DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Clam 10 depends on claim 1 and recited MWD value >10, whereas independent claim 1 recites that MWD is equal or higher than 15.
Clarification of MWD range is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by den Doelder et al. (US 20160137822) as evidences by Delgadillo-Velazquez et al. (Thermorheological Properties of LLDPE/LDPE Blends: Effects of Production Technology of LLDPE, Journal of Polymer Science: Part B: Polymer Physics, Vol. 46, 1669–1683 (2008).
Den Doelder teaches a composition comprising 80% of LDPE and 80 % LLDPE1 (see Table 13, Example 32 at page 13).
LDPE is represented by Agility 1001, which has MWD equal to 15.6, density 0.9206 and MFR (I2) of 0.64 g/10 min (see Table 4 at page 9).
LLDPE 1 is represented by DOWLEX 2045G, which has MFR equal to 1.0 and density 0.920 g/cc density.
As evidenced by Delgadillo-Velazquez, DOWLEX 2045G is a commercial polymer, obtained using Ziegler Natta (Z-N) catalyst (i.e., having MWD within the range of 3.3-4.2) formed from ethylene and claimed amount of 1-octene (see page 1673, right column).
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14, den Doelder teaches a preparation of blown films (see 0148), where the composition is compounded by dry mixing following by melting the blend (see 0149).
Note that the presence of second ethylene alpha-olefin copolymer of claims 3 and 5 and additive of claim 7 are optional.
In claim 8 den Doelder’s DOWLEX 2045G can be considered as a second ethylene alpha-olefin copolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over den Doelder et al. as applied to claims 1, 3-8, 11-12 and 14 above, and further in view of over in view of Delgadillo-Velazquez et al.
Den Doelder teaches Ziegler Natta based DOWLEX 2045G. Such polymer disclosed in instant Specification (see printed publication at 0064).
However, den Doelder et al. does not positively teach LLDPE with MWD of less or equal 3.5.
Delgadillo-Velazquez discloses a blend comprising 75% wt. of LDPE and 25% wt. of LLDPE (including DOWLEX 2045G, see Table 1 at page 1671).
Delgadillo-Velazquez discloses both Z-N type LLDPE with MWD around 3.5 and metallocene based LLDPE(mLLDPE) with MWD of less than 2 (see Table 1 at page 1671).
Delgadillo-Velazquez demonstrates that Z-N LLDPE/LDPE blends are miscible at low LDPE content in the compositions and become immiscible at higher LDPE ratios. In addition The m-LLDPE/LDPE (where m-LLDPE has extremely narrow MWD) has much better miscibility (see page 1681, left column).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Exact 3128 LLDPE in den Doelder’s composition in order to increase blend miscibility.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Delgadillo-Velazquez teaches a commercial mLLDPE Exact 3128, having MFR of 1.3 g/10 min. and density of 0.900 g/cc (see Table 1 at page 1671).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over den Doelder et al. as evidences by Delgadillo-Velazquez et al.
Den Doelder and Delgadillo-Velazquez do not teach physical properties cited in claim 10.
The position is taken that since den Doelder’s and Applicant’s compositions are identical, their physical properties are inherently equal.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect the same properties from den Doelder’s and Applicant’s compositions since they have identical structures.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuler et al. (US 20190060927) in view of den Doelder.
Meuler teaches a container having capacity of up to 10 liters (see 0018) formed from a composition comprising a blend of LDPE and LLDPE (see 0181-0182).
However, Meuler fails to teach a composition of claim 1.
Den Doelder teaches a composition comprising 80% of LDPE and 80 % LLDPE1 (see Table 13, Example 32 at page 13).
LDPE is represented by Agility 1001, which has MWD equal to 15.6, density 0.9206 and MFR (I2) of 0.64 g/10 min (see Table 4 at page 9).
LLDPE 1 is represented by DOWLEX 2045G, which has MFR equal to 1.0 and density 0.920 g/cc density.
Den Doelder discloses that the blend above has combination of good optical and mechanical properties (see 0154).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use den Doelder’s polyethylene blend in Meuler’s containers, since it has a good combination of optical and mechanical properties.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765