Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taherzadeh, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0322332.
Taherzadeh teaches:
1. (original): A method for communication, comprising:
determining, at a first device, whether no demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) is to be transmitted on a first symbol configured for DM-RS transmission; and
in accordance with a determination that no DM-RS is to be transmitted on the first symbol, transmitting a signal to a second device in at least part of resource elements (REs) on the first symbol, the signal comprising at least one of data or a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) (see Fig. 3, PT-RS is sent on resource block not containing DMRS).
2. (original): The method of claim 1, wherein the determining comprises:
determining whether no DM-RS is to be transmitted based on at least one of the following:
a DM-RS configuration type, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) mapping type, or the number of DM-RS code division multiplexing (CDM) groups without data (UE receives a control message including an indication for reference signal configuration, abstract).
3. (original): The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting the signal in a first RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission (the selection of a specific signal is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
5. (original): The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting the signal in a third RE on the first symbol, the third RE being configured for transmission of the signal, and wherein no DM-RS is transmitted in a first RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission (see Fig. 3, PT-RS is sent on resource block not containing DMRS).
7. (original): The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting the signal in a first RE and a fourth RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission and the fourth RE being configured as empty (the selection of a specific symbol is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
9. (original): The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting the DM-RS on a second symbol configured for the DM-RS transmission (see Fig. 3 which highlights symbols for DM-RS transmission).
10. (original): A method for communication, comprising:
receiving, at a second device, a signal from a first device, the signal comprising at least one of data or a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS); and demodulating the signal from a first symbol configured for demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) transmission, no DM-RS being transmitted on the first symbol (see Fig. 3, PT-RS is sent on resource block not containing DMRS).
11. (original): The method of claim 10, wherein the demodulating comprises:
demodulating the signal in a first RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission (the selection of a specific signal is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
13. (original): The method of claim 11, wherein the demodulating comprises: demodulating the signal in a third RE on the first symbol, the third RE being configured for transmission of the signal, and wherein no DM-RS is received in a first RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission (see Fig. 3, PT-RS is sent on resource block not containing DMRS).
15. (original): The method of claim 11, wherein the demodulating comprises:
demodulating the data information in a first RE and a fourth RE on the first symbol, the first RE being configured for the DM-RS transmission and the fourth RE being configured as empty (the selection of a specific symbol is mainly a design choice and not given much patentable weight).
17. (original): The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving the DM-RS on a second symbol configured for the DM-RS transmission (see Fig. 3 which highlights symbols for DM-RS transmission).
Claim(s) 20 - 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0051047.
Xu teaches:
20. (original): A method for communication, comprising:
receiving, at a terminal device and from a network device, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling transmission of downlink data (beam information transmitted via DCI, [0268]); and
in accordance with a determination that the DCI comprises a first indication that the downlink data is transmitted with no demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) (signal sent without DM-RS, [0268])or less DM-RS transmission, demodulating the downlink data based on a trained channel state information (CSI) (resource sets selected based on CSI, [0420]).
21. (original): The method of claim 20, further comprising:
in accordance with a determination that the DCI does not comprise the first indication, demodulating the downlink data based on a DM-RS configuration for the terminal device (signal sent with DM-RS, [0268]).
22. (original): The method of claim 20, further comprising:
transmitting, to the network device, a report indicating a capability of the terminal device for CSI inference (capability restriction requests are made based on interference, [0224]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh as applied to claims 3, 5, and 11 above, and further in view of Fakoorian, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0273026.
Taherzadeh teaches a method of sending reference signals in a wireless communications network. Taherzadeh does not teach utilizing an energy per resource element (EPRE). Fakoorian teaches utilizing an EPRE. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Taherzadeh to incorporate the known technique of EPRE as taught by Fakoorian in order to obtain the predictable result of maintaining appropriate signal levels.
The combination teaches:
4. (original): The method of claim 3, wherein the transmission in the first RE is performed with first energy per resource element (EPRE), the first EPRE being higher than a second EPRE in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the signal (EPRE with a first and second value are utilized for transmission, [0068], Fakoorian).
6. (original): The method of claim 5, wherein the transmission in the third RE is performed with third energy per resource element (EPRE), the third EPRE being higher than a second EPRE in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the signal (third ration of EPRE utilized for RS transmissions, [0006], Fakoorian).
12. (original): The method of claim 11, wherein the demodulation in the first RE is performed with first energy per resource element (EPRE), the first EPRE being higher than a second EPRE in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the signal (EPRE with a first and second value are utilized for transmission, [0068], Fakoorian).
14. (original): The method of claim 13, wherein the demodulation in the third RE is performed with third energy per resource element (EPRE), the third EPRE being higher than a second EPRE in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the signal (third ration of EPRE utilized for RS transmissions, [0006], Fakoorian).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh as applied to claims 7 and 15 above, and further in view of Opshaug, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0400465.
Taherzadeh teaches a method of sending reference signals in a wireless communications network. Taherzadeh does not teach utilizing a constant EPRE level. Opshaug teaches utilizing a constant EPRE level. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Taherzadeh to incorporate the known technique of constant EPRE as taught by Opshaug in order to obtain the predictable result of consistent signal levels.
The combination teaches:
8. (original): The method of claim 7, wherein the transmission in each of the first and fourth REs is performed with the same energy per resource element (EPRE) as that in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the signal (constant EPRE for all Res, [0125], Opshaug).
16. (original): The method of claim 15, wherein the demodulation in each of the first and fourth REs is performed with the same energy per resource element (EPRE) as that in a second RE on a second symbol, the second RE being configured for transmission of the data information (constant EPRE for all Res, [0125], Opshaug).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463