DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/07/2026.
Claims 7-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nilsson et al. (US 2024/0372664 A1; hereafter NILSSON).
With respect to claim 7, NILSSON discloses a terminal (4110b, 4110c, wireless device in FIG. 39) comprising:
a receiver (4122 in FIG. 39) that receives a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (3300, 3302, 3304 in FIG. 38; paragraphs [0075], [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079], [0080], and [0081]); and
a processor (4120 in FIG. 39) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (paragraph [0160], see the SFN solution may use Dynamic switching between SFNed and Single TRP (S-TRP) transmission),
determines that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (1st and 2nd TCI states in FIG. 29; paragraphs [0162] and [0163], see the TCI state setting), and
when the capability information is not transmitted, determines that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (paragraph [0165], see the default setting of the TCI state with the CORESET).
With respect to claim 8, NILSSON further discloses the terminal according to claim 7, wherein:
when one TCI state is indicated for the CORESET, the processor controls to apply the single TRP for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (1st and 2nd TCI states in FIG. 29; paragraphs [0162] and [0163], see the TCI state setting), and
when two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET, the processor controls to apply the SFN scheme for the PDSCH (paragraph [0160], see the SFN solution may use Dynamic switching between SFNed and Single TRP (S-TRP) transmission).
With respect to claim 9, NILSSON discloses a radio communication method for a terminal (4110b, 4110c, wireless device in FIG. 39), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (3300, 3302, 3304 in FIG. 38; paragraphs [0075], [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079], [0080], and [0081]); and
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (paragraph [0160], see the SFN solution may use Dynamic switching between SFNed and Single TRP (S-TRP) transmission),
determining that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (1st and 2nd TCI states in FIG. 29; paragraphs [0162] and [0163], see the TCI state setting), and
when the capability information is not transmitted, determining that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (paragraph [0165], see the default setting of the TCI state with the CORESET).
With respect to claim 10, NILSSON discloses a base station (4160, network node, 4106b in FIG. 39) comprising:
a transmitter (4172 in FIG. 39) that transmits, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (3300, 3302, 3304 in FIG. 38; paragraphs [0075], [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079], [0080], and [0081]); and
a processor (4170 in FIG. 39) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is received from the terminal (paragraph [0160], see the SFN solution may use Dynamic switching between SFNed and Single TRP (S-TRP) transmission),
controls to indicate one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (1st and 2nd TCI states in FIG. 29; paragraphs [0162] and [0163], see the TCI state setting), and
when the capability information is not received from the terminal, controls to indicate two TCI states for the CORESET (paragraph [0165], see the default setting of the TCI state with the CORESET).
With respect to claim 11, NILSSON discloses a system comprising a terminal (4110b, 4110c, wireless device in FIG. 39) and a base station (4160, network node, 4106b in FIG. 39),
wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver (4122 in FIG. 39) that receives a radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (3300, 3302, 3304 in FIG. 38; paragraphs [0075], [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079], [0080], and [0081]); and
a processor (4120 in FIG. 39) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (paragraph [0160], see the SFN solution may use Dynamic switching between SFNed and Single TRP (S-TRP) transmission),
determines that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (1st and 2nd TCI states in FIG. 29; paragraphs [0162] and [0163], see the TCI state setting), and
when the capability information is not transmitted, determines that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (paragraph [0165], see the default setting of the TCI state with the CORESET), and
the base station (4160, network node, 4106b in FIG. 39) comprises:
a transmitter (4172 in FIG. 39) that transmits the RRC signaling (paragraphs [0075], [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079], [0080], and [0081]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 7-11 under GAO have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of NILSSON.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 June 22, 2026