do not state to which weight the weight percentages are relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern the weight that each percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim 16 recites a weight percentage of component a, but does not state to which weight the weight percentage is relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern which value the percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim 18 recites a weight percentage of component e, but does not state to which weight the weight percentage is relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern which value the percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim 19 recites weight percentages of components b and c, but does not state to which weight the weight percentage is relative. This renders the claim indefinite because it is impossible to discern which value the percentage is intended to be relative to.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6, 9-12, 14, 15, and 17, claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5, Applicant argues that the use of “% w/w” in the claims is definite and fully consistent with the understanding of a person of ordinary skill in the art. This is not found persuasive. As described in the rejection of record, the recited limitation “%w/w” described a weight percentage relative to another weight, but does not define to what weight it is relative to nor does the specification define the weight percentages to be based on the total weight of the composition. Thus, it is impossible to discern the weight that each percentage is intended to be relative to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garti (U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0137829, publication date: 5/13/2021, of record) in view of Bergamante et. al. (Drug Delivery, pg. 427-432, publication year: 2007, of record), as evidenced by Ahmad et. al. (Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects, pg. 68-77, publication year: 2014, of record), Ali (American Pharmaceutical Review, available 2/25/2019, of record), and Kassem et. al. (Energy Reports, pg. 221-230, publication year: 2019, of record).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Garti teaches topical formulations for dermal delivery of an active agent [0022]. The topical formulation comprises an oily phase and a gelled aqueous phase, the oily phase being in the form of oily nano-domains droplets that are dispersed in the gelled aqueous continuous phase [0023-24]. The active agent may be diclofenac sodium [0091] and may be present between 1 and 6 wt.% [0092]. The formulation includes at least two penetrating promoters, which may include 2-(2-ethyoxyethoxy)ethanol (transcutol) [0084]. The total amount of penetrating promoter is between about 2 and 10 wt.% [0082]. The formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants such as ethoxylated monoglycerol esters like PEG, 5, 6, 7, 20, 40-caprylic/capric, lauric, and oleic glycerides [0057] or ethoxylated hydroxyl stearic acid (Solutol HS15) [0060]. The first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 40, 60, or 80 [0061] and may be present in an amount between 1.75 and 8.0 wt.% [0064]. The total amount of hydrophilic surfactants in the formulation is between 2 and 12 wt. % [0064]. The formulation may also contain a co-surfactant which may be present in between 0.4 and 2 wt.% [0075].
Regarding claim 2, Garti teaches that the formulation may also contain a co-surfactant which may be present in between 0.4 and 2 wt.% [0075].
Regarding claim 3, Garti teaches that the formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants such as Solutol HS15 [0060]. Ali teaches that Solutol HS15, also known as Kolliphor HS 15, has an HLB of about 16 (Introduction, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Garti teaches that the first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 40, 60, or 80 (Tween 80) [0060]. Kassem teaches that Tween 80 has an HLB value of 15 (pg. 222, Introduction).
Regarding claim 5, Garti teaches that the formulation may also contain a co-surfactant which may be present in between 0.4 and 2 wt.%. The co-surfactant, together with the surfactants, contributes to lowering of the interfacial tension between the oily phase and the aqueous phase to almost zero allowing for the formation of thermodynamically stable oily domains [0075].
Regarding claim 7, Garti teaches that the total amount of penetrating promoter is between about 2 and 10 wt.% [0082]. The formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants such as ethoxylated monoglycerol esters like PEG, 5, 6, 7, 20, 40-caprylic/capric, lauric, and oleic glycerides [0057]. The first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 40, 60, or 80 [0061] and may be present in an amount between 1.75 and 8.0 wt.% [0064]. The total amount of hydrophilic surfactants in the formulation is between 2 and 12 wt. % [0064].
Regarding claim 8, Garti teaches that the formulation may include Solutol HS15 [0060]. Ali teaches that Solutol HS15, also known as Kolliphor HS 15, is composed of polyethylene oxide esters of 12-hydroxystearic acid with about 30-35% of free polyethylene glycol (Introduction, first and second paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Garti teaches that the first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 20, 40, 60, or 80 [0060].
Regarding claim 10, Garti teaches that the formulations are typically transparent [0104].
Regarding claim 11, Garti teaches that the oily domains have a size of between about 5 and 150nm [0027]. The size distribution may be measured by dynamic light scattering analysis [0190 and Figs. 14A and 14B].
Regarding claim 12, Garti teaches that the structures of the formulation are formed spontaneously [0027].
Regarding claim 13, Garti teaches topical formulations for dermal delivery of an active agent [0022]. The topical formulation comprises an oily phase and a gelled aqueous phase, the oily phase being in the form of oily nano-domains droplets that are dispersed in the gelled aqueous continuous phase [0023-24]. The active agent may be diclofenac sodium [0091] and may be present between 1 and 6 wt.% [0092]. The formulation includes at least two penetrating promoters, which may include 2-(2-ethyoxyethoxy)ethanol (transcutol) [0084]. The total amount of penetrating promoter is between about 2 and 10 wt.% [0082]. The formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants such as Solutol HS15 [0060]. The first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 40, 60, or 80 [0061] and may be present in an amount between 1.75 and 8.0 wt.% [0064]. The total amount of hydrophilic surfactants in the formulation is between 2 and 12 wt. % [0064]. The formulation may also contain a co-surfactant which may be present in between 0.4 and 2 wt.% [0075].
Regarding claim 14, Garti teaches that the formulation may be included in a kit that contains the formulation in a dosing form [0170]. The dosing form includes a container for holding the formulation [0171] and can be in any form known in the art, including a spray, roll-on, swabs, or pads, enabling application of the formulation to a desired skin area [0172].
Regarding claim 15, Garti teaches that the formulation may be used to treat an inflammatory disease, mild to moderate pain, musculoskeletal disorders, or signs and symptoms of osteoarthritis and joint stiffness, as well as inflammatory skin conditions [0169].
Regarding claim 16, Garti teaches topical formulations for dermal delivery of an active agent [0022]. The topical formulation comprises an oily phase and a gelled aqueous phase, the oily phase being in the form of oily nano-domains droplets that are dispersed in the gelled aqueous continuous phase [0023-24]. The formulation comprises between about 50 and 90 wt.% of the diluent [0101]. The aqueous phase is gelled by a gellant such as xanthan gum [0093-0094].
Regarding claim 17, Garti teaches that the topical formulations may include penetrating promoters [0081] including oleyl alcohol [0084].
Regarding claim 18, Garti teaches that the formulations may include isopropanol and propylene glycol [0068] as polar solvents. The total amount of solvents in the formulation is between about 2.5 and 25 wt.% [0073]. The formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants. The first hydrophilic surfactants may also be chosen from polysorbate 20, 40, 60, or 80 [0061].
Regarding claim 19, Garti teaches that the topical formulations may include penetrating promoters [0081] including oleyl alcohol [0084]. The total amount of penetrating promoters is between about 2 and about 10 wt.% [0082]. Oleyl alcohol may also be present as the oily phase in an amount between 0.5 and 3 wt.% [0056]. The gellant may be present in an amount between about 0.75 and 3.5 wt.% [0099].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 13 Garti does not teach the inclusion of a propylene glycol ester of fatty acids. However, this deficiency is cured by Bergamante.
Bergamante teaches that propylene glycol monocaprylate (Capryol 90) may be used as a cosurfactant in a microemulsion preparation for topical drug application (pg. 428, Microemulsion Preparation). Ahmad teaches that propylene glycol monocaprylate has an HLB value of 6.0 (pg. 71, Table 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Garti does not teach a weight percentage of a propylene glycol ester of fatty acids with the range embraced by the instant claims.
Bergamante teaches that Capryol 90 may be present at 9.5% by weight in a microemulsion preparation for topical drug delivery (pg. 428, Table 1).
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 13, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosurfactants used in microemulsions for topical drug application. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding the weight percentage of propylene glycol esters as specified in claims 5 and 13, MPEP 2144.05 states:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Garti teaches that the cosurfactant works together with the surfactants to create thermodynamically stably oily domains [0075] and Bergamante teaches that Capryol 90 may be present at 9.5% by weight in a microemulsion preparation for topical drug delivery (pg. 428, Table 1). The Applicants' specification provides no evidence that the selected weight percentage in claim 5 was not due to routine optimization and/or that the results should be considered unexpected compared to the prior art. Due to the synergistic effect of co-surfactant and surfactants on the thermodynamic stability of the oily domains, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine these teachings and alter the weight percentage to lie within the range embraced by the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the weight percentage as this could be expected to be advantageous for optimizing thermodynamic stability of the oily domains with respect to the chosen surfactants.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, Applicant argues that Garti fails to disclose or suggest a key structural limitation of the claims, particularly the same mechanism of surfactant-driven self-assembly into nanoscale micelles. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., surfactant-driven self-assembly) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the instant case, Garti teaches that the oily phase is constituted by nano-clusters or short domains of oil and surfactants, cosolvents, and cosurfactants and differs from the classical reverse micelles in that the active agent functions as a surface-active agent and is located at the interface of the oily domains or is incorporated into the interface [0025]. The instant specification defines a micelles to include the API, surfactants, and a solvent. Surfactants form the micelle, with the hydrophobic moieties orient toward the continue phase. The diclofenac cations are located in the margin of the micelle, with the hydrophilic carboxylate head group on the micelle surface and the hydrophobic body orient toward the core of the micelle (pg. 6 lines 1-22 of instant specification). Furthermore, Garti also teaches the inclusion of two surfactants with an HLB above 15 [0060]. The instant specification teaches that surfactants A and B form the micelle and have an HLB value above 15 (pg. 6 line 9). The Examiner therefore considers the “oily nano-domains” of Garti to read on the “micelle” limitation of the instant claim.
On page 7, Applicant argues that Garti fails to disclose propylene glycol esters of C6 to C12 fatty acids. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As described in the obviousness rejection above, Garti does not teach the inclusion of a propylene glycol ester of fatty acids. However, this deficiency is cured by Bergamante. The idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosurfactants used in microemulsions for topical drug application. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
On page 8, Applicant argues that neither Garti nor the secondary references teach or suggest selecting surfactants according to a coordinated HLB profile or combining them in a manner that produces a self-assembling micellar system. This is not found persuasive. In response, the Examiner draws attention to MPEP 2123 (I), which states “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonable suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art”. In the instant case, Garti teaches that the formulation may also include at least two hydrophilic surfactants such as Solutol HS15 and polysorbate 40, 60, or 80 (Tween 80) [0060]. Ali teaches that Solutol HS15, also known as Kolliphor HS 15, has an HLB of about 16 (Introduction, first paragraph). Kassem teaches that Tween 80 has an HLB value of 15 (pg. 222, Introduction). Furthermore, Garti teaches that the formulation may also contain a co-surfactant which may be present in between 0.4 and 2 wt.% [0075]. It would have been obvious to include propylene glycol monocaprylate in view of the teachings of Bergamante. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art of filing could have reasonably included the components recited by the instant claim 1.
On page 8, Applicant argues that the specification demonstrates that only limited combinations of surfactant and concentrations result in stable nanoscale micellar systems. This is not found persuasive. In response, please refer to MPEP 716.02 (b) which details the burden on Applicant to establish that results in a side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art are unexpected and significant. Specifically, Applicant must establish that differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and are of both practical and statistical significance. Additionally, evidence of unexpected properties must be commensurate in scope with the claims.
Differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to improved physical stability of the micellar solutions rendered by the specific surfactants and weight percentages embraced by the instant claims. However, Gardouh et. al. (Journal of Drug Delivery Science and Technology, pg. 102093, publication year: 2020) teaches that a combination of Capryol 90, Kolliphor, Tween 80, and Transcutol render a stable micellar composition for drug delivery (pg. 10, Conclusion). The desired amounts of oil (Capryol 90) are 10-40% and surfactant (Kolliphor and Tween 80) are 20-75% for optimization of self-nanoemulsifying drug delivery system (pg. 6, Table 2). Kolliphor and Tween 80 are included in ratio of 1:1 for the highest emulsification efficiency with Capryol 90 (pg. 4, 3.2 Screening of surfactants for emulsification efficiency). Furthermore, the evidence of unexpected results is limited to compositions that comprise Capryol 90, Kolliphor, and Tween 80 in varying weight ratios. The evidence of unexpected results does not contain any evidence pertaining to the criticality of these specific surfactants or any evidence demonstrative of the synergy between the recited surfactants. Furthermore, the weight percentages of formulation M11 are within the ranges embraced by the instant claims but do not appear to be physically stable (zeta potential of -8mV). The Applicant has not provided data sufficient to establish the criticality of the species of surfactant or the weight percentages of those surfactants to the stability of micellar solution. Therefore, the difference are not unexpected or unobvious.
Differences are of both practical and statistical significance: The evidence of unexpected results amounts to improved physical stability of the micellar solutions rendered by the specific surfactants and weight percentages embraced by the instant claims. Thus, the differences are of practical significance. However, the Applicant has not provided data sufficient to establish the criticality of the species of surfactant or the weight percentages of those surfactants to the stability of micellar solution and there is no statistical analysis provided to analyze the differences in stability recited in Table 2 of the instant specification. Therefore, the differences are not of statistical significance.
Evidence of unexpected properties must be in commensurate scope with the claims: The instant claim 1 embraces any glycol, glycol ether, or glycol ether ester, any propylene glycol ester of C6 to C12 fatty acid, any polyethylene glycol ester of C14-C18 fatty acids, and any polyethylene glycol esters of sorbitan C16 to C20 fatty acid monoester. However, the evidence of unexpected results is limited to compositions that comprise Capryol 90, Kolliphor, and Tween 80 in varying weight ratios. Therefore, the evidence of unexpected properties is not in commensurate scope with the claims.
Additionally, no side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art is provided to establish unexpectedly superior performance. There is no nexus between the purportedly unexpected property and the differences between the instant invention, as claimed, and the closest prior art. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
On page 9, Applicant argues that the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Please also refer to MPEP 2123 (I), which states “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments”. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Garti, in view of the teachings of Bergamante, teaches the inclusion of all the recited limitations of the instant claims.
On page 9, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the references of record in the manner proposed by the office. This is not found persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosurfactants used in microemulsions for topical drug application. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
On page 9, Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the references of record. This is not found persuasive. In response, please refer to MPEP 2143.02 (I), which states:
“Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019) ("To be clear, we do not hold today that efficacy data is always required for a reasonable expectation of success. Nor are we requiring ‘absolute predictability of success.’"); Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute")).”
Please also refer to MPEP 2143.01 (II), which states:
“Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. Evidence showing there was no reasonable expectation of success may support a conclusion of nonobviousness.”
In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized in view of the teachings of Garti and Bergamante that the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional cosurfactants used in microemulsions for topical drug application. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614