DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inano et al. (US 20170303443 A1) (of record, cited in IDS) in view of Saito (US 20180363994 A1) (of record, cited in IDS) and Keehn et al. (US 10925188 B1), hereafter referred to as Inano, Saito, and Keehn, respectively.
With regards to claim 1, Inano discloses the claimed container-type data center (1) (Fig. 1) comprising: a container (2) (Fig. 1) that is disposed in an electronic component cooling space (The left side of Fig. 1, accommodating the various cooling components), and stores a cooling liquid therein (Container 2 stores a cooling fluid 4) (Fig. 1); a board (51) (Fig. 1) that is disposed to be immersed in the cooling liquid in the container (See Figs. 1, 2), a plurality of electronic components being mounted on the board (5, 52-56) (Fig. 1); a temperature control unit (3) (Fig. 1; Paragraphs [0044-0046] describe cooling tower / temperature control unit 3) that is disposed in a temperature control space (The right side of Fig. 1, accommodating the various heat dissipation components), and cools the cooling liquid guided from an inside of the container, and returns the cooling liquid to the container (See Fig. 1; Paragraphs [0044-0046] describe cooling tower 3 cooling the fluid 4 heated within immersion tank 2.); and an exhaust device (35) (Fig. 1) that exhausts air in the temperature control space to an outside is installed in the exhaust port (See Fig. 1).
Inano does not explicitly disclose:
a container body, wherein the container is accommodated in the container body, and a drain pan that is accommodated in the container body and that receives the cooling liquid leaking from the container below the container (See Fig. 2).
However, Saito discloses:
a drain pan (21, 33) (Fig. 4) that receives the cooling liquid leaking from the container below the container (See Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Inano with the drain pan of Saito. In doing do, one of ordinary skill would know to place the drain pan below the temperature control unit and container, as those are the components housing liquid that could potentially drip. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to better protect other components from liquid damage and/or corrosion, and to limit spillage.
Additionally, Keehn discloses:
a container body (104) (Fig. 4a) that accommodates a plurality of containers (108, 160, 140, 150) (Fig. 4a) inside said body (See Fig. 4a), wherein the container body includes a partition wall member (Wall between 108 and 140, with inlet 141 and outlet 142) (Fig. 4a) that separates a temperature control space (The area surrounding 140) (Fig. 4a) from an electronic component cooling space (The area surrounding 108) (Fig. 4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) to have modified the Inano-Saito combination so that the submodules were accommodated within the container body of Keehn. In doing so, one of ordinary skill would know to replace the server 108 with the container 2 of Inano, and the condenser assembly 140 with the temperature control unit 3 of Inano, as the parts fulfill similar purposes. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to better protect the subsystems of the Inano-Saito combination, and to improve structural stability and modularity of the overall system.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 3, Inano, Saito, and Keehn disclose all as applied to claim 1, and Inano additionally discloses:
wherein an air intake port (36) (Fig. 1) is formed in a door or an outer wall portion forming the temperature control space (Outer wall of temperature control unit 3) (Fig. 1), and a heat exchanger (13, 33) (Fig. 1) that cools the cooling liquid is installed (See Fig. 1).
Inano does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat exchanger (i.e., loop 13 or sprayer 33) is installed in the air inlet port. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) to have placed the loop in the air inlet, as the change in position would have not modified the operation of the device, i.e., cooling the loop 13. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C), In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 4, Inano, Saito, and Keehn disclose all as applied to claim 3, and Inano additionally discloses:
wherein an exhaust port (37) (Fig. 1) is formed in the door or the outer wall portion at a position different from the air intake port (See Fig. 1).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 6, Inano, Saito, and Keehn disclose all as applied to claim 1, but Inano and Keehn do not explicitly disclose:
a plurality of frames that are provided below the container, wherein the drain pan is provided in a space formed between the frames.
However, Saito discloses:
a plurality of frames (36) (Fig. 4) that are provided below the container (Below drain pan 21) (Fig. 4), wherein the drain pan is provided in a space formed between the frames (Drain pans 21 and 33 are located centrally between supports 36) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Inano-Saito-Keehn combination to include the additional supports / frames, as taught by Saito. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the structural stability of the Inano-Saito-Keehn combination, and to provide additional space for drainage.
See also KSR, supra.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inano, Saito, and Keehn, in further view of Sato et al. (US 20080232064 A1) (of record, cited in IDS), hereafter referred to as Sato.
With regards to claim 5, Inano, Saito, and Keehn disclose all as applied to claim 3, but Inano, Saito, and Keehn do not explicitly disclose:
wherein a louver and a filter are provided on an air flow upstream side of the heat exchanger.
However, Sato discloses:
wherein a louver (Cooling coils 10 act as louver slats) (Fig.3a) and a filter (11) (Fig. 3a) are provided on an air flow upstream side of the heat exchanger (See Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) to have modified the Inano-Saito-Keehn combination to include the filter and louver specifics of Sato. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the airflow quality and coherence through the Inano-Saito-Keehn combination.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835