DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 12/14/2023.
Claims 7-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 2023/0284235 A1; hereafter GAO).
With respect to claim 7, GAO discloses a terminal (412-3, 412-4, 412-1 of FIG. 4) comprising:
a receiver (1736 of FIG. 17) that receives a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0020]) that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6);
and a processor (1738 of FIG. 17) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6),
determines that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH, and when the capability information is not transmitted, determines that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 8, GAO further discloses wherein: when one TCI state is indicated for the CORESET, the processor controls to apply the single TRP for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and when two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET, the processor controls to apply the SFN scheme for the PDSCH (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 9, GAO discloses a radio communication method (Abstract & Title) for a terminal (412-3, 412-4, 412-1 of FIG. 4), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0020]) that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6); and
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching (paragraph [0164], [0181]) between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6),
determining that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6), and
when the capability information is not transmitted, determining that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 10, GAO discloses a base station (402-1, 402-2, 406-1 of FIG. 4) comprising:
a transmitter (1112 of FIG. 12; 1724 of FIG. 17) that transmits, to a terminal (412-3, 412-4, 412-1 of FIG. 4), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0020]) that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6); and
a processor (1104 of FIG. 12; 1730 of FIG. 17) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching (paragraph [0164], [0181]) between the
SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is received from the terminal, controls to indicate one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6), and
when the capability information is not received from the terminal, controls to indicate two TCI states for the CORESET (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 11, GAO discloses a system (400 of FIG. 4) comprising a terminal (412-3, 412-4, 412-1 of FIG. 4) and a base station (402-1, 402-2, 406-1 of FIG. 4), wherein the terminal (412-3, 412-4, 412-1 of FIG. 4) comprises:
a receiver (1736 of FIG. 17) that receives a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (paragraph [0020]) that configures a single frequency network (SFN) scheme for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6); and
a processor (1738 of FIG. 17) that:
when capability information indicating support of dynamic switching (paragraph [0164], [0181]) between the SFN scheme and a single transmission/reception point (TRP) is transmitted (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6),
determines that one or two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states are indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) used for reception of the PDCCH (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6), and
when the capability information is not transmitted, determines that two TCI states are indicated for the CORESET (500, 502, 504, 506 of FIG. 5; 600, 604 of FIG. 6), and
the base station (402-1, 402-2, 406-1 of FIG. 4) comprises:
a transmitter (1112 of FIG. 12; 1724 of FIG. 17) that transmits the RRC signaling (paragraph [0020]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 December 13, 2025