DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group IV, which consists of claims 58-60, in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged. No arguments were made regarding the traversal. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The use of the term 'Diff Quik [0004]', which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
There are two periods at the end of paragraph 0014.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig 3A and Fig 3B seem to be cut off. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: ‘sample handling system' in claim 60 and ‘control system’ in claim 60.
The specification defines the ‘sample handing system’ to include a sample transfer mechanism, a sample smearing mechanism, and a sample movement mechanism (Specification, para 0017). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘system’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to receive a sample cartridge containing a sample’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "system" is not modified by sufficient structure.
The specification defines the ‘control system’ to be purpose-built hardware [Specification, para 00124]. Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘system’ which is a generic place holder for the term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language is ‘to cause the sample handling system to manipulate the sample cartridge to perform sample processing steps without the sample contacting the sample transfer mechanism, the sample smearing mechanism, a sample orientation mechanism, or the sample movement mechanism.’
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "system" is not modified by sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 58 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayama (US 20140092382 A1).
Regarding Claim 58, Hayama teaches a sample processing system (para 0008, “specimen testing system”) comprising:
a sample handling system (para 0007, “specimen transporter”) including:
a sample transfer mechanism (para 0060),
a sample smearing mechanism (para 0037, “specimen creating apparatus”), and
a sample movement mechanism (para 0092, “rack transport mechanism”);
a fluid distribution system (para 0085); and
a control system (para 0040, “control section”).
Regarding Claim 59, Hayama teaches the sample processing system (para 0008, “specimen testing system”), further comprising: at least one imaging device (para 0007, “specimen imaging apparatus”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayama (US 20140092382 A1) as applied to claim 58 above, and further in view of Holmes et al. (US 20160069918 A1).
Regarding claim 60, Hayama teaches a sample processing system of claim 58. Hayama teaches a sample handling system (para 0007, “specimen transporter”) and a control system (para 0040, “control section”).
Hayama does not teach the sample handling system being configured to receive a sample cartridge containing a sample, and the control system being configured to cause the sample handling system to manipulate the sample cartridge to perform sample processing steps without the sample contacting the sample transfer mechanism, the sample smearing mechanism, a sample orientation mechanism, or the sample movement mechanism.
However, Holmes teaches systems and methods for processing a biological sample (Abstract). Holmes teaches sample handling system being configured to receive a sample cartridge containing a sample (para 0007). Holmes also teaches various methods of transport the cartridge with the sample such as a transport assembly (para 0049). It is interpreted the transport assembly could be interpreted as is a “sample transfer mechanism”. It can be seen in Figure 2, the transport assembly is touching the sample-containing cartridges and does not touch the sample (para 0049). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Hayama with cartridges to contain the sample in which the sample does not come in contact with the sample transfer mechanism as taught by Holmes for the benefit of cartridges having the ability to be preloaded with reagents-containing vessels for performing assays (para 0044) and minimize contamination of the sample.
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798