DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the positioning nails recited in claim 3 and the mirror group comprising the 45-degree flat mirror recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/CN2023/108146 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 07/19/2023, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 12/15/2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/CN2023/108146.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 2-7 and 10, the preambles may be amended as “The dynamic collection device for [[an]]the oil film and temperature distribution in [[a]]the grinding zone”.
The preamble of claim 9 may be amended as “The operating method based on the dynamic collection device for [[an]]the oil film and temperature distribution in [[a]]the grinding zone”.
In claim 8, the term may be amended as “[[the]] dynamic collection demands” in lines 4-5, and the phrase may be amended as “imaging the grinding zone … dynamic collection device,[[ and]] carrying out the signal processing, and finally …” in lines 6-7.
In claim 9, line 10, the term may be amended as “the controllable LED light strip”.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the clamp body structure”, “the optical detection system structure” in claim 1, “the telescoping sealing assembly” in claim 2, “the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism” in claim 3, and “the lead screw moving platform” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 9-10, the phrase “the optical detection system structure adjusts a lens distance and a horizontal position according to a grinding situation” renders claim vague and indefinite. First, claim does not specify a horizontal position of what component is adjusted. Next, a grinding situation is not defined, and specification is silent regarding the grinding situation. For examination purpose the examiner has interpreted the optical detection system structure adjusts a position including a distance of the lens during the grinding operation.
Claims 2-10 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
In claim 8, the term “the configured dynamic collection device” in lines 6-7 lacks antecedent basis. It may be amended as “the
Claims 9 and 10 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
In claim 3, lines 6-7, claim limitation “an upper end of the workpiece is clamped by the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specification of the instant application does not describe structure of the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism is a clamping mechanism involving hydraulic device to operate.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, lines 6-7, the phrase “an upper end of the workpiece is clamped by the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism” lacks written description requirement. In ¶ 0020 of specification, it states the clamping assembly comprises … a micro hydraulic clamping mechanism mounted on the clamp body shell. But specification does not disclose what components make the recited micro hydraulic clamping mechanism and how the mechanism works. Therefore, the phrase lacks the written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2020/0023485, hereinafter Li ‘485), in view of Li et al. (WO 2021164137A1, hereinafter Li ‘137), Li et al. (CN 108919472A, hereinafter Li ‘472), and Osterheld et al. (US 2022/0347813, hereinafter Osterheld).
Regarding claim 1, Li ‘485 discloses a dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone (¶ 0032, the grinding device comprises a grinding wheel and grinds a workpiece. During grinding, a micro-channel infiltration condition is formed in a grinding zone; ¶ 0084, a grinding device includes a grinding temperature measuring mechanism to collect signals of the grinding temperature information. The device also includes an ultrasonic device other than the temperature measurement device. Thus the device comprises the measurement/observation apparatus), wherein the dynamic collection device comprises a clamp body structure (fig. 2 and ¶ 0081, workpiece clamp I-20) and a magnetic workbench (fig. 7 and ¶ 0083, magnetic worktable II-7);
the magnetic workbench adsorbs and fixes the clamp body structure (fig. 1, the magnetic worktable II-7 adsorbs and fixes the device including the workpiece clamp I-20), and a workpiece is fixed on the clamp body structure (fig. 2, a workpiece I-19 is fixed on the workpiece clamp I-20; ¶ 0086, the workpiece I-19 is clamped by a workpiece positioning stop I-47 and two axial workpiece positioning screws I-21); but does not disclose the dynamic collection device further comprises an optical detection system structure, the optical detection system structure is fixed and connected to the clamp body structure, in a grinding process of the workpiece, the optical detection system structure adjusts a lens distance and a horizontal position according to a grinding situation, carries out a signal processing, and finally generates an image of a permeation and infiltration film formation of a lubrication fluid.
Li ‘137 teaches, in an analogous dynamic collection device field of endeavor, the device further comprises an optical detection system structure, the optical detection system structure is fixed and connected to the clamp body structure (fig. 2 and Li ‘137 English translation, abstract, p. 6:11-7:3 and 15:27-30, a cutting tool includes a machine vision acquisition device [corresponds to the recited optical detection system structure] comprising a CCD camera I-16 and a connecting bracket wherein the camera is connected to a telescopic rod coupled to a mounting seat (I-01) for moving a position. The optical structure is connected to a magnetic seat I-01 which the acquisition device is installed and fixed to the working tool table. Because Li ‘485 discloses the clamp body structure coupled with the workbench, combination of Li ‘137 with Li ‘485 would teach the optical detection system structure is fixed and connected to the clamp body structure),
in a grinding process of the workpiece, the optical detection system structure (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The optical detection system comprises a lead screw moving platform, a detection mirror group, and a connecting rotary buckle and equivalents thereof as described in ¶ 0026) adjusts a lens distance and a horizontal position according to a grinding situation (Li ‘137 English translation, p. 7:14-20, during a working state, a system calculates a coordinate of a lens position in the machine tool, realize the automatic judgment, and adjust the position in the subsequent image acquisition process. The machine vision acquisition device [corresponds to the recited optical detection system structure] comprises the CCD camera having lens as the detection mirror group, a camera rotating bracket I-17 for the connecting rotary buckle, and the camera is movable through a motion of a telescopic rod I-9 from a mounting box), and
carries out a signal processing, and finally generates an image of a permeation and infiltration film formation of a lubrication fluid (Li ‘137 English translation, p. 32:18-20 and 5:30-32, the collected image information is sent to the data processing unit for signal processing. Li ‘137 does not disclose explicitly digital images are generated after the signal processing, but the CCD camera of Li ‘137 captures the digital images for analysis, thus the machine vision acquisition device collects the digital signals and it would generate images which are digitally processed. Generating an image of a permeation and infiltration formation of a lubrication fluid is an intended use. Because the camera of Li ‘137 images a status of the cutting tool, it can generate images of any phenomena occurring with the cutting tool. Because Li ‘485 teaches the infiltration condition is formed in the grinding zone, the machine vision acquisition device of Li ‘137 can take images of the permeation/infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device of Li ‘485 to provide the optical detection system structure as taught by Li ‘137 so that an abnormal condition during a machining process can be determined (Li ‘137 English translation, abstract).
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137 does not disclose in a grinding process of the workpiece, the clamp body structure (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The clamp body structure comprises a clamp body shell, an adsorption chassis, a clamping assembly, and a telescopic sealing assembly and equivalents thereof (¶ 0016) wherein the telescopic sealing assembly includes a mirror group (¶ 0022). Li ‘485 discloses the workpiece clamp I-20 has a body shell and a workpiece positioning screw, a positioning stop, etc. for the clamping assembly. The entire device holding the workpiece is the recited adsorption chassis to be seated on the magnetic worktable II-7) images the grinding zone, and transmits an image to the optical detection system structure.
Li ‘472 teaches, in an optical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, in a grinding process of the workpiece, the clamp body structure images the grinding zone, and transmits an image to the optical detection system structure (figs. 1 and 4 and Li ‘472 English translation, abstract and p. 12:24-13:12, an optical device for spectrum analysis comprises a camera 12, a lens 2, and mirrors to take spectrum images. The mirror in a cube 1 [corresponds to the recited optical detection system structure connected to the clamp body structure] images machining zone observed through a lens 2. The device takes images of a subject, collects signals, and takes spectrum analysis of the signals. The device of Li ‘472 can be combined with Li ‘485 to replace the ultrasonic device in the clamp body structure with the optical device of Li ‘472 to take image of the grinding zone and transmit an image to the optical detection system structure for analysis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137 to make the clamp body structure to image the grinding zone as taught by Li ‘472 for the image analysis.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137 and Li ‘472 does not disclose the optical detection system structure also generates an image of a dynamic temperature distribution.
Osterheld teaches, in an analogous workpiece grinding device field of endeavor, the optical detection system structure also generates an image of a dynamic temperature distribution (¶ 0019 and 0048, a workpiece polishing device comprises an infrared camera to collect thermal images to measure temperature of a polishing pad. Thus, Osterheld teaches generating the image of temperature distribution by utilizing the thermal images).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137 and Li ‘472 to generate the temperature distribution image as taught by Osterheld. The collected information used for diagnosis of the device abnormality (Osterheld, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the clamp body structure comprises a clamp body shell, an adsorption chassis, a clamping assembly and a telescopic sealing assembly (Li ‘485, figs. 2 and 10, the workpiece clamp I-20 [corresponds to the recited clamp body structure] has a body shell and a workpiece positioning screw I-21, a positioning stop I-47, etc. for the clamping assembly. The device holding the workpiece is the recited adsorption chassis to be seated on the magnetic worktable II-7. The clamp also includes a workpiece fixing table I-22 as the recited telescopic sealing assembly)
the clamp body shell is fixed on the adsorption chassis, and the adsorption chassis is energized and adsorbed by the magnetic workbench (Li ‘485 fig. 1, the device comprising the clamp body shell for holding the workpiece is the recited adsorption chassis to be seated on the magnetic worktable II-7).
the clamping assembly is fixed on an upper surface of the clamp body shell and is used for clamping and fixing the workpiece from a side of the workpiece (Li ‘485, figs. 2 and 10, the workpiece I-19 is fixed in the workpiece clamp I-20. Positioning screws I -21 disposed on an upper body of the clamp body fix the workpiece from a side of the workpiece);
and the telescopic sealing assembly is installed in an internal cavity groove of the clamp body shell, the telescopic sealing assembly (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The telescopic sealing assembly comprises a boss, a moving platform, the mirror group, and equivalents thereof ¶ 0022) is used to abut against a bottom of the workpiece so as to form a scaling structure (Li ‘485, fig. 2, the rotatable workpiece fixing table I-22 [corresponds to the recited telescopic sealing assembly] is disposed at a bottom of the workpiece by holding the clamp body. Its rotating components should be located at internal cavity of the clamp body. Li ‘472 teaches mirrors disposed inside the cube 1 [corresponds to the recited boss] of the optical device in fig. 1), and images the grinding zone through a mirror group in the sealing structure (Li ‘472 English translation, abstract and p. 12:24-13:12 and fig. 1, an optical device for spectrum analysis comprises a camera 12, a lens 2, and mirrors to take spectrum images. The mirror in a cube 1 images machining zone observed through a lens 2. The device takes images of a subject, collects signals, and takes spectrum analysis of the signals. The device of Li ‘472 can be combined with Li ‘485 to replace the ultrasonic device in the clamp body structure with the optical device of Li ‘472 to take image of the grinding zone).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 in view of Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Zhang (CN 114083300A) and Han et al. (CN 111906615A, hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 3, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the workpiece is in contact with positioning nails (Li ‘485, fig. 10, the workpiece I-19 is in contact with workpiece positioning screws I-21 [correspond to the recited positioning nails]), but does not disclose the clamping assembly comprises a support plate and a first positioning plate; and the workpiece is placed on the support plate, and is in contact with the first positioning plate.
Zhang teaches, in a clamp device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the clamping assembly comprises a support plate and a first positioning plate; and the workpiece is placed on the support plate, and is in contact with the first positioning plate (annotated Zhang fig. 2 below for the support plate and the first positioning plate. The workpiece would be placed on the support plate and is in contact with the first positioning plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping structure of Li ‘485 to replace it with the clamping structure having the recited plates as taught by Zhang in order to hold a workpiece securely during machining of the workpiece.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zhang does not disclose the six-point positioning. As shown in fig. 2 of Zhang, there are numerous clamping devices 4 and the recited first positioning plate. Thus, there is more than six-point positioning of the workpiece. It appears to be eleven-point positioning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping assembly of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld to provide more than six-point positioning of the workpiece as taught by Zhang in order to hold the workpiece securely. Because applicant does not assert there has to be only the six-point positioning, more than six-point positioning would perform the same for holding the workpiece securely during machining of the workpiece.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zhang does not disclose a micro hydraulic clamping mechanism mounted on the clamp body shell; and an upper end of the workpiece is clamped by the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, specification of the instant application does not provide what components make the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism).
Han teaches, in in a clamp device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a micro hydraulic clamping mechanism mounted on the clamp body shell; and an upper end of the workpiece is clamped by the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism (fig. 2 and Han English translation, p. 7:36-44, arms of a clamping mechanism 35 is controlled by micro hydraulic cylinder 33 for rotation. As shown in fig. 2, an upper end of the workpiece would be clamped by the clamping mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping structure of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zhang to provide the micro hydraulic clamping mechanism as taught by Han in order to exert strong clamping force so that the mechanism can hold the workpiece securely.
Annotated Zhang Fig. 2
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 in view of Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Zhong et al. (CN 113319725A, hereinafter Zhong).
Regarding claim 4, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the telescopic sealing assembly comprises a moving platform (Li ‘485, fig. 2, rotatable workpiece fixing table I-22), and the telescopic sealing assembly further comprises a boss and the mirror group; the boss is mounted in the internal cavity groove of the clamp body shell, and an inner part of the boss is a square internal hollowed structure (Li ‘472, fig. 1, the optical device has the cubes [corresponds to the recited boss] and a plurality of mirrors. Li ‘485 discloses, in fig. 2, the rotatable table I-22 below the clamping body includes an ultrasonic device. The optical device of Li ‘472 could replace the ultrasonic device of Li ‘485 to place the boss having the mirror group in the internal cavity of the clamping body. The body of the Li ‘472’s optical device has a square internal hollowed structure), the mirror group is mounted in the square internal hollowed structure of the boss, the mirror group comprises a spectroscope and a 45-degree flat mirror, wherein the spectroscope is arranged facing a detection area of the workpiece, and the 45-degree flat mirror is vertically placed at a bottom of the spectroscope (Li ‘472, fig. 1, there are multiple mirrors in the internal space of the optical device including a spectroscope 3 with the 45-degree flat mirror placed at a bottom of the spectroscope which faces a detection area near an objective lens 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the telescopic sealing assembly of Li ‘485 to provide the boss and the mirror group as taught by Li ‘472 in order to provide image acquisition device to observe the workpiece.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld does not disclose the moving platform is mounted on a side of the boss, and is driven by a motor to rise vertically along the boss to abut against the bottom of the workpiece. Li ‘485 does not disclose whether the rotatable workpiece fixing table I-22 rise vertically.
Zhong teaches, in an analogous workpiece polishing device field of endeavor, the moving platform is mounted on a side of the boss, and is driven by a motor to rise vertically along the boss to abut against the bottom of the workpiece (figs. 1-2 and Zhong English translation, p. 12:8 and 16:1-4, a motor driven vertical moving mechanism 12 moves a finger 13 [corresponds to the recited moving platform] vertically. Zhong can be combined with Li ‘485 to place the vertical moving mechanism 12 for raising the moving platform. Because the mechanism 12 would be placed in the internal cavity of the clamping body, it would be mounted on a side of the boss of the Li ‘472’s optical device. The boss in the internal cavity of the clamp body would be disposed below the workpiece to abut against the bottom of the workpiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the moving platform of Li ‘485 to provide the vertically rising platform as taught by Zhong so that the workpiece can be positioned in an appropriate place for effective machining.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zhong teaches the moving platform, the boss and the workpiece form the sealing structure (Li ‘485, fig. 2, the rotatable workpiece fixing table [corresponds to the recited moving platform] is disposed below the workpiece I-19 and the boss of the optical device of Li ‘472 would be placed in the clamp body, thus they would be closed coupled together. The attached components would form a sealing structure. Specification of the instant application does not explain what the sealing structure is).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Zuo et al. (CN 112630107A, cited on 12/15/2023 IDS, hereinafter Zuo) and Sun (CN 218064220U).
Regarding claim 5, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the optical detection system structure comprises a detection mirror group (Li ‘472 English translation, abstract and p. 12:24-13:12 and fig. 1, an optical device for spectrum analysis comprises a camera 12, a lens 2, and mirrors to take spectrum images. The device of Li ‘472 can be combined with Li ‘485 to replace the ultrasonic device in the clamp body structure with the optical device of Li ‘472 to take image of the grinding zone and transmit an image to the optical detection system structure for analysis), but does not disclose the optical detection system structure further comprises a lead screw moving platform; the detection mirror group is fixed on the lead screw moving platform, and controls left and right movements of the detection mirror group by the lead screw moving platform (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The lead screw moving platform comprises a micro motor, a motor seat, a bearing seat, plate, pulley, belt, and equivalents thereof (¶ 00106)).
Zuo teaches, in an analogous monitoring device field of endeavor, the optical detection system structure further comprises a lead screw moving platform; the detection mirror group is fixed on the lead screw moving platform, and controls left and right movements of the detection mirror group by the lead screw moving platform (Zuo English translation p. 7:29-8:39 and figs. 1 and 3, an optical monitoring system comprises a lens adjusting mechanism 202 [corresponds to the recited lead screw moving platform] can move a lens and a cylinder. Specification of the instant application discloses the detection mirror group includes a camera, a cylinder, and a lens, ¶ 0030. The movement is carried by sliding plates which are connected with displacement screws).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical detection system structure of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, and Osterheld to provide the lead screw moving platform as taught by Zuo so that optic devices such as lens and camera can be positioned to take accurate images of an object.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zuo does not disclose the optical detection system structure further comprises a connecting rotary buckle; the connecting rotary buckle is used to fix and be connected with the clamp body structure, so that the detection mirror group on the lead screw moving platform is facing a mirror group in the clamp body structure.
Sun teaches, in an analogous optic device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a connecting rotary buckle; the connecting rotary buckle is used to fix and be connected with the clamp body structure, so that the detection mirror group on the lead screw moving platform is facing a mirror group in the clamp body structure (Sun English translation, p. 5:15-6:35, a rotatable connecting frame 3 [corresponds to the recited connecting rotary buckle] can be used to attach a video camera [equivalent to the recited optical detection system structure]. Li ‘472 teaches, in figs. 1 and 4, the camera 12 and a shielding sleeve 13 forming the detection mirror group is connected to the cubes [equivalent to the clamp body structure]. The Sun can be combined with Li ‘472 to dispose the rotatable connecting frame 3 of Sun at the connection of Li ‘472).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical detection system structure of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, and Zuo to provide the connecting rotary buckle as taught by Sun so that the optical device can be securely fixed and can be rotated in case a position of the optical device needs to be adjusted (Sun English translation, abstract).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Hanks et al. (CN 101223587B, hereinafter Hanks).
Regarding claim 6, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 5, the lead screw moving platform adjusts a position of the detection mirror group according to dynamic collection demands (Zuo English translation p. 7:29-8:39 and figs. 1 and 3, an optical monitoring system comprises a lens adjusting mechanism 202 can move a lens and a cylinder in order to get good images of a monitoring subject. The acquisition of the images can be the demands. Specification of the instant application discloses the detection mirror group includes a camera, a cylinder, and a lens, ¶ 0030), but does not disclose the lead screw moving platform adopts a motor lead screw mechanism to control a rotating distance of a lead screw through a motor, so that the lead screw moving platform moves within a range of micron level.
Hanks teaches, in an optical device field of endeavor, the lead screw moving platform adopts a motor lead screw mechanism to control a rotating distance of a lead screw through a motor, so that the lead screw moving platform moves within a range of micron level (Hanks English translation, ¶ 0027, a stepper motor 256 provides adjustment of a lens position by sliding a plate to move in microns. The motor of Hanks can be adapted to the screw moving platform of Zuo to achieve the micron level position adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lead screw moving platform of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun to provide the motor as taught by Hanks in order to provide detailed adjustment of the optical device. Focusing for acquisition of accurate image may require the very fine adjustment.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Wu et al. (CN 210055941U, hereinafter Wu) and Ng et al. (US 20180079153, hereinafter Ng).
Regarding claim 7, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the detection mirror group comprises an objective lens, a focusing cylinder, an extension cylinder, a camera and an imaging element successively connected, wherein the camera is a high-speed camera or a thermal imaging camera, and the imaging element is a CCD photosensitive element or an infrared thermal imaging chip (Li ‘472 fig. 2, the optic system comprises a camera 12, an objective lens 2, a sleeve 13 [corresponds to the recited focusing cylinder], a lens sleeve 10 [corresponds to the recited extension cylinder and lens]; Osterheld ¶ 0007, a non-contact thermal imaging camera is used; Li ‘137 English translation, p. 15:27-30, an industrial CCD camera is used), but does not disclose the objective lens is an infinite-distance objective lens.
Wu teaches, in an optical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the objective lens is an infinite-distance objective lens (Wu English translation, p. 4:13-28, a scanning device utilizes an infinite distance objective lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detection mirror group of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun to provide the infinite-distance objective lens as taught by Wu in order to improve the image quality.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, Sun, and Wu does not disclose the camera can be a high-speed camera.
Ng teaches, in an optical observation field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the camera can be a high-speed camera (¶ 0090, an optical sensor for acquisition of images can be a high-speed camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detection mirror group of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, Sun, and Wu to provide the high-speed camera as taught by Ng in order to capture detailed images of phenomenon during an operation.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, Sun, Wu, and Ng does not disclose explicitly the high-speed camera and the CCD photosensitive element are used when collecting the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid, and the thermal imaging camera and the infrared thermal imaging chip are used when collecting the dynamic temperature distribution.
However, this is an intended use. Because claim recites the camera is a high-speed camera or a thermal imaging camera, the device cannot collect data of the dynamic temperature distribution when the high-speed camera is used, and the device cannot collect data of the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubricant fluid when the thermal imaging camera is used. Since Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, Sun, Wu, and Ng teaches the use of the high-speed camera or a thermal imaging camera and CCD photosensitive element, the appropriate camera can be used when the recited situation occurs.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun, as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 8, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun teaches an operating method based on the dynamic collection device for the oil film and temperature distribution in the grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 5, comprising: configuring the dynamic collection device according to the dynamic collection demands; in the grinding process of the workpiece, imaging the grinding zone by utilizing the configured dynamic collection device, and carrying out the signal processing, and finally generating the image of the permeation and infiltration film formation of lubrication fluid and the dynamic temperature distribution; wherein the dynamic collection demands are divided into the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid and the dynamic temperature distribution (Li ‘472 English translation, abstract and p. 12:24-13:12 and fig. 1, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, an optical device for spectrum analysis comprises a camera 12, a lens 2, and mirrors to take spectrum images. The device takes images of a subject, collects signals, and takes spectrum analysis of the signals. The device of Li ‘472 can be combined with Li ‘485 to replace the ultrasonic device in the clamp body structure with the optical device of Li ‘472 to take image of the grinding zone and transmit an image to the optical detection system structure for analysis; Li ‘137 English translation, p. 32:18-20 and 5:30-32, the collected image information is sent to the data processing unit for signal processing. The CCD camera of Li ‘137 captures the digital images for analysis, thus the machine vision acquisition device collects the digital signals and it would generate images which are digitally processed. Because the camera of Li ‘137 images a status of the cutting tool, it can generate images of any phenomena occurring with the cutting tool. Because Li ‘485 teaches the infiltration condition is formed in the grinding zone, the machine vision acquisition device of Li ‘137 can take images of the permeation/infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid in response to the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubricant fluid demand; Osterheld, ¶ 0019 and 0048, a workpiece polishing device comprises an infrared camera to collect thermal images to measure temperature of a polishing pad. Thus, Osterheld teaches the device can generate the image of temperature distribution by utilizing the thermal images in response to the dynamic temperature distribution demand).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Nakamura et al. (US 2016/0143108, hereinafter Nakamura).
Regarding claim 9, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun teaches the operating method based on the dynamic collection device for the oil film and temperature distribution in the grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein configuring the dynamic collection device is specifically as follows: if the image of the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid is generated, mounting a spectroscope and fixing the spectroscope by a spectroscope stopper, and turning on a light strip; and if the image of the dynamic temperature distribution is generated, removing the spectroscope and turning off the light strip.
Li ‘472 discloses the spectroscope 3 (fig. 1), the spectroscope coupled to a slide rail structure [corresponds to the recited spectroscope stopper] (Li ‘472 English translation, p. 14:23-27 and fig. 3), and an illuminating light source 8 [corresponds to the recited light strip]. Claim recites it is configured to mount and fix the spectroscope and to turn on the light strip. Because Li ‘472 discloses the recited components, it can be configured to mount and fix the spectroscope and turn on the light strip if the image of the permeation and infiltration film formation of the lubrication fluid is generated. Similarly, it can be configured to remove the spectroscope and turn of the light strip if the image of the dynamic temperature distribution is generated.
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun does not disclose the light strip is a controllable LED light strip and adjusting brightness thereof by an external remote control.
Nakamura teaches, in a lighting device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the light strip is a controllable LED light strip and adjusting brightness thereof by an external remote control (¶ 0036, a control unit utilizes a remote control to adjust the brightness of the LED).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun to replace the light strip with the controllable LED light strip as taught by Nakamura so that light can be easily adjusted for effective imaging.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Shin (US 2019/0306404).
Regarding claim 10, Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun teaches the dynamic collection device for an oil film and temperature distribution in a grinding zone as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the dynamic collection device adjusts a horizontal position of the detection mirror group (Li ‘472 English translation, p. 15:1-17, an optical mount and an optical guide plate of the optical device [corresponds to the recited detection mirror group] move into a working position and an idle position. Examiner notes claim does not define the horizontal position. The move into the working position/idle position can be defined as the horizontal position adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device to adjust the horizontal position of the detection mirror group as taught by Li ‘472 in order to set the spectra signal light path and the image signal path appropriately (Li ‘472 English translation, p. 15:15-17).
Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun does not disclose the dynamic collection device adjusts a focal length of the detection mirror group through two ways of coarse adjustment and fine adjustment.
Shin teaches, in an optical device field of endeavor, the dynamic collection device adjusts a focal length of the detection mirror group through two ways of coarse adjustment and fine adjustment (¶ 0052, an actuator of a camera adjusts a focal length; ¶ 0060, the focal length adjustment includes a coarse adjustment and a fine adjustment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dynamic collection device of Li ‘485 as modified by Li ‘137, Li ‘472, Osterheld, Zuo, and Sun to provide the coarse and fine focal length adjustment as taught by Shin in order to determine the correct final focal length for the effective imaging (Shin ¶ 0060).
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723