Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on 2/27/2026, has been entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 17-19 and 21-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 17-19 and 21-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 17-19 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN114664306A) in view of Worthington (US Pub. 2009/0077469), and further in view of Shen (US 2009/0217352).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a conversion method for a multimedia editing file, comprising:
acquiring a first multimedia editing file, wherein the first multimedia editing file is used to indicate an editing project for performing an editing operation on a multimedia material, a first indication information for indicating the multimedia material and a second indication information for indicating the editing operation are encapsulated in the first multimedia editing file according to a first data format, the first data format is a data format supported by a first application (pp. 2-3, the first electronic device may select a suitable one from the one or more electronic devices A second electronic device that performs text editing, thereby sending the first information to the second electronic device);
parsing the first multimedia editing file to acquire the first indication information and the second indication information (p. 3, in response to receiving the first information, the second electronic device may open a first application, and display the first text content in the first application; the second electronic device may The input method of the second electronic device edits the first text content);
encapsulating the first indication information and the second indication information into a second multimedia editing file according to a second data format, wherein the second multimedia editing file is used to indicate the editing project, the second data format is a data format supported by a second application (p. 4, combining text and audio content together - after acquiring the audio content, the first electronic device can convert the audio content into text content, so as to send the text content to the second electronic device, and the second electronic device can display the corresponding text content, thereby facilitating the user edits the text content);
storing the second multimedia editing file into a memory of the first application and setting an access authority to a storage path of the second multimedia editing file (¶ [0013]-[0015]); in response to a sharing operation on the second application, opening the access authority to the storage path to the second application (¶ [0013]-[0015])
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the second data format is a data format supported by a second application; however, Worthington further discloses the second data format is a data format supported by a second application (¶ [0076], Each software application development company publishes its own specifications for a Window Control although the term Window Control may differ in some applications. Most software applications allow for this type of simple "canvas" to be made available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Worthington into Zhang to seamlessly provide data from one Window Control application to another application.
Shen further discloses acquiring after adding a multimedia material (¶ [0022], e receiving an edited version of the selected multimedia file from the user's client machine, and storing the edited version of the selected multimedia file so that the common time index is preserved) and displaying the editing project on an editing interface (¶ [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Shen into Worthington and Zhang to ingest, add or edit additional data into a composite digital file.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 1, wherein the second data format is a common data format supported by both the first application and the second application (p. 8, more than 3 different formats); the conversion method further comprises: encapsulating the second multimedia editing file into a third multimedia editing file according to a third data format, wherein the third multimedia editing file is used to indicate the editing project, the third data format is a data format supported by the second application and not supported by the first application (p. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 2, wherein the editing operation indicated by the second indication information in the first multimedia editing file is implemented by a first protocol component, wherein the first protocol component supports the first data format and does not support the second data format and the third data format (¶ [0003]);
the editing operation indicated by the second indication information in the third multimedia editing file is implemented by a second protocol component, wherein the second protocol component supports the third data format and does not support the first data format and the second data format (¶ [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 2, wherein before the encapsulating the second multimedia editing file into a third multimedia editing file according to a third data format, the conversion method further comprises: storing the second multimedia editing file into a memory of the first application and setting an access authority to a storage path of the second multimedia editing file (¶ [0013]-[0015]); in response to a sharing operation on the second application, opening the access authority to the storage path to the second application (¶ [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 4, wherein the encapsulating the second multimedia editing file into a third multimedia editing file according to a third data format comprises: in case of receiving an access request to the storage path sent by the second application and calling a file sharing component and a file access component preconfigured for the second multimedia editing file, reading the second multimedia editing file from the memory of the first application and encapsulating the second multimedia editing file into the third multimedia editing file according to the third data format (¶ [0067], form a shared memory).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 1, wherein the editing operation indicated by the second indication information in the first multimedia editing file is implemented by the first application, wherein the first application supports the first data format and does not support the second data format (Worthington, Zhang);
the editing operation indicated by the second indication information in the second multimedia editing file is implemented by the second application, wherein the second application supports the second data format and does not support the first data format (Zhang, pp. 2-3);
the encapsulating the first indication information and the second indication information into a second multimedia editing file according to a second data format comprises: utilizing a preconfigured transit application to encapsulate the first indication information and the second indication information into the second multimedia editing file according to the second data format (Zhang, pp. 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 1, wherein the multimedia material comprises at least one data of or a combination of several data of following data: canvas data, video material data, audio material data, picture material data, and text material data (Worthington, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Worthington and Shen disclose the conversion method according to claim 1, wherein a method of acquiring the multimedia material comprises at least one of following methods: acquiring the multimedia material from a multimedia editing interface of the first application (Worthington, ¶ [0076]; Zhang);
calling a material parsing component interface of the first application to acquire the multimedia material (Worthington, ¶ [0076]; Zhang);
calling a special effect component interface of the first application to acquire the multimedia material (Worthington, ¶ [0076]; Zhang).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, see discussion of claim 1 above for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claims 15-17, see discussion of claim 7 above for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claims 18-21, see discussion of claim 8 above for the same reason of rejection.
Regarding claims 22-26, see discussion of claims 2, 3, 5 and 6 above for the same reason of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUANKHANH D PHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-3047. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri, 9:00am-5:00pm Eastern Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Boris Gorney can be reached on 571-270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 or 571-272-1000.
/TUANKHANH D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2154