DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, submitted 29 June 2026, are pending in the application. Claims 14-15 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-13 are subject to examination in the instant Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 29 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 1) the restriction was made with regards to undue burden on the Examiner and 2) the prior art teaches a different formulation architecture from the presently claimed invention. This is not found persuasive because to the first point, search burden is not the proper standard for restriction of a national stage 371 applications and thus, the argument of undue burden presented to the Examiner is moot. Regarding the different formulation architecture, the instant claims do not require a particular architecture other than being a nano-complex, of which Garti has disclosed a nano-domain dispersed in a gelled continuous aqueous phase.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garti et al. (US 2021/0137829 A1) in view of How et al. ("Hyaluronic acid-mediated drug delivery system targeting for inflammatory skin diseases: A mini review." Frontiers in Pharmacology 11 (2020): 1105.) and Neuman et al. ("In vitro anti-inflammatory effects of hyaluronic acid in ethanol-induced damage in skin cells." Journal of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences 14.3 (2011): 425-437.).
Garti teaches a nano-domain dispersed in a gelled continuous aqueous phase (Abstract). As per the Applicant’s specification, found on page 11, lines 30-32, the methods of treatment can comprise administering a gelled composition. It’s further taught by Garti that in some embodiments, the composition comprises: a) an active agent which can be selected from diclofenac, diclofenac sodium, diclofenac potassium or any other acceptable salt of diclofenac and be present in a concentration of 1%-6% by weight (paragraphs 91-92 and 152); c) a diethylene glycol monoethyl ether and be present in a concentration of 2.3%-3.6% by weight (paragraph 211, Table 2); d) a C2 to C3 alcohol (i.e., a combination of isopropyl alcohol and ethanol isopropanol) and be present in a concentration of 16.85% by weight (paragraphs 84 and 211, Table 2, Exemplary formulations I and J); and e) water at a concentration of 65% to 79.25% by weight (paragraphs 100-101 and 211, Table 2). This also reads on instant claims 3, 4, 5 and 6.
While Garti does not explicitly teach a formulation which includes a cationic surfactant, this reference suggests, in some embodiments, that the formulations may further comprise preservatives such as benzalkonium chloride, benzethonium chloride, alkyl trimethylammonium bromide (paragraph 103), which are identified by the Applicant as cationic surfactants on page 6, lines 21-30 of the specification. Therefore, in view of the Garti reference, it would have been prima facie obvious for one skilled in the art to make a composition similar to that of the applicants through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 2, Garti does not teach wherein the composition comprises hyaluronic acid. However, Garti does suggest, in some embodiments, the use of a humectant. How teaches that “HA (hyaluronic acid) being a natural component of the skin, has been one of the most favorite humectants used in almost all nutricosmetic products with moisturizing properties” (pg. 5, Section “HA in Medical Device Moisturizers”, Left Col., 1st paragraph). It would have been prima facie obvious for one skilled in the art to add a humectant and select hyaluronic acid as the humectant in the composition because it’s known in the art that exposure to ethanol causes damage in epidermoidal cell lines and hyaluronic acid is protective against ethanol-induced cytotoxicity (pg. 426, Section “Introduction”, Right Col., 2nd paragraph; pg. 434, Section “Conclusion”, Right Col., 1st paragraph) as taught by Neuman. Therefore, How and Neuman teach the motivation needed for one skilled in the art to add hyaluronic acid to the composition taught by Garti.
Regarding claim 7, Garti teaches wherein composition is self-assembling (paragraph 25).
With respect to claim 8, Garti teaches that in the gelled system, the oily domain may have a size between 15 nm-75 nm or even between 20 nm-50 nm (paragraph 28) and even notes that size distribution of gelled diclofenac sodium formulation was measured by dynamic light scattering (paragraph 190). In view of the overlapping range of size of the nano-domain taught by Garti, it can thus be reasoned that the composition would be considered translucent because the Applicant’s specification teaches that “Compositions with an average complex size, determined by dynamic light scattering, of about 10 nm to about 50 nm, can be regarded as translucent”, found on page 8, lines 7-8. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected.
Claim 10 is rejected on the basis that the claim is drawn to a physical property (e.g., the zeta potential) of the claimed composition. The Examiner acknowledges that Garti does not teach a measurement of the zeta potential, however, Garti is teaching a composition which contains all of the limitations of instant claim 1. Therefore, it would follow that the composition taught by Garti would have a similar zeta potential as that of instantly claimed composition. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 11, Garti teaches wherein the compositions have a pH ranging between 7.1-7.5 (paragraph 256, Compound NDS 506(A)). This reads on the instant claims which recite the limitation of a pH of about 8 to about 8.5 because in the Applicant’s specification, page 4, lines 31-32, the term “about” in relation to a numerical value x means x±10%. Consequently, and in view of the Applicant’s specification, the claimed range of a pH of about 8 would include a pH of 7.2-9.3. Therefore, the pH range taught by Garti overlaps with the pH range recited in Applicant’s rejected claims, thus obviating the claimed limitation.
Claim 12 is rejected on the basis that Garti teaches wherein the composition is provided in a container comprising a means for application via swabs or pads with the formulation (paragraph 172).
Claim 13 is rejected as Garti teaches the use of the composition in the treatment of inflammatory disease, mild to moderate pain, musculoskeletal disorders, or sign and symptoms of osteoarthritis, joint stiffness as well as inflammatory skin conditions (paragraph 169) which reads on the limitations of the instant claim.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JUSTIN CHRISTOPHER SANCHEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622