DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 and 02/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 06/17/2021, coinciding with the filing date of the Italian Republic application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13, 17, 19, 21, 23-25, 27-28, 30, and 50-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smaby et al. (US20180228563, referred to as Smaby).
Regarding claim 1: Smaby discloses: A method of teleoperation preparation in a teleoperated robotic surgery system, to be performed during a non-operating step, in which the system is not performing a teleoperation, wherein the robotic system comprises a plurality of motorized actuators and at least one surgical instrument, wherein the at least one surgical instrument comprises: an articulated end-effector having at movement of the articulated end-effector of the surgical instrument; performing a holding step comprising: stressing, through tensile-stressing, at least one pair of antagonistic tendons said holding force being mounted in said surgical instrument so as to be operatively connectable to both respective motorized actuators and ([0114] the predetermined levels for the torques is 0. In some examples, the predetermined levels are greater than 0. The predetermined levels are sufficiently high to ensure that the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b remain coupled to the distal end component, in particular, so that the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b are not slack. By starting the process to apply the preloads to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b while the torques are at known and at relatively low levels, the preloads applied during step 516 can be more accurately tuned to desired values. [0115] At step 516, a first tension is applied to the tensioning element 302 a, and a second tension is applied to the tensioning element 302 b. In some examples, the first and second tensions correspond to the desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. To apply the tensions, the first motor 406 and the second motor 408 are driven to rotate the first and second drive shafts 304, 306, thereby rotating the first and second rotatable cylinders 318, 320. In particular, the first motor 406 and the second motor 408 are operated to apply torques to the first and second drive shafts 304, 306. [0116] In some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to target tensions selected by the human operator. The human operator provides an input to the assembly apparatus 400 indicative of the target tensions. The target tensions, in some cases, correspond to target preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. As described herein, in some examples, the target tensions account for external loads that are overcome to apply the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b.) respective links of the end-effector to actuate at least one degree of freedom associated therewith, among said at least one degree of freedom, thus determining antagonistic effects wherein the method comprises the steps of: (i) establishing a univocal correlation between a set of movements of the motorized actuators of the robotic system and a respective movement of the articulated end-effector of the surgical instrument; (ii) performing a holding step comprising: stressing, through tensile-stressing, at least one pair of antagonistic tendons and keeping the tendons in a tensile-stressed state, by applying a holding force to the tendons said holding force being adapted to determine a loaded state of the tendons, ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.) providing a command indicating a will to enter teleoperation; enabling the surgical instrument to enter a teleoperation state. [0049] The manipulator 112 is coupled to the support assembly 104. The manipulator 112 is operable to control positioning of the surgical instrument 108 relative to the body of the patient 10. In some implementations, the manipulator 112 is provided in a variety of forms that allow surgical instrument 108 to move with one or more mechanical degrees of freedom (DOFs). The manipulator 112 is, for example, movable through all six Cartesian degrees of freedom, five or fewer Cartesian degrees of freedom, etc. [0050] In some implementations, mechanical or control constraints restrict the manipulator 112 to move the surgical instrument 108 around a particular center of motion that stays stationary with reference to the body of the patient 10. This center of motion is typically located proximate a location at which the surgical instrument 108 enters the body of the patient 10, e.g., at some point along the entry guide 110, such as the midpoint of the body wall. [0051] The manipulator 112 includes a joint 114 and an elongated spar 116 supporting the instrument carriage 106 and the entry guide 110. The instrument carriage 106 is movably mounted to the spar 116 and, in particular, is movable along the length of the spar 116 while the entry guide 110 is held fixed such that the surgical instrument 108 can be translated along an insertion axis relative to the body of the patient 10. The joint 114 is, for example, an adjusting joint operable to reposition the surgical instrument 108 at a desired angular orientation about the center of motion. Movement of the instrument carriage 106 along the spar 116 repositions the surgical instrument at a desired insertion point through the center of motion. The manipulator 112 includes, for example, teleoperated actuators (not shown) operable to the move the surgical instrument 108 as a whole, as compared to the teleoperated actuators housed in the instrument carriage 106, which move only the end effector the surgical instrument 108 or other individual instrument components.)
Regarding claim 2: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: comprising, after steps (i)-(ii), the step of: (iii) teleoperating by the surgical instrument of the robotic system wherein the holding step (ii) and the teleoperating (iii) step are repeated, so that a holding step (ii) is performed between two adjacent teleoperating steps (iii). ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads.
Regarding claim 4: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein the surgical instrument further comprises: a plurality of transmission elements each operatively connectable to a respective at least one motorized actuator wherein said step of stressing is performed by the transmission elements, operated and controlled by the respective motorized actuators: and wherein said transmission elements are rigid. ([0049] The manipulator 112 is coupled to the support assembly 104. The manipulator 112 is operable to control positioning of the surgical instrument 108 relative to the body of the patient 10. In some implementations, the manipulator 112 is provided in a variety of forms that allow surgical instrument 108 to move with one or more mechanical degrees of freedom (DOFs). The manipulator 112 is, for example, movable through all six Cartesian degrees of freedom, five or fewer Cartesian degrees of freedom, etc. [0050] In some implementations, mechanical or control constraints restrict the manipulator 112 to move the surgical instrument 108 around a particular center of motion that stays stationary with reference to the body of the patient 10. This center of motion is typically located proximate a location at which the surgical instrument 108 enters the body of the patient 10, e.g., at some point along the entry guide 110, such as the midpoint of the body wall. [0051] The manipulator 112 includes a joint 114 and an elongated spar 116 supporting the instrument carriage 106 and the entry guide 110. The instrument carriage 106 is movably mounted to the spar 116 and, in particular, is movable along the length of the spar 116 while the entry guide 110 is held fixed such that the surgical instrument 108 can be translated along an insertion axis relative to the body of the patient 10. The joint 114 is, for example, an adjusting joint operable to reposition the surgical instrument 108 at a desired angular orientation about the center of motion. Movement of the instrument carriage 106 along the spar 116 repositions the surgical instrument at a desired insertion point through the center of motion. The manipulator 112 includes, for example, teleoperated actuators (not shown) operable to the move the surgical instrument 108 as a whole, as compared to the teleoperated actuators housed in the instrument carriage 106, which move only the end effector the surgical instrument 108 or other individual instrument components.)
Regarding claim 5: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein a kinematic zero position of each of the motorized actuators is defined, and wherein the method comprises, during the holding step (ii) after said step of stressing at least one pair of antagonistic tendons, the further step of: storing a possible position offset of each of the motorized actuators with respect to the respective stored kinematic zero position. [0049] The manipulator 112 is coupled to the support assembly 104. The manipulator 112 is operable to control positioning of the surgical instrument 108 relative to the body of the patient 10. In some implementations, the manipulator 112 is provided in a variety of forms that allow surgical instrument 108 to move with one or more mechanical degrees of freedom (DOFs). The manipulator 112 is, for example, movable through all six Cartesian degrees of freedom, five or fewer Cartesian degrees of freedom, etc. [0050] In some implementations, mechanical or control constraints restrict the manipulator 112 to move the surgical instrument 108 around a particular center of motion that stays stationary with reference to the body of the patient 10. This center of motion is typically located proximate a location at which the surgical instrument 108 enters the body of the patient 10, e.g., at some point along the entry guide 110, such as the midpoint of the body wall. [0051] The manipulator 112 includes a joint 114 and an elongated spar 116 supporting the instrument carriage 106 and the entry guide 110. The instrument carriage 106 is movably mounted to the spar 116 and, in particular, is movable along the length of the spar 116 while the entry guide 110 is held fixed such that the surgical instrument 108 can be translated along an insertion axis relative to the body of the patient 10. The joint 114 is, for example, an adjusting joint operable to reposition the surgical instrument 108 at a desired angular orientation about the center of motion. Movement of the instrument carriage 106 along the spar 116 repositions the surgical instrument at a desired insertion point through the center of motion. The manipulator 112 includes, for example, teleoperated actuators (not shown) operable to the move the surgical instrument 108 as a whole, as compared to the teleoperated actuators housed in the instrument carriage 106, which move only the end effector the surgical instrument 108 or other individual instrument components.)
Regarding claim 6: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein, during the holding step (ii), the step of stressing at least one pair of antagonistic tendons comprises at least one loading and unloading cycle, wherein each loading and unloading cycle includes applying a high force to determine a loaded state of the pair of tendons and applying a low force to determine an unloaded state of the pair of tendons, wherein said high force corresponds to said holding force, and said low force is a lower force than said holding force. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 7: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 6,
Smaby further discloses: wherein, in each of said loading and unloading cycles, first the low force is applied and then the high or holding force is applied. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 8: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 6,
Smaby further discloses: wherein, in said holding step (ii), between the step of providing a command indicating the will to enter teleoperation and the step of enabling the entry into a teleoperation state, the method comprises the further step of: applying said low force to the tendons, to have the tendons under tensile load according to said unloaded state of the loading and unloading cycle. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 9: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 6,
Smaby further discloses: comprising the further steps of: detecting the forces applied to all the tendons at an exit of a teleoperating step; identifying a minimum force among said detected forces; bringing all the tendons to an intermediate tensile stress condition corresponding to said minimum force. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 10: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 8,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said step of bringing all the tendons to an intermediate stress condition corresponding to the minimum force value is performed following specific and/or different loading and/or unloading curves for each tendon, as a function of a starting force value detected for each tendon. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 11: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 9,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said step of applying the holding force to the tendons comprises: bringing all the tendons to an intermediate stress condition corresponding to said minimum force, each tendon according to a respective specific load curve dependent on a respective detected starting force value, so that the load is equally distributed between the antagonistic tendons of one or more pairs of antagonistic tendons; then bringing all the tendons to a loaded stress condition, corresponding to said holding force. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 12: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein the teleoperating step begins with a predeterminable teleoperation start force applied to the tendons which is lower than said high holding force value. ([0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 13: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said step of stressing the tendons comprises measuring or detecting the force acting on the tendons during the loading cycle, and reaching the holding force value, by the motorized actuators, through a feedback force control procedure based on the actual force acting on the tendons as detected or measured, or wherein said step of stressing the tendons comprises measuring or detecting a position offset of the motorized actuators with respect to respective ignition values, predetermined or stored at an end of the previous teleoperating step, and performing the loading cycle, by the motorized actuators, through a feedback position control procedure based on said position offsets as detected or measured or stored. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 17: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein, during the holding step (ii), the at least one pair of tendons is stressed by a loaded state corresponding to a gripping action of the end-effector of the surgical instrument, so that during the holding step the surgical instrument is in a gripping condition, or wherein said holding step (ii) comprising a loading and unloading cycle is performed only on a sub-set of tendons which are not involved in actuation of the gripping degree of freedom. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 19: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein the robotic system comprises a controller configured to control the motorized actuators to impart controlled movements and apply controlled forces to the tendons by transmission elements operatively connected to respective tendons, wherein a kinematic zero position of each of the motorized actuators is defined, the method being applicable to a non-operating step between two teleoperation periods of the robotic system, wherein the method comprises, at the beginning of a non-operating step, the following further steps: storing as a known kinematic position of the end-effector of the surgical instrument the position in which the end-effector is at an end of the previous teleoperating step, with respect to the kinematic zero position, to which a known kinematic position of each of the transmission elements corresponds; retracting the motorized actuators to remove, for each transmission element, a respective position offset generated in the previous teleoperating step; continuously applying, throughout the non-operating step of the surgical instrument, on each transmission element, a respective recalibration force, by a feedback control configured to keep the recalibration force constant, to determine on each transmission element a respective position offset due to application of the respective recalibration force; and wherein the method further comprises, at the end of the non-operating step, at the start of the next teleoperating step: stopping the application of the recalibration force to each transmission element; measuring and storing the position offset determined on each transmission element at the end of the non-operating step, following the application of the recalibration force during the non-operating step just ended, and associating the position offsets recorded for each transmission element to said known kinematic position of the end-effector; applying an operating and moving force as commanded by the controller, wherein the controller is configured to determine the control force based on the operator’s commands and taking into account said stored position offsets of each transmission element. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 21: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 19,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said recalibration force corresponds to the holding force, or wherein the step of applying a recalibration force, on each transmission element, comprises applying a force to the transmission element by a feedback loop, wherein the feedback signal corresponds to a force applied to a transmission element as actually detected by a respective force sensor which is operatively connectable to the transmission element. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 23: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 19,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said kinematic zero position comprises a fixed offset resulting from a further step of pre-conditioning the surgical instrument, carried out before using the surgical instrument. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 24: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: further comprising a pre-conditioning step comprising: (i) locking at least one degree of freedom of said at least one degree of freedom of the end-effector; (ii) tensile-stressing the respective at least one tendon, operatively connected to said at least one locked degree of freedom, by applying a conditioning force, according to at least one time cycle, to the respective transmission element connected to said respective at least one tendon to be tensile-stressed; wherein said at least one time cycle comprises: at least one low-load period, in which a low conditioning force is applied to said respective transmission element, which results in a respective low tensile load on the respective tendon; at least one high-load period, in which a high conditioning force is applied to said respective transmission element, which results in a respective high tensile load on the respective tendon. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 25: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 24,
Smaby further discloses: wherein a plurality of N time cycles is provided, and wherein, in at least two adjacent time cycles, the respective value of the high conditioning force increases, and/or wherein a plurality of N time cycles is provided, to determine an alternation between successive low-load periods and high-load periods, wherein during the low-load periods of the n-th cycle a respective low conditioning force is applied, and wherein during the high-load periods of the n-th cycle a respective high conditioning force is applied, wherein said low conditioning forces of the different time cycles correspond to a same predetermined low conditioning force value, and wherein said high conditioning forces correspond to gradually increasing high conditioning force values, until reaching a maximum high force value. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 27: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 21,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said step of retracting the motorized actuators comprises removing any position offset generated by further elastic or plastic compensation steps of the transfer system. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 28: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein the holding force and/or the recalibration force is in the range of 0.1-5N, or wherein said position offset must be less than a maximum allowable position offset, wherein said maximum allowable offset is in the range of 1-5 mm. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 30: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 50: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 6,
Smaby further discloses: wherein said step of stressing the tendons comprises measuring or detecting the force acting on the tendons during the unloading cycle, and reaching the low force value, by the motorized actuators, through a feedback force control procedure based on the actual force acting on the tendons as detected or measured; or wherein said step of stressing the tendons comprises measuring or detecting a position offset of the motorized actuators with respect to respective initial values, predetermined or stored at the end of the previous teleoperating step, and performing the unloading cycle, by the motorized actuators, through a feedback position control procedure based on said position offsets as detected or measured or stored. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 51: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Smaby further discloses: wherein the teleoperating step begins with a predeterminable teleoperation start force applied to the tendons which is lower than said high holding force value, wherein said predeterminable teleoperation start force is substantially equal to the low holding force, and wherein a transition between the high holding force and the teleoperation start force is controlled by the user by activating a control pedal. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Regarding claim 52: Smaby discloses: The method according to claim 6,
Smaby further discloses: comprising the further steps of: detecting the forces applied to all the tendons at an exit of a teleoperating step; identifying the minimum force among said detected forces; bringing all the tendons to an intermediate tensile stress condition corresponding to said minimum force value; then bringing all the tendons to an unloaded stress condition, corresponding to said low force; and/or then bringing all the tendons to a loaded stress condition, corresponding to said high holding force. ([0020] The controller is, for example, configured to provide operator feedback to maintain a loop length based on signals from the encoders while an operator manually locks the first rotatable cylinder the second rotatable cylinder. [0119] While the first and second tensions applied in step 516 are described as corresponding to the preloads, in some implementations, the first and second tensions correspond to the preloads added to external loads along the entire drivetrain to move the end effector of the surgical instrument. Rather than corresponding to target preloads, the target tensions correspond to the sum of target preloads and additional tensions to overcome the external loads. Portions of the first and second tensions, for example, overcome frictional loads along the drivetrain. The frictional loads include, for example, frictional loads on the first and second tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, frictional loads on the first drive mechanism 402, frictional loads at the joint about which the distal end component 428 rotates, etc. The frictional loads include static frictional loads and/or dynamic frictional loads. The remainder of the first and second tensions corresponds to the preloads on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. Based on this friction compensation, the target tensions on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be selected to achieve target preloads. [0120] In some examples, desired preloads for the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b can be computed based on estimated static frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. The frictional forces are estimated based on minimum required torques applied by the motors 406, 408 to initiate relative rotation of the first drive shaft 304 and the second drive shaft 306. The minimum required torques correspond to the amount of torque needed to cause motion of the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In some implementations, low currents are applied to the motors 406, 408 such that the torques applied to the drive shafts 304, 306 are relatively low. The applied currents are increased until motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are detected. The torques at the beginning of motion of the drive shafts 304, 306 are indicative of the frictional forces on the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b. In this regard, the first and second tensions applied to the tensioning elements 302 a, 302 b, in step 516 account for the estimated frictional forces.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A