DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending. Amendment withdraws non-elected claims 5-10 from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-4, directed to a pre-reduced pellet preparation device in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn by amendment filed May 18, 2026. Claims 5-10 are directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “the other end” in the reducing gas system grouping of claim 3 will be interpreted as the end of the circulating fan opposite the end connected with the air outlet.
In claim 3 the “other end” which communicates with an air inlet at the lower part will be interpreted as the end of the cooling fan opposite the end of the cooling fan connected with an air outlet of the second scrubber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the middle part of the hydrogen-based shaft furnace " in the reducing gas system portion of claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While a shaft furnace necessarily has a top and a bottom, and claims provide proper antecedent basis for a lower part, it is not clear to which interim segment claims refer in reciting “the middle part”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the other end" in the statement “one end of the waste heat recovery unit is connected with the oxygenating combustion unit, and the other end is connected with an air inlet of the second scrubber”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A heat waste recovery unit may have more than two ends; therefore, it is unclear to what claim 3 refers in reciting “the other end”. This differs from the “other end” limitations, both referring to fans, addressed in the claim interpretation section above as a fan necessarily only has two sides.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) because it depends on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiangsu Province (CN106834582A). Jiangsu Province is cited in the IDS filed December 14, 2023. References are directed to the applicant-supplied English language translation.
Regarding claim 1, Jiangsu Province discloses a pre-reduced pellet preparation device (the hot-charged gas-based shaft furnace system [0005], [0034], [0039], [0045], Figs. 1-2). Jiangsu Province discloses that the system comprises a grate-rotary kiln pellet oxidation system (thermal oxidation unit 4 Fig. 1 [0045]) and a shaft furnace reduction system to reduce with a reducing agent comprising hydrogen gas (gas-based shaft furnace 1 [0039], [0041-42]). Jiangsu Province discloses that the H2 to CO ratio in the production gas ranges from 1.0 to 2.0 [0042]; thereby, disclosing that the reducing gas comprises more H2 than CO, a shaft furnace reduction system which supplies a significant proportion of H2 to gas to perform the reduction, such as that disclosed by Jiangsu Province [0042] meets the structure of a hydrogen-based shaft furnace reduction system. Jiangsu Province discloses that the grate-rotary kiln pellet oxidation system comprises a grate system (chain grate machine 401), and a rotary kiln system (rotary kiln 402) connected to the grate system ([0045], Fig. 1).
Jiangsu Province discloses that in the grate system, iron-containing green pellets are sequentially dried and preheated to obtain preheated pellets and in the rotary kiln system, the preheated pellets are roasted to obtain roasted pellets [0045]. Jiangsu Province discloses that the obtained roasted pellets are at a temperature of 1100-1300℃ [0049], thereby disclosing that the structure of the rotary kiln system is capable of roasting at a temperature of 1100-1300℃ [0049]. The structure of a rotary kiln system which is capable of roasting at a temperature of 1100-1300℃ meets the structure of a rotary kiln system which roasts at a temperature of 1170-1300°C. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does"; “[a] claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim” (MPEP 2114(II)).
Jiangsu Province discloses that the shaft furnace reduction system comprises a shaft furnace which reduces with a reducing agent comprising hydrogen gas [0041-42]. Jiangsu Province discloses that the reducing system comprises a feeding system (conveying system 3, storage 2, feeding device 6 [0040], [0044]) a reducing gas system [0041-43], and a cooling system [0041], [0052]. Jiangsu Province discloses that pellets enter the furnace from the top [0042] and shows that the feeding system (feeding device 6) is disposed at the upper part of the shaft furnace (Fig. 1). Jiangsu Province discloses that pellets from the rotary kiln system are conveyed directly from a thermal storage portion of an outlet of the rotary kiln into the feeding system via the feeding system (conveying system 3, storage 2, feeding device 6, [0040], [0044]). Jiangsu Province discloses that the reducing gas system processes flue gas from the shaft furnace (The hot furnace top gas is discharged from the hot furnace top gas outlet. This heat can be recovered and used to heat other devices or equipment in the system that require heat [0052]; note that “processed” is sufficiently broad to encompass discharging the gas), and provides reducing gas to the shaft furnace [0042-43]. Jiangsu Province discloses that the pellets from the feeding system are reduced in the shaft furnace to obtain pre-reduced pellets (sponge iron products) [0041-42]. Jiangsu Province discloses that the cooling system cools the pre-reduced pellets in the hydrogen-based shaft furnace to obtain cooled pre-reduced pellets [0041], [0052]. Jiangsu Province discloses that the cooled pre-reduced pellets are discharged at the bottom of the shaft furnace ([0042] Fig. 1); therefore, the shaft furnace disclosed by Jiangsu Province comprises some structure which is a discharge system disposed at the bottom of the shaft furnace. Jiangsu Province discloses that the reducing gas is heated by heat exchange contact with the roasted pellets in the furnace [0059], [0062], and Jiangsu Province does not disclose additional reducing gas heating; therefore, the system disclosed by Jiangsu Province does not comprise structure which heats the reducing gas prior to entering the hydrogen-based shaft furnace. Jiangsu Province discloses that the H2 to CO ratio in the production gas ranges from 1.0 to 2.0 [0042]; thereby, disclosing that the system disclosed by Jiangsu Province is structure capable of manipulating a significant proportion of H2 to gas to perform the reduction, such as that disclosed by Jiangsu Province [0042]. A structure capable of performing a reduction step in which a significant proportion of the reducing agent is hydrogen gas is capable of performing a reducing step wherein the reducing gas is hydrogen gas. Applicant is reminded that the inclusion of a material or article worked upon by an apparatus in the claims does not limit the patentability of the apparatus (MPEP 2115); therefore, specifying that the gas which flows through the claimed structure is hydrogen gas does not limit the patentability of the claimed structure which is capable of utilizing hydrogen gas to some extent as a reducing gas, as disclosed by Jiangsu Province in paragraph [0042].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claim 1 claims a pre-reduced pellet preparation device. Claim 1 claims that the device comprises a grate-rotary kiln pellet oxidation system and a hydrogen-based shaft furnace reduction system. Claim 1 claims the grate-rotary kiln pellet oxidation system comprises a grate system, and a rotary kiln system connected to the grate system. Claim 1 claims that in the grate system, iron-containing green pellets are sequentially dried and preheated to obtain preheated pellets. Claim 1 claims that in the rotary kiln system, the preheated pellets are roasted at a temperature of 1170-1300°C to obtain roasted pellets, thereby claiming a structure of kiln system capable of roasting pellets at a temperature of 1170-1300°C. Claim 1 claims the hydrogen-based shaft furnace reduction system comprises a hydrogen-based shaft furnace, a feeding system, a reducing gas system, a cooling system, and a discharging system. Claim 1 claims the feeding system is disposed at the upper part of the hydrogen-based shaft furnace. A shaft furnace necessarily has some upper part. Claim 1 claims the roasted pellets from the rotary kiln system are directly conveyed into the feeding system. Claim 1 claims the reducing gas system processes flue gas from the hydrogen-based shaft furnace, and provides reducing gas to the hydrogen-based shaft furnace. Claim 1 claims the roasted pellets from the feeding system are reduced in the hydrogen-based shaft furnace to obtain pre-reduced pellets. Claim 1 claims the cooling system cools the pre-reduced pellets in the hydrogen-based shaft furnace to obtain cooled pre-reduced pellets. Claim 1 claims that the discharging system is disposed at the bottom of the hydrogen-based shaft furnace. The structure of a shaft furnace necessarily has some bottom portion. Claim 1 claims that the discharging system discharges the cooled pre-reduced pellets. Claim 1 claims that the reducing gas is hydrogen gas; therefore, the structure of the hydrogen-based shaft furnace must at least be capable of using hydrogen gas as a reducing gas. Claim 1 claims that the reducing gas is not heated prior to entering the hydrogen-based shaft furnace. Claim 2 depends on claim 1. Claim 2 claims that the grate system is provided with a drying section I, a drying section II, a preheating section I and a preheating section II in sequence in a direction of movement of the iron-containing green pellets. Claim 2 claims the preheating section II communicates with the rotary kiln system, and [the preheating section II] is connected with the drying section II through a first recuperation fan. Claim 2 claims the preheating section I is connected with a tubular heat exchanger of the reducing gas system, and [the preheating section I] is connected with the rotary kiln system through a combustion fan, and [the preheating section I] is connected with the drying section I through a second recuperation fan. Claim 2 claims that the drying section I and the drying section II are each connected to a bag dust collector through a main exhaust fan, thereby claiming that both the drying section I and the drying section II are connected to the same bag dust collector through a common main exhaust fan.
The present office action relies on Jiangsu Province (CN106834582A) to anticipate present claim 1. Regarding claim 2, Jiangsu Province discloses 2. the grate system performs both drying and preheating [0045]; therefore, the grate system disclosed by Jiangsu Province comprises at least some drying and at least some preheating section. Jiangsu Province does not disclose two drying and two preheating sections having the presently claimed arrangement.
The present application claims priority to application CN202110676962.9. First actions in CN202110676962.9 cite Univ. Jiangsu (CN101592441A) to meet limitations of claim 2. Univ Jiangsu is cited in the IDS filed December 14, 2023. The below references to Univ. Jiangsu are directed to the examiner supplied English language translation. Univ. Jiangsu teaches a grate-rotary kiln system ([0015], [0018], [0022], Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the grate-rotary kiln pellet system comprises a grate system (chain grate machine 2), and a rotary kiln system connected to the grate system (rotary kiln 6) ([0015], [0018], [0022], [0027], [0032], Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that in the grate system, iron-containing green pellets are sequentially dried and preheated to obtain preheated pellets [0021-22], [0032], and in the rotary kiln system, the preheated pellets are roasted to obtain roasted pellets [0032], [0039]. Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the grate system is provided with a drying section I (blower drying section GG), a drying section II (ventilation drying section CG), a preheating section I (preheating section I YR1) and a preheating section II (preheating section II YR2) in sequence in a direction of movement of the iron-containing green pellets ([0022], [0032-33], claim 2, Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that sections are heated by tubular (annular) heat exchangers [0032-33]. Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the preheating section II (Preheating section II YR2) communicates with the rotary kiln system ([0022], [0032-33], Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the preheating section II is connected with the drying section II (ventilation drying section CG) through a first recuperation fan (hot air from rotary kiln enters the preheating section II YR2 of the chain grate machine, after heat exchange with pellets, it is then evacuated and dusted by regenerating fan 10 to obtain medium-temperature hot air, which is then transported to the exhaust drying section CG through heating gas solenoid valve 4 Fig. 1, [0033]). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the preheating section I (the preheating section I YR1) is connected with the rotary kiln system through a combustion fan (through heating gas solenoid valve 5) [0033]. Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the preheating section I (the preheating section I YR1) is connected with the drying section I (blower drying section GG) through a second recuperation fan (evacuated and dusted by regenerating fan 11 to obtain medium-low temperature hot air which is then transported to the blower 13 of the forced-air drying section GG [0033], Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu teaches that the drying section I is connected to a dust exhaust (exhaust fan 8) and that drying section II is connected to a dust exhaust by a separate dust exhaust fan (exhaust fan 12) ([0033], Fig. 1). Univ. Jiangsu consistently discloses separate dust exhausts for drying section I and drying section II ([0033], Fig. 1). Claim 2 defines over Jiangsu Province in view of Univ. Jiangsu at least in claiming that the drying section I and the drying section II are each connected to a bag dust collector through a main exhaust fan.
Claims 3 and 4 depend on claim 2. Claims 3 and 4 define over the prior art at least for the reasons given above with respect to claim 2.
Conclusion
/SEAN P. O'KEEFE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/ SPE, Art Unit 1738