DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to election/restriction filed on 06/10/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-2, 4-8 and 16-18 without traverse and claims 3, 9-15 are withdrawn as non-elected Groups II-IV.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2,4-8 and 16-18 in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakada et al (NPL: “Selective Electrocatalysis of a Water-Soluble Rhenium(I) Complex for CO2 Reduction Using Water As an Electron Donor, ACS Catalysis, 2018, 8, pages 354-363, IDS cited reference by applicant) in view of Goetheer et al (EP3536823).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6 and 18, Nakada discloses an electrochemical carbon dioxide absorption and reduction with solution comprising 0.5 mM of a metal complex such as rhenium in water, wherein the metal complex contains central metal which is rhenium (Re) and a ligand which coordinates to the central metal which includes two or more carbonyl groups and two mor more nitrogen-containing heterocycles and at least one nitrogen-containing heterocycles having at least one substitution including carboxy or hydroxy group (see abstract, fig.3 with scheme I, figures 4 and 6, reads on claims 1 n 2 and abstract has structure which reads on claim 18). Nakada further disclose in fig.6 schematic illustration where two compartments (cathodic and anodic compartments) separated by Nafion membrane. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Nakada discloses mixed solvent containing solvent of water but does not explicitly disclose or suggest solution comprising mixed solvent containing a water-soluble solvent.
However, Goetheer discloses a method for electrochemically reducing carbon dioxide from carbon dioxide-rich adsorbent having at least three compartments (includes cathodic, anodic) where carbon dioxide is absorbed any absorbent comprising of chemical solvent, mixture of chemical solvent, a physical solvent or mixture of physical solvent or mixture of chemical and physical solvent (paragraphs 0020-0023, 0073). Goetheer further discloses chemical solvent comprising of mixture of at least one amine functional group or hydroxyl functional group such as alkanolamine (reads on claim 6) and physical solvent comprising of methanol (alcohol, reads on claims 4-5), ammonia, propylene carbonate, dimethyl ethers of polyethylene glycol mixture and further discloses cathode structure having one or more selected from group consisting of iron, manganese or rhenium (paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0043-0046, 0071-0073, abstract).
Given Nakada and Goetheer both are directed to electrochemical reduction CO2 from electrochemical cell, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method of Nakada to include the solvent of Goetheer which would provide a cost and energy efficient as taught by Goetheer (paragraph 018).
Regarding claim 7, Nakada discloses solvent containing inorganic salt such as NaOH, Na2SO4 (fig.3, 6)
Goetheer also discloses utilization of inorganic salt, hydroxide and carbonates (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 8, Nakada discloses utilization of formic acid (page 354)
Goetheer discloses utilization of carboxylic acid (reads on amino acid, abstract, paragraph 0004).
Regarding claims 16-17, Goetheer discloses water soluble solvent in mixed solvent containing amine in amount from 10-35 wt% (paragraph 0008), inorganic salt 1-50 wt% (paragraph 0052). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
`
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ching-Yiu Fung can be reached on 5712705713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 10/01/2026