DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The compounds of claim 8 are broader in scope than disclosed in independent claim 1. Compound 4-6 and 14 of claim 8 contain ring A where the heteroaryl is a multi-ring in which two of the rings are not connected by a carbon-carbon bond as required:
,
,
,
.
Claim 16 is rejected as it fails to obviate the issue of claim 8 from which it depends.
Similarly, claim 3 contains moieties for ring A where the rings are not fused by a carbon-carbon bond:
,
,
.
Claim 11 is rejected as it fails to obviate the issue of claim 8 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2005/0245530 A1 by Borzilleri et al.
The prior art discloses the compound below which reads on instant claims 1-7 and 9-15 (paragraph [0802]):
The compound above and is embraced by instant Formula 1 where X is O, A is
, B is
, Y is a nitrogen heteroatom, and each of R1, R2, R4 and R5 are hydrogen.
Regarding the pharmaceutical composition of claims 9-15, the prior art teaches various oral forms comprising an excipient and the compound above as an active ingredient (paragraph [0138]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0245530 A1 by Borzilleri et al.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The prior art teaches (title) “[m]onocyclic heterocycles as kinase inhibitors” and discloses the compound below (paragraph [0802]):
.
The compound above reads on instant claims 1-7 and is embraced by instant Formula 1 where X is O, A is
, B is
, Y is a nitrogen heteroatom, and each of R1, R2, R4 and R5 are hydrogen.
Regarding the pharmaceutical composition of claims 9-15, the prior art teaches various oral forms comprising an excipient and the compound above as an active ingredient (paragraph [0138]).
Regarding instant claims 17-19, the prior art teaches a method of treating a proliferative disease such as cancer via modulation of Met kinase comprising administering the compound above to a subject (paragraph [0105]).
Regarding instant claim 20, the prior art discloses that the compound above is useful for treating lung cancer, breast cancer, etc. (paragraph [0124]).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art discloses a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of instant Formula 1 for treating cancer but does not disclose that the compound was administered to a subject.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
A person of ordinary skill seeking to treat a subject having a protein kinase-mediated disease such as cancer would have been motivated to administer the prior art compound as taught by Borzilleri et al. to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626