DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-5,10-15, and 20, in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,10-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20220224653) in view of Ren (US 20240080272).
Re claim 1:
Chen discloses a method of adjusting a scheduling cycle, applied to a first network device, and comprising (Para.[0007] The first network device schedules, based on the phase difference, a data packet that needs to be sent via the first egress port):
after receiving a packet from a second network device, determining a sending scheduling cycle of the packet on the second network device, and determining a reception scheduling cycle of the packet on the first network device (Fig. 3 ref. “In a cycle in which the buffer c1 of the first network device is scheduled, all data packets from a cycle in which the buffer a2 of the second network device is scheduled reach an egress queue of the first egress port”);
determining a target scheduling cycle corresponding to the sending scheduling cycle on the first network device, wherein the packet corresponds to a cycle queue (CQ) corresponding to the target scheduling cycle (Fig. 1 ref. Second network device and ref. First network device and ref. Packet transfer direction and [0069] S103: The first network device receives the first message sent by the second network device via the second egress port of the second network device, where the first message is used to measure a phase difference, and the phase difference is a phase difference between a switching time of one of a plurality of first buffers of a first egress port of the first network device and a switching time of one of a plurality of second buffers of the second egress port of the second network device with a link delay taken into consideration, where the link delay is a link delay from the second network device to the first network device); and
if it is determined that an initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted based on a number of interval cycles between the reception scheduling cycle and the target scheduling cycle, adjusting an actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the initial time length to a target time length (Para.[0083] S105: The first network device schedules, based on the phase difference, a second data packet that needs to be sent via the first egress port, where the second data packet is a data packet obtained by the first network device based on a first data packet, and the first data packet is a data packet received by the first network device from the second egress port of the second network device).
As shown above, Chen discloses a sending cycle, a reception cycle, and determining a target cycle based on a phase difference. Chen does not explicitly disclose that an initial scheduling cycle is adjusted based on the cycles between reception and the target.
Ren discloses an initial scheduling is adjusted based on a number of interval cycles (Para. [0008] The cycle modification information may be understood as information about a cycle modified (or adjusted) relative to the forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship, that is, information about a cycle by which the target cycle is modified (or adjusted) relative to the first cycle).
Chen and Ren are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include adjusting an initial schedule as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 2:
As discussed above, Chen in view of Ren meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the target scheduling cycle corresponding to the sending scheduling cycle on the first network device comprises: acquiring a node identifier of the second network device and egress interface information corresponding to the packet; based on the node identifier and the egress interface information, querying a configured session information table to obtain an associated scheduling cycle corresponding to a specified scheduling cycle of the second network device, wherein the session information table comprises a mapping relationship among node identifier, egress interface information and associated scheduling cycle; and based on the sending scheduling cycle, the associated scheduling cycle and the specified scheduling cycle, determining the target scheduling cycle corresponding to the sending scheduling cycle on the first network device.
Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the target scheduling cycle corresponding to the sending scheduling cycle on the first network device comprises: acquiring a node identifier of the second network device and egress interface information corresponding to the packet (Para. [0189] For example, FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of an SID structure applicable to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 8, the SID field includes at least three fields: “locator”, “function”, and “arguments”. For example, “locator” represents an identifier allocated to a network node in a network, and may be used for routing and packet forwarding; “function” represents an ID value allocated by a device to a local forwarding instruction, and different forwarding behaviors may be expressed by using different function IDs; and “arguments” represents a parameter required when a forwarding instruction is executed, and the parameter may include, for example, a flow, a service, or any other related variable information);
based on the node identifier and the egress interface information, querying a configured session information table to obtain an associated scheduling cycle corresponding to a specified scheduling cycle of the second network device, wherein the session information table comprises a mapping relationship among node identifier, egress interface information and associated scheduling cycle (Para. [0181] After receiving the packet, each node may read an offset cycle quantity corresponding to each node. For example, the control plane broadcasts a form shown in Table 2 to all the nodes in advance. For example, each node may first store the form in Table 2. After the packet arrives at the node, the node queries the offset cycle quantity corresponding to the node, and may discard Table 2 after the packet is used, to save storage resources. For another example, each node may first query the offset cycle quantity corresponding to each node, and then store only the offset cycle quantity corresponding to each node, to save resources); and
based on the sending scheduling cycle, the associated scheduling cycle and the specified scheduling cycle, determining the target scheduling cycle corresponding to the sending scheduling cycle on the first network device (Para. [0008] The cycle modification information may be understood as information about a cycle modified (or adjusted) relative to the forwarding cycle determined based on the cycle mapping relationship, that is, information about a cycle by which the target cycle is modified (or adjusted) relative to the first cycle).
Chen and Ren are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include adjusting an initial schedule as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 3:
As discussed above, Chen in view of Ren meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted based on the number of the interval cycles between the reception scheduling cycle and the target scheduling cycle comprises: if the reception scheduling cycle is before the target scheduling cycle and the number of the interval cycles is greater than a first number threshold, determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted; if the reception scheduling cycle is after the target scheduling cycle and the number of the interval cycles is greater than a second number threshold, determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted.
Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted based on the number of the interval cycles between the reception scheduling cycle and the target scheduling cycle comprises: if the reception scheduling cycle is before the target scheduling cycle and the number of the interval cycles is greater than a first number threshold, determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted; if the reception scheduling cycle is after the target scheduling cycle and the number of the interval cycles is greater than a second number threshold, determining that the initial time length of the scheduling cycle is to be adjusted (Para. [0021] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is determined according to the following formula: Y=X+Δ+O, where Y represents the target cycle corresponding to the first packet, X represents the second cycle, Δ represents a constant related to the cycle mapping relationship, and O represents an offset cycle difference corresponding to the first packet and Para.[0022] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is determined based on one or more pieces of the following information: a latency difference between a plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, a preset range that needs to be satisfied by the latency difference between the plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, an available resource on the plurality of paths, and a resource available for the first packet in the first cycle).
As shown above, Ren discloses adjusting a cycle when needed. Ren does not explicitly disclose a threshold; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a threshold as a well-known factor for making determinations.
Chen and Ren are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include adjusting an initial schedule as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 4:
As discussed above, Chen in view of Ren meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the initial time length to the target time length comprises: if the reception scheduling cycle is before the target scheduling cycle, performing decremental adjustment on the initial time length based on a configured time length adjustment amount to obtain an adjusted target time length; if the reception scheduling cycle is after the target scheduling cycle, performing incremental adjustment on the initial time length based on the time length adjustment amount to obtain an adjusted target time length.
Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the initial time length to the target time length comprises: if the reception scheduling cycle is before the target scheduling cycle, performing decremental adjustment on the initial time length based on a configured time length adjustment amount to obtain an adjusted target time length; if the reception scheduling cycle is after the target scheduling cycle, performing incremental adjustment on the initial time length based on the time length adjustment amount to obtain an adjusted target time length (Para. [0021] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is determined according to the following formula: Y=X+Δ+O, where Y represents the target cycle corresponding to the first packet, X represents the second cycle, Δ represents a constant related to the cycle mapping relationship, and O represents an offset cycle difference corresponding to the first packet and Para.[0022] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is determined based on one or more pieces of the following information: a latency difference between a plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, a preset range that needs to be satisfied by the latency difference between the plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, an available resource on the plurality of paths, and a resource available for the first packet in the first cycle).
Chen and Ren are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include adjusting an initial schedule as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 5:
As discussed above, Chen in view of Ren meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the initial time length to the target time length comprises: based on a first clock count number corresponding to the initial time length, the configured time length adjustment amount and the number of the interval cycles, determining a total adjustment number K of scheduling cycles, and updating actual time lengths of K continuous scheduling cycles on the first network device to the target time length; after updating the actual time lengths of the K continuous scheduling cycles on the first network device to the target time length, the method further comprises: updating the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the target time length to the initial time length.
Ren discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the initial time length to the target time length comprises: based on a first clock count number corresponding to the initial time length, the configured time length adjustment amount and the number of the interval cycles, determining a total adjustment number K of scheduling cycles, and updating actual time lengths of K continuous scheduling cycles on the first network device to the target time length (Para. [0021] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is determined according to the following formula: Y=X+Δ+O, where Y represents the target cycle corresponding to the first packet, X represents the second cycle, Δ represents a constant related to the cycle mapping relationship, and O represents an offset cycle difference corresponding to the first packet and Para.[0022] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the cycle modification information corresponding to the first packet is determined based on one or more pieces of the following information: a latency difference between a plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, a preset range that needs to be satisfied by the latency difference between the plurality of paths used to transmit the first packet, an available resource on the plurality of paths, and a resource available for the first packet in the first cycle);
after updating the actual time lengths of the K continuous scheduling cycles on the first network device to the target time length, the method further comprises: updating the actual time length of the scheduling cycle on the first network device from the target time length to the initial time length (Para. [0021] With reference to the first aspect, in an embodiment of the first aspect, the target cycle corresponding to the first packet is determined according to the following formula: Y=X+Δ+O, where Y represents the target cycle corresponding to the first packet, X represents the second cycle, Δ represents a constant related to the cycle mapping relationship, and O represents an offset cycle difference corresponding to the first packet – Examiner Note: the cycle would reset to the initial value when an adjustment is not needed).
Chen and Ren are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include adjusting an initial schedule as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 10:
As discussed above, Chen in view of Ren meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Chen discloses the method of claim 1,(Fig. 3 In a cycle in which the buffer a1 of the first network device is scheduled, all the data packets from the cycle in which the buffer a2 of the second network device is scheduled are sent).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1,wherein the packet is a test packet or a data packet belonging to a deterministic traffic.
Ren discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the packet is a test packet or a data packet belonging to a deterministic traffic; if the packet is a data packet, the method further comprises (Para. [0103] A technology of ensuring an end-to-end (E2E) deterministic latency of a network is a deterministic network (Deterministic IP, DIP) technology. The deterministic latency means that a latency and a jitter of a packet in the network satisfies an upper limit when the packet meets a burst requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include deterministic traffic as taught by Ren in order to reduce packet disorder and data overflow (Ren Para.[0009]).
Re claim 11: Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1. Chen further discloses a processor and a machine readable storage medium wherein the machine readable storage medium stores machine executable instructions executable by the processor (Fig. 6).
Re claim 12: Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Meng (US 20210184781) shows period mapping relationship between receiving and sending packets.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471