DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (US 2012/0164489).
Regarding claim 1, Okada et al. discloses in Figs 1-11, a battery module (Abstract) comprising: battery cells (refs 1); a module case (refs 3, 6) accommodating the battery cells (refs 1) and having a connector mounting hole (ref 4) on one side (Fig 1); a flame retardant cover (ref 7) made of fire-resistant and insulating material ([0037], [0039]), provided to shield ([0037], [0039], Fig 1) the connector mounting hole (ref 4); and a connector (ref 5) having a connector housing (Fig 1, body of ref 5) exposed to outside (Fig 1) through the connector mounting hole (ref 4) and isolated from an inside (Fig 1) of the module case (refs 3, 6) by the flame retardant cover (ref 7), and connector pins (refs 12, 14) extending into (Fig 1) the module case (refs 3, 6) through (Fig 1, at refs 13) the flame retardant cover (ref 7).
Regarding claim 2, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the connector housing (Fig 1, body of ref 5) is configured such that a rear end portion (Fig 1, bottom of ref 5) facing the inside of the module case (refs 3, 6) and a side portion (Fig 1, side of ref 5) are surrounded by (Fig 1, [0039]) the flame retardant cover (ref 7).
Regarding claim 3, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the flame retardant cover (ref 7) comprises: a front shield portion (“7 FS”, Fig 1 below) facing the connector mounting hole (ref 4) inside the module case (refs 3, 6) and covering the rear end portion (Fig 1) of the connector housing (bottom of ref 5, Fig 1); and a side shield portion (“7 SS”, Fig 1 below) provided along the an edge (Fig 1) of the front shield portion (“7 FS”, Fig 1 below) and surrounding the side portion (Fig 1, side of ref 5) of the connector housing (body of ref 5, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the front shield portion (“7 FS”, Fig 1 above) has pin holes ([0040], Fig 1) through which the connector pins pass (refs 12, 14, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the side shield portion (“7 SS”, Fig 1 above) is fixedly coupled (Fig 1, [0039], [0040]) to the connector mounting hole (ref 4).
Regarding claim 6, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the side shield portion (“7 SS”, Fig 1 above) has a locking protrusion (ref 7b, bent ends, Fig 4) formed to protrude in a central direction (Fig 4) of the front shield portion (“7 FS”, Fig 1 above), and wherein the connector mounting hole (ref 4) has a fastening portion (at ref 16, [0040]) that surrounds the locking protrusion (ref 7b, bent ends, Fig 4) and is fitted to (Figs 1, 4, [0040]) the locking protrusion (ref 7b, bent ends, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 8, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the connector housing (body of ref 5, Fig 1) comprises a first body (“1st”, Fig 1 above) extending toward (Fig 1) the connector mounting hole (ref 4) and a second body (“2nd”, Fig 1 above) extending in a direction at an angle to (Fig 1) the first body (“1st”, Fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Okada et al. discloses in Figs 1-11, a battery pack ([0032]) comprising at least one battery module (Abstract) as set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Okada et al. discloses in Figs 1-11, a vehicle ([0032]) comprising the battery pack ([0032]) as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US 2012/0164489) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2005/0142927).
Regarding claim 7, Okada et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the module case (refs 3, 6) comprises: a main housing (ref 6) having an opening on at least one side (in Fig 1) and accommodating the battery cells (refs 1) in a closed structure on four sides (Fig 1); but does not explicitly disclose an end plate covering the opening of the main housing, wherein the connector mounting hole is provided on the end plate.
Chen discloses in Fig 1(a) an electrical device (Abstract) having 4 walls on sides and a bottom (of refs 11, Fig 1(a)) with an end plate (front of structure of ref 11, Fig 1(a)) having an opening (ref 112). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected result, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrange an end side of the module case of Okada et al. to have an end plate with an opening therein, as taught by Chen, because selecting one of known designs for a module casing structure with an opening would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and because said module casing having an end plate with an opening would operate equally well as the one disclosed by Okada et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang (US 2007/0182363) discloses in Figs 1-12, a portable power supply device (Abstract) including a housing (ref 10) holding batteries (refs 20) and including a front surface with an opening therein (refs 40, 41, Fig 1).
Roy (US D719,512) discloses in Figs 1-9, an electrical device (Title) including a housing with openings on surfaces thereof (Fig 1).
Choi et al. (KR 10-2021-0098705) a battery pack module for a vehicle (Abstract) including a housing structure with an opening on an end plate cap (Fig 1).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725