Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the mixture obtained from stage a)" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner has interpreted “the mixture from stage a)” as “a mixture obtained from mixing the solid electrolyte and the agent from step a)”. Claims 2-7 are rejected for being dependent from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesugi et al. (US 20190312304 A1) in view of Xu et al. (Preparation of Li7P3S11 glass-ceramic electrolyte by dissolution-evaporation method for all-solid-state lithium ion batteries).
Regarding claim 1, Uesugi teaches a method for the preparation of a solid electrolyte [0001], comprising:
mixing a solid electrolyte chosen from sulfides with an agent comprising at least sulfur ([0082], Li5.8PS4.8Cl1.2, P2S5);
Uesegi does not teach steps b) adding the mixture obtained from stage a) to an organic solvent; and
c) recovering the solid electrolyte obtained from stage b).
However, Xu teaches a method of making a solid electrolyte (Section 1) with steps b) adding the mixture obtained from stage a) to an organic solvent (Section 2.1, THF, ACN); and
c) recovering the solid electrolyte obtained from stage b) (Section 2.1, dried to remove organic solvents).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Uesegi method for preparing a solid electrolyte by adding the steps outlined in the Xu method because pulverizing and mixing using the ball mill method ([0082], stated in the Uesegi method,) is tedious and difficult to obtain uniform products. However, by using the dissolution- evaporation method, the uniformity and stability of the solutions can ensure the homogeneity of precursors. (Xu et al. Section 1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Uesegi teaches the method of claim 1, the solid electrolyte chosen from sulfides is a compound represented by a compositional formula (1): Li7-x-2yPS6-x-yHax (where Ha represents halogen and is at least one kind of element of fluorine (F), chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), and iodine (I)). In the compositional formula (1), the parameter x, which represents a molar ratio of the halogen element, is preferably 0.4 to 1.7 (Uesegi et al. [0031] - [0032]). This formula overlaps with the range stated in the first formula of claim 2. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F. 2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, modified Uesegi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the agent comprising at least sulfur is P2S5 (Uesegi et al. [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Uesegi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the content of the agent comprising at least is around 1.15% by weight, with respect to the total weight of the mixture comprising the solid electrolyte chosen from sulfides and the agent comprising at least sulfur (Uesegi et al. [0085]). This value was obtained by converting the mol amount stated in Uesegi to wt%: “The respective powders were weighed such that the amount of P2S5 became 7 mol with respect to 100 mol of the compound powder represented by Li5.8PS4.8Cl1.2.”
7
m
o
l
P
2
S
5
*
444.5
g
P
2
S
5
1
m
o
o
l
P
2
S
5
=
3111.5
g
P
2
S
5
100
m
o
l
L
i
5.8
P
S
4.8
C
l
1.2
*
267.687
g
L
i
5.8
P
S
4.8
C
l
1.2
1
m
o
l
L
i
5.8
P
S
4.8
C
l
1.2
=
267687
g
L
i
5.8
P
S
4.8
C
l
1.2
3111.5
g
P
2
S
5
3111.5
g
P
2
S
5
+
267687
g
L
i
5.8
P
S
4.8
C
l
1.2
≈
1.15
w
t
%
P
2
S
5
Regarding claim 5, modified Uesegi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent is an ether (Xu et al. Section 2.1, THF).
Regarding claim 6, modified Uesegi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
d) drying the solid electrolyte obtained from stage c) at 80 °C (Xu et al. Section 2.1).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesegi et al. in view of Xu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen et al. (Composite Electrode Ink Formulation for All Solid-State Batteries).
Regarding claim 7, modified Uesegi teaches preparing a solid electrolyte according to the method of claim 1. Uesegi does not teach a method for the preparation of a battery cell comprising a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a separator, the method comprising:
preparing a solid electrolyte, forming the separator;
manufacturing the negative electrode and the positive electrode, existing in the form of inks; and
coating the negative electrode and positive electrode inks on the separator, the coatings being subsequently dried.
Shen et al., however, teaches a method for the preparation of a battery cell comprising a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a separator (Shen et al. Introduction), the method comprising:
preparing a solid electrolyte, forming the separator (Shen et al. LLZO pellet preparation);
manufacturing the negative electrode and the positive electrode, existing in the form of inks (Shen et al. Electrochemical characterization); and
coating the negative electrode and positive electrode inks on the separator, the coatings being subsequently dried (Shen et al. Electrochemical characterization).
Since the modified Uesegi method of preparing a solid electrolyte is intended to be used to create a solid-state battery (Uesegi, [0001]), it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use any method to create this solid-state battery.
Conclusion
/YVONNE WEI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722