DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 22-32 and 36 in the reply filed on 30 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 26, 28-30, and dependents, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 26, the phrase "may, for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The term “may” is unclear which suggests that the exemplary limitation is not necessary and the exemplary limitation is further indefinite. It is unclear if the provided limitation constitutes a requirement for the programming to be capable of achieving under certain, specific circumstances OR if the example is merely one, unrequired, example of what a “constant” third stage might constitute.
Regarding Claim 28, Applicant recites “wherein the first period of time and the second period of time are selected from the group comprising…” Firstly, the instant limitation is unclear as to whether the “selected” values are the same or different for the two time period lengths. Secondly the meaning of the limitation “at least 3 minutes between 2 minutes and 10 minutes” is unclear.
Regarding Claim 29, Applicant makes reference to “the medication delivery device”. However, no such “device” has been previously introduced in the claims. Claim 22 does make functional reference to a functionally recited “medication delivery apparatus”, but it is unclear if this “apparatus” is the same or different from the “device”.
Regarding Claim 30, Applicant recites “the first plunger is in contact with the second plunger and…” while purporting to be dependent upon Claim 25. However, Claim 25 does not include antecedent basis for this particular claim language, rather these features appear to be introduced in Claim 29. It is therefore unclear if Claim 30 was intended to be dependent upon Claim 29 and inherit all of the limitations and subject matter introduced therein, or if Claim 30 is attempting to separately introduce hardware without dependency on Claim 29. For the sake of prosecution it will be presumed that Claim 30 is intended to be dependent upon Claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-27 and 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2013/0218080 (“Peterfreund”).
Regarding Claim 22, Peterfreund discloses an infusion device (110, 115) for use with a medication delivery apparatus (e.g. 105) for receiving a pharmaceutical preparation (re: the “drug”), a dilution chamber (re: manifold 120) for receiving a diluent (re: the “carrier”) and a dilation chamber opening (123, 125) through which diluted pharmaceutical preparation can be expelled for intravenous delivery to a patient, the infusion device comprising:
a processor (Par. 115 – wherein the processor can be carried by a separate computing device 115 or on the pump(s)/interface itself) and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to cause the medication delivery apparatus to deliver the pharmaceutical preparation to the patient according to a dose profile (Par. 10), wherein the dose profile delivers a therapeutic dose of the pharmaceutical preparation to the patient over an infusion time, wherein the dose profile comprises a first stage and a second stage; and
wherein during the first stage (340), a concentration of the pharmaceutical preparation in the dilution chamber increases and a dose rate at which the pharmaceutical preparation is delivered to the patient increases until a maximum dose rate for the pharmaceutical preparation is reached (see Fig. 6C; Par. 65 – re: the drug flow is set at an initial high rate and suitable flow rate during which concentration of the drug hitting the manifold and rate of delivery will increase);
wherein in the second stage, a concentration of the pharmaceutical preparation in the dilution chamber increases and a flow rate at which the diluted pharmaceutical preparation exits the dilution chamber decreases so that the maximum dose rate is not exceeded (Par. 63, 103 – i.e. the carrier fluid flow is decreased and met with a fluid delivery rate decrease in order to account for the higher concentration of drug within the manifold to achieve the desired steady state rate – see also Fig. 6C).
Regarding Claim 23, Peterfreund discloses the dose rate in the second stage is constant (see Fig. 6C) once the desired steady state is reached.
Regarding Claim 24, Peterfreund discloses the dose rate in the second stage is the maximum dose rate for the pharmaceutical preparation (see Fig. 6C where the dose rate reaches a steady state denoting the maximum dose rate which will be achieved – step 390).
Regarding Claim 25, Peterfreund discloses the dose profile further comprises a third stage in which the concentration of the pharmaceutical preparation in the dilution chamber is constant (see Fig. 6C – i.e. the third stage comprises the continued maintenance of the steady state first assumed during the second stage).
Regarding Claim 26, Peterfreund discloses the dose rate in the third stage is constant and may, for example, be the maximum dose rate for the pharmaceutical preparation (see Fig. 6C - step 390).
Regarding Claim 27, Peterfreund discloses the dose profile is such that for at least a part of the first stage of the dose profile, a cumulative dose of pharmaceutical preparation delivered to the patient increases exponentially over time (see Fig. 6C note the rapid increase during the first state).
Regarding Claim 29 and 30, Examiner notes that Claim 22 does not positively recite the “medication delivery apparatus”, but rather is directed toward the infusion device, per se, which is “for use” with such a medication delivery apparatus. Concerns over whether or not the “medication delivery device” is or is not the same component as the “medication delivery apparatus” notwithstanding, it is submitted that the “medication delivery device” is not a positively required part of the claimed “infusion device” and the infusion device of Claim 22, on which Claims 29 and 30 are dependent, are only functionally concerned with the medication delivery device. The pumps of Peterfreund are configured to receive any suitable syringe, including a dual chambered syringe of the type claimed, without modification, and therefore arrive upon the claimed invention without modification.
Regarding Claim 31, Peterfreund discloses wherein the dilution chamber opening is to be attached to a conduit of predetermined volume through which diluted pharmaceutical preparation is delivered to the patient by intravenous infusion (see Fig. 1); and wherein:
the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor include priming instructions to prime the medication delivery device and the conduit of predetermined volume by controlling the medication delivery device to expel pharmaceutical preparation from the active agent chamber into the dilution chamber to mix with the diluent and flow out through the dilution chamber opening into the tubing of known volume so as to fill the conduit of predetermined volume with diluted pharmaceutical preparation in such a manner that the diluted pharmaceutical in the conduit of predetermined volume has a concentration profile in accordance with accordance with a desired dose profile for a first part of the intravenous infusion (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 32, Peterfreund discloses the concentration profile is such that a concentration of the diluted pharmaceutical preparation decreases along a length of the conduit of predetermined volume (i.e. concentration of the drug is increased at first followed by a decrease to thereby result in a concentration that decreases over time to thereby result in a column of fluid within the conduit which is less concentrated than the proceeding fluid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2013/0218080 (“Peterfreund”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2003/0051737 (“Hickle”).
Regarding Claim 28, Peterfreund, as detailed above, fails to explicitly disclose the specific treatment details as it pertains to the cumulative dosing as a percentage of the therapeutic dose over a given time period. However, Peterfreund is particularly concerned with achieving therapeutically effective doses of a medicament via controlled titration over a period of time with calculated adjustments needed to reach and maintain that therapeutically effective dose in a safe and efficacious manner using predictive pharmacokinetic models (Abstract; Fig. 3B, Fig. 4; Par. 53, 58, 107).
Hickle discloses that one concern with the administration of medicaments to a patient is the risk of latent adverse reactions by small, incremental increases in concentration based on cumulative dosing over time until a therapeutic dose is reached over staged periods of time (Abstract; Par. 3, 5, 11. 35). While Hickle does not resolve the specific algorithm claimed here, Examiner submits that the particular iterative increases in concentration needed to affect an observationally relevant cumulative dose over a given observation period are established to be a result effective variable and would be expected to change depending upon the particular pharmacokinetic model of the drug being monitored (i.e. absorption rate, clearance rate, decay rate…etc.) such that the discovering of the particularly optimized formula for any given drug would be recognized by the ordinary artisan to be a result effective variable to be routinely optimized through systematic scientific study to inevitably arrive upon the optimal dosing schedule to ensure efficacy and safety of the titration.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to alter the system of Peterfruend to include a multi-stage drug titration method by which the drug concentration is iteratively increased over discrete observation periods, as disclosed by Hickle, in order to evaluate the patient’s response to a new drug so that the patient can be effectively monitored for adverse reactions. Arriving upon the claimed solution of a first stage at a first concentration based upon a cumulative dosing reaching between 0.01 to 0.1 percent of the therapeutically effective value and a second time period wherein the cumulative dosing has reached between 0.1 to 1 percent of the therapeutically effective variable with periods of time of at least 4 minutes constitutes an obvious conclusion to carrying forward this specific principle based upon routine and customary optimization and experimentation to obtain a predictable and expected outcome.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2013/0218080 (“Peterfreund”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0099089 (“Vanderveen”).
Regarding Claim 36, Peterfreund discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the infusion rate used to prime the medication delivery apparatus and conduit of predetermined volume is higher than an initial infusion rate of the dose profile. However, Vanderveen discloses that in related infusion pumps the pre-flush flow rate which is used for priming can be a higher rate than the flow rate of the second fluid flow rate (Par. 70). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the system of Peterfreund to prime at a first higher rate, as disclosed by Vanderveen, in order to ensure quick operation of the device to a primed state thereby reducing the amount of time necessary for preparing the device for therapeutic effect.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/17/2026