DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention group I, claims 1-3 and 7, in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden to search all invention groups. This is not found persuasive because there is indeed burden to search all invention groups together.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-6 and 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1-13 are pending, claims 1-3 and 7 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is national stage of international patent application PCT/JP2022/023052, filed on 06/08/2022; which claims priority from Japan Patent application JP2021-102257, filed on 06/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023, 01/11/2024 and 05/19/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirofumi et al. (WO2019054476).
The limitation of claims 1-2 is met by Hirofumi et al. disclosing composite comprising tungsten oxide fine particles having a hexagonal crystal structure represented by the general formula MxWyOz with example Cs0.33WO3 (page 5, last paragraph to page 6, 1st paragraph). In this case, x/y is 0.33/1=0.33, and z/y is 3/1=3. Hirofumi et al. is silent about antibacterial properties, which is regarded as inherency of prior art composite. Since prior art discloses the same composite, this same composite must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01. II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
The limitation of claims 3 and 7 are met by Hirofumi et al. disclosing particle diameter of 10nm to 100nm (claims 1-3).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US8083847).
The limitation of claims 1-3 and 7 is met by disclosing composite K0.33WO3 with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter 80nm (column 24, line 45 to column 25 line 10, example 15). In this case, x/y is 0.33/1=0.33, and z/y is 3/1=3. Takeda et al. is silent about antibacterial properties, which is regarded as inherency of prior art composite. Since prior art discloses the same composite, this same composite must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01. II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tofuku (US8470212).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Tofuku teaches composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz, where: M is H, an alkali metal, an alkali earth metal, a rare earth element, or one or more elements selected from the group consisting of Mg, Zr, Cr, Mn, Fe, Ru, Co, Rh, Ir, Ni, Pd, Pt, Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, B, F, P, S, Se, Br, Te, Ti, Nb, V, Mo, Ta, Re, Be, Hf, Os, Bi, and I, W is tungsten, O is oxygen, and x, y, and z satisfy 0.001≦x/y≦1 and 2.2≦z/y≦3; wherein: an average primary particle size of individual nanoparticles is 1 nm or more and 800 nm or less, and each nanoparticle independently having a crystal structure selected from the group consisting of a hexagonal structure, a tetragonal structure, and a cubic structure (claims 1 and 7).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Tofuku is that Tofuku is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, Tofuku teaches composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz, where: M is H, an alkali metal, an alkali earth metal, a rare earth element, or one or more elements selected from the group consisting of Mg, Zr, Cr, Mn, Fe, Ru, Co, Rh, Ir, Ni, Pd, Pt, Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Al, Ga, In, Tl, Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, B, F, P, S, Se, Br, Te, Ti, Nb, V, Mo, Ta, Re, Be, Hf, Os, Bi, and I, W is tungsten, O is oxygen, and x, y, and z satisfy 0.001≦x/y≦1 and 2.2≦z/y≦3; wherein: an average primary particle size of individual nanoparticles is 1 nm or more and 800 nm or less, and each nanoparticle independently having a crystal structure selected from the group consisting of a hexagonal structure, a tetragonal structure, and a cubic structure.
Tofuku is silent about antibacterial properties, which is regarded as inherency of prior art composite. Since prior art discloses the same composite, this same composite must have the same properties. MPEP 2112.01. II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8083147. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range, antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 8018051 in view of spec of US 8018051. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range (column 7, line 10-20; column 8, line 1-5), antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 8470212. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range, antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9612366 in view of spec of US 9612366. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range (column 5, line 1-30), antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11105959 in view of spec of US 11105959. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range (column 14, line 1-15; column 18, line 15-35)), antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11661350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the same composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range, antibacterial property is regarded as inherency of prior art composite.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18681709 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches antimold (antibacterial) composite tungsten oxide expressed by a general formula MxWyOz with hexagonal crystal structure and particle diameter range (claims 1,3, 8 and 9)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613