DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/22/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 10, 11, 14, and 21 have been amended, claims 2, 7, 8, 13, 15, 17, 19, 20, 22, 25-28, 30, and 31 have been cancelled, and new claims 32 and 33 have been added. Thus, claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, 14, 16, 18, 21, 23, 24, 29, 32, and 33 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, 14, 16, 18, 32, and 33) in the reply filed on 5/22/26 is acknowledged. Claims 21, 23, 24, and 29 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the container” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 20150011975).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson et al. discloses a medication delivery apparatus (fig. 6A-D) comprising: an active agent chamber 24 for receiving a pharmaceutical preparation, the active agent chamber comprising a first plunger 32; and a dilution chamber 26 for receiving a diluent, the dilution chamber comprising a second plunger 14” and a dilution chamber opening 12a; wherein: the active agent chamber and the dilution chamber are arranged in series (see fig. 6A-D); the second plunger comprises a one-way valve 22 configured to control a flow of pharmaceutical preparation from the active agent chamber to the dilution chamber (see position of 22 in fig. 6A vs. fig 6B); and wherein the medication delivery apparatus is operable to force pharmaceutical preparation from the active agent chamber through the one-way valve into the dilution chamber (illustrated in fig. 6B) to mix with the diluent in the dilution chamber (mixed state in fig. 6C) and force the mixed diluent and pharmaceutical preparation out of the dilution chamber through the dilution chamber opening (by moving from fig. 6C to fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson et al. discloses the first plunger has a concave surface facing the second plunger (concave surface formed between the combination of 32a and the distal end face of 32 around 32a; fig. 6A-D).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson et al. discloses the second plunger has a convex surface facing the first plunger (see shape of the upper surface of 14” in fig. 6A-D) and a convex surface facing the dilution chamber opening (at least the shape of the edges of the distal surface of 14” curving back toward the center of 14” as illustrated in fig. 6A-D).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson et al. discloses the first plunger and second plunger are shaped such that when the first plunger is moved into contact with the second plunger there is an air gap between the first plunger and the second plunger (see fig. 6C and 6D, where an air gap exists around the edge of the connection between the two plungers, located approximately near where numeral 14” is pointing in those two figures).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Anderson et al. discloses a distal end 12b of the container 12 defines the dilution chamber opening (see fig. 6A-D), the second plunger is movable towards the distal end of the container up to an end position at which the second plunger cannot be moved further towards the distal end of the container (see position in fig. 6D) and wherein the second plunger is shaped such that in the end position there is a gap between at least part of the second plunger and the distal end of the container so as to prevent a suction force attaching the second plunger to the distal end of the container (as illustrated in fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 32, Anderson et al. discloses the one-way valve is configured to move from a closed position (fig. 6A) to an open position (fig. 6B) upon application of a force exceeding a valve threshold force to an inlet side of the valve (par. 0107-0108); and the valve threshold force is less than a sum of a break loose force of the second plunger and a break loose force of the first plunger (par. 0107-0108; fig. 6A-D).
Regarding claim 33, Anderson et al. discloses the valve threshold force is less than the break loose force of the second plunger (par. 0107-0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Klug et al. (US 8556848).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson et al. discloses the apparatus as claimed, except for the one-way valve is contained inside a main body of the second plunger, the main body includes at least one outlet opening and the main body includes at least one internal channel leading from an outlet of the one-way valve to the at least one outlet opening. However, Klug et al. teaches providing a valve inside the main body of the plunger (see fig. 6-7), with a channel 34 to an outlet 36 connected thereto. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Anderson et al. second plunger to include an internally arranged valve arranged as claimed, as taught by Klug et al., since such a modification is the result of a simple substitution of one known element for another (different valving mechanisms for a valved plunger) to achieve the predictable result of providing sufficient structure for selective pressure-actuated fluid flow between the chambers.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Bartlett, II et al. (US 20140163465; hereinafter “Bartlett”).
Regarding claims 10-12, Anderson et al. discloses the apparatus as claimed, except for a main body of the second plunger comprises a plurality of outlet openings; the plurality of outlet openings are configured to generate at least a first jet of pharmaceutical preparation and a second jet of pharmaceutical preparation when pharmaceutical preparation is forced from the active agent chamber through the one-way valve, the first jet and the second jet being divergent; and the apparatus is configured such that the first and second jets of pharmaceutical preparation rebound from an internal surface of the dilution chamber thereby promoting retrograde mixing of the pharmaceutical preparation with diluent in the dilution chamber. However, Bartlett teaches providing outlet openings 65 arranged as claimed on a mixing element (see fig. 11C-D), arranged and structured as claimed and thus fully capable of performing the claimed function(s) as recited. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson et al. to utilize multiple openings arranged as claimed, as taught by Bartlett, since such a modification is the result of substitution of one known element for another (arrangement of mixing apertures) to achieve predictable results (mixing).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Klug et al., and further in view of Barrlett and Mass (US 3493503).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson et al., as modified by Klug et al., fails to specifically disclose/teach the main body of the second plunger comprises three outlet openings and a middle opening of the three outlet openings is configured to generate a jet of pharmaceutical preparation directed toward the dilution chamber opening. However, However, Bartlett teaches providing multiple outlet openings 65 arranged on a mixing element (see fig. 11C-D). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson et al. to utilize multiple openings, as taught by Bartlett, since such a modification is the result of substitution of one known element for another (arrangement of mixing apertures) to achieve predictable results (mixing). Furthermore, Mass teaches providing an arrangement of multiple outlets where a central outlet faces directly down (see 8 in fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson et al., as modified by Klug et al. and Bartlett, to utilize the arrangement of apertures as taught by Mass, in order to provide sufficient structure to evenly distribute fluid in all directions from the outlets.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al.
Regarding claim 16, Anderson et al.discloses the second plunger has a length along the longitudinal axis (see fig. 6A-D), except for specifically disclosing the length is at least 9mm. However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the length of the plunger would result in a difference in function of the Anderson et al. device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the plunger of Anderson et al., would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed length. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle “may” be within the claimed range “in some embodiments”, “for example”, and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plunger length of Anderson et al. to be at least 9 mm as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Tennican et al. (US 8137307).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson et al. discloses the apparatus as claimed, except for the first plunger comprises a plunger lumen, extending between a first plunger lumen opening and a second plunger lumen opening, for delivering pharmaceutical preparation through the plunger lumen and into the active agent chamber. However, Tennican et al. teaches providing a plunger lumen in a plunger between openings at each end for delivering into a syringe chamber (see fig. 2, 4B and 5A in particular). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first plunger of Anderson et al. to comprise the plunger lumen and openings as claimed, as taught by Tennican et al., for the purpose of providing sufficient structure to allow filling of the active agent chamber prior to use
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Machan et al. (US 20130226148) discloses plunger apertures and generating jets.
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783