Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 2/17/2026 and 3/5/2026 have been entered and fully considered.
Claim 15 and 26 have been canceled. Claims 14 and 16-19 have been amended. Claims 14and 16-25 are pending with claims 20-25 withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
In light of amendment the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn
In light of amendment the Examiner withdraws the rejections towards MIETTINEN. MIETTINEN teaches a pH of 4.5 to 7 which is above a pH of 1-4.
In light of amendment the Examiner withdraws the rejections towards VALKONEN. VALKONEN teaches a pH of much lower than the claimed range of 9-11 during the first stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2015/0322104 TIKKA et al., hereinafter TIKKA.
As for claim 14, TIKKA discloses a first precipitation stage where an alkali black liquor is adjusted with a first acid, carbon dioxide to a pH of 7 to 11.5 which encompasses the instant claimed range making a prima facie case of obviousness [0020]. TIKKA discloses after precipitation a filtering stage which separates the precipitated lignin with a filter press [0023]. TIKKA discloses a time of 30-60 minutes which falls within the claimed range [0064]. TIKKA discloses that the precipitated lignin is reslurried to a pH of 1 to 3 which falls within the claimed range [0023]. TIKKA discloses the reslurried lignin is heated to a temperature of 100 to 120 degrees C [0027]. This is slightly outside the claimed range. However, differences in temperature will not typically support non-obviousness absent evidence of unexpected results.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
(Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.);
Furthermore, temperature is a result effective variable [P-factor is dependent on temperature and time, par. 0036, the p-factor affects hemicellulose removal and lignin yield par. 0063, 0065]. A higher temperature increases the amount of hemicelluloses that will be hydrolyzed but also increases the amount of lignin that will be hydrolyzed. The amount of heating additionally costs more money. The person of ordinary skill in the art would through routine optimalization decrease the temperature to increase lignin yield (and save energy costs) while decreasing the removal of hemicellulose. The effect of temperature is clearly predictable.
The treated lignin then undergoes a second separation [0025].
As for claim 16, TIKKA discloses the reslurried linin is heated to a temperature of 100 to 120 degrees C [0027]. This is slightly outside the claimed range. However, differences in temperature will not typically support non-obviousness absent evidence of unexpected results.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
(Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.);
Furthermore, temperature is a result effective variable [P-factor is dependent on temperature and time [0036, the p-factor affects hemicellulose removal and lignin yield 0063, 0065]. A higher temperature increases the amount of hemicelluloses that will be hydrolyzed but also increases the amount of lignin that will be hydrolyzed. The person of ordinary skill in the art through routine optimize decrease the temperature to increase lignin yield while decreasing the removal of hemicellulose.
As for claim 17, TIKKA discloses heating in the slurry [Figure 4].
As for claim 19, TIKKA discloses cooling by at least 40 degrees C. At the discloses temperature of 100 this would be less than 60 degrees C which overlaps the claimed range. At 95 degrees C which is obvious as per above this would be less than 55 degrees C which overlaps the instant claimed range.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2015/0322104 TIKKA et al., hereinafter TIKKA, in view of The Storage of Sulfuric Acid in FRP Composite Tanks by Beetle Plastics, hereinafter BEETLE
As for claim 18, TIKKA suggests that dilute sulfuric acid is added into the separated precipitated lignin and then heated as per above. TIKKA fails to disclose the temperature prior to heating. BEETLE discloses that dilute sulfuric acid must be stored at a temperature of 150 degrees F or less (less than 65.6 degrees C). As such when the lignin is reslurried the lignin with dilute sulfuric acid will have a temperature between less than 65.6 degrees C. This range therefore overlaps the instant claimed range making a prima facie case of obviousness.
The person of ordinary motivated to have the dilute sulfuric acid at a temperature of less than 65.5 (and therefore the reslurried lignin at said temperature) by BEETLE. Specifically, FRP tanks are the best at storing dilute sulfuric acid at concentrations of 70% and below which can cause corrosion in steel/cast iron tanks. BEETLE gives the allowable max storage temperature of these tanks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748