DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-23 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS), Form PTO-1449, filed 14 December 2023, 31 July 2024, 05 August 2025, 06 February 2026. The information therein was considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 16 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong et al. (US 2019/0131257) (hereinafter, “Kong”).
Re: independent claim 1, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 an apparatus comprising: a package substrate (120); a ball grid array (106) on a first surface of the package substrate, the ball grid array including a first ball and a second ball adjacent the first ball (figs. 1 and 4), the ball grid array (106) to enable the package substrate (120) to be electrically coupled to a circuit board (104); and a metal interconnect (112) within the package substrate, the metal interconnect electrically coupled to the first ball (106), the metal interconnect including an inductive loop that extends toward the second ball (including 410).
Re: claim 2, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of claim 1, further including first and second contact pads (above 106 in fig. 4) on the first surface of the package substrate, the first and second contact pads associated with the first and second balls (106) respectively, the metal interconnect (including 112, 410) electrically coupled to the first ball (106) through the first contact pad (210), the inductive loop (410) in proximity to the second contact pad (210) such that the second contact pad is between the inductive loop (410) and the second ball (106).
Re: claim 3, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the package substrate (120) includes multiples layers of metal (including 212) separated by intervening layers of dielectric material (including 204), the first and second contact pads (above 106 in fig. 4) in a first metal layer of the multiple layers of metal, the inductive loop (410) in a second metal layer of the multiple layers of metal, the second metal layer adjacent the first metal layer with no other metal layers therebetween (fig. 4).
Re: claim 5, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of any one of claim 1, wherein a portion of the inductive loop is curved (410).
Re: claim 7, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of any one of claim 1, wherein the inductive loop includes multiple loops (fig. 4).
Re: claim 10, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of any one of claim 1, wherein different portions of the inductive loop are in different metal layers of the package substrate (FIG. 4).
Re: independent claim 16, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 an integrated circuit (IC) package comprising: a package substrate (120) including a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a ball grid array (106) on the first surface of the package substrate; a semiconductor die (110) on the second surface of the package substrate; and a metal interconnect (112) defining a path for electrical signals to pass between the semiconductor die and a first ball of the ball grid array, the metal interconnect including an inductive loop (410).
Re: independent claim 20, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 an apparatus comprising: a package substrate (120) to support a semiconductor die (110) on a first surface of the package substrate, the package substrate including a ball grid array (106) on a second surface of the package substrate, the second surface opposite the first surface; and metal interconnects (112) to electrically couple the semiconductor die (110) to the ball grid array (106), the metal interconnects (112) including means for reducing an impedance discontinuity at a first ball of the ball grid array (410).
Re: claim 21, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the impedance discontinuity reducing means (410) is to define a path along which electrical signals are to be carried between the semiconductor die (110) and the first ball (106).
Re: claim 22, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the impedance discontinuity reducing means (410) is in a first metal layer (410) that is adjacent to a second metal layer, the second metal layer including a contact pad (210) associated with the first ball (106).
Re: claim 23, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the impedance discontinuity reducing means (410) includes means for reducing crosstalk (210) between the first ball (106) and a second ball (106) adjacent the first ball.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (US 2019/0131257) (hereinafter, “Kong”).
Re: claim 19, Kong discloses in figs. 1-4 the IC package of any one of claim 16, wherein the IC package includes embedded on-die memory.
Kong does not disclose wherein the IC package is a DDR memory package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a DDR memory package as the IC package since DDR memory packages are common and well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 11-13, 15 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiu et al. US 2023/0335510 teach a chip package including a redistribution layer with a plurality of loop and void structures.
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/ALLISON BERNSTEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 2/26/2026