DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 72-74 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 72, it is not clear what relationship the “concave electrode members” have to the first and second electrodes recited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 73, 74 and 78, the use of the term “actual separation” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what the difference is between separation and actual separation.
Regarding claims 74 and 78, these claims recite that the controller prevents energy delivery based on the measured impedance, which is a limitation that is already present in claim 1. Therefore, it is not clear if this language is intended to further limit that feature of claim 1 (and if so, how) or is simply a repetition of the language in claim 1 (and if so, why).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 61, 62, 67, 70 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih (US 2022/0151689) in view of Beyar (US 6,378,525), Pearson (US 2010/0256628), Sixto (US 2003/0130653) and Sun (US 6,391,024).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 62, 67, 70 and 77, Yih discloses a method for reducing a volume of tissue at the base of the tongue or in the throat or at any number of other locations ([0057]) by enclosing a volume of tissue (including opposite sides of tissue) between bipolar ([0018]) electrodes on two supports (fig. 8, 22A or 23, note “any of the device and method embodiments below” in [0057]), the electrodes being located on a device that is inserted, noninvasively, within/through the mouth at least (i.e. where the base of the tongue/throat is located, see e.g. fig. 8). The electrodes are atraumatic and do not penetrate tissue ([0018], see also [0093]).
Yih does not specifically discuss treating tonsils or adenoids specifically, although it is reiterated that Yid does provide an open-ended teaching of treating tissue in other locations ([0008]), specifically for the purpose of treating sleep apnea ([0008]). Beyar discloses another method of treating sleep apnea and specifically teaches that the base of the tongue, tonsils (that is, palatine tonsils, which is lymphoid tissue) and adenoids (that is, pharyngeal tonsils, which is lymphoid tissue) can all be subject to tissue shrinking via ablative energies (abstract). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yid to apply tissue-reducing ablation to any individual tissue or combination of tissue known to relevant to the treatment of sleep apnea, including the base of the tongue, tonsils and/or adenoids as at least taught by Beyar, that would produce the predictable result of treating the sleep apnea of a particular patient.
Yih also does not disclose the use of irreversible electroporation (IRE). However, Yih teaches that any of several ablation modalities can be used ([0010]), including “any other type or combination of energy modalities” ([0058]). In fact, IRE is commonly used in the art for ablation, having recognized benefits over thermal ablation modalities such as radiofrequency (RF), one of the energies used by Yih. Pearson, for example, discloses another tissue shrinking method ([0012]) that uses IRE ([0039]) and teaches that IRE, being non-thermal, has the advantage over thermal modalities such as RF, microwave and cryogen ([0017], note those ablation modalities are also disclosed by Yih such as in [0010]). Pearson also discloses the use of several sequences (pulse trains, [0040]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to employ IRE such as taught by Pearson to produce the predictable result of shrinking tissue while avoiding undesirable temperature changes. It is noted that whatever IRE parameters are used to shrink tissue must have been “set”/”selected” at some point because IRE parameters are not randomly generated, where the IRE parameters that result in non-thermal ablation thus result in avoiding heat-induced symptoms at the treatment zone.
Yih also does not disclose insulation to direct the electric field or a controller which allows energy to be delivered only when tissue contact conditions are satisfied based on a measured impedance. However, both these elements are common in the art and there is no evidence that using them exactly how they are commonly used produces an unexpected result (within the meaning of MPEP 716.02(a)).
Regarding insulation, Sixto discloses that insulation can be provided to non-tissue contacting surfaces to focus the applied energy to tissue ([0040]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include a device with insulation along any direction tissue is not desired to be treated, such as taught by Sixto, including the outward-facing surfaces of the electrode supports, that would produce the predictable result of focusing energy inward for treating tissue that is intended to be treated.
Regarding measuring impedance to determine tissue contact and only allowing energy when a degree of tissue contact has been achieved, Sun discloses an ablation system and teaches that energy may only be delivered to tissue when the degree of tissue contact is determined to be adequate (col. 21 lines 1-22, which is the corollary to preventing energy from being delivered when tissue contact is not adequate), where that tissue contact can be determined by detecting the impedance between electrodes (abstract, see also col. 20 lines 26-36). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include a controller for performing the steps of measuring an impedance between the electrodes and preventing energy delivery until the measured impedance indicates adequate tissue contact, such as taught by Sun, to produce the predictable result of only providing treatment energy when the electrodes are in appropriate contact with tissue. It is noted that supplying energy when tissue contact is determined to be adequate constitutes an automatic modification of an IRE parameter based on impedance (i.e. at least off to on).
Regarding claim 61, the method of Yih does not disclose any steps regarding intubation, presumably because a person of ordinary skill in the art would know what options are available to perform a medical procedure. Since there are only two options regarding intubation (yes or no), and the level of ordinary skill in the art includes knowledge of intubation, it would have been obvious to such a person at the time the application was filed was to further modify the method of Yih to include intubation, or to dispense with intubation, to produce the predictable result of treating a patient according to the preferences of a medical professional.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Davalos (US 2019/0069945).
Regarding claim 2, the method of Yih as modified does not disclose the IRE includes a sequency with a frequency from 5kz to infinity. However, the parameters necessary for IRE are commonly known and a matter for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine based on the factors of a given treatment. Davalos, for example, discloses an electroporation system and teaches a wide range of parameters can be used, including frequences from 1 Hz to 15 GHz ([0072]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include any commonly known electroporation parameters, including a value over 5 kHz as taught by Davalos, that would produce the predictable result of treating tissue in a desired manner.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Davalos and Sano (US 2019/0328445).
Regarding claims 10-12, the method of Yih as modified does not specifically disclose the range of values used to ablate tissue using IRE. However, IRE parameters are commonly known and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In the order claimed: Pearson discloses a voltage range (which understood to include positive and negative pulse amplitudes) from 100-10,000 volts ([0040]), Davalos discloses a frequency in the range of 1Hz to 15GHz ([0072]) and further includes positive and negative voltages of various values including 400 volts ([0059]), and Sano discloses an electroporation system which uses biphasic pulses with each polarity having a width of 0.1-100 microseconds ([0024]). The rest of the values (inter pulse delay, number of pulses, number of bursts, inter burst delay) all include 0 as a possible value. However, it is noted that even if some non-zero value were required, these values are common (see conclusion of previous Action for examples). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include any IRE parameters commonly known for ablation, including any of the values disclosed by Pearson, Davalos and Sano, including bipolar pulses with a given frequency, voltage, pulse width, amplitude, pulse delay, pulse number, burst number and burst delay (including, where appropriate, 0) that would produce the predictable result of treating tissue in a desired manner.
Claims 60, 63 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Mickelsen (US 2017/0065343).
Regarding claims 60, 63 and 75, the device of Yih when modified as discussed above does not expressly disclose that the IRE parameters are picked to avoid damage to epithelial tissue (such as an open wound). However, Yih does disclose that it may be desirable to avoid damage to epithelial tissue ([0081]), where tonsils are palatine tonsil tissue, which are not to be confused with adenoids which are pharyngeal tonsil tissue, both of which are lymphoid tissue, and where the non-penetrating electrodes as discussed above with respect to claim 1 will not create an open wound. Further, using IRE specifically to avoid damage to epithelial tissue is known in the art, such as taught by Mickelsen ([0030]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of electroporation of Yih employ parameters that would avoid damage to epithelial tissue, such as taught by Yih in general and more specifically by Mickelsen, to produce the predictable result of treating specific tissue in a desired manner while leaving collateral tissue unharmed/unwounded.
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Goble (US 2005/0090819).
Regarding claim 64, Yih does not disclose the use of one of various types of masks for providing anesthesia or oxygen. However, using a mask for either of both of those purposes is common in the art such as taught by Goble ([0043]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include any commonly known elements associated with surgery, including a mask for delivering anesthesia such as taught by Goble, that would produce the predictable result of a safe and effective medical procedure.
Claim 65 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Cadossi (US 2018/0001085).
Regarding claims 65 and 73, the method of Yih does not disclose amending IRE parameters such as voltage to maintain a constant electric field in view of the positions of the electrodes. However, it is well understood that the distance between electrodes is directly relevant to the electric field created between those electrodes. Cadossi discloses an electroporation method and teaches that the pulse parameters used to generate IRE can be adjusted based on the electrode spacing to produce a desired electric field, the parameters including voltage (abstract). More specifically, the spacing between the electrodes is determined and the voltage applied to the electrodes is changed based on the determined spacing (abstract, see also claim 1). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include determining electrode spacing and accounting for electrode spacing when generating the electric field by changing the pulse voltage, such as taught by Cadossi, to produce the predictable result of ensuring that IRE energy is always applied to tissue in a desired manner during the medical procedure.
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Latimer (US 2015/0018816).
Regarding claim 66, the method of Yih does not disclose measuring a gripping force between the electrodes. However, measuring gripping force in medical devices that grip is common in the art. Latimer, for example, discloses a device with jaws and teaches the use of sensors for determining gripping force which can be used to control the delivery of energy ([0013]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to further modify the method of Yih to include determining the pressure between the electrodes to allow a control system/user to make informed decisions about the medical procedure.
Claim 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Greep (US 2013/0325004).
Regarding claim 71, Yih does not disclose pulling the grasped tissue prior to treatment. However, this is common in the art. Greep, for example, discloses a tissue-grasping medical device and teaches that grasped tissue can be pulled away from other tissue prior to treatment to prevent collateral damage ([0028]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include the step of pulling grasped tissue away from adjacent tissue prior to energy delivery, such as taught by Greep, including tonsil and/or adenoid tissue, to produce the predictable result of preventing collateral damage to tissue. In the interest of completeness, it is noted that Greep also discloses that the non-tissue treating portions of the device can be insulated to focus energy to the tissue treating portions of the device ([0034]), further illustrating this is a common feature in medical devices that deliver energy to a specific region of tissue.
Claim 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto, Sun and Greep, further in view of Cadossi.
Regarding claim 74, the method of Yih does not disclose amending IRE parameters to maintain a constant electric field in view of the positions of the electrodes. However, it is very well understood that the distance between electrodes is directly relevant to the electric field created between those electrodes. Cadossi discloses an electroporation method and teaches that the pulse parameters used to generate IRE can be adjusted based on the electrode spacing to produce a desired electric field, the parameters including voltage (abstract). More specifically, the spacing between the electrodes is determined and the voltage applied to the electrodes is changed based on the determined spacing (abstract, see also claim 1). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include determining electrode spacing and accounting for electrode spacing when generating the electric field by changing the pulse voltage, such as taught by Cadossi, at any point prior to the treatment of tissue including after tissue has been pulled away to prevent collateral damage, to produce the predictable result of ensuring that IRE energy is always applied to tissue in a desired manner during the medical procedure. It is noted that control of the procedure based on impedance measurements indicative of tissue contact is discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 76 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto and Sun, further in view of Levin (US 2018/0110561).
Regarding claim 76, Yih does not disclose using a “lower-energy” test signal to identify the location of muscle or nerve tissue that is not desired to be damaged, followed by moving the electrodes if energy application would damage that muscle or nerve. However, preventing collateral damage is of critical concern in the art and using “lower-energy” test signals to identify non-targeted tissue is very common in the art, where it would logically follow to a person of ordinary skill in the art to move the treatment elements if using them at their current location would damage the identified non-targeted tissue. Levin discloses an ablation system (note once again the equivalence of RF and electroporation, [0092]) which uses low-energy test pulses ([0135]) to stimulate tissue as part of the process of identifying non-target nerves where that process includes moving and testing until a desired location for ablation (i.e. one without non-target nerves) is found ([0102]). Therefore, before the application was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Yih to include the steps of delivering low energy test signals to tissue for the purpose of identifying whether non-target nerves are in the ablation zone and if so, repositioning the treatment elements, such as taught by Levin, to produce the predictable result of treating only desired tissue.
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yih, Beyar, Pearson, Sixto, Sun, Greep, Cadossi and Mickelsen.
Regarding claim 78, this claim is almost entirely a miscellaneous collection of limitations from other claims while having a dubious relationship to claim 1. Yih when modified as discussed with respect to claim 1 discloses a method of grasping palatine tonsils using opposed atraumatic surface electrodes. It is also noted that, as further discussed in claim 1, energy is applied in a bipolar manner as is common in the art. The fact that Applicant’s specification does not explicitly discuss bipolar energy is not an issue under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that energy applied between two close electrodes, whether by Applicant or Yih, is “bipolar.” Yih when further modified as taught by Greep with respect to claim 71 discloses the method includes mechanically displacing the palatine tonsil away from collateral tissue. Yih when further modified as taught by Cadossi as discussed with respect to claim 74 discloses the method includes determining the separation between the electrodes and choosing a pulse voltage based on the determined separation. Yih when further modified as taught by Sun as discussed with respect to claim 1 discloses determining electrode-tissue contact based on impedance to enable delivery of energy only when that contact is adequate. Yih when further modified as taught by Mickelsen as discussed with respect to claims 60, 63 and 75 discloses applying electroporation pulses to ablate lymphoid tissue (i.e. tonsil tissue) without creating an open wound. Therefore, regarding the limitations of claim 78, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to further modify the method of Yih as taught by Greep, Cadossi and Mickelsen as discussed above with respect to claims 60, 63, 71, 74 and 75, and for the reasons discussed above with respect to those claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
However, in the interest of compact prosecution, it is preemptively noted that reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In this case, most of the newly claimed features are related to a critical concern that has existed in the medical profession for millennia: “do no harm.” Each of these features, including confirming tissue contact prior to energy delivery, insulating parts not intended to treat tissue, moving target tissue away from non-target tissue and testing tissue to confirm the absence of non-target tissue, are concerned with not damaging tissue that does not need to be damaged as part of the treatment. The prior art is very familiar with the claimed features and many other features for that exact reason. Relatedly, the level of ordinary skill in the art of ablation is very high, as illustrated at least by the references cited during prosecution (including those listed in the Conclusion below), and it is well established that “a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” (as discussed in MPEP 2141.03(I)). Therefore, with patient safety in view, an ordinarily intelligent and creative person in the ablation art would be motivated to make the method of Yih as safe and effective as possible, regardless of how many teachings must be incorporated from the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 72 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While forceps with concave portions are known (fig. 4 of US 2015/0011997 to Rothweiler), as is the use of suction to attach tissue to a medical device ([0076] of 2004/0092875 to Kochamba, which should be noted is for the purpose of moving target tissue away from non-target tissue), it is not taught or suggested by the prior art to perform the method of claim 1 with a device having the elements of claim 1 and claim 72.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regarding another device with insulation on the top and sides to focus energy downward toward tissue, see column 11 lines 51-55 of US 5,885,279 to Bretton. Regarding a related system that controls pulse voltage based on electrode separation to create a desired electric field between two electrodes in an electroporation system, see paragraphs [0030] and [0040] of Mickelsen (US 2017/0065330). If it is necessary, US 2015/0038964 to Dickson discusses the anatomy of the throat including tonsils (palatine tonsils), adenoids (pharyngeal tonsils) and lymphoid tissue (fig. 1, [0005], [0056]). Regarding a system that prevents or stops energy delivery if tissue contact is insufficient, see paragraph [0042] of US 2014/0094788 to Brannan. Regarding a system that prevents energy delivery until appropriate tissue contact is achieved and the automatically starts energy delivery when appropriate tissue contact is achieved, see paragraph [0052] of US 2007/0191830 to Crompton. Regarding an electroporation system that changes pulse current based on measured impedance, see claim 24 of US 2019/0175260 to Davalos.
/DANIEL W FOWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794