DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt of amendments and remarks dated 04/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 are amended. Claims 2, 4-5, and 19-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, and 6-18 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 12/14/2023, is a 371 filing of PCT/KR2022/012636, filed 08/24/2022, which claims foreign priority to KR10-2021-0130366, filed 09/30/2021.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 defines particles having a core-shell structure and a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the polymer microparticles. In the embodiment where the shell comprises gelatin and the cell adhesion-layer also comprises gelatin, as defined in instant claims 1 and 11, there is no way to differentiate between the shell and the cell adhesion layer on the surface of the particles. Thus, a hyaluronic acid core coated in gelatin reads on a particle having a core-shell structure and a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the particles, wherein the gelatin reads doubly on the shell and the cell adhesion layer.
Claims 1 and 2 define a metal ion and an organic crosslinking agent as being contained in both the core and the shell of the micro particles. Since there is no differentiation between the metal ions in the shell versus the core nor the organic crosslinker in the shell versus the core, the Examiner is interpreting the metal ions and organic crosslinker to be the same in both the shell and core.
Claim 1 defines polymer matrices, in which the respective biopolymers are crosslinked in an amount of more than 50% by volume with respect to the total volume of the polymer matrix. This is being interpreted as a degree of crosslinking such that 50% of the polymer in the core/shell matrix is crosslinked by the metal ion and organic crosslinking agent.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Claim 9 was objected to for minor informalities. Applicants’ amendment to claim 9 has overcome the objection and the objection is withdrawn.
Claims 6-7, 9-10, and 17-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. Applicants’ amendments to claims 6-7 and 9-10 and the cancellation of claims 19-20 have overcome the rejections and the rejections are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park. Applicants’ amendments to claim 1 have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
The following grounds of rejections are necessitated by amendment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, as amended, recites wherein the core comprises a polymer matrix in which the first and second biocompatible polymers are crosslinked. The polymer matrix in the core and shell are then further defined wherein hyaluronic acid and gelatin, respectively, are the crosslinked polymers. Thus, claim 1 now defines hyaluronic acid as the first biocompatible polymer and gelatin as the second, making the limitations of claim 3 redundant. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim, Y., et al. (US 12296054 B2, filed 06/01/2021, on record), hereinafter Kim.
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Kim discloses microcarriers in the form of polymeric microparticles (col. 2, lines 22-26).
Regarding claims 1 and 3: The polymeric microparticles have a core-shell structure, comprising: a core including a first biocompatible polymer, a metal ion, and an organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group; and a shell surrounding all or part of the core and including a second biocompatible polymer, a metal ion, and an organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, wherein the first biocompatible polymer comprises hyaluronic acid, and the second biocompatible polymer comprises gelatin (claim 9). The core comprises a polymer matrix in which the first biocompatible polymer is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, and the shell comprises a polymer matrix in which the second biocompatible polymer is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group (claim 10). The core contains a polymer matrix in which hyaluronic acid is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, in an amount of more than 50% by volume with respect to the total volume of the polymer matrix contained in the core (claim 11). The shell contains a polymer matrix in which gelatin is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, in an amount of more than 50% by volume with respect to the total volume of the polymer matrix contained in the shell (claim 12). Such a particle reads on the instantly claimed micro particles of claims 1 and 3, wherein the gelatin reads doubly on the second biocompatible biopolymer in the shell and a cell adhesion-inducing layer on the surface of the polymer micro particles. Since gelatin is defined as both a shell component and a cell adhesion-inducing material, its presence in the shell reads on the particle also having a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the particles.
Regarding claim 6: The average diameter of the microparticles is between 1 and 450 μm (col. 12, lines 8-14).
Regarding claim 7: The shell is 95% or less of a longest diameter of the polymeric microparticles, based on a cross section having the longest diameter of the polymeric microparticles (claim 13). Further, the thickness of the shell may be 0.01% or more of the longest diameter of the polymeric microparticles, based on the cross section having the longest diameter of the polymeric microparticles (col. 12, lines 19-28).
Regarding claim 8: The organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group comprises a crosslinking agent having 1 to 30 carbon atoms and containing at least one reactive functional group (claim 14).
Regarding claim 9: The polymeric microparticles may have an average compressive strength of 0.1 mN or more and 100 mN or less, when deformed to a level of 25% of the average diameter (col. 12, lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 10: The polymeric microparticles may have a sphericity degree of 0.9 or more and 1.0 or less (col. 12, lines 40-41).
Regarding claim 11: The shell of the microparticles above comprises gelatin which is a claimed cell adhesion material.
Regarding claim 12: As established above, the gelatin shell also reads on the cell adhesion-inducing layer of the instant invention. The shell is taught in certain embodiments to be as thin as 0.01% of the longest diameter of the microparticles (col. 12, lines 24-25). The average diameter of the microparticles is between 1 and 450 μm (col. 12, lines 8-14). Thus, if the longest diameter of the microparticle is 450, for example, and the shell is 0.01% of that, then the shell (i.e., the cell adhesion inducing layer) would be 0.045 μm thick (i.e., 45 nm), which falls within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 13: The polymeric microparticles have an average diameter in distilled water of 1 μm or more and 450 μm or less (col. 12, lines 8-14), which falls within the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claim 14: Since the composition anticipated by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claims 15-16: The polymeric microparticles of Kim are used in cell culture mediums (col. 18-19, lines 64-10). The resulting cell cultures which comprise polymeric microparticles and cells read on the instantly claimed cell composite.
Regarding claims 17-18: Kim teaches polymeric microparticles with excellent mechanical strength and cell adhesion, as well as medical compositions, cosmetic compositions, medical articles and cosmetic articles comprising the same (col. 14, lines 39-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, and 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, K., et al. (US 20110263018 A1, 10/27/2011, IDS dated 12/14/2023), hereinafter Park, in view of Zhou, Z., et al. (2015). Preparation of gelatin/hyaluronic acid microspheres with different morphologies for drug delivery. Polym. Bull. 72, 713–723.
Park discloses a core-shell structured microcapsule type delivery system comprising a polymeric microsphere comprising a first component which is encapsulated by another polymer comprising a second component (abstract).
Regarding claim 1: Park discloses a microcapsule-type system for growth factor delivery which has a core-shell structure ([0012]), thereby reading on a microcarrier comprising microparticles having a core-shell structure as instantly claimed. In order to further delay the release of the growth factor loaded in a shell, the microcapsule is coated. Such coatings include chitosan, gelatin, collagen, poly-L-lysine, dextran sulfate, etc. ([0022]; claims 8 and 21), thereby reading on the instantly claimed cell-adhesion-inducing layer. While this layer is not explicitly taught for cell-adhesion, it comprises the same cell adhesion materials as instantly claimed meaning such a layer would inherently possess cell adhesion properties. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The core and shell are made of any biodegradable polymers as long as they are not toxic to humans ([0014]) (i.e., biocompatible). The microcapsule is provided by preparing a polymeric microsphere or solution and then encapsulating the first polymer by electrodropping the polymer microsphere into another polymer (abstract). Examples 1-3 teach microcapsules with a PLGA core and an alginate shell (Ex. 1-3). Thus, Park teaches a core comprising a first biocompatible polymer and shell comprising a second biocompatible polymer. Examples 2 and 3 teach electrodropping the core-shell structures into a CaCl2 solution to initiate crosslinking (Ex. 2-3). While Examples 2 and 3 of Park do not explicitly define wherein the metal ions are incorporated into both the core and shell of the microcapsules, it is reasonable that the ions would diffuse into the core as evidenced by the instant specification. The instant specification teaches a similar process to that of Park in which a solution comprising two biocompatible polymers is formed into a droplet by an encapsulator device and added to an FeCl3 solution (Ex. 1 of Spec.). As such, Examiner has reason to believe that the calcium ions of Park would be incorporated into the microcapsules in the same manner as the iron ions are incorporated in the instant invention.
Park further teaches that in order to enhance the mechanical properties of the microcapsule-type growth factor delivery system, microcapsules that have been prepared can be treated with a crosslinking agent such as ethyldimethylaminopropyl carbodiimide, genipin, or glutaraldehyde ([0023]; claim 22), all of which read on an organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group.
Park further teaches wherein the core or shell may be prepared from natural polymers selected from gelatin and hyaluronic acid ([0014]-[0016]; claim 7).
The teachings of Park differ from that of the instant invention in that Park does not explicitly teach a microcapsule which comprises both a metal ion and an organic crosslinking agent, nor wherein the core and shell polymers are crosslinked by both as defined in claim 1. Additionally, Park does not explicitly teach the shell and core to comprise hyaluronic acid and gelatin, respectively, crosslinked in an amount of more than 50% by volume, as defined in claims 1 and 3.
Zhou teaches gelatin/hyaluronic acid microspheres for drug delivery using glutaraldehyde as a cross-linker (abstract). Because of its biodegradability, biocompatibility, and nonimmunogenicity, gelatin is widely used in pharmacy and medicine as a carrier in controlled release drug delivery systems, dressings for wound healing, etc. (p. 2, Intro., para. 2). As one of the main components of the extracellular matrix, hyaluronic acid (HA) has high capacity for lubrication, water sorption and water retention. HA is an attractive building block for new biocompatible and biodegradable polymers with possible applications in drug delivery, tissue engineering, and visco supplementation. HA is a particularly attractive hydrogel material for tissue scaffolds and wound healing dressings (intro, para. 3). To improve the material properties used for controlled drug delivery, Gel and HA should be chemically cross-linked using glutaraldehyde (GA) or 1-ethyl-(3-3-dimethylaminopropyl) carbodiimide (EDC) (into, para. 4).
First, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both a metal ion and organic crosslinking agent in the microcapsules of Park and to crosslink the core/shell polymers via both agents, since metal ions and organic agents are known and routine for crosslinking the microcapsules of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide metal ions and an organic crosslinking agent in the core and shell of the microcapsules and to crosslink the respective polymers via the metal ion and organic crosslinking agent in order to enhance the mechanical properties of the microcapsules as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using a metal ion and organic crosslinker to crosslink the core and shell polymers of Park since crosslinking polymers via metal ions and organic crosslinkers is well characterized in the art and both are taught by Park as acceptable means of crosslinking microcapsules of the invention. As such, the polymer matrices crosslinked via the metal ion and organic crosslinker, as defined in claim 1, are obvious in view of Park.
Second, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select hyaluronic acid as the first biocompatible polymer since hyaluronic acid is a known and routine polymer used in microsphere carriers as taught by Park and Zhou. It would have been obvious to select hyaluronic acid as the polymer in the microcapsule core of Park given HA’s suitability for drug delivery and tissue engineering applications as taught by Zhou. Additionally, HA is taught by Park as an exemplary polymer for the microcapsule core. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Similarly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select gelatin as the second biocompatible polymer since gelatin is a known and routine polymer used in microsphere carriers as taught by Park and Zhou. It would have been obvious to select gelatin as the polymer in the microcapsule shell of Park given gelatin’s suitability as a carrier in pharmacy and medicine as taught by Zhou. Additionally, gelatin is taught by Park as an exemplary polymer for the microcapsule shell. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Lastly, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to crosslink the core/shell polymers via metal ions and an organic crosslinking agent in order to increase the mechanical properties of the microcapsule as taught by Park. Zhou further teaches that cross-linking Gel and HA with glutaraldehyde is necessary to improve the material properties of the particles. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crosslink the specific polymers taught by Zhou (i.e., hyaluronic acid and gelatin) at a high amount since crosslinking enhances the mechanical and material properties of the microcapsules. An ordinary artisan would have been further motivated to optimize the amount of crosslinking in the core/shell polymer matrices depending on the desired mechanical and material properties of the final product. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed degree of crosslinking (i.e., > 50%) through no more than routine experimentation. The optimization of a result effective parameter is considered within the skill of the artisan. See, In re Boesch and Slaney (CCPA) 204 USPQ 215. This is what research chemists do, optimization of result-effective variables through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 IIA and B).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in providing a core-shell microcapsule with crosslinked hyaluronic acid in the core and crosslinked gelatin in the shell since these are acceptable natural polymers to be used in the core-shell microcapsules of Park and the use of HA and gelatin together in a crosslinked microsphere is known and taught by Zhou.
As such the entirety of claims 1 and 3 are obvious in view of Park and Zhou.
Regarding claims 6 and 13: The microcapsules of Park have a diameter ranging from 100 to 400 um (claim 5), which falls within the instantly claimed range. While Park does not explicitly measure the particle diameter in distilled water, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the particles to be the same size regardless of being measured in water since size is an inherent property of the particles.
Regarding claim 7: Example 2 of Park teaches wherein core PLGA microspheres are about 100 um in size and final core-shell microcapsules are between 200 and 300 um. The shell thickness therefore ranges from 100 to 200 um, respectively, which is between 0.01 and 95% of the total size (i.e., diameter) of the core-shell microcapsules. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to provide the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou with such a shell thickness since this a known and routine shell thickness for particles of this type. Park also teaches that the electrodropping conditions (i.e., voltage and spray rates, nozzle sizes, etc.) may be tuned to influence the size of the microcapsules. Thus, it would have been well within the abilities of an ordinary artisan to optimize the thickness of the microcapsule shell depending on the desired size of the final product. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed thickness through no more than routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8: The organic crosslinking agents taught by Park include ethyldimethylaminopropyl carbodiimide, genipin, and glutaraldehyde, while Zhou teaches glutaraldehyde and 1-ethyl-(3-3-dimethylaminopropyl) carbodiimide, all of which comprise between 1 and 30 carbon atoms and a reactive functional group. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to use any of these organic crosslinkers in the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou since these are known and routine crosslinkers for particles of this type. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 9: Since the composition made obvious by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claim 10: Park further teaches if the core is made of a polymer microsphere, various shapes of microspheres can be premade and loaded into the microcapsule. In addition, if the release pattern varies depending on the shape of the microsphere, the shape of the microsphere can be optimized, and thus a microcapsule providing desired release profiles with credibility can be prepared ([0029]). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated based on the teachings of Park to optimize the shape of the microcapsule in order to provide the desired release profile, thereby arriving at the claimed sphericity of 0.9 to 1.0. The optimization of a result effective parameter is considered within the skill of the artisan. See, In re Boesch and Slaney (CCPA) 204 USPQ 215. This is what research chemists do, optimization of result-effective variables through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 IIA and B).
Regarding claim 11: As discussed above, core-shell microcapsules may include coatings with material selected from the group of chitosan, gelatin, collagen, poly-L-lysine, dextran sulfate, etc. ([0022]; claims 8 and 21), all of which read on the instantly claimed cell adhesion materials. It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate any of these materials as the coating in the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou since they are known and effective coatings in the art. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. While these coatings are not explicitly taught as cell adhesion-inducing materials, they must inherently possess this property. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12: As discussed above, the coating layer is added to further delay the release of the growth factor loaded in a shell. The coating layer can be formed by inducing physical adsorption or chemical reaction, while the thickness thereof can be manipulated ([0022]). It is well within the abilities of an ordinary artisan to optimize the thickness of the coating layer depending on the desired structure and release profile of the final product. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed range of 1 to 10,000 nm through no more than routine experimentation depending on the desired release profile of the microcapsule. The optimization of a result effective parameter is considered within the skill of the artisan. See, In re Boesch and Slaney (CCPA) 204 USPQ 215. This is what research chemists do, optimization of result-effective variables through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 IIA and B).
Regarding claim 14: Since the composition made obvious by the prior art is identical to the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed as an inherent property. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claim 15: The recitation of “for cell culture” is a recitation of intended use. Since the prior art makes obvious every structural element of the instantly claimed micro carrier, the product of the prior art must inherently be able to carry out the same function as the instantly claimed product. Despite this stipulation, Example 5 of Park teaches a three-dimensional scaffold for the cultivation of stem cells, using alginate beads containing stem cells and core-shell microcapsules of the invention (M1 and M2). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou as micro carriers for cell culture since this is a known and routine use for such microcapsules in the art.
Regarding claim 16: The alginate beads of Example 5 which comprise stem cells and core-shell microcapsules read on a cell composite comprising a microcarrier. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou in the cell composites taught by Park since this a known and routine application for such microcapsules. While Park does not explicitly teach cells to be adhered onto the surface of the microcapsules, the combined microcapsules of Park and Zhou comprise the same cell adhesion layer as instantly claimed. Thus, it is inherent that cells would adhere onto the surface as instantly claimed. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Regarding claims 17-18: Since the medical and cosmetic composition are only defined as comprising the micro carrier of claim 1, then any biocompatible composition comprising the micro carrier, including the micro carrier itself, reads on these compositions. Since the microcarrier of claim 1 is made obvious above as well as cell composites comprising it, so are the medical and cosmetic compositions.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 3, and 6-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,054. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’054 recites polymeric microparticles having a core-shell structure, comprising: a core including a first biocompatible polymer, a metal ion, and an organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group; and a shell surrounding all or part of the core and including a second biocompatible polymer, a metal ion, and an organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, wherein the first biocompatible polymer comprises hyaluronic acid, and the second biocompatible polymer comprises gelatin (conflicting claim 9). The core comprises a polymer matrix in which the first biocompatible polymer is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, and the shell comprises a polymer matrix in which the second biocompatible polymer is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group conflicting (claim 10). The core contains a polymer matrix in which hyaluronic acid is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, in an amount of more than 50% by volume of with respect to the total volume of the polymer matrix contained in the core (conflicting claim 11). The shell contains a polymer matrix in which gelatin is crosslinked through the metal ion and the organic crosslinking agent containing at least one reactive functional group, in an amount of more than 50% by volume with respect to the total volume of the polymer matrix contained in the shell (claim 12).
Since the cell adhesion-inducing layer of the instant invention is defined in claim 11 as including gelatin, the gelatin in the shell of the conflicting claims doubly reads on the shell and a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the polymer microparticles.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, filed 04/09/2026, have been considered but are not found persuasive:
(1) Applicant argues that Kim fails to teach or discloses a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the polymer microparticles.
It is noted that a gelatin shell also reads on “a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the polymer microparticles”, given that gelatin is a cell adhesion material as evidenced by instant claim 11 and the specification. As such the gelatin in the shell of Kim reads doubly on the shell and a cell adhesion-inducing layer formed on the surface of the polymer microparticles. The instant claims do not explicitly differentiate between the two.
(2) Applicant argues that Park nor Zhou disclose or suggest the core-shell structure with non-uniform composition between the core and shell as recited in amended claim 1. Applicant also argues that Park and Zhou alone or in combination disclose or suggest the specific composition of the core-shell structure and cell adhesion inducing layer.
First, Examiner respectfully disagrees in that Park fails to disclose a non-uniform composition between the core and shell. Park discloses a process of (1) preparing a polymeric microsphere comprising a first component, and then encapsulating the microspheres by electrodropping the polymer microsphere into another polymer comprising a second component, thereby manufacturing a core-shell structured, microcapsule type delivery system, or (2) encapsulating a polymer solution comprising a first component by electrodropping the polymer solution into another polymer comprising a second component, thereby manufacturing a core-shell structured microcapsule type delivery system (abstract). In both scenarios two distinct polymer solutions are utilized for the core and the shell, resulting in a non-uniform composition wherein the core and shell comprise different polymer matrices. Examples 2 and 3 of Park further illustrate this. Regarding the selection and crosslinking of hyaluronic acid and gelatine via metal ions and organic crosslinkers, such modifications are suggested by the combined disclosures of Park and Zhou and are made obvious in the prior art rejections above. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is specifically the combination of Park, which teaches the non-uniform core-shell structure and ionic/chemical crosslinking, and Zhou which teaches chemically crosslinked hyaluronic acid and gelatin microspheres, together which render the instant microcapsules obvious. Regarding the cell adhesion-inducing layer, Park teaches an additional coating which includes chitosan, gelatin, collagen, poly-L-lysine, dextran sulfate etc., all of which read on a cell-adhesion inducing material as evidenced by instant claim 11 and the specification. Thus, a coating comprising such a material inherently reads on a cell adhesion-inducing layer regardless of that being its disclosed purpose. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
(3) Applicant points to Comparative Examples 8 and 2 of the instant specification.
Regarding comparative example 8, secondary considerations such as unexpected results or criticality are irrelevant to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections. See MPEP 2131.04. Since the microcapsules of Kim are structurally identical to those as instantly claimed, as established above (i.e., shell and cell adhesion layer may both be gelatin), a comparative example cannot overcome this rejection. Furthermore, Park explicitly teaches additional coating layers which may comprise chitosan, gelatin, collagen, poly-L-lysine, dextran sulfate, etc., meaning a comparative example lacking an additional coating would not be considered the closest prior art (i.e., the particles of Park). Regarding comparative example 2, Park suggests secondary organic molecule crosslinking for the benefit of enhanced mechanical properties. As such, it is not unexpected that secondary crosslinking would produce improved scaffolds for cell culture as recommended by Park. Additionally, the simple designation of suitable vs. unsuitable without further explanation and data points cannot automatically be assumed as significant.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616