Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “base” as claimed in claims 7 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the “base” as described in the filed specification on p. 15, and is described as being in fig. 17, but no base 16 is designated in figure 17. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1- 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1,2,4,5,6,9,10, and 13 recite the limitation “the elements”. There is insufficient base for these limitations in the claims. For purposes of examination, these are all understood to mean --the plurality of elements--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cho (U.S. Patent Application 2015/ 0144610).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a hair styling appliance (Cho, 100, figs. 1-3) comprising:
a plurality of elements (pair of bodies110, upper body 111 and lower body 112) moveable relative to each other (Cho, ¶0046, bodies 111 and 112 are hinged) , the plurality of elements comprising a first arm (111) and a second arm (112) coupled together for reciprocal movement towards and away from each other, the first and second arms being arranged to receive hair within a region between each other (Cho, ¶0004, hair is placed between the tongs, ¶0047, “During such a contact operation, a section of hair is first placed between the upper body 111 and the lower body 112 and then the upper body 111 and the lower body 112 are moved towards each other so as to be closed. The upper and lower bodies 111 and 112 are pulled while pressing the hair.”) ; and
a sensor arrangement (130, ¶0052) comprising at least a first sensor (132/133) component mounted to at least one of the elements (arms 111, 112);
wherein the sensor arrangement is configured to:
sense, using the first sensor component, a change in relative position of at least two of the elements (Cho, ¶0054, elements “coming into contact” is change in relative position) ; and output a first signal indicative of the change in relative position (Cho, ¶¶0054, 0056 “optical signal” when in contact which is a change from no signal when not in contact, in this way, a “contact operation signal” is input into the control unit, properly 140).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein sensing a change in relative position of at least two of the elements comprises sensing a change in: an angle between at least two of the elements; and/or a distance between at least two of the elements (Cho, Figs. 1-3, distance between at least two elements of 130, 132 to 133).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the sensor arrangement comprises a second sensor component for interacting with the first sensor component, wherein the first sensor component is configured to sense the change in relative position based on the interaction with the second component (Cho, The interaction of 130, elements 132 with 133, figs. 1A, 1B).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component is disposed on one of the elements, and the second sensor component is disposed on another of the elements (Cho, figs. 1A, 1B, sensing elements 132 and 133 are disposed on opposite arms, or fig 2B, where 135 the first sensor component and 136, the second sensing component, are disposed one on each of the arms, see fig. immediately below).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component is disposed on the first arm, and the second sensor component is disposed on one of the elements other than the first arm (Cho, figs. 1A. 1B, sensing element 132 is on arm 111 and sensing element 133 is on the second arm 112, respectively or fig. 2B, second sensor is disposed on other than first arm).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the second sensor component is disposed on one of the elements other than the second arm (Cho, disposed on the base, see 2B immediately below, where element 136 is the second sensor element and IS disposed on the base, on an element other than the second arm that moves relative to the second arm and the base, and 135, the first sensor element, is disposed on the first arm, in accordance with claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the second sensor component is disposed on a base component, relative to which the first and/or second arms are movable (Cho, see fig. 2B, immediately above, where second sensor is disposed on a base component, and moves relative to the first arm, per the claim).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the second sensor component is disposed on the second arm (Cho, figs. 1A. 1B, sensing elements 132 is on 111 and 133, the second sensor component is on arm 112).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the second sensor component is disposed on the first arm, and the first sensor component is disposed on one of the elements other than the first arm (Cho, figs. 1A. 1B, sensing elements 132 and 133 are disposed on opposite arms, it is only their designation that makes one the “first sensor component” or the “second sensor component”, so they may be designated oppositely than above, to have 132, designated the second sensor component on 111, and 133 designated the first sensor component on 112).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component (136) is disposed on one of the elements other than the second arm (Cho, disposed on the base, see 2B immediately below, where element 135 is the second sensor element and IS disposed on the first arm that moves relative to the second arm and the base).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component is disposed on a base component, relative to which the first and/or second arms are movable (Cho, disposed on the base, see 2B below, where element 135 is the second sensor element and IS disposed on the first arm that moves relative to the second arm and the base)..
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component and the second sensor component are disposed on one of the elements other than the first arm or the second arm (Fig. 2B, immediately below, the sensors may be 135 and 136, in which case, they are both within the designated “base”).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component comprises a switch (Cho, figs. 2A, 2B and 3, ¶0042, “The detection unit 130 includes tact switches 135 and 136 to detect the contact of the upper and lower bodies 111 and 112).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the second component comprises a switch-interacting component that actuates the switch when brought into contact therewith (Cho, can be seen in figs. 2A, 2B and 3, ¶0042, “The detection unit 130 includes tact switches 135 and 136 to detect the contact of the upper and lower bodies 111 and 112).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor (133) component comprises a receiver, and the second sensor component comprises a transmitter (132) that transmits a signal receivable by the receiver (¶0054; since this claim depends on claim 1, here element 133 may be designated as the “first sensor” and 132 may be designated as the second sensor. ).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 16, and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the receiver comprises an optical (133), magnetic, electromagnetic, or sonic receiver, and the second sensor component comprises a corresponding optical signal generator (132), a magnetic field generator, an electromagnetic signal generator, or a sonic signal generator (Cho, ¶0054, “an optical signal of the emitting element 132 is input into the receiving element 133”).
Regarding claim 19, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a hair styling appliance wherein the sensor arrangement is configured such that the value of the first signal changes based on at least a first threshold angle between the first arm and the second arm (Cho, figs. 2A, 2B, ¶¶0054-55, signal is emitted when in contact which is related to the angle between the arms, whether they are closed or not).
Regarding claim 22, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses a hair styling appliance configured, responsive to the first signal, to modify: a power that is output by a heater within the hair styling appliance (Cho, ¶0044, “The hair iron includes electric heating plates 120 which are attached to the inner surfaces of bodies 110 and generate heat using supplied power. A detection unit 130 detects the operation of the bodies 110. A touch sensor 134 is provided on an outer surface of each of the bodies 110 to detect the contact of a user's hand. A control unit 140 controls driving power according to the detected operation of the detection unit 130, thus driving a preset operation mode of the hair iron 100.”); and/or an airflow rate of air output by an impeller within the hair styling appliance.
Regarding claim 23, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a hair styling appliance comprising a hair straightener (Cho, ¶¶0004, 0005, background, this is generally “a hair iron applying heat energy to the hair to straighten the hair, etc.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (U.S. Patent Application 2015/ 0144610) in view of deGrood (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0164708).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 17 but does not further disclose a hair styling appliance wherein the first sensor component comprises a hall-effect sensor, and the second sensor component comprises a magnet. However, deGrood, in his hair styling appliance teaches wherein the first sensor component comprises a hall-effect sensor, and the second sensor component comprises a magnet (¶0025, “ the monitoring device 504 in accordance with one embodiment may comprise a) a Hall effect sensor (not shown) in one arm (e.g., the upper arm 102) and b) a corresponding magnet (not shown) disposed in the other arm (e.g., the lower arm 104)”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Cho in view of deGrood, to substitute the Hall – effect sensor and the magnet taught in deGrood for the sensors of the Cho, because the substitution of one known sensor for another (deGrood, ¶0025, “The monitoring device 504 may be any electro-mechanical device capable of monitoring whether the straightener 100 is in the closed position or in the open position… “In other embodiments, a momentary push button type switch may be used to monitor the opened and closed position of the arms 102, 104. It is understood that other suitable monitoring devices may be used to monitor the opened and closed position of the arms 102, 104 without departing from the scope of this invention.”), for another would have yielded predictable results of monitoring and detecting the closing of the arms, and the art itself teaches that these different sensors may be substituted for each other, and that they all work to provide the expected result.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (U.S. Patent Application 2015/ 0144610) in view of Seb SA (European Patent Publication EP2449911A1; in applicant’s IDS, English specification attached) and deGrood (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0164708)
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches all the limitations of claim 19 but does not further teach a hair styling appliance wherein the sensor arrangement is configured such that the value of the first signal changes based on at least a second threshold angle between the first arm and the second arm, the second threshold angle being different to the first threshold angle. However, Seb SA, in his hair styling appliance, uses a Hall sensor to be able to, based on the sensing, be able to control a further parameter, the steam, at a certain angle, and that would be able to provide control at more angles than just the open and closed state, as in switch sensors, for instance (Seb SA ¶0037, “Alternatively to a magnetic switch, a Hall effect sensor could be chosen to control the steam according to the angle of closure, and no longer according to only two states (closure and opening)”. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the teachings of Seb SA to the invention of Cho, to use the Hall sensor in order to be able to detect further positions of the angle between the arms, and when those thresholds are reached, which is other than the threshold when the device is closed, to provide further processing with the device, for instance to effect a further process, such as releasing steam to be further able to better style hair. It is further noted in deGrood that such sensors may be substituted for each other to affect the same purpose of indicating how the device is closed, and the substitution of known sensor would yield predictable results (deGrood, ¶0025, “The monitoring device 504 may be any electro-mechanical device capable of monitoring whether the straightener 100 is in the closed position or in the open position. For example, the monitoring device 504 in accordance with one embodiment may comprise a) a Hall effect sensor (not shown) in one arm (e.g., the upper arm 102) and b) a corresponding magnet (not shown) disposed in the other arm (e.g., the lower arm 104)” “In other embodiments, a momentary push button type switch may be used to monitor the opened and closed position of the arms 102, 104. It is understood that other suitable monitoring devices may be used to monitor the opened and closed position of the arms 102, 104 without departing from the scope of this invention.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761